Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

Human Nature
post Mar 5 2021, 01:07 AM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Mar 4 2021, 11:57 PM)
Affin's "premier" banking  customers supposedly will be entitled to 0.5% extra over whatever available FD  rates.
Applicable for placement of 100k and above.
The 0.5% is on top of board rate or promo rate?
Human Nature
post Mar 5 2021, 11:51 AM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(Micky78 @ Mar 5 2021, 11:11 AM)
called Affin Mytown, can renewal FD at promotion rate i.e 2.35% for 12 mth only
Any promo rate for fresh fund? OTC
Human Nature
post Mar 5 2021, 08:17 PM

26,524 posts

I am very interested on that too. It would be super nice if I bring in 200k, open an invikta account on the same day and get the 0.5% extra added to that 200k too, one can only wish. But since it is by invitation, I guess need to fill up the online get invited form and wait for the call. I wonder if I should click that first before actually bringing in the sum.

@??!! the min balance to maintain is RM100

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Mar 5 2021, 08:22 PM
Human Nature
post Mar 6 2021, 01:56 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Mar 6 2021, 01:46 PM)
Thanks for pointing out my error.
My apologies if I've caused confusion to FD kaki.

Ya..it shoud be 0.05%...only registered 2.42  in my mind and decided to go with mbsb 2.5% 18 months with monthly interest.

Nevertheless, I opened Invikta account so as to avoid Qs at the branch
Haha bro, it is fine. At least it give me one night of sweet FD dream. +0.05% on top of an already among the highest rate in town is still okay.
Human Nature
post Mar 7 2021, 11:52 AM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(babysotong @ Mar 7 2021, 09:50 AM)
UOB (1 to 31 March)

OTC

7 months - 2.05% pa
9 months - 2.15% pa
Thanks for the update.

That's a lousy rate from my fav bank sad.gif
Human Nature
post Mar 8 2021, 10:14 AM

26,524 posts

Affin promo till 31st March, OTC. I didn’t ask whether this is applicable for eFD too:

Tenure 1 - 1.90% p.a
Tenure 3 - 2.20% p.a
Tenure 6 - 2.35% p.a
Tenure 8 - 2.35% p.a
Tenure 12 - 2.35% p.a
Human Nature
post Mar 8 2021, 10:31 AM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Mar 8 2021, 10:15 AM)
Opened your INVIKITA™?
Next week will try my luck if i can open while placing the FD
Human Nature
post Mar 11 2021, 08:53 PM

26,524 posts

For banker's cheque, Affin will take the date of placement or the date when the cheque is cleared?
Human Nature
post Mar 12 2021, 06:34 PM

26,524 posts

Please continue the discussion on EPF self contribution here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4745820
Human Nature
post Mar 15 2021, 12:59 PM

26,524 posts

For Affin Bank FD OTC,

1. Can I place a JOINT FD without the need to open a JOINT CASA?

2. Can I uplift a matured FD at a different branch?

add: Got the answer for no 1 - cannot.

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Mar 15 2021, 01:23 PM
Human Nature
post Mar 15 2021, 02:17 PM

26,524 posts

MBSB sounds like Bank Rakyat. Such a hassle to transfer fund out. BR don't issue Banker Cheque and have to rely on Rentas. The DuitNow mechanism is rubbish.

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Mar 15 2021, 02:17 PM
Human Nature
post Mar 15 2021, 02:42 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(JJ93 @ Mar 15 2021, 02:36 PM)
I have a joint fd at affin without any casa account with affin whatsoever though. In my case, joint fd = two name on fd cert and I opted for either one can sign/withdraw. Fd placed OTC in 2019.
Thanks. Is this placed at board rate?

I intend to place at the promo rate and there is a clause for the SA for this promotion. So even though I already have an individual SA, it still requires a Joint SA.
Human Nature
post Mar 15 2021, 11:32 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Mar 15 2021, 11:15 PM)
err ... I never got issue with BR Rentas/IBG/IFT. I understand there is processing hours based on time range.
Same with BI

I have no experience with MBSB with the super-manual process, physical OTC presence and transfer problems that is way worse than BR/BI for the sake of extra 0.1% higher
One of the reason I do not have an acc with MBSB till now too.

Rentas sometimes take few hours. Not so convenient when want to move fund and need to spend a couple of hours in between waiting for the fund to arrive.

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Mar 15 2021, 11:54 PM
Human Nature
post Mar 19 2021, 06:30 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(mrhseinpingq @ Mar 19 2021, 04:42 PM)
Looks like RHB promo FD ended.

Can I ask this:
* Protected by PIDM up to RM250,000.00 for each depositor. Investment products are not protected by PIDM.

So, if my saving account have 2 person name, total is RM 500,000?
Refer to the example at Page 11:
https://www.pidm.gov.my/PIDM/files/db/dbeaa...%20that%20limit.

1. Do joint accounts enjoy separate deposit insurance protection?
Yes, deposits held jointly are protected separately from other types of
deposit accounts. In addition, joint accounts held with different joint
account holders enjoy separate protection. However, the maximum
protection for a joint account is RM250,000 collectively and not
RM250,000 per joint account holder

Human Nature
post Mar 19 2021, 07:25 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(mrhseinpingq @ Mar 19 2021, 07:22 PM)
Max only Rm 250k

the total in that pages very confusing.
Correct, max protection per joint account is RM250k.
Human Nature
post Mar 23 2021, 12:29 PM

26,524 posts

Quick question. For FD placed OTC with Affin, can it be uplifted via online? Thanks
Human Nature
post Mar 24 2021, 01:08 PM

26,524 posts

Had a not so good experience with Affin. Went to open a joint FD and is required to open a joint CASA for the promotion. Not allowed to open BSA as I already have an individual BSA. Then required to pay RM10 stamp duty for indemnity, whatever that is for - first time hearing this despite having joint accounts at so many banks. After 1.5 hours, coupled with poor attitude by the first staff who attended to me, decided not to proceed and bring my fund elsewhere. Are you guys required to pay the RM10 stamp duty too?

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Mar 24 2021, 01:10 PM
Human Nature
post Mar 24 2021, 04:26 PM

26,524 posts

Thanks for sharing. For now I will just maintain my individual BSA for small fund placement online. I have sent an email to Affin asking about the RM10 stamp duty charge, would like to know what is that about and whether it is compulsory.

On another note, I also asked the BM whether invikta holder can have an additional 0.05% for FD. She is not aware about that and said any nego rate need to get consent from HQ. I didn't asked further as disrupted by the stamp duty issue.
Human Nature
post Mar 25 2021, 02:07 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Mar 25 2021, 01:50 PM)
Just checked. I have two accounts (both joint) saying Statement Savings instead of BSA. One conventional one Islamic. No issues with seeing everything including Invicta which is individual. Every time I open an account, I tell the counter I must be able to see it. So maybe they did a linkup then.
For Joint RM10 is applicable, despite me trying to waive it but no go. They say compulsory and so far only Affin that I encounter has this rule. I also don't know why they charge that. If you can waive it please let me know. I go kick some ass... haha.

On Invikta, please refer to my earlier post on it. If your amount is not huge, don't bother. Because you will be charged a fixed amount of admin fee which I can't recall for every 6 months. Can't waive it. So I only have invikta because my FD amount is quite big and the difference in interest rate covers the admin expenses. I opened Invikta without atm card, cheque book and credit card. Will close it once the FD is up, now can't close because interest rate goes there.

Oh if you still decide to go ahead to open, bear in mind you only need to store 100 to 120 (to minus admin fee) instead of the initial 1k or 2k. Can't remember. Please check my earlier post on Invikta. If you manage to get waiver please PM me so that I can go kick ass... haha.
Obtained info on the RM10 fee. It is for joint account mandate and Affin requires it to be stamped. So that's their tariff. One time payment.
https://www.affinonline.com/tariff

Invikta account becomes attractive if there is an additional FD rate, but from my experience yesterday, the branch is non-committal while the current promo requires one to have 50k in the invikta account to enjoy the extra rate. Not worth it.

I made an inquiry on the BSA1 too. It is Affin's bank internal policy to only allow one BSA1 per name.

I miss the time when placing FD/Joint FD is straight forward - no need to open CASA, I am okay to just let it be credited at the end of tenure. CASA is one of the practice used by the bank to charge fee.
Human Nature
post Mar 31 2021, 10:38 PM

26,524 posts

^ Hmm, I wonder what Ambank has got up their sleeve. That is both good offers. Especially when HSBC just offered 2.3% for 24 months.

If I have for eg. RM50k maturing from Ambank, what is the way to be able to place the it back to Ambank via FPX?
The only way i can think of is to Rentas to a CASA and then do FPX for several consecutive days based on its daily FPX limit.

Is there any bank with a higher FPX daily limit than Public Bank's 100k?

The maximum deposit amount per transaction via FPX transfer is Ringgit Malaysia Thirty Thousand (RM30,000) or is subject to such prescribed maximum amount/limit of transfer in the Eligible Customer’s individual internet banking maintained with the relevant bank, whichever is lower

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Mar 31 2021, 11:04 PM

65 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0699sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:23 AM