Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

Human Nature
post Oct 29 2020, 04:38 PM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 29 2020, 04:16 PM)
I usually call or WhatsApp the officer or manager in charge of FD ahead of time. They are the one that I already made contact before.

The nego rate may need HQ approval depends on amount and percentage increase. Typically 0.05% branch can approve, more than that they will/may need HQ to approve.

The highest nego rate I ever got was like 0.15% to 0.25% (forgot already actual figure), that was >6 years ago.
Okay thanks. Will try my luck.
Human Nature
post Oct 29 2020, 08:38 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(engyr @ Oct 29 2020, 08:19 PM)
Does cimb provide OTC promotion?
Not that I know off. Only eFD promo is available.
Human Nature
post Oct 29 2020, 10:16 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Oct 29 2020, 10:00 PM)
effectively rate up to 2.4%
How do you get that - Does the SA bear any interest?

My calculation is 2.086 with 0% interest for the SA portion... maybe I am just lousy at maths sweat.gif
Human Nature
post Oct 30 2020, 07:01 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Oct 30 2020, 06:24 PM)
SA has interest. Can't remember the detail calculation. The Am person is on leave today.
Ah i see.

Already made placement with BR for longer 12 months tenure. Kinda spooked by the coming OPR outlook.
Human Nature
post Oct 30 2020, 09:43 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Oct 30 2020, 07:45 PM)
I thought banker cheque will be treated differently. Long waiting. If I knew earlier I would have probably IBG or rentas the fund. Or may be just renewed at Uob, 9 months 2.25%.
Today bank in cheque, Tuesday only can  open the FD accounts.
I was at UOB today and didn't see that 9 months 2.25% promo hmm.gif
Human Nature
post Oct 30 2020, 09:53 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Oct 30 2020, 09:44 PM)
Did you ask them first?
They won't simple display that freely like public info. biggrin.gif
I didn't because I am uplifting from UOB and no fresh fund. My branch usually display these promos. And the staffs also would tell me. But today didn't even ask why I am doing the cashier order biggrin.gif For some reason, UOB and BR were so pack today.
Human Nature
post Nov 1 2020, 07:02 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Nov 1 2020, 06:09 PM)
Did you go to this branch?

UOB confirms one staff down with Covid-19 at Menara UOB

Link: https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/uob-...id19-menara-uob
Luckily no sweat.gif
Human Nature
post Nov 2 2020, 06:39 PM

26,524 posts

^ i wonder where they get BR 12 months 2.40%. Base rate is still 2.20% and no promo mentioned at FB page.
Human Nature
post Nov 2 2020, 10:10 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(Deal Hunter @ Nov 2 2020, 09:57 PM)
Are you talking about BOARD RATES at Bank Rakyat? Click on Fees & Charges.

https://www.bankrakyat.com.my/c/personal/sa...ount-18/deposit
Yes correct, it is 2.20%.
Human Nature
post Nov 3 2020, 10:49 AM

26,524 posts

BR FD placement using cashier order/banker's cheque used to be effective on the date of placement. But my latest one starts on the day it got cleared. Placed 30-Nov, starts on 3-Nov, shown at online portal. Will inquire about this when I go and collect the cert later. Or anyone know whether BR has change its rules?
Human Nature
post Nov 3 2020, 11:01 AM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Nov 3 2020, 10:56 AM)
Called BR end Aug before going to branch re effective date of FD via cashier order/banker's cheque .
Was told effective date will after cheque clearance.(similar to personal cheque)
So, did a rentas to my saving account 1st before going down to the branch.
So it's true. My last placement date on 1st September was still okay, following the date of placement. Would have done rentas too if I know earlier.
Human Nature
post Nov 3 2020, 11:47 AM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Nov 3 2020, 11:39 AM)
Have not been to BR for last 3 mths. They changed the rules ?

Did u get the FD cert later not the day u placed the FD on 30 Oct ?
The teller asked me to collect today, which is normal for my branch. I suspected something was amiss when I made the placement as she seemed to be unsure of the system and had to get assistance. Usually she is very efficient. So when it didn’t appear at online portal, I know something is unusual and today it appeared with today as effective date.
Human Nature
post Nov 3 2020, 03:04 PM

26,524 posts

At its meeting today, the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) of Bank Negara Malaysia decided to maintain the Overnight Policy Rate (OPR) at 1.75 percent.

https://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=en_pres...ac=5141&lang=en
Human Nature
post Nov 3 2020, 03:07 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Nov 3 2020, 03:06 PM)
You use what Internet Service Provider?
I can't even load BNM portal since 3pm. sweat.gif
Don't laugh, just 4Mbps streamyx laugh.gif

QUOTE(richard1226 @ Nov 3 2020, 03:07 PM)
so is that a good thing or.... idk my fd is expiring this month
It's a good thing for us depositors, rather than cutting

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Nov 3 2020, 03:08 PM
Human Nature
post Nov 3 2020, 10:36 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(edwin1002 @ Nov 3 2020, 10:07 PM)
Any promo fixed deposit in Nov2020?
Those that we know has been posted 1-3 pages back. Now awaiting for new ones, if any.
Human Nature
post Nov 10 2020, 05:42 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(nugget_piece @ Nov 10 2020, 04:12 PM)
hi sifus, i got offered a fd promotional placement by a financial advisor.
the rate is better than the current base rate for eFD.
sounds a bit too good to be true esp during covid times.

it is a traditional fd placement with physical cert.

how do i know if this is promotion is legit?
anything i should take note?
at least reveal the rate / bank... so that we can share if we have heard of the offer too
Human Nature
post Nov 11 2020, 10:36 AM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(nugget_piece @ Nov 11 2020, 08:52 AM)
thanks for the responses.
sorry, i wasn't clear. I had read it again, it's not a promotion but rather a promotional bundle from Maybank.

apparently need to sign up other products. so nvm already.
cant commit too many financial plans at these times.
As you have rightly pointed out, if it is too good...better be extra cautious thumbsup.gif
Human Nature
post Nov 12 2020, 10:43 AM

26,524 posts

RM0 AmBank/AmBank Islamic: Enjoy FD/TD-i & CASA/-i combined promo rate @2.98%p.a. for 9 months with min RM10K. Ends 31/12/20

T&C
https://www.ambank.com.my/eng/promotions-pa...D-Combined-CASA
Human Nature
post Nov 18 2020, 02:37 PM

26,524 posts

QUOTE(wayton @ Nov 18 2020, 01:52 PM)
Previous eFD glitch resolve?
Which bank are you referring to?
Human Nature
post Dec 1 2020, 07:20 PM