15 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 >Bottom

Studying in Canada

segamatboy
post Sep 12 2016, 09:24 AM

637 posts

Memorial??? Good luck. The Newfie(pronounce as new fee) accent will drive you nuts. As a first timer, you will say...Huh?? what the hell are you talking about? Goto youtube and type in' newfie accent'. Oh do watch the Shaun Majunder clip. There is some truth to it. Btw... he is half Indian and half Newfie

Why some provinces PNP more lax than other ??? Simple. Canada is just like Malaysia. In Msia, states like Penang Selangor and Johor are booming. Abang Indos and adik Banglas are heading there in droves. Not many of them are going to Perlis or Kelantan. In Canada, provinces like BC Alberta and Ontario are attracting most of the immigrants because there where the jobs are.The current economic downturn wipe out many high paying jobs. But lots of low paying low skill jobs are available. Provinces that attract immigrants are stringent in the PNP requirements.Provinces that immigrants shunned have no choice but the loosen the PNP requirements out of desperation Again goto youtube and type in "Nova Scotia shrinking population woes". The news program was aired by CBC National news last year. Also do watch the Global National news clip... Nova Scotia making pitch to keep foreign students in the province"

p/s pls read the comments.

QUOTE(IcedMochaa @ Sep 11 2016, 10:20 PM)
Interesting inputs!
Memorial University. I am also looking at Manitoba and Saskatchewan. Some are more lax than others when it comes to PNP requirements (international graduate sub-category).

Is it ridiculous if I am also factoring in the population of international students or immigrants for my selection? I still wanna date around  cry.gif  tongue.gif
This post has been edited by segamatboy: Sep 12 2016, 09:26 AM
yan99033
post Sep 12 2016, 10:14 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(feynman @ Sep 10 2016, 02:47 PM)
Of course, term has already started in all Canadian schools. To be in this term, you should have received your offer back in May.

You should be able to get your study permit within 2 months if there are no complications to your application. E.g. they don't doubt the authenticity of your support documents, you have no medical problems and if your profile doesn't appear on a terror watch list.

For most people, it's a straightforward process.
It is a dual PhD program offered by UofA and UPM. Since I am the first student to join the program, it takes some time for both universities to iron out the details of the application, hence the delay.

I have done my medical checkup, and results look good. Let's hope that everything will be fine. I will be there to meet my supervisor as soon as the permit is obtained.

Thanks!
feynman
post Sep 12 2016, 10:18 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(yan99033 @ Sep 12 2016, 10:14 AM)
It is a dual PhD program offered by UofA and UPM. Since I am the first student to join the program, it takes some time for both universities to iron out the details of the application, hence the delay.

I have done my medical checkup, and results look good. Let's hope that everything will be fine. I will be there to meet my supervisor as soon as the permit is obtained.

Thanks!
Good.

Once you make it to Alberta, start deliberating what your options are. The system is varied and depending on your circumstances different classes of immigration program would apply to you.

You are not tied down by UPM in anyway right?
yan99033
post Sep 12 2016, 10:25 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(segamatboy @ Sep 10 2016, 04:28 PM)
Have you experience  winter before???
Do you realize that  Jan is usually the coldest month in Alberta???  Daytime temp  is usually between minus teens to minus 20s C while night time temp can reach minus 20s C to minus 30s C. Windchill not included.
Do you have relatives living in Edmonton???
p/s what are planning to study??
I have a winter experience when I was in Shen Yang, China. I believe it was about minus 30 degree C, however it was not a long term experience, about 1 week.

I am going there alone, hopefully people are nice and friendly. I think I am going to seek some help from the International Student Services in UofA to ease the lifestyle transition process. I guess it will somehow force an introvert like me to speak up more, which is a good thing.

I am going to work on mobile robot mapping problems. There is a research lab and a group of people. I think it will be a lot of fun working as a team.
yan99033
post Sep 12 2016, 10:30 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(feynman @ Sep 12 2016, 10:18 AM)
Good.

Once you make it to Alberta, start deliberating what your options are. The system is varied and depending on your circumstances different classes of immigration program would apply to you.

You are not tied down by UPM in anyway right?
There is no obligation to this dual PhD program, plus I can get two certificates upon graduations at UPM and UofA.

I will try to seek out what works best for me. Thanks.
segamatboy
post Sep 12 2016, 10:48 AM

637 posts

Mobile robot mapping. Is it under Comp Sc or Earth Sciences( you know cartography remote sensing stuff)??

QUOTE(yan99033 @ Sep 12 2016, 10:25 AM)

I am going to work on mobile robot mapping problems.
yan99033
post Sep 12 2016, 10:56 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(segamatboy @ Sep 12 2016, 10:48 AM)
Mobile robot mapping. Is it under Comp Sc or Earth Sciences( you know cartography remote sensing stuff)??
It is under department of computing science, most probably working on smaller scale mapping compared to cartography. I don't know anything about cartography remote sensing, but sounds cool.
segamatboy
post Sep 12 2016, 11:08 AM

637 posts

Comp Sc. Looks like you will be spending your time in the Central Academic Building or CAB . At least there is a cafeteria in the basement As Phd student you should be able to qualify to stay at HUB mall(off limit to 1 st year student) and it is a short walk to CAB

QUOTE(yan99033 @ Sep 12 2016, 10:56 AM)
It is under department of computing science, most probably working on smaller scale mapping compared to cartography. I don't know anything about cartography remote sensing, but sounds cool.
feynman
post Sep 12 2016, 11:25 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(IcedMochaa @ Sep 12 2016, 01:43 PM)
Noted. Yup, i was aware of those. Thus that explains the less stringent PNP requirements by some and financial incentives like 60% rebate of tuition fee should the graduates remain.

Assuming one has gotten the nomination of one province, he or she has paid his or her dues by working in that province for few years, there is nothing stopping him or her to move to other provinces by law or physical force whe he or she decides to do so, no?
Yup. Pretty much.

In some cases, people leave immediately upon receiving the PR. It may come back to bite you when you apply for your citizenship.
kelvinng90
post Nov 1 2016, 11:11 PM

For those of you who have experience in applying for a student visa do you mind sharing with me your experience? was it a long and difficult process? what are the documents i need? and now that the canadian embassy is closed down do i go directly to singapore to apply for one?
yan99033
post Nov 5 2016, 01:11 PM

116 posts

An update from me. I have just receive the letter of introduction and a sticker (it is not a study permit) from Canadian High Commission in Singapore. I will be in Edmonton on 3/1/2017.

One question, how easy it is for a Malaysian entering US from Canada? Do I need to get a US Visa as well? I am planning to have a few short trips to US whenever possible.

To answer @Kelvinng90 question,
It took me about 7 weeks to complete the application. The application is pretty straightforward.
1. visit www.cic.gc.ca website and select apply online
2. fill out the survey form, and the required forms will be generated for you
3. create a GCKey and upload all the required forms and documents
4. Do medical checkup at authorized medical centre (bring your passport and mention upfront medical checkup)
5. Apply for Certificate of Good Conduct
6. Wait for instructions from CIC officer

They do not allow the documents to be resubmitted. Therefore, double check and make sure the information provided in the documents are accurate to avoid any delay in the process.
patryn33
post Nov 5 2016, 08:36 PM

3,940 posts

You need USA visa to travel to USA.

Jobs and economy is hard to predict yrs from today.
http://www.theglobeandmail.com/report-on-b...rticle32287960/

Tech today looks good but who knows yrs later
http://m.huffpost.com/ca/entry/12469062

This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 5 2016, 08:43 PM
segamatboy
post Nov 5 2016, 10:30 PM

637 posts

You need a US visa. Can be a real hassle to get into US for those whose countries are not on the visa waiver program.The US border agents at YEG (Edmonton International airport code) can be assholes at times.
Several years ago, one of my cousin who was studying in Toronto was denied entry at YEG. She flew to Edmonton to visit a friend and siblings before flying to SFO to catch a connecting flight. Had to call the airline who then re-route her flight via Vancouver
One of my cousin's friend was denied entry at YEG a few years ago Her hubby was living and working in the US and she has a spousal visa. The US border agent wanted proof of resident eg bank statement or utilities bills with her name on it. Go figure
Recently, another cousin's neighbour , a Pinay with Canadian PR, was denied entry at YEG. Dont know the reason

The US consulate office is in Calgary and it is just over 3 hrs drive from Edmonton depending on road condition. There is no guarantee the consulate office will issue visa to foreign citizens in Canada. Mostly likely they will ask you to apply the visa in your home country This happened to one of my cousin some 10 years ago. Flew in to visit relatives. Went to apply US visa but was denied.

So get your US visa in Malaysia prior boarding the plane

p/s...it is advisable to get a flu shot before coming over. Winter is flu season

QUOTE(yan99033 @ Nov 5 2016, 01:11 PM)
An update from me. I have just receive the letter of introduction and a sticker (it is not a study permit) from Canadian High Commission in Singapore. I will be in Edmonton on 3/1/2017.

One question, how easy it is for a Malaysian entering US from Canada? Do I need to get a US Visa as well? I am planning to have a few short trips to US whenever possible.

This post has been edited by segamatboy: Nov 6 2016, 06:29 AM
feynman
post Nov 7 2016, 09:38 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(segamatboy @ Nov 5 2016, 10:30 PM)
You need a US visa. Can be a real hassle to get into US for those whose countries are not on the visa waiver program.The US border agents at YEG (Edmonton International airport code) can be assholes at times.
Several years ago, one of my  cousin who was studying in Toronto was denied entry at YEG. She flew to Edmonton to visit a friend and siblings before flying to SFO to catch a connecting flight. Had to call the airline who then re-route her flight via Vancouver
One of my cousin's friend was denied entry at YEG a few years ago Her hubby was living and working in the US and she has a spousal visa. The US border agent wanted proof of resident eg bank statement or utilities bills  with her name on it. Go figure
Recently, another cousin's neighbour , a Pinay with Canadian PR,  was denied entry at YEG. Dont know the reason

The US consulate office is in Calgary and it is just over 3 hrs drive from Edmonton depending on road condition. There is no guarantee the consulate office will issue visa to foreign citizens in Canada. Mostly likely they will ask you to apply the visa in your home country This happened to one of my cousin some 10 years ago. Flew in to visit relatives. Went to apply US visa  but was denied.

So get your US visa in Malaysia prior boarding the plane

p/s...it is advisable to get a flu shot before coming over. Winter is flu season
True that.

Some US border officials can be really jackasses, not just at one port of entry. For all you may know, they can't work elsewhere and demonstrating power over aliens is a way to make themselves feel superior.

Yes, a border official has the power to admit a visitor but this decision can be challenge if the visitor feels that he or she has been unfairly treated or discriminated against......definitely the case in Canada and the UK. The border official has to explain clearly the reasons for non-admission......can't simply reject without due reasons

In the US, don't think they would have a system like that, how do you reason with them when the shoot black people on sight...so much for a the land of the free.

yan99033
post Dec 1 2016, 11:49 AM

116 posts

Hi all,

Just want to give you guys an update. I just obtained my US business/travel visa. The process is so simple, fill out the online form, pay the fee, schedule an appointment, and inform them the purpose of visit during the interview. They stop questioning after looking at my Canada Visa. The interview took less than thirty minutes at US embassy. The Visa validity period is 10 years.

If anyone has any problems related to studying in Canada, feel free to quote me. I will try my best to share my experience with you.
kaixuan
post Feb 11 2017, 03:24 PM

QUOTE(Tereno @ Feb 18 2007, 02:43 AM)
Just wondering how many of you already are or interested in studying in Canada. smile.gif I'm currently studying in the University of Toronto and would gladly help anyone who has questions or thoughts about studying in Canada. This thread is also open for discussing experiences. smile.gif
how can i send my transcripts to universities in ontario? is it neccessary to send my results to WES?

kaixuan
post Feb 11 2017, 03:26 PM

QUOTE(yan99033 @ Dec 1 2016, 11:49 AM)
Hi all,

Just want to give you guys an update. I just obtained my US business/travel visa. The process is so simple, fill out the online form, pay the fee, schedule an appointment, and inform them the purpose of visit during the interview. They stop questioning after looking at my Canada Visa. The interview took less than thirty minutes at US embassy. The Visa validity period is 10 years.

If anyone has any problems related to studying in Canada, feel free to quote me. I will try my best to share my experience with you.
is it necessary to send my results to WES for verification?

This post has been edited by kaixuan: Feb 11 2017, 03:27 PM
patryn33
post Feb 11 2017, 09:34 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(feynman @ Nov 7 2016, 09:38 AM)
True that.

Some US border officials can be really jackasses, not just at one port of entry. For all you may know, they can't work elsewhere and demonstrating power over aliens is a way to make themselves feel superior.

Yes, a border official has the power to admit a visitor but this decision can be challenge if the visitor feels that he or she has been unfairly treated or discriminated against......definitely the case in Canada and the UK. The border official has to explain clearly the reasons for non-admission......can't simply reject without due reasons

In the US, don't think they would have a system like that, how do you reason with them when the shoot black people on sight...so much for a the land of the free.
Land of free, u can shoot them they can shoot back
Don't worry they behave like that even to white American.
Ppl have been pull aside and taken car apart for inspection only to find nothing and leave them without tools to put car back

segamatboy
post Feb 11 2017, 11:00 PM

637 posts

World Education Services????
Ans......No

QUOTE(kaixuan @ Feb 11 2017, 03:26 PM)
yan99033
post Feb 18 2017, 01:50 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(kaixuan @ Feb 11 2017, 03:26 PM)
For me, no. I don't think you will need to do that as well

15 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 >Top

0.0293sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:03 PM