USD/MYR v5

aspartame
post Dec 8 2016, 03:43 PM

3,165 posts

I think the absolute amount counts as well though obviously no one is going into details about their net worth here. What I mean is assuming your net worth is 100k and you have 100% invested in foreign assets compared to a person with 10mil net worth with 20% invested in foreign assets, then of course the person with 2mil invested overseas can say that what they have overseas is quite significant and can even allow him or his family to survive on foreign assets alone for quite sometime compared to the person with 100k overseas. I understand that to compare across individuals, percentage is the only metric suitable but in my opinion absolute amount is important too. The higher one's net worth especially if one has multiple properties, I think the lower one's foreign assets % is in practice. In short, I don't think there are many rich people with more than 30% of their net worth invested in foreign assets not counting those who has migrated or has plans to migrate or has dual residence.
aspartame
post Dec 8 2016, 07:29 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Dec 8 2016, 06:07 PM)
I would disagree on that. Most tycoons and very rich people all have a lot of properties, businesses overseas. They even send their children overseas and help them settle down over there getting Citizenship over there. Ask our local vips and politicians and see where they send their children to? In short, most of the elite already know that the country and the economy is in the ruins long time ago and hence send their children to seek greener pastures overseas. Now don't get me wrong, I love this country and Im not being unpatriotic by saying such things but these are the bare facts. Only the common people like you and me are stuck here.
That's what I said too. Those rich ones with intention to migrate or have dual residency not counted. I expect them to have higher % of net worth overseas especially of course the full migration ones.
aspartame
post Dec 12 2016, 01:57 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 12 2016, 12:35 PM)
that statistic, whether $100k or 1mil, must be something from some int'l survey.

it is usually in $ NET WORTH.

there must be many with 1 mil in ASX and 2 mil in loans. biggrin.gif

no surprise if u look at levels of household debt.

moreover, 3% adult, say 3% of 10 mil = 300,000.

there are only 13,800 millionaires in KL urban in 2014.
http://www.themalaymailonline.com/malaysia...00-millionaires
Btw, the above article is flawed as one of the comment said

"What sort of reporting is this? London has 395,000 millionaires. New York, Tokyo, Paris and dozens of other cities have more than 13800 - even tiny Singapore. And what on earth does the comparison with Paraguay add to the discussion?"
aspartame
post Dec 12 2016, 04:26 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 12 2016, 02:49 PM)
Allianz Global Wealth Report 2016
Interested to know if you have similar figures for Singapore, Thailand and Indonesia.
aspartame
post Nov 19 2017, 05:38 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 19 2017, 02:09 PM)
Usd 4.16 all time low. SGD 3.072.
Eh....cannot simply use the term "all time" lah.
aspartame
post Nov 19 2017, 05:42 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Xnet @ Nov 19 2017, 02:15 PM)
Buy and wait for 5.0. Experts here who has gone silent say it will happen
All experts here have all converted to foreign currencies already. That's why everyday they used to bash RM, hoping for the whole of bolehland to crash and burn. When RM is up, there is not a single post on it! Not one single post for days. But if RM weakens, the update is like real time. smile.gif

I am just a casual observer... ke ke...
aspartame
post Nov 29 2017, 03:59 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(ben_panced @ Nov 28 2017, 11:23 PM)
hi where is everyone here.
Wondering how the RM is doing. Any updates?
aspartame
post Jan 25 2018, 11:37 PM

3,165 posts

Last time got people posted a lot of articles explaining how and why RM kept weakening and heading to 5.0 but now it is like Malaysians are less interested in knowing why RM has strengthened...RM strengthens good right? Or those people already migrated....
aspartame
post Jan 26 2018, 11:31 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jan 26 2018, 10:29 AM)
Unker Dreamer predicted ~4.80, but didn't happen. He cannot take his wrong prediction and has since disappeared from LYN

The ship is sinking !!

Dreamer
Lol. To be fair, I think he vanished way before that even when RM was sinking. Got others more excited naysayers around at that time. tongue.gif
aspartame
post Jan 26 2018, 07:27 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jan 26 2018, 06:19 PM)
UUU people become DDD people already. I am one of them  biggrin.gif
Be like water...good good good... tongue.gif
aspartame
post Jan 26 2018, 07:31 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jan 26 2018, 06:24 PM)
No...I was the one who recorded his prediction. His last replies in LYN is because of his wrong prediction of RM reaching 4.80

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4161935/+20?hl=dreamer101   (Post #34)

Who is the other naysayer ? Is it in this thread or kopitiam ?
Hokkien lang say "bo pang sua" (never let him off the hook) on unker...you really ah......ha ha

another naysayer in this thread lah...u sure know one...he hasn't appeared ever since RM strengthened ...waiting for the "right" time to appear again tongue.gif

This post has been edited by aspartame: Jan 26 2018, 07:32 PM
aspartame
post May 13 2018, 11:58 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ May 12 2018, 05:06 PM)
Err,... not really, bro,... foreign funds might NOT be so pessimistic towards the Mahathir Administration,...May strengthen,...
Ya, previously say RM will go down the drain because of 1mdb. Now, Pakatan takes over with new Finance minister and council of elders and clamp on corruption - it should be very good news for RM in the long term.
aspartame
post May 13 2018, 02:28 PM

3,165 posts

If 1MDB was the reason people give for RM depreciation from RM3.20 to RM4.30, then surely removal of this problem should send RM back to 3.20 at least, no?
aspartame
post May 24 2018, 09:30 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 24 2018, 07:10 PM)
Im a bit baffled by LGE's statement regarding the revelation regarding the debts. He must understand he is no more a opposition member. Yes, he needs to be open to point out mistakes by the previous government but overdoing it will affect investor confidence in our country. We have been seeing red in the stock market for the whole day already since yesterday.  sweat.gif
I think partly because the whole political campaign centres mostly on 1MDB. There seems to be a need to justify the worry and critism on the part of Pakatan. Hopefully, after this "justification" period, he will be more tactful and reserved.
aspartame
post Jun 20 2018, 09:11 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 19 2018, 11:25 AM)
Well for one.. Malaysia import many goods & products.. And many are priced in USD.. Since the greenback is stronger.. The cost of producs would be higher..  U might say GST is abolished.. So must be cheaper.. Yes. On paper must be cheaper.. But u needed to consider others cost too... Add that all up. The price won't be cheaper...
The USD strength is against all currencies. Since election, RM has strengthened against most other currencies...despite the selldown in Bursa and purported outflow of funds
aspartame
post Jun 20 2018, 09:42 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jun 20 2018, 09:18 AM)
Yes,... :thumbsup:

But still,... I dare not say we are out of the woods yet, long term, and I dare not bring back all my assets into Malaysia. And I dare not say I am right or I am wrong yet.

And I will keep telling my children to work somewhere else outside of Msia, and I will keep supporting the SGX, the SIAS, the MAS, the SGD and Hyflux.  biggrin.gif

But,.. I will not sell away my properties in Msia, and I will not give up my business in Msia,...

BUT : I see signs, healthy signs,.. I see the RM strengthening when MANY OTHER CURRENCIES in emerging mkts in Asia and South America are falling. hmm,... so many buts,...
Ya, too short a time to make any conclusion about RM long term movement. Hopefully, by the removal of common excuse to sell RM (being 1MDB), RM will continue to strengthen lah. Transparency and "overstating" of national debt is good. Any improvement in debt level from now onwards is positive on RM.

aspartame
post Jul 15 2018, 10:12 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 15 2018, 06:22 PM)
The ringgit is expected to be strong at RM3.20 against the US dollar

https://www.nst.com.my/business/2018/07/391...ainst-us-dollar
Wow! That's what I call a bold call! I like this unlike most gutless analysts giving those 10% up or down from here prediction.
aspartame
post Oct 12 2018, 08:40 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 12 2018, 08:09 PM)
What I heard...
More tax incoming  😎😎
Dr M himself said 2 days ago more taxes are coming. he said this in a speech to fund managers/bankers and I hope he is not talking about CGT and Inheritance tax because he said these new taxes would not burden the rakyat too much, If his definiition of rakyat excludes the "rich", then these 2 taxes target at this group. If this is the case, that is, we take out GST only to replace with SST, GST and inhertitance tax, then I much prefer the GST. Dr M himself does not like capital market activities too much. He said they are not productive. Hnece, I will not be surprised if CGT is introduced. I hope PH government do not get fixated with achieving budget surplus. Budget surplus does not mean good governance.
aspartame
post Oct 12 2018, 09:55 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Oct 12 2018, 09:43 PM)
GST is a fairer and efficient tax. Had previous gomen started with lower rate like 3% and coupled with corporate tax reduction, it would be more widely accepted.
Yup. All these additional taxes just increase the messiness of tax submission/calculation. Much prefer a simple tax system. Current PH gov also should have just reduced GST to 3% since everything already implemented. Just need to play with % to increase/ deceased tax collection but alas a lot of politically motivated moves.
aspartame
post Oct 12 2018, 11:08 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 12 2018, 10:38 PM)
yup. those 2 tax I heard is real thing..

personally, I don't really agree with the tax.. but if really needed.. then should put like limit... example rm2mil above only for Inheritance tax. CGT only those transaction above 100k  biggrin.gif
But if transfer the name to kids say 2mil and tax 10%, straight away pay tax 200k? Wah! No cash received yet! For shares, how to differentiate the cost price of each share sold, which are short term contras and which are capital gains? Thats why I think its going to be messy...why introduce such a messy tax? Not to mention scare away investors...I think only a few countries have CGT. Singapore, Thailand, hong kong, taiwan dun have. US and Oz have and US tax filing very "thick". US is different...it is the biggest financial centre...funds have no choice but to be exposed there. Malaysia? ha ha... good luck

0.1533sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:38 PM