USD/MYR v5

Hansel
post May 17 2018, 06:16 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 16 2018, 06:14 PM)
endless possibilities...

previously maybe because of BN useless policies...

but looks like now could be different..... just saying only.. previously everyone die die say BN won't lose another 100 years.. but see what happen now...
Yeah,... right,...
Hansel
post May 17 2018, 06:27 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(ajibescobar @ May 16 2018, 08:37 PM)
I have a lot USD at stake here, please maintain around RM4/$1 please!
The government of the last 60 years has changed,... we need to be more mitigative now in our risk management on this matter,....
Hansel
post May 17 2018, 07:00 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 17 2018, 06:25 PM)
change/improvement won't happen overnight.
may take months and years to get to a new trend or balance.

too soon to take any position now, best to stay put.

e.g... what if all is revealed and there had been a lot of false data?!
Bro,... somehow,... I cannot agree with the words in bold above,... judging from what that's happening everyday now,... Things are moving very fast in Msia !! To me,... it's a real change from the previous gov't,.... thumbsup.gif
Hansel
post May 17 2018, 09:27 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 17 2018, 08:44 PM)
let's say u r more optimistic than me about "change".

i have my doubts about how fast and deep change will come.
GST abolishment, petrol price stability and toll charges removed,... wouldn't you call these changes happening as fast ? These are major fiscal structural changes, bro,.. what do you think ? Did we miss something ?

Or these are 'first-level' changes ?
Hansel
post May 18 2018, 02:10 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 17 2018, 10:42 PM)
this is in the context of the RM strength.

those are no doubt major fiscal moves but do not directly contribute to strength of rm.

on the contrary, they will weaken it as gomen revenues will be significantly reduced.

while increased oil revenues will help and there are no plans to incr debt, it will very much in the end depend on how well they plug leakages, reduce wastage and rein in questionable opex n capex.

now add to the challenge if indeed there was massaging in official economic data - if actual situation is actually not as pretty as reported.

note how zeti, daim and tun went to great lengths to address those issues during press conferences.

note also tun had in the past, cut interest rates to spur consumption, i.e gdp growth - that kind of monetary policy move does not strengthen a currency.

in short, while i am optimistic of overall economic improvement, i am less convinced there will be quick strengthening of the RM.

more likely it will weaken before it gets stronger.

just my view.
Tq bro,... appreciated ur time taken to write this up,.... these r very valid views indeed,....

Just to add-in too,... Our Tun is doing all these things, going along the so-called mode of 'correcting the wrongs done by the previous administration',.. have we not thought that HE too 'contributed to all these wrongs', because he too was part of the previous administration ? Many of what we have today actually came from him, because he sat at that chair for 22 years earlier ! JUst a thought again,....
Hansel
post May 25 2018, 11:19 AM

9,361 posts

I think things are too early for us to make strong decisions upon in our everyday lives,... better just go with what we have been doing during the BN times.

Things and services becoming cheaper from June 1st can be treated as a bonus for now,... not an important structural chg to bring back everything to this place.

If,... truely the 2 billionaires are supporting the mkt,... firepower is also not infinite,...
Hansel
post May 26 2018, 05:27 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 26 2018, 11:58 AM)
2 Billionaires + their friends and their followers would make a big difference. These people are all in for the money anyway.
Well.. like mentioned, that is politics. IMO investors both local and international are not taking to the change of government too badly. This can be seen that there was no Ringgit freefall right after the elections. I would think investors know better who and what is bad and what is not for the country.
I think this depends on how long they needed to 'tahan',... if foreign investors KEEP SELLING AND SELLING, do you think these two and their associates can keep buying and buying to hold up the Bursa ?
Hansel
post May 27 2018, 09:24 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ May 26 2018, 05:38 PM)
Well they are doing very well for now no? With the support of the current government, I think this is the way to go until the market really stabilize.
QUOTE(foofoosasa @ May 27 2018, 04:23 AM)
In addition if the revision of fed rate coming more soon, myr probabbly depreaciate more in future one to three years along with the recent big change in our politic.
Yes,... to Tomei's comments,...

And yes too, to Foo's comments,... timing isa bit out now for this political event to take place with the Feds raising interest rates. Many emerging mkt currencies are dropping because of the FOMC. But,... well,... we know our boss up there has the tricks up his sleeves on how to fend a weakening Ringgit, having come from the 1997 crisis.

That's why I kept saying abt currency controls, pegging, etc,... with this boss coming back into the picture. Today,... I heard normal citizens are donating money to the gov't. ...

What does the above lead to ?

Hansel
post May 27 2018, 09:41 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 27 2018, 05:15 AM)
Whether myr long term down trend could be reversed will depend on fiscal discipline, economic policy, etc, which the new gomen will need a few years to implement.
QUOTE(coolguy99 @ May 27 2018, 09:23 AM)
The new govt policy will certainly take some time to implement, whether they are effective or not is another question. But from the looks of it, I am positive on the future outlook of the country, the short term MYR might take a beating, but we are on for the long haul.
OKay,... and Yes,... I would agree with you gentlemen,... I heard Minister Mentor Lee said to us once at a function in The Istana, he said "well, today's generation is enjoying the strength of the SGD and the reputation of Singapore. Your father's generation had to suffer. I leave it up to you all to decide if it's worth it".

Then I said : MM Lee, I, being a Malaysian would like to thank you 'utmostly' for your efforts has benefitted us too. At my generation, with the internet at our disposal, we have the opportunity to discover where to go to participate quickly in the successes of another place without needing to wait for a generation.

Then MM said to me : You are welcome, Mr XXX,... Let us move forward together then, and leave no one behind.

In comparison, Tun is now doing what MM Lee has done two generations ago. But mind you, we are not guaranteed of the success yet for our next generation, for times are different today.
Hansel
post Jun 3 2018, 06:57 PM

9,361 posts

I just saw in the Maybank Forex Website.

It is now MORE EXPENSIVE to buy 1 SGD compared to buying 1 AUD. Hence,... the SGD has again STRENGTHENED OVER the AUD !
Hansel
post Jun 5 2018, 11:57 AM

9,361 posts

Tq bros for all the comments,... hehehe,....

Only notch in my reading down comments was that 'that fella' was holding SGD,.. giving SGD a bad name only,... that bugger,.... that's why we can't open accounts so easily in SG now,....

Bro Andrew,.. my comments above are not meant at you,... appreciated your input,... thank you again.
Hansel
post Jun 5 2018, 02:00 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 5 2018, 01:09 PM)
Actually not really because of 1 person...
SG tightened their rules.... Many high profile citizens from around Asia also kept thier $$ in SG... Hide their wealth from respectively countries....
Prior to this fella's case, SG has always given Malaysians special privileges,... After this fella, all those privileges were removed, and we became 'same' as everybody else. The privileges were accorded to us because of our historical ties with SG.
Hansel
post Jun 5 2018, 05:38 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Jun 5 2018, 05:06 PM)
Exact SGD figure isn't known, but since it was reported that "most of the cash was in Malaysian ringgit and Singapore dollar" I assume SGD was at least in the millions for it to be "most".
Most of the Ringgit is 'counterfeit notes',... don't know whether you guys heard the 'stories',.....
Hansel
post Jun 5 2018, 05:40 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 5 2018, 05:17 PM)
Well lucky some of us already took the advantage of opening account in SG rclxm9.gif

Well before they "close the door" 💪
Yeah, bro,... tried telling everybody too before the door closed,..
Hansel
post Jun 6 2018, 08:25 PM

9,361 posts

Another door being closed,... this time by our side,....

https://www.todayonline.com/world/proposed-...viewed-mahathir
Hansel
post Jun 7 2018, 06:17 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jun 6 2018, 09:07 PM)
Never been opened, how to close ?
Closing against a hope,... smile.gif
Hansel
post Jun 18 2018, 09:48 AM

9,361 posts

This morning :-

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...with-fed-hikes/

Some excerpts from the above article :-

1) Higher U.S. rates are rattling many emerging markets in much the same way past tightening cycles did, but the Federal Reserve's hawkishness could also bring cheer for a small group of Asian economies that wouldn't mind seeing their currencies weaken.

2) However, unlike those countries, which run current account deficits, central banks in external surplus countries such as Thailand, South Korea, Taiwan and, to a lesser extent, Malaysia won't feel compelled to keep up with the Fed's rate hikes, analysts say.

3) Weaker currencies from portfolio outflows could help lift below-target inflation and give exporters a shot in the arm at a time of heightened uncertainty over global trade and signs that the Chinese economy may be losing steam.

A combination of a weak currency plus cheaper price of goods would make Msia a haven for residents,....
Hansel
post Jun 19 2018, 09:49 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 18 2018, 06:11 PM)
"A combination of a weak currency plus cheaper price of goods would make Msia a haven for residents"??

Such BS...
it's won't be cheaper price of goods... Many would suffer..
and more outflow is going now... from foreigners views.. it's big No for Malaysia.
Please elaborate for me to understand your point better,... since you call it BS !! Perhaps I'm wrong,... I'll be happy to correct my understanding,... but please elaborate.

Why do you say, for instance, : it's won't be cheaper price price of good... Many would suffer....

The second point : I understand,... more outflows is going now,.. but I would like for ourselves to be able to stand more on our own than to depend on foreign funds ONLY.
Hansel
post Jun 19 2018, 09:54 AM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 18 2018, 10:36 AM)
Beside kangkong and palm oil. most of foodstuffs and necessities in this country are imported. weak currency is likely will lead to rise in inflation. the consolation at the moment is elevated oil price which ease gomen fiscal deficit.
Yes,... agreed on the fact that weak prices will lead to inflation. But the new gov't has put in steps to help the residents,... by eliminating the gst. Secondly, the price of 'RON95' at the pumps are being made stable now with no increase.

At residents' level, at our level, aren't the above steps reigning in inflation ? Gov't actions are important, right ?
Hansel
post Jun 19 2018, 02:56 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 19 2018, 11:25 AM)

Well for one.. Malaysia import many goods & products.. And many are priced in USD.. Since the greenback is stronger.. The cost of producs would be higher..  U might say GST is abolished.. So must be cheaper.. Yes. On paper must be cheaper.. But u needed to consider others cost too... Add that all up. The price won't be cheaper...
I have answered your above concerns in my reply to Iceman. Government actions are important, we need to trust them,... this is what you say,... let's see,... hence, I won't give it just an outright BS just like that,... your're rhetoric only signals you do not trust the gov't that you voted for !!!!!!!!!

Nonsense on your part !!

For one, we have seen them abolishing the gst - this has acted as a reprieve to residents for now - a good start. Things re cheaper for now, against earlier 'gst-iable' products.

You said 'well, for one',... any other reasons please ?

22 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.1300sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:21 PM