8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

ASX COUNTERS !, Everything related to the Aus Sec Exc !

prophetjul
post Apr 10 2017, 10:22 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Apr 10 2017, 10:06 PM)
Yeah,... without the full grossed-up dividend, the returns would be lower than Sg's. On yr US equities, aren't you taxed at 30% withholding taxes too ? What I understood is that all US equities investments outside of the US would have the dividend payout tax-withheld at 30% of the amount declared.

You should find a way to claim back those franking credits, ie that 30% tax which is withheld from your Aussie dividend payouts. Then it would be very worthwhile.
No...we are not taxed by the US tax authorities. That is what the WBEN 8 form is for. To declare that one is not a tax resident in US.
i have never been taxed for my dividends or capital gains.
prophetjul
post Apr 11 2017, 08:43 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Apr 11 2017, 12:59 AM)
Prophet, the W8-BEN Form is to prove that you are a non-US Resident, and the IRS Laws say that you will not be taxed against your capital gains. However, your dividend will be taxed at a withholding rate of 30% against the dpu declared by the US payer. This 30% may be waived if your payer has a certain arrangement with the IRS, as in Manulife US REIT.

Perhaps I missed something, but where do you see that, after filling-in the W8-BEN Form saying you are a non-US Resident, you will not be taxed in both capital gains and dividend payout ?

What you have been experiencing all these years, having invested into US counters so well, ie being tax-free on both of the above is indeed very encouraging for us to invest into US counters. Can you kindly enlighten us further ?
General Instructions For definitions of terms used throughout these instructions, see Definitions, later. Purpose of Form Establishing status for chapter 3 purposes. Foreign persons are subject to U.S. tax at a 30% rate on income they receive from U.S. sources that consists of: Interest (including certain original issue discount (OID)); Dividends; Rents; Royalties; Premiums; Annuities; Compensation for, or in expectation of, services performed; Substitute payments in a securities lending transaction; or Other fixed or determinable annual or periodical gains, profits, or income. This tax is imposed on the gross amount paid and is generally collected by withholding under section 1441. A payment is considered to have been made whether it is made directly to the beneficial owner or to another person, such as an intermediary, agent, or partnership, for the benefit of the beneficial owner. In addition, section 1446 requires a partnership conducting a trade or business in the United States to withhold tax on a foreign partner's distributive share of the partnership's effectively connected taxable income. Generally, a foreign person that is a partner in a partnership that submits a Form W-8BEN for purposes of section 1441 or 1442 will satisfy the documentation requirements under section 1446 as well. However, in some cases the documentation requirements of sections 1441 and 1442 do not match the documentation requirements of section 1446. See Regulations sections 1.1446-1 through 1.1446-6.

Note. The owner of a disregarded entity (including an individual), rather than the disregarded entity itself, must submit the appropriate Form W-8BEN for purposes of section 1446. If you receive certain types of income, you must provide Form W-8BEN to: Establish that you are not a U.S. person; Claim that you are the beneficial owner of the income for which Form W-8BEN is being provided or a foreign partner in a partnership subject to section 1446; and If applicable, claim a reduced rate of, or exemption from, withholding as a resident of a foreign country with which the United States has an income tax treaty and who is eligible for treaty benefits. You may also be required to submit Form W-8BEN to claim an exception from domestic information reporting and backup withholding (at the backup withholding rate under section 3406) for certain types of income that are not subject to foreign-person withholding at a rate of 30% under section 1441. Such income includes: Broker proceeds; Short-term (183 days or less) original issue discount (OID); Bank deposit interest; Foreign source interest, dividends, rents, or royalties; and Proceeds from a wager placed by a nonresident alien individual in the games of blackjack, baccarat, craps, roulette, or big-6 wheel. A withholding agent or payer of the income may rely on a properly completed Form W-8BEN to treat a payment associated with the Form W-8BEN as a payment to a foreign person who beneficially owns the amounts paid. If applicable, the withholding agent may rely on the Form W-8BEN to apply a reduced rate of, or exemption from, withholding at source. Provide Form W-8BEN to the withholding agent or payer before income is paid or credited to you. Failure to provide a Form W-8BEN when requested may lead to withholding at the foreign-person withholding rate of 30% or the backup withholding rate under section 3406.

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/iw8ben.pdf

I looked at my dividend advice from my broker again and it says:

Gross dividend USDXXXXXX

Tax: 0.000 % biggrin.gif
prophetjul
post Apr 11 2017, 09:06 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Apr 11 2017, 09:01 AM)
Tq bro prophet,... really appreciated yr reply and yr time to furnish us with this !  thumbsup.gif

Let me read a bit first,... then only will comment,... biggrin.gif Tq again, bro,...
thumbup.gif
prophetjul
post Apr 11 2017, 09:51 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 11 2017, 09:45 AM)
prophetjul, Hansel reply from those in the US threads.
prophetjul, you are damn lucky  thumbup.gif  thumbsup.gif  biggrin.gif  Maybe it's broker side. Which broker are you using?
Ram

I don't think 30% is a given.

If you read the IRS statement, your with holding tax agent can make an appeal for exemption.

Meaning my broker's agent may be very good at his job! biggrin.gif
prophetjul
post Apr 11 2017, 10:24 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 11 2017, 09:55 AM)
Means broker like Standard Chartered is bad as the person kena tax  tongue.gif
So which broker are you using?
Citibank SG
prophetjul
post Apr 11 2017, 10:26 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Apr 11 2017, 10:23 AM)
Bro,... I may have an idea where the exemption came from,... may not be from your good broker,... could be foreign-sourced dividends. What are these counters that you bought and are earning divvies from pls ? Can research a bit more,...
Mining companies mostly.

So I just bought those MReits in US. Let us see whether there is with holding taxes on their divs.
Payment coming soon.
prophetjul
post Apr 11 2017, 10:47 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Apr 11 2017, 10:28 AM)
You're a star now, bro,...  biggrin.gif  Please name me one ctr of yours for me to research a bit on,...
McEwen Mining Inc (MUX)

Silvercorp Metals Inc (SVMLF)

Not a call to BUY or SELL! biggrin.gif

I own both of them
prophetjul
post Apr 11 2017, 11:19 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Apr 11 2017, 11:12 AM)
MReits in US is Mining Reits ?
Oh No NO....those were earlier companies I invested in. smile.gif These are mining companies with operations outside of US. It may be a reason why I do not have to pay with holding tax for my divs. Hansel is lookin into this.

It is only recently I invested in MReits. MRre MOrtgage Reits. Sorry for the confusion. I am receiving some Divs soon. We will see whether these Divs are subjected to with holding taxes.

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Apr 11 2017, 11:20 AM
prophetjul
post Apr 11 2017, 11:25 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Apr 11 2017, 11:23 AM)
Boss,

I m curious abt this MUX. Dividend rate is 0.005 (div yield is less than 1%) attractive ??

Is this a dividend share or cap share ?

Can elaborate abit coz I m need to US market.
Mining shares are different type of animal. Divs is not the attraction. Mining shares are generally a derivative of the metals themselves.
Good for trading as they are highly volatile! smile.gif
prophetjul
post Apr 11 2017, 11:28 AM

12,268 posts

Double post

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Apr 11 2017, 11:29 AM
prophetjul
post Apr 11 2017, 11:28 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Apr 11 2017, 11:25 AM)
Oic.. thanks for clarification.

Can name 1 or 2 Mortgate reits for own research while I m off today ?
NRV, AGNC, ARI, ANH

Different animals here as well. Please research nicely. I own NRZ.
prophetjul
post Apr 11 2017, 12:21 PM

12,268 posts

More on US Taxes

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p519.pdf
prophetjul
post Apr 11 2017, 06:47 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Apr 11 2017, 02:39 PM)
Boss,

No WHT for these counters ??
Nor sure yet.
To be tested soon by my Divs to be paid end of month
prophetjul
post Apr 12 2017, 08:56 AM

12,268 posts

Managed to buy some more ECC last night at $21.25 when someone dumped a bit for some unknown reason.
Div of 20 cents ex today
Now rebounded up to $21.69. wish me well! biggrin.gif
prophetjul
post Apr 13 2017, 01:59 PM

12,268 posts

Aussie go up to 3.357
prophetjul
post Apr 13 2017, 09:30 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Apr 13 2017, 09:10 PM)
Yeah prophet,.. your NRZ divvy will be paid out in April 28th., Friday,.. 48.00 US Cts per share.

If there is a withholding tax imposed, you will receive only 33.60 US Cts per share.

Otherwise, you will receive the FULL 48.00 US Cts per share.

Let's observe together,....

Added : Actually NRZ is a US REIT, into resudential properties, hence, different in investment objectives from Manulife US REIT. The price has been onan appreciating trend for the last 5 tp 6 year, and the divvy payout has been growing from 45 US Cts to 48 US Cts this round !

Judging from all these quick-look data, I noticed this ctr is very attractive. Great work, prophet,...

Divvy payout is quarterly, and the current annualized dpu = 1.92 US Cts. Against the last done price of USD17.28, the yield works out to be 11.12%. If there is going to be a WHT imposed, we will still be able to catch a yield of 7.784%.

Earning 7.784% is always better than earning USD Term Deposit rates,...

https://www.dividendchannel.com/history/?symbol=NRZ

http://www.dividend.com/dividend-stocks/fi...t-history-chart
Description

New Residential Investment Corp. is a real estate investment trust (REIT). The Company focuses on investing in, and managing, investments related to residential real estate. The Company's segments include investments in excess mortgage servicing rights (Excess MSRs); investments in mortgage servicing rights (MSRs); investments in servicer advances; investments in real estate securities; investments in residential mortgage loans; investments in consumer loans, and corporate. Its portfolio includes mortgage servicing related assets, residential mortgage backed securities (RMBS), residential mortgage loans and other investments. The Company's servicing related assets include its investments in Excess MSRs, MSRs and servicer advances. The Company invests in agency RMBS and non-agency RMBS. The Company's other investments consist of consumer loans.
prophetjul
post Apr 13 2017, 09:31 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Apr 13 2017, 09:22 PM)
ECC is not really that attractive, right, bro ? ONly 3.84% yield at last done price : 20.84 !

https://www.dividendchannel.com/history/?symbol=ECC
Hansel,

ECC is paying monthly Divs. biggrin.gif

Annualised at $2.40 gives around 11.5% yield.

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Apr 13 2017, 09:32 PM
prophetjul
post Apr 13 2017, 10:05 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Apr 13 2017, 09:53 PM)
hmm.gif ... Why did Dividend Channels infos are all different from yours for ECC ? Your ECC is Eagle Point Credit, right ? SHow me more details,... Is Dividend Channels wrong in their infos ?
Actually they just switched to monthly Div payments in March.

http://www.nasdaq.com/symbol/ecc/dividend-history
prophetjul
post Apr 19 2017, 05:24 PM

12,268 posts

AUD:MYR at 3.304
prophetjul
post Apr 26 2017, 09:51 AM

12,268 posts