Club VAIO

lhk89
post Feb 16 2009, 11:20 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(deathninjax @ Feb 16 2009, 10:04 AM)
but how soon is soon? i am waiting for the FW refresh for a long time already. Cannot tahan because need to do assignment.
The new FW is out already. Got mine straight from Sony brows.gif
They say just arrive today but i haven't seen the spec yet because its in my dad office whistling.gif
Will let you guys know tonight! drool.gif
lhk89
post Feb 18 2009, 01:54 PM

43 posts

Specs can be found at : http://www.sony-asia.com/productcategory/i...rsonal-computer
The price is still the same only spec are now higher abit. flex.gif
lhk89
post Feb 18 2009, 10:01 PM

43 posts

http://www.sony.com.my/product/vgn-ns15g
RM2,788
lhk89
post Feb 20 2009, 09:29 PM

43 posts

Finally! The new FW35G is in my hand!!! rclxm9.gif

Very nice laptop.. tried out few games like l4d and unreal tournament 3
both are playable and smooth at mid setting with 1400x900!! drool.gif drool.gif
Will try crysis soon!! flex.gif

lhk89
post Feb 21 2009, 08:26 PM

43 posts

My review a??!?! I dont write much.. blush.gif

yes its 16.4 inch WXGA++ 1600X900 flex.gif
But for gaming i dont think you want to go that high.. unless you put all at low setting.. even that also will lag sometimes.. cry.gif

What to write about a? Haha.. no idea..
just have to say this thing is a beauty!! Love the front panel.. wub.gif (Not sure what they use.. but its very nice.. and rough(not smooth type..) "The last pic"

For the button.. you can see that it's popping out.. just like mac.. which is quite nice to type on (for me la.. but not sure for you guys)
The spacebar however is abit one sided.. good for those who use right hand to press spacebar.. icon_rolleyes.gif

The screen.. hmmm hmm.gif i dont think its Full HD.. but there's a sticker which says Full HD 1080.. so no idea..

Oh yea.. this baby is a bit heavy but slim.. thumbup.gif

1 thing i'm not sure about is that.. it doesn't come with any cd at all?? hmm.gif hmm.gif Is that correct?

Need Pic a? drool.gif

lhk89
post Feb 22 2009, 09:08 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(Miyabi @ Feb 21 2009, 11:18 PM)
nice. beautiful screen. its aint fullHD. the FW36 is.
gratz on the purchase. you getting it fast ya, even no update yet done on the website. you get it from sony centre / sonystyle? anyway enjoy the lappy
I got it from sony headquarter.. from the man itself tongue.gif icon_rolleyes.gif tongue.gif
lhk89
post Feb 22 2009, 10:05 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(tpl @ Feb 22 2009, 09:19 PM)
thx for the review. nice machine.. smile.gif
Thanks man.. found out that when the laptop is hot.. it's not the arm rest that is hot.. instead its the touch pad which get hot shocking.gif .. however.. it doesn't get very hot easyily cause it's using P8600.. rclxm9.gif

Oh yea.. Sony Style want to let go all their old model before bring in new stuff.. i guess new one should be around during march.. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by lhk89: Feb 22 2009, 10:17 PM
lhk89
post Feb 23 2009, 08:37 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(deathninjax @ Feb 23 2009, 05:16 PM)
finally got FW33GW. very satisfied. built in software such as vaio music box, movie story, dolby sound room, etc is very good and is a better deal than those laptop from other brands. it differentiates vaio from other laptops. screen is very nice and keyboard is a joy to type on. it runs cool too.
Hey! congratz on the new VAIO !! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Where did you get it from? Low Yat? Any free give beside the bag? whistling.gif whistling.gif

Oh yea.. does your VAIO come with an CD? icon_question.gif
lhk89
post Feb 28 2009, 08:17 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(Miyabi @ Feb 28 2009, 06:38 PM)
its 1 year with additional 3 month (once register at the sony malaysia website) for computer peripherals.

sony extended warranty for vaio rate (depending on price range):
2 years warranty:
1. RM1 ~ RM4000 : RM280
2. RM4001 ~ RM6000 : RM330
3. RM6001 ~ RM9000 : RM450

3 years warranty:
1. RM1 ~ RM4000 : RM350
2. RM4001 ~ RM6000 : RM430
3. RM6001 ~ RM9000 : RM650

* no warranty rate list for vaio range RM9001+. you have to contact sony regarding the warranty price (For vaio AW series).
** this warranty is cover for local, not international warranty.
*** for international warranty, kindly apply: VAIO Overseas Service (VOS)
WOW!!! shocking.gif
luckily i knew them.. got myself free extra 1 year warranty!! thumbup.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
And i bought another 1 year for RM200.. (FW35G) cost me RM4000.. wub.gif wub.gif
lhk89
post Mar 1 2009, 08:43 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(applecream @ Mar 1 2009, 01:14 AM)
Who gave the extra one year? The dealer i guess! Not from Sony for sure.

Added on March 1, 2009, 1:17 am
Hmm...expensive model also like that ke? hmm.gif  My office's Dell looks ugly but at least everything is intact!
Err.. i don't buy from dealer.. got straight from SONY MD himself.. icon_rolleyes.gif
He's the one who ask me to wait for the latest model.. great guy but very quiet person.. cool2.gif
lhk89
post Mar 4 2009, 10:09 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(tpl @ Mar 4 2009, 05:43 PM)
amyone knw whats the material use on the palm rest of FW series? i read somewhere on the internet its made by magnesium. some say its plastic?
its made from magnesium.. which can reduce help reduce the weight and increase durability.. also reduce the heat rclxms.gif
lhk89
post Mar 7 2009, 07:22 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(Trrienty @ Mar 7 2009, 06:23 PM)
Hi, want to get some advise from you guys
With budget of 4k to 5k, which VAIO is good for gaming purposes?
thanks for the feeback smile.gif
Hi, im currently using the FW35G (RM4,488)
not sure how hardcore you wanna go.. but for me.. i can play smooth with games such as unreal tournament 3, left 4 dead and red alert 3..

However...

Left 4 dead max setting for smooth playing must set at 1024x768.. medium setting.. 2x AA.. Double buffered.. drool.gif

unreal tournament 3 max setting is 1024x768 and all medium (3) drool.gif

Red Alert 3 max setting will be 1024*768 and all medium.. drool.gif

Good thing about this machine is that it won't get hot after playing for few hours.. only little heat that you wont even notice.. wub.gif wub.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

Going to try crysis and fallout when got time..

This post has been edited by lhk89: Mar 7 2009, 07:27 PM
lhk89
post Mar 7 2009, 08:28 PM

43 posts

Haha.. sure give me 1 or 2 days.. i need to get the game first.. tongue.gif
lhk89
post Mar 8 2009, 12:33 PM

43 posts

Update!!!

For FW35g.. no problem playing crysis.. however some part will be abit lag.. not much..

settings are:

1024x768
2xAA
all medium..

lhk89
post Mar 8 2009, 06:55 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(lhk89 @ Mar 8 2009, 12:33 PM)
Update!!!

For FW35g.. no problem playing crysis.. however some part will be abit lag.. not much..

settings are:

1024x768
2xAA
all medium..
New update.. dont use DX10 to play with FW35g.. somehow it keeps coming out error..
use dx9 if possible.. cause its much more smoother thumbup.gif however graphic is abit lower than DX10..
lhk89
post Mar 8 2009, 10:15 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(Trrienty @ Mar 8 2009, 09:58 PM)
thanks for the quick feeback! rclxms.gif
can play crysis with some part lag consider very good already since crysis require high performance GC to get it smooth
i think i will get FW35G in 1 or 2 weeks time!
haha.. tongue.gif
but somehow i keep getting error which says "stop working" then auto close.. vmad.gif vmad.gif
but seldom happen if i run on DX9.. any solution?
lhk89
post Mar 15 2009, 04:21 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(skyhyk88 @ Mar 15 2009, 10:46 AM)
any comments or reviews from the fw35g users currently?
is it worth it?

for me i don't think the graphic card is very good in terms of gaming
some more the ram is ddr2

but i have to agree that the audio system is incredible

correct me if i made any mistake cause I'm interested in getting this lappie
Hey im currently using FW35.. so far so good lo..
gaming is quite good..

i can play L4d, unreal tournament, red alert 3 and crysis all at 1024x768 full screen mid setting.. no problem at all..
now playing crysis warhead.. ahahah.. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Best thing is.. i can play 4 hours straight and the laptop is still not hot AT ALL!!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
lhk89
post Mar 24 2009, 09:06 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(deathninjax @ Mar 24 2009, 12:39 AM)
my fw33gw has the same gpu as fw35 and i added another 2gb ddr2 800mhz. i tried your crysis settings but it lags. why? is it because of cpu? i thought games are gpu bound except flight sim? my fw33 specs should offer the same performance as fw35 already isn't it? or is it fw35 got 512gb of gpu ram?
Hey, im not sure about the gpu bound think.. when i play crysis in DX10.. no lag however when after sometimes it will shut the game down itself.. no idea why.. so i play crysis using DX9, lagless and no auto shut down.. *got lag but seldom and when there is more activity happening*
FW35 runs on P8600 2.40ghz.. probably has a little affect?

0.0249sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:25 AM