** - Quite Fit
*** - Fit
**** - Fit and experience
***** - Veteran rider
miniacs
post Jul 22 2010, 07:05 PM

386 posts

Most Genting Sempah and Hulu Langat routes are pretty safe except for riding back downhill after the climb to the starting point, make sure you dont bantai the corner too hard especially during rainy days and pls make sure that your brake works.

Starting from bukit jalil. well you need to be confident on the road, u have to get used to cars zoomed past and giving ways to the motor bikes. Jalil on MEX to Putra is pretty big rolling routes for beginners.

Ride more often and you will gain confidence on the road, you need to control the road read the traffic well. A good test on road traffic reading is to ride Jalan Kebun near Klang. Heavy traffic with lotsa of lorries, narrow roads and motorcyclists. If you can ride this road comfortable, you can basically ride anywhere in Malaysia. smile.gif

Anyone wants me to teman for ride, just PM, I'm game for most rides on the weekend, my only condition is to start before 7am. Start early, finish early.

This post has been edited by miniacs: Jul 22 2010, 07:10 PM
miniacs
post Jul 28 2010, 10:40 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(plkvoon @ Jul 28 2010, 12:56 AM)
Dear all sifus here,

I am currently looking at this bike,
http://www.giant-bicycles.com/zh-tw/bikes/...e.1/7123/43440/

Model : Giant Composite 1 (2010).
Is it a good buy below RM4k?
Buy, and come and join me for rides... Where you buying your Giant bike from? Desa Sri Hartamas? The bike is too good to be true especially when it is also a carbon frame..

@Patrickstar, PM me if you wanna go for rides. Where are you based anyway?

This post has been edited by miniacs: Jul 28 2010, 10:42 AM
miniacs
post Jul 29 2010, 12:19 PM

386 posts

plkvoon - congrates, good buy for less than RM4k.

Complete racing bike, no tax at all, so no worries, pay add. RM50 I think for sports luggage via airasia, mas is free but not sure whether included in the allowable check-in weight?
miniacs
post Jul 30 2010, 11:27 AM

386 posts

Wow, that is a high tax rate for complete racing bike. Cant you just tell them that you are going to BKK for a cycling holiday. Cycling thru the beautiful and greenery Chiang Mai. Just say you going there for holiday la.
miniacs
post Aug 24 2010, 11:36 AM

386 posts

When about to stop, unclip one feet first, usually it is the left foot here in Malaysia. Dont unclip when you stop, by then you might lose your balance and jatuh percuma.
miniacs
post Sep 8 2010, 10:16 AM

386 posts

have not been cycling for a month due to fasting, everytime wanna ride, hujan non stop.. so frustrating man..
miniacs
post Sep 9 2010, 01:23 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(rads78 @ Sep 8 2010, 06:59 PM)
nice to see a cycling thread here. I had left cycling for 10 years and still have my Fausto Coppi San Marino collecting r/dust at home. Thinking of starting again slowly (due to the age) after raya. Anybody around Cheras (Len Seng / Alama Damai / Connaught) cycles? I mean beginner tongue.gif tongue.gif
u can try to cycle to Batu 14 and find cyclists there riding up to Genting Peres and back... On the weekend, there are plenty of riders there.

miniacs
post Nov 10 2010, 09:13 AM

386 posts

anyone went for the recent Broga race last Sunday?
miniacs
post Dec 25 2010, 07:43 AM

386 posts

where do u pedal to on tuesday night?

miniacs
post Jan 7 2011, 07:40 PM

386 posts

anyone wanna join me for a ride more than 100km tom morning. pm me for details.

Added on January 8, 2011, 12:42 pmcycle from genting sempah McD rest area to Raub, distance approximately 120km. Today was beautiful, slight rain and the road from Bentong to Raub was awesome, rolling with lotsa crosswind, great for time trial training. Never been to Raub, but ended makan at the local Kopitiam. overall the ride was awesome except on the way back when the last 9km was climb back to the rest area, by then most of us already bonked.

This post has been edited by miniacs: Jan 8 2011, 12:42 PM
miniacs
post Jan 10 2011, 03:13 PM

386 posts

try not to cycling alone at night time, go with at least another cyclist. i dont know dare to travel far during the night alone, usually I do criterium training at night, whereby i cycle on the same road few loops over and over again but with a high cadence intensity. the loop doesnt need to be long, usually ranging from 1.0km to 2.5km, i usually do about 25km if I am alone, if with a bunch other riders, push it to 35km - 40km but in a peloton.
miniacs
post Jan 10 2011, 07:20 PM

386 posts

scott bike is good start, s30 is 105 rite. 105 is 20speed, cukup le.
miniacs
post Jan 11 2011, 12:40 AM

386 posts

damansara perdana is a great to stay at, you can cycle to Klang via Puncak Alam and back, you can also cycle to Ijok or Kuala Selangor via Guthrie Highway.
miniacs
post Jan 12 2011, 06:30 PM

386 posts

anyone wanna go for Tour De France tour this year? I plan to climb Alpe De Huez. Plan to be there for 4-5 days.
miniacs
post Jan 13 2011, 11:31 PM

386 posts

no need to stay in PD lar, KL to PD using old road only 150km or less back and forth, I usually do it half a day, start at 5.30am and back at home before noon. makan pagi in PD and go back la. the road to get there is quite rolling.

if u do 20km/h u can finish it before 2.30pm, worst come to worst, that is about 8hours.. can la..

This post has been edited by miniacs: Jan 13 2011, 11:32 PM
miniacs
post Jan 14 2011, 01:07 AM

386 posts

no tax to bring in complete racing bike.
miniacs
post Jan 15 2011, 01:02 PM

386 posts

excellent, after that we all ride together.
miniacs
post Jan 17 2011, 04:43 PM

386 posts

handlebar can differ, pedal can differ..

0.0528sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:16 PM