All About Harddisk Thread V5

babylon52281
post Dec 5 2024, 04:09 PM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Dec 5 2024, 03:39 PM)
Is 12 years old pc, i not planning to do any other thing
Your PC is 12 yo, your HDD/storage doesnt have to be that old. If its telling you to change, its time to change. HDD is affordable as dirt and Seagate shopee has deals + 12.12 incoming soon. I gotten a 2TB unit as spare storage for my backups at nearly half its price after discounts & vouchers.
babylon52281
post Dec 6 2024, 09:41 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Dec 5 2024, 05:37 PM)
Hope does not any bad happen too fast, or just copy to external driver first
Any brand of internal hdd make different right
Should be able to last you for another week up to 12.12 sales. Better dont procrastinate to get a replacement HDD. When both those smart errors comes that HDD is on its way out sooner than later.
babylon52281
post Aug 19 2025, 10:22 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Aug 19 2025, 08:51 AM)
So brazen  shakehead.gif  good, finally some actual policing done. i really commend them on cracking down on these scammers. GIT EM !

https://www.lowyat.net/2025/362869/seagate-...e-kuala-lumpur/
If anyone else bought any drives and did the smart test i recommended for seagate for the farm data and u detected its not brand new. i suggest u immediately contact shopee and ask for a refund. Point them to this article as ur reason. If u wait too long, may be harder to get a refund.

Make sure u backup first though
Most regular PC users could only do SMART test or at best CrystalDiskInfo run. If this can be wiped & modified, how to check the lower level SMART where scammers cannot touch?
babylon52281
post Aug 20 2025, 02:29 PM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(zzzz52 @ Aug 20 2025, 01:12 PM)
The new seller for the EXOS is also shopee? could you share the store please? I previously few months ago bought Exos 16tb from Shopee China seller which the seller stated as pulled from system. warranty 1 year. I just yesterday use the farm check and it did indeed fail the smart vs farm power on time.
Bought from China and expect seller to be honest... sweat.gif
babylon52281
post Aug 20 2025, 05:41 PM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(zzzz52 @ Aug 20 2025, 02:39 PM)
I must say, great engineering to make to last cun cun 3 years.
Planned obsolescence at its best, the engineer who designed it must have gotten a good raise.
babylon52281
post Aug 25 2025, 08:12 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Aug 24 2025, 11:15 PM)
curated pc shop.

is OEM, so warranty is STORE warranty. NOT SEAGATE. Everything seems upfront, its all mentioned in the store.

only thing i am unsure of is whether the store will honor warranty or not. thats the only thing i never tested.

But i can tell u my experience for warranty from a different seller which was a scammer. zero possibility of warranty. When try, they bluff, ended up wasting 1-2 months waiting for nothing.

That said so far curated pc shop seems legit. But i donno where they source their hard drives from. he says pre-order, so i am guessing drop ship?

regardless how he got them, it seems authentic and is brand new power on hours 0 (even after checking farm).
IINM these enterprise drives can be registered to the brand website (ie Seagate), if you can do that it means its a legit drive, if not it could mean a lot of things.
babylon52281
post Aug 26 2025, 02:23 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(Kclee2002 @ Aug 25 2025, 06:49 PM)
I would rate Curated as scam. Their warranty policy is essentially useless as well.

Edit: For FARM check on Windows PC, do the following:
1. Get Smartmontools and install https://sourceforge.net/projects/smartmonto...rtmontools/7.4/
2. Once installed, you will need to run CMD with admin privileges, with the following command lines smartctl -a /dev/sdX and smartctl -l farm /dev/sdX; X indicates the logical drive alphabet in which you will need to do a smartctl --scan
3. Compare the SMART power on value and the FARM power on value of your drive. If they are not similar, you have a dud.
Thats what I was afraid off if the warranty comes from the shop cuz things sketchy. Did you register your drive in Seagate when received 'new' then?

I dont get why their pushing to their backend seller, its the same shop with the same seller ID right? They should honour the warranty to bcoz thats between them and you and Shopee as the middleman, nothing to do with their supplier. So how can they wash hands by blaming it to their source, and Shopee allows it by not honouring the refund process? Thats scammy from them as well.
babylon52281
post Aug 26 2025, 11:23 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(Kclee2002 @ Aug 26 2025, 10:10 AM)
You cannot register hard drives outside the region it was made to be sold in. Anyhow, the serial number is probably not a valid one anyway since they can always reprint the labels (as seen in the KPDN raid).

Shopee didn't want to do anything either; they just said nothing they can be done cause its outside their "shopee guarantee period", until you have filed a complain with KPDN.
Ahh, so basically buying these is like buying grey. But Moogle managed to register apparently so prolly his HDD batch are for our region.

Fwiw, i would try to register, if cannot i will return it during return goods period. Unless i know im buying from grey/used market.
babylon52281
post Aug 26 2025, 05:51 PM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(Kclee2002 @ Aug 26 2025, 11:37 AM)
You must understand, tribunal is not a 1 day thing. I have gone through this before for something else, its not as easy as it sounds. You need to file a case on tribunal website, serve notification papers to Shopee, arrange court date, go to the related KPDN branch and wait for your turn. Depending on severity, you may have to come back on a later date if cannot reach agreement.

I have exhausted all means contacting shopee support and they insist on not helping, so I lodged to KPDN e-aduan. I only took the cash because you can see how bothersome going to tribunal is(is it even worth your time, unless its like a 5 digit thing).
6months.
Yeah just bcoz tribunal dont need to have lawyers doesnt mean the legal due process dont need to follow. Instead you have to do the legal legwork in liew of conveyors.
babylon52281
post Oct 30 2025, 08:17 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Oct 29 2025, 05:29 PM)
saw a 12tb western digital plus on viewnet
RM1,850.20

OOF
i saw on amazon

Seagate IronWolf 12TB NAS Internal Hard Drive HDD – CMR 3.5 Inch SATA 6Gb/s 7200 RPM 256MB Cache for RAID Network Attached Storage (ST12000VNZ008/ST12000VN0008)

for $250

Fine details
Free international returns it says. but i think this is for UNOPENED/UNUSED. so not the same thing as warranty returns  hmm.gif
Ok so confirmed international warranty for the seagate from amazon. So i'm assuming what this means is, if you buy from amazon the seagate drive, you can do the warranty rma process, then ship to the local drop off or request them to collect for the local rma for seagate. So no need to send to amazon, since it seems seagate rma international applies for the purchase. In case anyone wants to know.
Anyway when add to cart this is the full amount
And on the amazon site it shows
so seems it's a legit seller channel.
This is a NON pro seagate ironwolf 12tb. But for home NAS it's good enough. And for the price it's fine. If you try buy something like this on shopee, they go for rm 1.8k or roughly.

hmm.gif
Alternative to that i saw a "TOSHIBA
N300 12TB NAS 3.5-Inch Internal Hard Drive - CMR SATA 6 Gb/s 7200 RPM 512 MB Cache - HDWG51CXZSTA" slightly cheaper and has a 512 MB cache. But i dont know how reliable toshiba nas drives are or how well their warranty claim works. Anyone know?
Western Digital 12TB WD Red Plus NAS Internal Hard Drive HDD - 7200 RPM, SATA 6 GB/s, CMR, 512 MB Cache, 3.5" - WD120EFGX  this one is the most expensive between the 3 of them. But it too also has 512 MB cache.
Seagate Exos X18 12TB 7200 RPM 512e/4Kn SATA 6Gb/s 256MB Cache 3.5-Inch Enterprise HDD (ST12000NM000J) (Renewed)  this goes for MYR 904.01 and seller is gohardrive on amazon. they are supposed to be a reputable seller for renewed drives. but i don't see any mention for warranty for renewed drives. For roughly the same price u can already go for that toshiba and it's brand new  rolleyes.gif
red flag  sweat.gif
Anyway the seagate amazon seller amazon/seagate is safe for warranty if you believe the comment that confirmed it. Not sure about toshiba and western digital, you have to do your own research.

Having tried seagate exos, i will stick to the seagate ironwolf non pro since it's cheaper than the exos (through legit seller channels. Sure you can get it for same price from sketchy sellers but way too risky when it comes to the condition and warranty so totally not worth it).
hopefully that helped someone. i'm also planning to order more hard drives for myself, so had to do research where to get from for cheapest.
*update

checked toshiba warranty policy, they expect you to pay for the shipping to them. not gonna buy toshiba then  sweat.gif
reviews for the toshiba n300 if you are curious

https://www.tomshardware.com/pc-components/...18tb-hdd-review

https://www.tomshardware.com/pc-components/...tb-hdd-review/2

what it boils down to

- sure u get more cache than the seagate for a cheaper price
- but their warranty sux in comparison. i've used seagate, they charge me anything. unless u want to drop off point then u got to pay the fuel to drive there yourself. but their free collection is totally free.
- bad power efficiency
- not mentioned in the review but people mentioned it's louder than seagate.

https://www.reddit.com/r/DataHoarder/commen...d_toshiba_n300/
so ya i won't be buying these toshibas anytime soon  sweat.gif
now we are back to picking between the wd red plus or the seagate ironwolf non pro. the wd has more cache but cost more than seagate. not familiar with wd warranty policy but people also say wd red has lesser chance for going bad compared to seagate  hmm.gif
Better check if "international warranty for the seagate" applies to RMA back to Seagate Msia, may not be so and often international warranty applies for countries with better consumer protection (EU, Jpn, SK) even if bought from US site. Such terms afaik usually dont cover to Msia.

From experience, certain products do have international warranty coverage on regional areas (ie ASEAN) but having a central location for collection (ie SG or Thai) and you have to pay for shipment to these collection points which can be a bit expensive negating any savings buying from 3rd parties. YMMV.
babylon52281
post Oct 30 2025, 06:48 PM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Oct 30 2025, 01:39 PM)
got back a solid answer. This is direct from the amazon seller contact.
So yeah, don't even buy it from amazon. Cause you won't have warranty covered. Not worth it. I've owned a couple of seagates before (including those that qualify for local warranty bought from local sources) and they do die within 1-3 years. Imagine if your hard drive fail and you cannot rma...  sweat.gif
Yeah I figured as much. Lucky you didnt pull the trigger and would be costly mistake tho only if the HDD fails lar which nobody wants anyhow, local or intl.

There must be a catch why local distros are selling price so high, if can get much cheaper via Amazon and still get warranty, their business will lingkup tmrw.

If you want the surety of local warranty you gotta pay for it. Or else risk it for cheaper price. I guessing if you RAID redundant them, it doesnt really matter since their that much cheaper to replace later on.
babylon52281
post Nov 1 2025, 04:23 PM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Nov 1 2025, 05:57 AM)
to anyone trying to get refund from shopee for hard drive warranty dispute, be warned.

here is the case example

you buy hard drive, turns out seagate cant rma. so it falls under store warranty. but the seller doesnt honor warranty (more accurate they pretend they are, saying they will claim on ur behalf. they quote take 2 month. but u wait 3-4month no replacement. why? because they lied and made u wait that long. they are trying to waste ur time hoping u give up at this point to get ur refund).
This is what shopee says about refunds
shopee rejected claims on basis of it's outside the 15 day guarantee.

But notice how there is a claims outside that period which falls under the manufacturer (e.g. seagate rma) or store warranty.
Which the case falls under but shopee pretends not to know this, unless you point out this specific line in their own guidelines.
I managed to claim refund before just citing this and providing proof. So if your refund gets rejected and you do have solid proof, keep reopen ticket to dispute. because unless you go through a few rounds of this back and forth close, reopen, close, reopen, you wont get your refund through shopee.

you have to

1. prove that the seagate rma is not valid (show screenshots)
2. prove that seller does not honor store warranty (show screenshots)
3. provide proof your hard disk is dead (just show screenshots of your smart test etc)
4. dont let shopee trick you about the limited 15 day guarantee (theyll give u any excuse if it lets them not refund you if u allow them). refer them to the guideline for outside that period in regards to the store warranty not being honored. this will be ur basis for refund as per their own guideline.
my point is, prevention is better than the cure. so if you dont want to go through hell, just order from the legit sources.

those amazon prices r nice cheap and legit, but since they wont arrive in good condition and dont qualify for rma locally in malaysia, u can stop dreaming about buying hard drives at those prices unfortunately. just accept u have to cough up the high mark up prices from the local stock official distributor/resellers in malaysia >_<:
Basically buying grey from shopee is just like buying from Amazon. Basically its the same shit, just with local smell. Basically if you really care about warranty (like all things not just HDD), go buy from official resellers or SI (ie Illegear, Idealtech).

Laz also the same, I got scammed twice by super cheap deals that the sellers dont ship out and trigger autocancel.

Legits shopee shops also have different kinda scam, if theres a super cheap deal scored, they can & have canceled with 'no stock' excuses.

Both Shopee & Laz are scummy sites that sides with sellers not buyers, bcoz our pathetic consumer protection laws and you prolly spend more time than the value of getting your money back (depends).

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Nov 1 2025, 04:30 PM
babylon52281
post Nov 3 2025, 09:56 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Nov 2 2025, 09:12 AM)
example of what a bad hard drive looks like
All that based on SMART info which can be read by CDInfo tho that program isnt as intuitive as above to tell whether which part of the HDD is failing (it just give an overall health assessment traffic light rating).

Then again SMART data can also be tampered with so how reliable its reporting can be doubted.
babylon52281
post Nov 4 2025, 08:33 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Nov 3 2025, 01:42 PM)
Seagate also has their own tool for testing. You have to pull out and connect to your pc and run the test.
Sea Tool?

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Nov 4 2025, 06:27 AM)
Does anyone know if

"yes it distribution" is a legitimate seagate reseller? They say they get their stock from Seagate Malaysia local distributors.

Seems legit, read buyers reviews to really gauge. As for Seagate seller, maybe can ask Seagate chat agent to find out if their legit? But its also possible the shopee shop might not be the real genuine by the physical shop (it happens!) so do your due diligence.
babylon52281
post Nov 4 2025, 10:14 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Nov 4 2025, 08:48 AM)
what do u mean by that. u mean got shops that pretend to be legitimate shops on the regular shopee (not shopee mall) ? is that a thing  hmm.gif

if like this i can click shopeemall and use that. i check pricing its the same as shopee, so may as well use that just to be safe.
well see the 11.11 sales which has a good deal. i'm only buying 1 hard drive first. I'll check the serial number and then ask the seagate live agent to confirm status see if it checks out.
Yup its more common than you think. Off the top I had saw a scammer postings very similar description as Dotatech (you know they like to put # in front, yeah something like that).

Being in ShoppeeMall doesnt guarantee real, yes it says its guaranteed genuine seller but who knows?
babylon52281
post Nov 4 2025, 12:16 PM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Nov 4 2025, 11:13 AM)
what about here

https://www.reddit.com/r/malaysia/comments/...ops_in_low_yat/
got sell hard drives? anyone check before?
If your going there can also try out Enotex (Etex) further along in Kepong. Bought some stuff from them coz was the cheapest in shopee/Laz then.
babylon52281
post Nov 5 2025, 10:09 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Nov 5 2025, 05:52 AM)
is the seagate warranty valid? their source is local authorized distributor is it?

This one? but no hdd listed
https://www.etexpc.com/
Thats the shop. Just saying their legit shop around the area so you can visit both places to find out. Whether their authorised reseller can try ask them. Also can visit their shopee/Laz site (afaik its their real webshop coz I bought online and collect in shop).

If Pro/Enterprise stuff your after, maybe can ask sifu Myway here tho he is more a SI builder. Also can try ask other SI; illegear, Idealtech, etc
babylon52281
post Nov 12 2025, 04:14 PM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Nov 12 2025, 03:21 PM)
bought the ironwolf 12tb non pro.

was considering the wd red plus but i didnt get it though it was cheaper
because

1. its lower rpm. so for a nas they will use the lowest rpm drive.... so my other drives are 7200 rpm...

2. different brand. might not be a good idea to mix. it will work, but i rather not do that

3. not a fan of wd warranty rma. u have to pay for shipping urself.
i also got from the official seagate seller list. i dont want to argue with seagate saying i didnt buy from the list, then get rma rejected  rolleyes.gif
Yes better be safe than sorry. BTW which seller you bought from?
babylon52281
post Nov 12 2025, 07:47 PM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Nov 12 2025, 04:26 PM)
viewnet
they offered about rm 1580 at the shop but i not free to go. so i got it at 1700 on shopee. so if u want a cheaper deal, u have to drive down to lowyat and ask in viewnet for that price.

first thing i did was check rma (dont have to open the anti static since u can see the serial. so i check first before i open, in case i need to return). it's valid. also they are indeed an official source for seagate.

yes the shopee is legit, cause i asked direct on whatsapp from their shop , and they confirmed.

i was looking for some 11.11 deals, but wasn't lucky. ironically the prices for the drive i was looking at was cheaper prior to 11.11  rolleyes.gif

fyi this drive sells for close to rm 1k on us amazon. so basically overpaid, but what to do, the malaysia market for the nas drives r just more expensive than US  rolleyes.gif

I did bad block scan for my other 3 drives. so only 1 was bad. so silver lining only 1 needed to replace. giving me time to save budget for next replacement, hopefully not anytime soon.
viewnet shopee they ship the drive in a very bubbled wrapped package, and inside a small cardboard box to fit 1 drive. i've seen better hdd packaging where they do bubble wrap + box + foam enclosure. So not the best packaging, but not worse either.

Now i have to bad block scan and check the drive arrived in good condition or not. Seems to be local stock since it took 1 day to ship.
day of manufacture is 18 sept 2025. with the rma Dec 2028 so yes 3 year warranty from seagate rma.
the cardboard box, the anti static bag, and bubble wrap i keep for later rma in future. hopefully not needed. it also came with a receipt, which is good cause u can scan a copy and send with ur rma if they ask if u bought from their official malaysia seller  rolleyes.gif
allit, thundermatch all on shopee no stock  sweat.gif
so my setup now has 12tb x 4 in raidz1.

My backup is 6-8 x 4tb. Since the backup is powered off unless i recover or backup, running that many hdds isnt a big deal. just need to backup once or twice a year or as needed.

this is why for my main nas i run 4 hard drives max. because more drive means more electricity consumption. my elec bill with 4 x 12tb for my homelab is ok for my bill  sweat.gif
took video and photo before opening package. so plan is, within this 15 day period, i have to do the bad block scan, do smart short and long. then check. if not good, immediately request refund. i rather not rma and get a recertified drive. refund better then order again. anyway hopefully the test is alright.

fyi it takes about 10 days to do the bad block scan for 12tb hard drive.
i tested the smart and farm both show 0. Which clearly matches the manufacturer date to indicate it's brand new unused. so yes it's legit. i mean the source was credible to begin with, but doesn't hurt to check.

just a reminder u can check farm using this docker container app
https://github.com/gamestailer94/farm-check
its better to check farm before u do the smart test and bad block test. so u can check that it is 0 hours.
Thanks for the very detailed details. And yes Viewnet is as legit as any lowyat shop will get. Then again back when physical buying was the only way, even these major shops do have some bad customer experience stories (all of them have to a certain degree).

Since warranty is that important to you, paying that more for a peace of mind with that assurance is well worth it imo.

Cant blame the seller pricing too as AI is sucking HDD back from the dead of being obsoleted when many of the HDD players had over the years been downsizing its production and replacing capacity with SSD (WD & Seagate).

0.0142sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:17 PM