Scooters or motorcycles, which is better?

ikengkai
post Dec 21 2016, 12:07 AM

263 posts

Hi all scooter fellows here, I am interested to get a scooter, just for a convenient transport like go mini-market, or send kid to school in early morning (2-3km distant).
I am looking for <150cc scooter, anyway, previously cub user (honda 110cc cub), and feel want to switch to automatic.

A few concern, since the honda cub is super reliable and solid, after >15 years still work good and not much maintenance cost. Heard that scooter might need frequent change v-belt and cvt pulley stuff... Just worry after bought it will regret, any forum or page that could get more info on all those stuffs ?
ikengkai
post Dec 21 2016, 02:09 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Dec 21 2016, 11:30 AM)
Cubchai definitely cheaper to maintain in the long run...

1. Scoot need to change the CVT parts.. Belt, Roller and Clutch  just its need different KM distance on those parts.
2. Engine oil will need to change with oil filter (compare to EX-5), and good quality of engine oil needed since Scoot with CVT will need to operate in higher RPM most of the time...
3. Those fat but small Tyre definitely more expensive than those cubchai rubber (unless you take the standard size 14 or 17 inc tyres like those PCX or Nouvo)
4. Bodyparts.. more plastic cover need to maintain.. if you tend to leave your scoot under the sun most of the time.. forget abt it.. will fade and crumbled..
Ajaibman,
Thank you for the info.

Still struggle between cub and scoot. hmm.gif
Really like the leg-space of scoot, and no need up/down gear. By the way, Honda BeAT / Spacy are good to go basic scoot? Or Yamaha EGO series / Modenas Karisma better option?
ikengkai
post Dec 22 2016, 09:26 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Dec 21 2016, 03:10 PM)
Those scoot you mention does not guarantee long space for your leg, just same as cubchai... but if you really into those choices..

I would suggest Honda Spacy as 1st option then follow by the Ego .. dont go for Modenas.. how many you see on the road this bike?
Thank ajaibman.
Will visit shop to has a serious look on the actual unit.
Personally prefer Honda, as it famous for "tahan lasak". But i don't want limit the choice, since it is scoot, Suzuki/Yamaha had long history of scoot in Malaysia, so they should had build up some eco-system.
ikengkai
post Dec 25 2016, 09:57 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Dec 22 2016, 10:03 AM)
And don't go for Suzuki as well.. their principal close shop in Malaysia only Lion Suzuki as distributor now... even in Thai and Indon Suzuki not  mainstream brand...

However, Suzuki tend to build their engine tahan lasak...
Okay, will not go for Suzuki. Most probably go for Honda Spacy or Honda BeAT, since the BeAT is new model. the BeAT got PGM-FI fuel injection. The spacy got DC CDI, but i not sure how benefit it for the engine.
ikengkai
post Jan 8 2017, 05:27 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ Dec 31 2016, 09:42 AM)
Ride that far daily? Salute you  flex.gif
v-belt sets not that expensive (Yamaha). My Ego LC Fi, as stated in manual, need to change every 20k. My annual mileage only 6k. So it'll take years before I need to change it.

I still have my first scooter (Yamaha Nouvo first edition), pass it to my brother. Still kicking strong. Only the plastic cover faded.
1. Mileage base. Not that expensive.
2. Every 4k km.  Similar with kapchai. Similar engine oil spec. Nothing fancy.
3. True. Can be significantly expensive.
4. Similar to kapchai too. Most kapchai also covered with plastics.
I use Ego LC Fi. Good enough to go to pasar malam and work (10 mins ride only). The only thing that lacks is fuel tank too small 3.8L.
Which version do you have?
Thank for the info.
The plastic fade problem seem to be issue for scooter. So far I saw those kapcai, even my honda kapcai, after 15 years, the plastic still look like new. For scooter, the black plastic tend to fade.

0.0177sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:04 PM