[V30] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

Jay Chua CC
post Jun 9 2017, 11:31 AM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jun 9 2017, 11:14 AM)
sure; just get those backlighting-compatible/backlit-transluscent doubleshot pbt, like this one, https://www.massdrop.com/buy/vortex-backlit...shot-keycap-set

be sure to check out position of led on your keyboard (north, south, etc), so that they match legends of the keycaps. i didn't check so previously i got the wrong one, http://www.wasdkeyboards.com/index.php/pro...shot-black.html (the leds of my keyboard are at north/top, but the number row of this set has legends distributed top and bottom. since the keycaps are thick, the numbers are not shown nicely, i just got to see symbols only for number row hahaha)
I guess corsair strafe led is in the middle? Haha
Usually this backlit doubleshot pbt ckst averageky how much? Any suggestion where to get them locally?

horns
post Jun 9 2017, 12:27 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jun 9 2017, 11:31 AM)
Usually this backlit doubleshot pbt ckst averageky how much? Any suggestion where to get them locally?
yours might be ok smile.gif

the price range vary, depending on your expectations and fault tolerance. for very cheap ones, their legends are really something (i don't think you wanna see those on your keyboard), and most of the times they kind of have qc issues. for those with middle range pricing (around myr 50 to 99), they are of good quality, but with various levels of 'defects' here and there. for (near) perfect quality ones, usually they start from myr 150. for enthusiast class (for collections), well, i skip them.

note that the price range above is simply based on a brief survey at taobao. tbh, if you wanna have a good set, it's better to check out other places also. doubleshot pbt is really very durable. you can swap them from keyboards to keyboards for many generations. imo it's better to get a perfect quality ones.

locally i only know ultimate.zone (a lot of good stuff; but better call them for stock status), and garage sales here.

This post has been edited by horns: Jun 9 2017, 12:47 PM
stupid1
post Jun 9 2017, 02:21 PM

112 posts

Okay guys.. Actually I have a problem now.. I'm actually using a e element z77 keyboard blue switches.. But my parents actually hated the switches sound lol.. So now I'm going to find a brown switch keyboard which is suitable since it has a bit clicky sound but not so loud... Any suggestion from dear sifu? I'm actually looking for a good built quality which can last me for a couple of years.. Budget is around rm 500 to 600.. Thanks and appreciated.. Welcome add suggestions.

This post has been edited by stupid1: Jun 9 2017, 02:24 PM
Jay Chua CC
post Jun 9 2017, 03:44 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jun 9 2017, 12:27 PM)
yours might be ok smile.gif

the price range vary, depending on your expectations and fault tolerance. for very cheap ones, their legends are really something (i don't think you wanna see those on your keyboard), and most of the times they kind of have qc issues. for those with middle range pricing (around myr 50 to 99), they are of good quality, but with various levels of 'defects' here and there. for (near) perfect quality ones, usually they start from myr 150. for enthusiast class (for collections), well, i skip them.

note that the price range above is simply based on a brief survey at taobao. tbh, if you wanna have a good set, it's better to check out other places also. doubleshot pbt is really very durable. you can swap them from keyboards to keyboards for many generations. imo it's better to get a perfect quality ones.

locally i only know ultimate.zone (a lot of good stuff; but better call them for stock status), and garage sales here.
ohhh okayy. thanks for the inputs !!
horns
post Jun 9 2017, 03:50 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(stupid1 @ Jun 9 2017, 02:21 PM)
Okay guys.. Actually I have a problem now.. I'm actually using a e element z77 keyboard blue switches.. But my parents actually hated the switches sound lol.. So now I'm going to find a brown switch keyboard which is suitable since it has a bit clicky sound but not so loud... Any suggestion from dear sifu? I'm actually looking for a good built quality which can last me for a couple of years.. Budget is around rm 500 to 600.. Thanks and appreciated.. Welcome add suggestions.
this is personal preference but for backlit mkbs you should try out the following:
1. ikbc f87 - backlit (rgb); cherry mx; minimalist; standard 87-key keyboard layout (no weird bottom row); comes with doubleshot pbt key caps. (with fixed cable).
2. cm masterkeys pro s - backlit (rgb); cherry mx; minimalist; standard 87-key layout (no weird bottom row); abs key caps. (with detachable micro-usb cable).

both have on-board controls of led effects.
stupid1
post Jun 9 2017, 06:26 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jun 9 2017, 03:50 PM)
this is personal preference but for backlit mkbs you should try out the following:
1. ikbc f87 - backlit (rgb); cherry mx; minimalist; standard 87-key keyboard layout (no weird bottom row); comes with doubleshot pbt key caps. (with fixed cable).
2. cm masterkeys pro s - backlit (rgb); cherry mx; minimalist; standard 87-key layout (no weird bottom row); abs key caps. (with detachable micro-usb cable).

both have on-board controls of led effects.
Thanks for the reply! How do you think of corsair strafe keyboard compared with these 2 keyboard? Appreciated..i need a ride full size keyboard

This post has been edited by stupid1: Jun 9 2017, 06:28 PM
TaintedSoul
post Jun 9 2017, 08:13 PM

174 posts

Anyone using hyperx alloy blue switch keyboard?? Is it a good buy?
Jay Chua CC
post Jun 9 2017, 08:30 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(stupid1 @ Jun 9 2017, 06:26 PM)
Thanks for the reply! How do you think of corsair strafe keyboard compared with these 2 keyboard? Appreciated..i need a ride full size keyboard
what i can see is, compared to those 2 above, strafe have abs keycap, undetachable cable, non standard bottom row. corsair is 2 years warranty tho.
ultimate zone having sales for strafe rm399 only. haha
stupid1
post Jun 9 2017, 08:42 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jun 9 2017, 08:30 PM)
what i can see is, compared to those 2 above, strafe have abs keycap, undetachable cable, non standard bottom row. corsair is 2 years warranty tho.
ultimate zone having sales for strafe rm399 only. haha
Thanks for reply! I tot corsair got double shot one? Other than 2 years warranty any advantages of corsair strafe? Thanks again
irsyadfy
post Jun 9 2017, 10:54 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jun 9 2017, 11:31 AM)
when changing caps, be wary of ur non-standard bottom row.

QUOTE(stupid1 @ Jun 9 2017, 02:21 PM)
So now I'm going to find a brown switch keyboard which is suitable since it has a bit clicky sound but not so loud
ur ear is so powderful to hear clicks from brown. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(stupid1 @ Jun 9 2017, 08:42 PM)
Other than 2 years warranty any advantages of corsair strafe? Thanks again
Having non-standard bottom row makes it a disadvantage.
Filco>all
stupid1
post Jun 9 2017, 11:05 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Jun 9 2017, 10:54 PM)
when changing caps, be wary of ur non-standard bottom row.
ur ear is so powderful to hear clicks from brown.  notworthy.gif
Having non-standard bottom row makes it a disadvantage.
Filco>all
Hi there, why did you say filco better than the others? Thanks
irsyadfy
post Jun 10 2017, 12:04 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(stupid1 @ Jun 9 2017, 11:05 PM)
Hi there, why did you say filco better than the others? Thanks
standard bottom row
costar stab (pros = easy to lube) but i just fucking love costar. lubing it makes it much more nyum nyum.
better build quality(japang) = longer life (hopefully)
much more aftermarket stuff for it (detachable cable and aftermarket case mainly)
no led = no problem (i rarely game/do work in the dark. but if u do, learn touch typing whistling.gif)
i like the indicator led is not on key (when changing caps, u dont need to bother having a backlit compatible caps for ur caps lock/scr lock)

but other than Filco, i highly suggest Leopold.
Cherry stabs (but as good as costar, review says, i nvr own a leopold. pros = easy to change cap)
lot of layout choices. all highly reccomended by user reviews.
i personally like their 980 n 660.

iKBC i like oso (nvr own one too)
PBT caps (stock kikaps sucks anyway, all kibods do)
indicator not on key.

i do just found out newer range Ducky(i dunno which range) led indicator is not on the key oso.
but ducky mehhhh.
I own one n i feel mehhh.

This post has been edited by irsyadfy: Jun 10 2017, 12:31 AM
siles1991
post Jun 10 2017, 12:59 AM

I love tubes so should you!
1,861 posts

Anyone selling about 6-7 cherry mx red switches? Need quite urgently on Sunday.
b00ter
post Jun 10 2017, 01:15 AM

*Wrong reply sorry*

This post has been edited by b00ter: Jun 10 2017, 01:16 AM
Jay Chua CC
post Jun 10 2017, 01:52 AM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Jun 10 2017, 12:04 AM)
standard bottom row
costar stab (pros = easy to lube) but i just fucking love costar. lubing it makes it much more nyum nyum.
better build quality(japang) = longer life (hopefully)
much more aftermarket stuff for it (detachable cable and aftermarket case mainly)
no led = no problem (i rarely game/do work in the dark. but if u do, learn touch typing whistling.gif)
i like the indicator led is not on key (when changing caps, u dont need to bother having a backlit compatible caps for ur caps lock/scr lock)

but other than Filco, i highly suggest Leopold.
Cherry stabs (but as good as costar, review says, i nvr own a leopold. pros = easy to change cap)
lot of layout choices. all highly reccomended by user reviews.
i personally like their 980 n 660.

iKBC i like oso (nvr own one too)
PBT caps (stock kikaps sucks anyway, all kibods do)
indicator not on key.

i do just found out newer range Ducky(i dunno which range) led indicator is not on the key oso.
but ducky mehhhh.
I own one n i feel mehhh.
cherry also need lubing?
irsyadfy
post Jun 10 2017, 10:10 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jun 10 2017, 01:52 AM)
cherry also need lubing?
cherry switch or cherry stab?

everything lubed, gets better.
but wrongly lubed, it might get worst.

so carefully. less is more.
TSquovadis123
post Jun 10 2017, 03:18 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(stupid1 @ Jun 9 2017, 08:42 PM)
Thanks for reply!  I tot corsair got double shot one?  Other than 2 years warranty any advantages of corsair strafe? Thanks again
Corsair is only laser etched keycaps.

For warranty, currently, only 3 giant mainstream brands provided the best. Razer, Corsair, CM. They provided 2 Years Warranty 1-to-1 Exchange (No repair, just exchange).

May I know what misconception that let you think Corsair do use doubleshot?
letze
post Jun 11 2017, 12:17 PM

~Beyond The Hourglass~
933 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Jun 10 2017, 12:04 AM)
after lube stab, that *dethuk3* sound when you press spacebar brows.gif
irsyadfy
post Jun 11 2017, 01:16 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(letze @ Jun 11 2017, 12:17 PM)
after lube stab, that *dethuk3* sound when you press spacebar  brows.gif
dem feels

Jay Chua CC
post Jun 11 2017, 01:52 PM