What would you feel? What would you do?
Think of others in a different angle.
Complaints complain >.<, RBR
Feb 11 2007, 06:41 PM
9,257 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Not so sure myself Status: 1+3+3=7 |
It would be like, 'Let's kill your family, I'd planned everything ady'
What would you feel? What would you do? Think of others in a different angle. |
Feb 11 2007, 06:56 PM
3,107 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sydney |
Your post was a case of wrong place, wrong time. You certainly do not 'joke' about something like that immediately after 2 innocent guards were shot dead and people were mourning for them.
The length of the suspension was 1 week partly because of the extremely bad taste of your 'joke' and also taking into account your past offences. Your warn level is 30%, not 10%. It was about time you got yourself a suspension to reflect all your offences thus far. This post has been edited by RBR: Feb 11 2007, 06:59 PM |
Feb 11 2007, 10:37 PM
581 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(RBR @ Feb 11 2007, 06:56 PM) Your post was a case of wrong place, wrong time. You certainly do not 'joke' about something like that immediately after 2 innocent guards were shot dead and people were mourning for them. oh please. The 1st 10% is spamming in Pets Wonderland which dated Jun 30 2006. the other 20% for oversize signature dated back Aug 7 and 15 last year. Those arent serious offences at all! what do u want me to reflect? The length of the suspension was 1 week partly because of the extremely bad taste of your 'joke' and also taking into account your past offences. Your warn level is 30%, not 10%. It was about time you got yourself a suspension to reflect all your offences thus far. plus i wasnt even joking bout those guards. Added on February 11, 2007, 10:46 pm QUOTE(r1fq @ Feb 11 2007, 06:30 PM) well, even though it's in kopitiam, and others are filled with crap as you said, that doesn't mean that every topic can be joked about, rite? that also doesnt mean that i cant joke on every topic rite?QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Feb 11 2007, 06:41 PM) It would be like, 'Let's kill your family, I'd planned everything ady' if u ask me,i will jz ignored it. thats rite,jz ignore me will do. not 1 week suspension.What would you feel? What would you do? Think of others in a different angle. This post has been edited by thivaakar: Feb 11 2007, 10:46 PM |
Feb 11 2007, 10:49 PM
QUOTE(thivaakar @ Feb 11 2007, 10:37 PM) oh please. The 1st 10% is spamming in Pets Wonderland which dated Jun 30 2006. the other 20% for oversize signature dated back Aug 7 and 15 last year. Those arent serious offences at all! what do u want me to reflect? Yes, add all your offences up and you get 1 week. Thats why we keep logs, so we can keep track.And yes, you should reflect on your insensitive 'joke'. |
Feb 11 2007, 10:54 PM
1,651 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
this is the bigger offence but no action taken?
at first he post a joke i dun mind at all...but it's proven to be true donation and even lyn members donated to it..me more furious when i read back his statement... http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/411872 post number 16 the account is verified to be true and really need donation infested_ysy Today, 04:47 PM Post #16 Group: Senior Member Posts: 3,622 QUOTE (digicam @ Feb 10 2007, 12:32 PM) Please help this pity lady. Just received an email. wonder if it's true. Got some IC photocopy n some document attached. DIE MONSTER! YOU DON'T BELONG IN THIS WORLD! This post has been edited by Malaysian: Feb 11 2007, 10:59 PM |
Feb 11 2007, 10:54 PM
wow look at that! wad ya say admins? a Senior Member can say that bt me a junior member cant joke bout someting silly?
This post has been edited by thivaakar: Feb 11 2007, 10:59 PM |
Feb 11 2007, 10:59 PM
That has been reported and will be dealt with by a moderator shortly. It doesn't absolve yourself from any wrong. And since you are now resorting to pointing out other people's faults, I take it you do not have anything else to say about your own case.
Thread closed. |
Feb 11 2007, 11:26 PM
QUOTE(RBR @ Feb 11 2007, 10:59 PM) That has been reported and will be dealt with by a moderator shortly. It doesn't absolve yourself from any wrong. And since you are now resorting to pointing out other people's faults, I take it you do not have anything else to say about your own case. im not done yet. sigh i give up. im still dissapointed. bt oh well, u guys have the power. so i guess i should say sry although i dont mean it. peace out . thread closed.Thread closed. |
Feb 12 2007, 12:49 AM
Admin
1,806 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Captain's Cabin, Black Pearl |
since you're not satisfied, this thread is reopened.
What i don't understand now is you're complaining about this after serving out your one week suspension. What would you want us to do now? If you had appealed against it when it was given, maybe it would have been reduced. We do accept explanations for your actions, and if its genuine, we will review our decision and reduce your suspension. You sat out your one week suspension, and are bringing this up now. |
Feb 12 2007, 01:11 AM
1,651 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(se7en @ Feb 12 2007, 12:49 AM) since you're not satisfied, this thread is reopened. 1 week suspension is really to harsh for a lame joke posted in kopitiam.Even trolling only 5 days suspension.What i don't understand now is you're complaining about this after serving out your one week suspension. What would you want us to do now? If you had appealed against it when it was given, maybe it would have been reduced. We do accept explanations for your actions, and if its genuine, we will review our decision and reduce your suspension. You sat out your one week suspension, and are bringing this up now. i have a suggestion,maybe before banning, trolling or jokes taken as serious stuff,mod should make a poll among mods..to vote to see the action is justified or not.... |
Feb 12 2007, 01:13 AM
9,257 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Not so sure myself Status: 1+3+3=7 |
QUOTE(thivaakar @ Feb 11 2007, 10:37 PM) Added on February 11, 2007, 10:46 pm that also doesnt mean that i cant joke on every topic rite? if u ask me,i will jz ignored it. thats rite,jz ignore me will do. not 1 week suspension. |
Feb 12 2007, 01:26 AM
Admin
1,806 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Captain's Cabin, Black Pearl |
Malaysian, you really think we're that free eh. Just for discussions sake, we receive close to 100 reports a day and monitor close to 500 new replies every hour.
The moderation team is instructed to act first and ask questions later. If we were to deliberate on each and every action we take, this forum would be a pile of uncontrollable junk by today. Members are free to come forward and appeal or give proper reason (their side of the story) if they feel wronged. It would be the same in a real world situation. If you're caught at the scene of a crime, do the police actually sit down, drink coffee, check with the judge and jury before deciding whether to arrest you? I don't think so. This post has been edited by altie: Feb 12 2007, 01:39 AM |
Feb 12 2007, 01:26 AM
1,711 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Damansara/Ampang |
I say give him 1 week..or maybe 2 weeks now..
Feb 12 2007, 03:04 AM
8,912 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
Feb 12 2007, 07:21 PM
2,188 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Frankly speaking, I personally feel that what the mods did was appropriate. If you want to say something, say it, then be responsible for it. I personally would have said many things, but to avoid "unexpected" results and replies, I purely keep it to myself. It is about time that the TS realize that other people do have feelings, and if hurting another person's feelings would/might be the results of his/her action, it is already an infringement of human rights and free speech. That is why there is a saying "Think twice before you act". Think before you type. Really.
Since the Punishment has been settled with, no point arguing about it right? Doesn't mean that bringing it up will give you back an extra week to type/talk? No offense. Cheers! |
Feb 12 2007, 08:21 PM
2,496 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: LowYatDotNet Status:Agast |
contemplate on this question: imagine if your dad was shot and killed in a robbery and a couple of weeks later you're surfing on LYN and you saw a thread filled with a bunch of people making fun of the incident. how would you feel?
or what if it was your relative or your classmate that told you of such a thread. remember, you're not the only sensitive fellow around and there are people who don't know who you (a joker or not) are or that you're joking. p.s-choi. i'm not cursing anyone. |
Feb 13 2007, 01:51 AM
1,928 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: i miss goatse :( |
suck it up and take it like a man. rawr.
but props to you for having the balls to speak out... unlike some other morons here who prefer to hide behind veils and make complaints without naming names. whee. bottom line, act like how you expect to get treated. act like an idiot, expect to get treated like one. act like a respectable smart young malaysian, and chances are you'll get treated with respect. |
Feb 13 2007, 12:24 PM
3,773 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Anywhere lah...as long got Kopi-O |
QUOTE(thivaakar @ Feb 11 2007, 10:54 PM) wow look at that! wad ya say admins? a Senior Member can say that bt me a junior member cant joke bout someting silly? Let me put it this way, we're all just human, can't be everywhere right? As RBR said, you were in the wrong place at the wrong time. So it's unfortunate but appropriate. Knowing yourself having already 20% warn which hasn't decayed fully, you should have learnt to behave properly instead of trying to play with fire by being insensible. Not everyone takes to such humor very kindly mind you.QUOTE(Malaysian @ Feb 12 2007, 01:11 AM) 1 week suspension is really to harsh for a lame joke posted in kopitiam.Even trolling only 5 days suspension. You seem to like red tape eh? And if I'm not mistaken, you do have a certain dislike for red tape? Why not practice what you preach for a changei have a suggestion,maybe before banning, trolling or jokes taken as serious stuff,mod should make a poll among mods..to vote to see the action is justified or not.... QUOTE(bukanmain @ Feb 12 2007, 01:26 AM) And you kind sir, I foresee a warning very soon for being noncontributing and totally off topicThis post has been edited by almostthere: Feb 13 2007, 12:25 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0153sec
5 queries
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:30 PM |