This post has been edited by LuffyPSP: Jan 25 2017, 07:34 AM
The Official iPhone 7/7+ Thread | V5, This is 7
Jan 25 2017, 07:34 AM
3,771 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Kota Bharu |
my ip7 256gb is on the way!! huhu~~~~~
*parking my next lurking thred~* This post has been edited by LuffyPSP: Jan 25 2017, 07:34 AM |
Jan 30 2017, 08:34 PM
After 3 months of dual wielding the SE and Pixel, I finally sold my Google Pixel. No more dual wield. I know I'll miss Android like soooo much, Assistant, true multitasking(those auto background activity), on-screen buttons, file managment, ease of sharing any stuff, etc but I am all in with iOS now.
I am on 256gb iphone 7 now. Live Photos ftw for me! haha btw i have a question about BackupTrans. I have used Whatsapp for quite sometime on iOS, then I had my old chats in the Android phone(which is now gone but always backed up with Google Drive). 1) Can I use backuptrans with those backup in Google Drive? 2) Then after I retrieve those backup, can I transfer them to the current iPhone? 3) If I transfer them with the current chats in the iPhone, will the old chats in Android merged automatically or it will mess something up? |
Jan 31 2017, 09:16 PM
i never use any other smartphones than Android since 2009. I am tired of tinkering. I felt more productive using iOS(cuz i know i cant change stuff), although some straight forward sharing files/docs in email that used to be one-click in Android, requires few more extra steps. I felt more comfortable gaming on iOS too. hahahaha.
my only wish iOS 11, allows developers to add some way to allow background process automatically after some action. for example my gripe right now, I need to open Google Photos to make sure the backup process is running. I used to be able to snap and forget, open in my pc, there's my photos. on iOS i always forgot its not backed up yet. sometimes it uploads(not all), sometimes it didnt. need to open the app. but of course, this will need a lot of considerations on how Apple need to implement this, as dev might take advantage and then become rogue apps like in Android. it'll affect battery life for sure~ I am buying Apple Watch + Airpods soon. Calculating some budgets first. haha. probably an ipad pro too after the event~ |
Feb 1 2017, 06:44 AM
QUOTE(vez @ Jan 31 2017, 10:50 PM) I did. If you read a lot of posts in iphone subreddit, most android converts asks about this and the answer will be, "thats the limitation of iOS", even though some will suggest like you said, but it really didnt work reliably, which is confirmed by most of the people who use GPhotos a lot. |
Feb 1 2017, 08:41 AM
QUOTE(vez @ Feb 1 2017, 07:39 AM) sometimes when i took a lot of pics, it'll backup just some of them, and not in order, top one first or bottom one first. sometimes when taking few pics, it wont backup at all.whnever i open the app, then the sync symbol start spinning for all of them. what i notice it, if i rarely open the Google Photos app, these issues will happen(as I know iOS will deep sleep the app if idle more than 15minutes if i remember correctly). If you just opened the app, the took some pictures, of course it'll work fine. anyway, i know this is known~ many redditors confirmed the same and even long time iOS users admit this is a limitation and there's no workaround for now. |
Feb 1 2017, 08:46 AM
QUOTE(attw @ Feb 1 2017, 08:37 AM) My wishlist for iOS 11 is easier file management especially with emails. It's such a pain to attach files in emails. Had to buy myself an Android tablet just for that purpose but the battery life of that Android tablet is no where close to what my iPad can do. Sigh... yeah i had to blast a quick email attachment the other day. damnn i need to upload to Google Drive/any cloud first before I can attach it. Cant just browse files when clicking the share button~i am accepting it slowly, when i received a work email, its just for viewing. when i'm out and about, why should i work. haha! i'll be working only when i'm front of PC. I even turn off notifications except the badge count for work email. sharing between friends, meh~ they accept whatsapp/telegram~ they never cared if its in original quality or not(for photos anyway). worst case, "nah it cant be done, i'll transfer it when i have my pc/laptop" best case, AirDrop is fast af! |
Feb 2 2017, 01:12 PM
QUOTE(666devil @ Feb 2 2017, 01:07 PM) Slowly wait. Apple want u to be fully in their ecosystem. iCloud. Save ur files in iCloud, and it will sync in all iOS devices. dont think i am going to be invested in the iCloud since my workplace still use Windows and some more email is using gmail for governments~ Have u tried those external USB drives that works with iOS ? Or those USB software ? Still need to upload though. U just can't copy paste into the phone. Which is my only gripe for my MP3. Don't wanna go near iTunes pc to sync my MP3. No issue with documents as I use iCloud Drive. Until my department change to all Macs, I am still heavily investing in Google Services. I am, though migrating to Mac at my home as my next personal work space. Apple Watch is also on the way. |
Feb 2 2017, 01:18 PM
QUOTE(666devil @ Feb 2 2017, 01:10 PM) I am a techie person, I like to customize stuff. But I hate setting setups which are not obeyed by the os! Damn u android. Enough of data and battery leaks for me with android. So now I settle with iOS which obeys ur settings, and don't have to keep using backend app/memory manager to keep disabling stuff after every app update. Phone should be our slaves, not the other way round. Not so much time to keep resetting my setups. So just stick to simple iOS. So much other things to do in life. QUOTE So much other things to do in life. This hahahahaha. iOS kept me from tinkering with those same stuff over and over again every time Google decided to change/retire something. Taking photos reliably is the only thing I wanted now hahahah~ Live Photos ftw! |
Feb 7 2017, 07:19 PM
Feb 8 2017, 07:34 AM
my UAG Plasma arrived ytd~ huhu~
Feb 8 2017, 01:14 PM
QUOTE(chc82 @ Feb 8 2017, 09:13 AM) Hi, to those ex Android users. I read this thread and notice many of you mentioned your iPhone running much smoother than your previous Android. May I ask did you install a lot of apps on the Android and the same on iPhone? its just the OS optimized with the HW tightly~ Apps doesnt affect the OS performance, in any computers.It's the optimization and how the OS handles background processes. |
Feb 8 2017, 06:56 PM
QUOTE(chc82 @ Feb 8 2017, 02:04 PM) I see. Thanks for the explanation. I noticed you used Google pixel and in your experience its optimization still not as good as iOS? I think Google Pixel is much more smoother. But its my preferences. SE was my first ever iOS device in October. Bought Pixel in January cuz I missed Android, never felt the same. Sold both and got ip7. See my comment at reddit, https://www.reddit.com/r/iphone/comments/5s..._would/ddftc5g/ QUOTE(shdin271 @ Feb 8 2017, 05:34 PM) Rhinoshield or UAG. Watch drop test from greater height. Both survived nicely. I watched many drop tests before i decided, not those waist-height drop, all from higher buildings. from the looks of spigen, i am not very confident, although it did survived too in a test. |
Feb 8 2017, 09:28 PM
I still think Android is better in many ways, but getting older, i just want a phone that works(cant believe i said this), and consistent most of the part. if it doesnt work, i know quick fix will come from Apple. although in Android I can automate most of the things, i guess its one or the other. my main jumping point is the live photos and camera consistencies for non-still shots. videos are also much better on iPhones.
P.S I am comparing with vanilla Android~ not skinned ones. |
Feb 8 2017, 09:28 PM
Feb 9 2017, 07:23 AM
QUOTE(chc82 @ Feb 8 2017, 10:11 PM) Thanks for reply. I have read that thread a few days back. Now with your reply it does provide enough info for Android users who is thinking of switching. I was thinking of getting a Pixel earlier but hesitated due to its premium price and lack of official support in our country. It's disappointing because now the Google has terminated the Nexus and I don't see any chance HTC will bring in the Pixel. With that premium price, I rather buy a phone with authorized service center and continuous software support. Always heard friends having pleasant experience with Apple Service Center. I am surprise to learn Google services run smoother in iOS. Speechless. and Google apps got updates and features ahead of Android FYI~ haha!me as a programmer, I think iOS apps are easier to develop and maintain, and Java is hard, high learning curve which is used in Android apps. one more thing, if you go to Apple/my the apple malaysia official, you can actually buy stuff. iTunes Store, App Store, Apple Store ACTUALLY caters for Malaysian. Not like Google, those Play products took sometimes on getting official release in our country. Plus, if you ever need any help or support, even from fellow friends, there will be one. Accessories will also exists when people demands it. Peace. Of. Mind. QUOTE(666devil @ Feb 9 2017, 12:53 AM) Which reminded me: paying it forward. My mom still using my iPad 1st generation- the one introduced by Steve jobs. My father still using Iphone 4 till today. yeah even the Pixel itself max only get 2 years of update.Also, Apple guarantee os updates even for 4 year old devices. For skinned devices, especially Sammy, not cheap ya. Max u get updates for 2 years. Up get what u paid....for many years to come. QUOTE(zubayr @ Feb 9 2017, 05:40 AM) totally agree with you as i too came from being an android user from the beginning.. now i only want stability and ios clearly the better choice This post has been edited by LuffyPSP: Feb 9 2017, 07:25 AM |
Feb 9 2017, 08:27 PM
My Apple Watch has arrived. hehe. next target, AirPods~
Feb 11 2017, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(ResQ @ Feb 11 2017, 11:00 AM) try going into the Privacy, then Location Services settings and System Services. Look for the Nearby thingy near the bottom.I turned most of them off and leave only 2 on, which is Find my iPhone and SOS~ |
Feb 13 2017, 10:18 AM
mine start became less sensitive when i applied the screen protector~ before this it was awesome. but i am willing to live with that.
Feb 13 2017, 05:17 PM
Feb 14 2017, 09:36 AM
QUOTE(chc82 @ Feb 14 2017, 06:42 AM) You meant you never use it for all your phones? I am using one with gorilla glass for a year and did not notice any scratch on it. I think iPhone 7 should fare better. yeah i never used a case and SP for my phones and tablets. i used for a month without a case for ip7, but i had to cuz now got many nephews who likely has a tendency to throw the phone hahahahahI wonder anyone use without case. The iPhone looks elegant but casing make it look bulky. |
| Change to: | 0.0749sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:01 PM |