Questions on PS3, Xbox 360 and Wii

TSyipwengcheong
post Feb 9 2007, 12:23 PM, updated 19y ago

24 posts

Hi everyone,

Last few months ago, I was at Akihabara, Japan and I was stunned on the price of PS3, Xbox 360 and Wii which I need to ask:

1) it is advisable to get PS3 20GB or PS3 60GB and what is the different? I saw the price at Akihabara selling PS3 20Gb for 13k something which equal to RM 1k something but I hold back was i was informed that model is Japanese model which I don't understand what does it means by Japanese model? does it means the voltage is made for japanese voltage?

2) What is the cheapest price for Xbox 360 and Wii in the town?

3) Compare PS3, Xbox 360 and Wii, which is the best console to get and why?

Thanks everyone.
streamline
post Feb 9 2007, 02:24 PM

424 posts

i can only answer question 3 since i dont own any of these console yet. sooner will.

imho,
ps3 - not much title right now, but worth wait for upcoming release.
xbox 360 - lots of game title and still growing, unlike when the xbox release which lack of game developer support.
wii - lots of family game.

which better? depend to your own taste. i will go for wii for family entertainment, and ps3 for upcoming rpg title perhaps soon? (like ps2, lots of rpg game title), and maybe xbox 360 for action gaming mostly fps type.

so no exact answer from me tongue.gif hehe.
michael9413
post Feb 9 2007, 02:28 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

streamline is correct... see which game title that you wan to play lo...
For me Xbox have advantage on shooting... not only fps, tps also plenty game available...
PS3 on RPG n also some fighting game... as a lot of fighting game is from JP...
Wii... family console games is ok wif family gathering... when i play along... very sien...
it is jus on idividual preferences lo... smile.gif

This post has been edited by michael9413: Feb 9 2007, 02:31 PM
Mgsrulz
post Feb 9 2007, 02:50 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(yipwengcheong @ Feb 9 2007, 12:23 PM)
Hi everyone,

Last few months ago, I was at Akihabara, Japan and I was stunned on the price of PS3, Xbox 360 and Wii which I need to ask:

1) it is advisable to get PS3 20GB or PS3 60GB and what is the different? I saw the price at Akihabara selling PS3 20Gb for 13k something which equal to RM 1k something but I hold back was i was informed that model is Japanese model which I don't understand what does it means by Japanese model? does it means the voltage is made for japanese voltage?
the 60gb model has a bigger hdd(duh), WIFI as well as a card reader inbuilt.
other than those,i dont think there is any other difference

2) What is the cheapest price for Xbox 360 and Wii in the town?
sweat.gif no idea on this,but the wii is still overpriced,last i heard.
blame it on our "good friends" for jacking up the price shakehead.gif

3) Compare PS3, Xbox 360 and Wii, which is the best console to get and why?
Thanks everyone.
there is no definite answer.
each console has it's own speciality.
you wont find rumble in the ps3's controller,but you have a tilt motion sensor..
you wont find any sort of tilting sensor in teh 360's controller,but you have the rumble.
and you wont find a conventional controller with the wii tongue.gif -by default smile.gif

just look at the games coming out for the system,and get the system with either a game you MUST PLAY,or a system with the most games you want brows.gif

This post has been edited by Mgsrulz: Feb 10 2007, 02:53 PM
SailorMercury
post Feb 9 2007, 08:00 PM

Touhou Master
776 posts

PS3 = a lot of games, but performance wise lose to Xbox
Xbox = very high quality in graphic, but not much games
Wii = family game, not to be play alone, its more like multiplayer console

This post has been edited by SailorMercury: Feb 9 2007, 08:10 PM
Thrust
post Feb 9 2007, 08:04 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

QUOTE(SailorMercury @ Feb 9 2007, 08:00 PM)
PS3 = a lot of games, but performance wise lose to XBOX & Wii
I think you are crap talking here man! How can PS3 lose to Wii in terms of graphics power? doh.gif
SailorMercury
post Feb 9 2007, 08:10 PM

Touhou Master
776 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Feb 9 2007, 08:04 PM)
I think you are crap talking here man! How can PS3 lose to Wii in terms of graphics power?  doh.gif
whoops...
accidently added Wii

edited!
judge-the
post Feb 9 2007, 09:12 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

bro please get your facts right lah!
aegis`-
post Feb 9 2007, 09:15 PM

1,480 posts

This post has been edited by aegis`-: Feb 9 2007, 09:17 PM
rx330
post Feb 9 2007, 09:19 PM

11,811 posts

wahahahahhahahahahaahhahahaahah..................pls pls....wahahahahhahahhhaahha

pls let us know where u get ur info from sailor, better not go there
SailorMercury
post Feb 9 2007, 09:57 PM

Touhou Master
776 posts

if u compare ps3 and Xbox
obviously ps3 got more games lar
aegis`-
post Feb 9 2007, 10:03 PM

1,480 posts

wtf are u fkkin sure
list me the games first and prove ur facts
SailorMercury
post Feb 9 2007, 10:12 PM

Touhou Master
776 posts

~_~....
fine then...
i am wrong
Xbox got alot of game

aegis`-
post Feb 9 2007, 10:17 PM

1,480 posts

dont runaway just like that
why dont u fight that ur facts are right!
Reix
post Feb 9 2007, 10:20 PM

468 posts

Is your comparison being made in the future or present?
Present situation is abit different from what you claimed

This post has been edited by Reix: Feb 9 2007, 10:22 PM
LiLBoy
post Feb 9 2007, 10:25 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(SailorMercury @ Feb 9 2007, 09:57 PM)
wowowow fella, how do you know PS3 has more games??? You do know the future?? U GOD???lol...

This post has been edited by LiLBoy: Feb 9 2007, 10:25 PM
aegis`-
post Feb 9 2007, 10:29 PM

1,480 posts

QUOTE(LiLBoy @ Feb 9 2007, 10:25 PM)
wowowow fella, how do you know PS3 has more games??? You do know the future?? U GOD???lol...
thats why i dont understand
xbox has been release more than a year and there are plenty of games compared to the newly release ps3 and hes claiming ps3 has more games :|
ur givin wrong facts that will make this ts confuse wei

This post has been edited by aegis`-: Feb 9 2007, 10:52 PM
judge-the
post Feb 9 2007, 10:55 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(SailorMercury @ Feb 9 2007, 09:57 PM)
you are comparing ps3 to xbox or ps3 to xbox360?

well if you are comparing ps3 to xbox then definately xbox games far more HUGE a lot than current ps3 games. but if you are comparing ps3 to xbox360, xbox360 launching date was 1 year ahead than ps3 so definately xbox360 games are more than current ps3 games. please take note ps3 only launched couple of months only and ps3 games are still growing.

again, please get your facts right.
Mgsrulz
post Feb 10 2007, 12:02 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Feb 9 2007, 10:55 PM)
you are comparing ps3 to xbox or ps3 to xbox360?

well if you are comparing ps3 to xbox then definately xbox games far more HUGE a lot than current ps3 games. but if you are comparing ps3 to xbox360, xbox360 launching date was 1 year ahead than ps3 so definately xbox360 games are more than current ps3 games. please take note ps3 only launched couple of months only and ps3 games are still growing.

again, please get your facts right.
either way still salah laugh.gif laugh.gif
michael9413
post Feb 10 2007, 12:22 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

Haha.... well please amend ur statement also @Mgsrulz,
Wii do have conventional controller...
but you have to buy additionally.... smile.gif
gnsumas
post Feb 10 2007, 02:41 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

currently ps3 very few games but in 2 years will have more than 360 and wii bcoz ps got plenty of 3rd party lor
Mgsrulz
post Feb 10 2007, 02:52 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Feb 10 2007, 12:22 PM)
Haha.... well please amend ur statement also @Mgsrulz,
Wii do have conventional controller...
but you have to buy additionally....  smile.gif
ah..yes..
amended-added by default biggrin.gif
wandiana
post Feb 10 2007, 03:39 PM

85 posts

aiyoo.. like dis oso wanna start flame.. haha.. dun care lah which console got how mane games.. as long we r happy then ok.. rclxm9.gif
Mgsrulz
post Feb 10 2007, 04:10 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(gnsumas @ Feb 10 2007, 02:41 PM)
currently ps3 very few games but in 2 years will have more than 360 and wii bcoz ps got plenty of 3rd party lor
subject to change smile.gif
nothing is for certain.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(wandiana @ Feb 10 2007, 03:39 PM)
aiyoo.. like dis oso wanna start flame.. haha.. dun care lah which console got how mane games.. as long we r happy then ok..  rclxm9.gif
who's flaming? huh.gif blink.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
michael9413
post Feb 12 2007, 10:20 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

YA LO...
who is flaming???
no one wat... we are jus talking about that... thread starter wish to know we discuss lo...
judge-the
post Feb 12 2007, 11:00 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(gnsumas @ Feb 10 2007, 02:41 PM)
someone very brilliant posted earlier saying ps3 got many games in the market at the moment and for your information some of us here just trying to get the facts right only. no fanboy-ism at all...

well and for you, how sure are you about future? these days everything gets to change too fast really2 too fast. something might works today and it might not works tomorrow already. the pace of change just too great. in the end no one knows what is coming tomorrow.

for me, definately will be getting ps3 end of may when i report back for duty. cant imagine what will happen then with my 360 and ps3 both running side by side at the same time!

QUOTE(wandiana @ Feb 10 2007, 03:39 PM)
aiyoo.. like dis oso wanna start flame.. haha.. dun care lah which console got how mane games.. as long we r happy then ok..  rclxm9.gif
true agreed with you... buy everything and enjoys all! that's the best of all!

Mgsrulz
post Feb 12 2007, 12:46 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Feb 12 2007, 11:00 AM)
for me, definately will be getting ps3 end of may when i report back for duty. cant imagine what will happen then with my 360 and ps3 both running side by side at the same time! 
true agreed with you... buy everything and enjoys all! that's the best of all!
bini tak kisah,ar..? sweat.gif sweat.gif
snipersnake
post Feb 12 2007, 02:32 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

*grabs popcorn*
judge-the
post Feb 12 2007, 02:49 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Feb 12 2007, 12:46 PM)
bini tak kisah,ar..? sweat.gif  sweat.gif
hehehe better play games at home lah so wife no need to check where's my whereabout
michael9413
post Feb 13 2007, 01:49 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

yea... i told my gf that also..
better i stay at home playinggames rather than go out ...
rx330
post Feb 13 2007, 03:46 PM

11,811 posts

i also use tis excuse, i tak keluar minum, tak keluar cari pompuan, tak judi, but still kenot buy ................. for now lah...biggrin.gif

have to wait after CNY
wandiana
post Feb 13 2007, 04:05 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Feb 12 2007, 02:49 PM)
hehehe better play games at home lah so wife no need to check where's my whereabout
same to me.. all my consoles my wife bought for me.. she wants me to stay at home play with the kids.. wub.gif laugh.gif
rx330
post Feb 13 2007, 04:39 PM

11,811 posts

can we exhange wifes? kekekkekekek
jk nia
michael9413
post Feb 14 2007, 09:14 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

haha....my gf *not marry yet* also pandai nia...
no new gadgets for 1-2 years... she say again today morning..
but as per agreement is only 1 yr nia...
i told her mah... wan me to stay home or... go here n there...
Haha.... i think most of the womens prefer their bf or hubby stays home...
more secure... coz a lot of *wild flowers* outside...
judge-the
post Feb 14 2007, 09:17 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Feb 14 2007, 09:14 AM)
haha....my gf *not marry yet* also pandai nia...
no new gadgets for 1-2 years... she say again today morning..
but as per agreement is only 1 yr nia...
i told her mah... wan me to stay home or... go here n there...
Haha.... i think most of the womens prefer their bf or hubby stays home...
more secure... coz a lot of *wild flowers* outside...
well wait until you officially become husband then more troublesome. wanna go out must apply for "VISA" 3 days in advance from the socalled prime minister at home!
Moraine77
post Feb 14 2007, 09:20 AM

OMG.. life so painful sometimes... sad

ferricide
post Feb 14 2007, 09:23 AM

Mercenary
638 posts

i think my case is quite diff from you guys, just wanna share...

now got competition to play on my xbox360, my gf plays viva pinata, achieved 800GS edi blink.gif god-forbid if there is a SIMS-like game for the xbox360 sweat.gif

Says she wanna finish all the animals and plants kau kau, so my online time with DoAX2, R6V and MuA are badly affected! doh.gif
wandiana
post Feb 14 2007, 12:27 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Feb 14 2007, 09:17 AM)
well wait until you officially become husband then more troublesome. wanna go out must apply for "VISA" 3 days in advance from the socalled prime minister at home!
TRUE FACTS!! laugh.gif
DjiNn
post Feb 14 2007, 12:49 PM

~||Noob Game Console Advisor||~
Store Representative
7,931 posts

QUOTE(ferricide @ Feb 14 2007, 09:23 AM)
i think my case is quite diff from you guys, just wanna share...

now got competition to play on my xbox360, my gf plays viva pinata, achieved 800GS edi  blink.gif god-forbid if there is a SIMS-like game for the xbox360  sweat.gif

Says she wanna finish all the animals and plants kau kau, so my online time with DoAX2, R6V and MuA are badly affected!  doh.gif
there is a way to complete that "competition" by just purchasing a new Xbox 360 and a New LCD Screen..

Yum.. Yum...
ron4
post Feb 14 2007, 01:57 PM

1,123 posts

My wife also support me while im playing my Xbox 360. She the one that feel berperang eventhough she only a viewer for Gears Of War. She happy when i stays at home playing games than go outside.

This post has been edited by ron4: Feb 14 2007, 01:58 PM
stereothug
post Feb 27 2007, 05:18 PM

63 posts

whoa, this is going off-topic already. biggrin.gif
michael9413
post Feb 27 2007, 05:58 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

ahah... a bit out... but my gf take my controller out of my hands...
she play simple games... the arcade ones...
sad sad...
stereothug
post Feb 27 2007, 06:16 PM

63 posts

hahaha...normal ler..
michael9413
post Feb 28 2007, 05:00 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

haha... ladies 1st lo.... no choice...
today she is on leave.. wen to my house n seduced my Xbox... sad sad...
she jus called me... then very fast hung up...
cos she is playing the games... don wan to bother me liao....
soitsuagain
post Mar 9 2007, 01:41 PM

Let's do it together!
3,817 posts

QUOTE(aegis`- @ Feb 9 2007, 10:03 PM)
wtf are u fkkin sure
list me the games first and prove ur facts
yeah lar he is correct what..so all PS2 game dead already. you know more PS2 games in the works right? even when I play pirated I oso no can finish all game. you so fast finish all?
Creative
post Mar 10 2007, 12:45 PM

61 posts

If you are buying console i guess you should go for console which has more software coz you are playing game on the software.. not hardware.. without software.. hardware is nothing ..if you are true gamer.. you should have all the consoles.. i know ps3 just released .. so maybe you can wait for sometime for ps3 software to grow smile.gif somethin like this :

http://www.dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=6398
http://www.dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=6389

another thing ..ish ish.. how come ppl can say ps3 is underpowered compare to 360..can say both consoles also almost at same performance.. sony has more powerful CELL processor and xbox with more powerful GPU .. actually programmers having hard time programing games for playstation 3 .. but then they will learn slowly ... for now. maybe they are using 30 to 40% of ps3 horse power ... no one will know what will come up in future ... example like ps2 .. look at the GT4 and MGS3 .. those games are just amaizing when it runs on 6 years old console ... unlike the xbox1 .. short life .. once xbox 360 is out.. they ditched the old xbox .. but i guess PS2 games are still out.. i'm enjoying the BULLY game.. hehe.. really cool .. and GT4 online with xkai

This post has been edited by Creative: Mar 11 2007, 12:44 AM
obefiend
post Mar 11 2007, 10:34 PM

Selamat Hari Raya Aidilluminati
863 posts

true enough creative. the cell has i think 8 core in it. making it hard to programme ( kinda reminds you of the old Sega Saturn eh?). give the ps3 another year and i bet teh gfx and power difference will be seen then. i've seen some realistic tech demo done on the ps3. its migty impressive and better than anything on the 360

try googling for ps3 CRI tech demo. or better yet just go for gametrailers.com. you wont believe the whole thing was rendered real time.same goes to teh GETAWAY demo.
nakata101
post Mar 12 2007, 12:40 AM

*******(PES&WE)******* Play Like Champion
2,423 posts

QUOTE(obefiend @ Mar 11 2007, 10:34 PM)
true enough creative. the cell has i think 8 core in it. making it hard to programme ( kinda reminds you of the old Sega Saturn eh?). give the ps3 another year and i bet teh gfx and power difference will be seen then. i've seen some realistic tech demo done on the ps3. its migty impressive and better than anything on the 360

try googling for ps3 CRI tech demo. or better yet just go for gametrailers.com. you wont believe the whole thing was rendered real time.same goes to teh GETAWAY demo.
Demo is still only a demo. Dun be fool by the demo. This demo is really better than anything on the 360, bcoz it is only a demo. So demo is nothing, just like the demo that show by Nvdia when the first time they release the Geforce 4 family, but untill now the lastest Geforce7 n 8 series, we still cant see any game as good as the demo they show b4, maybe CRYSIS is the one we should waiting for......
obefiend
post Mar 12 2007, 03:12 AM

863 posts

look first then u know la what i mean.most NVDIA demo only have one high poly model in the enviro. like the Adrienne Curry demo for the 8800 family.this demo is an ingame engine demo for Getaway. the whole Picaddilly Circus area of london was modelled with human and cars populating the scene. its also on youtube.

also the MGS4 trailer was done ingame. even Kojima proof the thing by stopping and then rotating the cam as the trailer is running.

yeah..Crysis.. the only reason why i bought this rig.
Mgsrulz
post Mar 12 2007, 12:25 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(obefiend @ Mar 12 2007, 03:12 AM)
look first then u know la what i mean.most NVDIA demo only have one high poly model in the enviro. like the Adrienne Curry demo for the 8800 family.this demo is an ingame engine demo for Getaway. the whole Picaddilly Circus area of london was modelled with human and cars populating the scene. its also on youtube.

also the MGS4 trailer was done ingame. even Kojima proof the thing by stopping and then rotating the cam as the trailer is running.

yeah..Crysis.. the only reason why i bought this rig.
IMHO,the only thing that is trustworthy in your post..
look at the getaway on the ps2..before it came out,the screenshots were amazing!
but when it came out--> doh.gif
the gameplay too was not that fantastic..
nakata101
post Mar 12 2007, 12:51 PM

*******(PES&WE)******* Play Like Champion
2,423 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Mar 12 2007, 12:25 PM)
IMHO,the only thing that is trustworthy in your post..
look at the getaway on the ps2..before it came out,the screenshots were amazing!
but when it came out--> doh.gif
the gameplay too was not that fantastic..
O thx, Bro, u got my point, i m still remember the demo from PS1, "the dinosaur" is look just like the real one, look at its skin....., its awesome, but this only happen in PS2.
obefiend
post Mar 12 2007, 05:34 PM

863 posts

fair enuff. but look at god of war. for a ps2 gameit kicked ass. i mean the problem with sony is they came up with a hard to code console. only people under SCEA or SCEJ knows how to utilise the console.samegoe sto PS3. the tech demo shows what u can get if they programming are done properly

stringfellow
post Mar 12 2007, 05:48 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(obefiend @ Mar 12 2007, 05:34 PM)
fair enuff. but look at god of war. for a ps2 gameit kicked ass. i mean the problem with sony is they came up with a hard to code console. only people under SCEA or SCEJ knows how to utilise the console.samegoe sto PS3. the tech demo shows what u can get if they programming are done properly
Stop generalising. Any game developer with half a mind and a pinch of enthusiasm to code proper on the hardware will produce better results than those depending on preprogrammed engines and APIs. In short, if you are willing to put effort into your product, the product will redeem you with good sales. Otherwise, you see yearly iterations of endliess EA games.
Mgsrulz
post Mar 13 2007, 11:24 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(nakata101 @ Mar 12 2007, 12:51 PM)
O thx, Bro, u got my point, i m still remember the demo from PS1, "the dinosaur" is look just like the real one, look at its skin....., its awesome, but this only happen in PS2.
anyone know where we can find these tech demos of previous gen consoles?
someone said that square released a tech demo of some final fantasy character,and the hair and facial movement,bla bla bla looked very real-which never really happened on the ps2..

it's interesting to see these old tech demos..you can see if the console makers actually live up to their promises,in the end smile.gif

QUOTE(obefiend @ Mar 12 2007, 05:34 PM)
laugh.gif Kojima Productions arent under SCEA or SCEJ,yet their games more often than not stretch the console to it's very limits tongue.gif

i think if the development team spends more time on one console,and not make the game multi platform from the start,then it would achieve better results..

example of the average games,EA games..
they go multiplatform from the start,and the game turns out average..
but capcom's RE4 was made exclusive to the gamecube first,and it was fantastic..
the ps2 version doesnt touch the GC version(hardware limitation) but it is somewhere around that region.. smile.gif
obefiend
post Mar 14 2007, 12:27 AM

863 posts

the problem with some developer they are making cross platform games. in order to be fair to the nintendogs and xtards they start making everything look the same across the 3 consoles. ps3 even with its cool features wont be utilised properly. so that why people keep saying "ps3 no better than xbox wat?".

bah!

now i sit back.enjoy some smokes and wait for the wiitards to start bashing me again
stringfellow
post Mar 14 2007, 01:27 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Did you take Generalizing 101 at Bachelor Degree or are you just born with it? Coz it seems like you excel in it. Bah!

Only a troll pokes its head into a civilized discussion and waits gleefully at the response of his own flamebait. Obviously, you fit this description. Perhaps you have run out of PC games to play with your Wacom tablet, and had to get your cheap thrills trolling here? rolleyes.gif
sihumchai
post Mar 14 2007, 09:22 AM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

There goes the Console Couch tongue.gif WACOM tablet jokes here we come!

Q: Which is the best next-gen console?
A: WACOM Tablet

Q: Which next-gen console has the most features?
A: WACOM Tablet

Q: Which next-gen console has the best grafiks?
A: PS.. er.. WACOM Tablet

Q: Which motion sensing controller is more superior? SIXAXIS or Wii Remote?
A: Wii-aaAAACOOMM!!!!
Lord_Ashe
post Mar 14 2007, 09:34 AM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

I LOL at Sihumchai's post!

Thanks for making my day smile.gif
coconutzz
post Mar 24 2007, 03:10 PM

1,109 posts

Hi guys, just to check, is an XBOX 360 modded version able to go on XBOX LIVE? cos I had a friend, showing me he is on LIVE and connected to the net to download demo and stuffs...his machine is modded..cos we played some "ahem" games...

Just to verify how did it work ??

0.0265sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:42 AM