Meet Prep Week 6 Day 2 (7 February 2017)
I did it, I finally broke the 74kg plateau barrier. Weighed in last night at 73.8kg. Finally the cut is going somewhere. It's been stuck for weeks damn it. Now I only got 4 weeks to get this cut done or I'm gonna have to do the bloody PSMF thingy. I hope I don't have to resort to that. The session on this day was, meh. It wasn't bad, wasn't great, just "ok" as Saitama would say. It happens.
Deadlift (deadstop) 150kg x 4 x 2
- I've been feeling a lot of general tightness in my lower back as of late. I've been taking my time to foam roll and stretch very lightly before every session in order to prime my body to lift, but I'm guessing the fatigue is just catching up to me. 150kg went great on this session. It moved rather fast, but a bit on the low end. Not as explosive as I'd like but the power is there. No form breakdowns as far as I can feel from my own body's feedback. RPE 8.5 on these. I'm sure I could have thrown in another 3 set but you gotta stick to the program man.
Bench Press (competition paused) 77.5kg x 5 x 3
- The off feeling on bench continued on from the previous session. This time, my left bicep even cramped up on set 4 and on set 5, my bar path swayed backwards causing me to to really fight the bar to remain stable. I don't know what's going on exactly with my bench but again, I have a feeling that the fatigue accumulation is at its top end. The weight wasn't that heavy, it moved pretty fast in my opinion, just that the session was a bit difficult on this particular day. Probably I shouldn't have deadlifted before bench but I really wanted to give more focus on deadlift on this day. RPE 8.5 as well on these though the last set might qualify for an RPE 9.5-10. Almost died there.
Deadlift to Knees 112.5kg x 3 x 8
- I was surprised at how easy this exercise felt when I did it. I can feel my off the floor speed and technique has really improved the past 6 weeks with the bar consistently following the same path and at the same speed when breaking off the floor. Heck I think my hammies has exploded in size. RPE 7 on these. The only concern I have currently is the fact that at the meet we'll be using a deadlift bar instead of a stiff bar which I'm currently training with. A deadlift bar has the tendency to fuck with an explosive type lifter as the whip causes the bar to break off the floor a bit later as compared to a stiff bar, which breaks off as soon as you initiates the lift. I guess I won't really know until meet day, unless I go to QLS and play around with the deadlift bar one of these days.
Accessories.
- I did my usual 2 rowing movements today as accessories:
- Kroc Rows 32kg x 2 x 12. I feel like my Kroc Rows has gotten a bit weaker. May be a result of fatigue or just no energy but it just felt so sluggish on this session.
- Seated Cable Rows (straight handle) 195lbs x 2 x 15, 1 x AMRAP=17. Planned progression for this exercise is to do AMRAP on the last set each time till I reached 20, then I'll try 20 for each set.
Npad's training journal, Powerlifting
Feb 8 2017, 09:08 AM
0.0241sec