MotoGP testing 2, aka the panning exam

TSandy
post Feb 7 2007, 11:55 PM, updated 19y ago

1,973 posts

need the sifus comments on these shots, as in whats wrong with some of the photos so that can patch up my flaws for future events biggrin.gif

All shots taken using : 350D, 70-200 F2.8L + 1.4x, CS2 (watermark, resize, etc)

ok, open fire!
TSandy
post Feb 8 2007, 12:02 AM

1,973 posts

yes boss sweat.gif

This post has been edited by andy: Feb 8 2007, 12:03 AM
TSandy
post Feb 8 2007, 12:14 AM

1,973 posts

okok, what shutter you recommend? 350D ar.. if too slow sure the photo not nice one..
TSandy
post Feb 8 2007, 12:23 AM

1,973 posts

noted, I thought like 1/500 ok edi tongue.gif looks like should have asked before, now have to wait for F1 testing next month.. sad.gif *runs to roadside for panning* tongue.gif

which one? if you're talking about the wheelie ones, I deliberately compose it to the side so that can print and ask for autograph, which I did! biggrin.gif
TSandy
post Feb 8 2007, 01:47 AM

1,973 posts

thanks diwant smile.gif

ac, how to practice safe shooting at slow shutter speeds? I dunno if it's my hands or what but at 280mm and below 1/600 my shots become very funny..

like this one, shot at 135mm also it's a bit blurred?

This post has been edited by andy: Feb 8 2007, 01:49 AM
TSandy
post Feb 8 2007, 01:03 PM

1,973 posts

Ehh? sorry sifu, I thought if wider means easier to track the object? and that pic was handheld, I thought I set the shutter to 1/100, no wonder the background so blur tongue.gif

panasonic, thanks smile.gif

This post has been edited by andy: Feb 8 2007, 01:04 PM
TSandy
post Feb 8 2007, 01:37 PM

1,973 posts

AF not effective enough, so what I did was AF a specific point, then turn it to manual and wait for the bike to come, as it zoomed by I just capture when the AF point blinks, is this the correct technique?

and also, that specific shot was taken using my wide angle 28-135 because I was too near to use the 70-200 (attached with a monopod). but what I'm trying to ask you is, what do you mean by "won't be able to track the bike down at that speed with a frame that wide"
TSandy
post Feb 8 2007, 02:14 PM

1,973 posts

hm, I also dunno what's wrong with the compo, when I see the bike is in the right spot I just snap only... maybe subjective la these things, but I really like the wheelie ones as it kind of shows motion, something like the bike is too fast for the camera to capture. plus, can even see the exhaust heat (a first for me) tongue.gif
TSandy
post Feb 8 2007, 02:35 PM

1,973 posts

I like the speed, gives it just the right amount of motion, but I don't like the compo.. that's weird! tongue.gif but I think filling the frame always gets the job done.. oh yeah, F1 testing can come along la
TSandy
post Feb 8 2007, 02:41 PM

1,973 posts

I did specify the AF point lar, just that it's not in AF and yes I agree that theres the chance that it will slip the precise AF point, so what's the best way to do it then?

focus on two bikes? wahlaueh.... now you got me tongue.gif
TSandy
post Feb 8 2007, 03:04 PM

1,973 posts

AI servo is a good option, but even with 45 AF points, I find it hard to make sure that one specific AF point remains on the bike as it's zooming by at 240km/h. I'm not being paid that much to afford a 1D, so, 350D for sale.....

ahleong, why you wanna get the Canon TC? your lens already Sigma better get Sigma TC

is there a such feature on pro bodies right, where the object can be moving to any Af point in the frame and camera follows the object, instead of you having chase the object for a specific AF point
TSandy
post Feb 8 2007, 03:11 PM

1,973 posts

eh sorry, F1 testing next month liao, this 25th got car and bike trackday

mayb later i get canon 70-200mm f2.8L IS leh

chiuu, this one no need to test edi, faster buy buy!! brows.gif

This post has been edited by andy: Feb 8 2007, 03:12 PM
TSandy
post Feb 8 2007, 03:24 PM

1,973 posts

hey I got signature word already! chiuu... tongue.gif aiyo I bring la I bring la wont ffk edi, confirm you will get the lense wan DONT WORRY! laugh.gif this one sure single battery inside battery grip case hahah! eh I suggest you buy the ori one la, I wanted to buy compatible one also but my friend had his leaking before, his one is the bigger capacity one.

my 1.4 goes wherever I go... lol

Well, you will HAVE to make sure that the subject matter falls onto corresponding AFPs, that will differeciate pros and beginners. As a beginner, you won't bother at all

hoi! where got I dont bother, all my shots will look like sh*t la like that! then you mean to say pro body can select multiple AF points? come on, there must be something that differenciates this piece-of-crap and your RM16k camera... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by andy: Feb 8 2007, 03:26 PM
TSandy
post Feb 8 2007, 03:32 PM

1,973 posts

then your camera also 6 months 1-1 la now? tongue.gif really ler, better dont, just scout for second hand ori batts la. I got mine at RM60 only
TSandy
post Feb 8 2007, 03:44 PM

1,973 posts

din know friday is weekend whistling.gif

nolar, going KLCC park to play around with rear curtain sync
TSandy
post Feb 8 2007, 03:52 PM

1,973 posts

Ic... can borrow your body for a while ah? just to feel the difference tongue.gif
TSandy
post Feb 8 2007, 09:00 PM

1,973 posts

sure eh? tongue.gif

diwant, I know what you mean wink.gif

0.0186sec    0.90    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:54 AM