Car with 4 pedals ?

TSCarlVlad
post Feb 7 2007, 09:58 PM, updated 19y ago

In Dedicato Imperatum Ultra Articulo Mortis
822 posts

Just a quick question, im looking at a picture of impreza wrx and i noticed that this car have 4 pedals. I know that its not only impreza have this, but whats the 4th pedal for ?

i cant google 'cos i dont know the suitable keyword...

thank you..
foxx3001
post Feb 7 2007, 10:01 PM

169 posts

toyota wish got extra pedal to replace it hand-brake(foot-brake) but i donno waht the extra pedal for the impreza ...any pic?
alxand
post Feb 7 2007, 10:06 PM

459 posts

pedal or foot rest?
it's hardly a foot brake in a manual car as it's danger
unamed
post Feb 7 2007, 10:06 PM

386 posts

the pedal not stationery right? I think it's for resting the foot when not in use.
TSCarlVlad
post Feb 7 2007, 10:09 PM

822 posts

hold on while i get the link, its a flash page and in moon language (japanese) .
alxand
post Feb 7 2007, 10:09 PM

459 posts

i think if it's a manual, it would be a foot rest, as from there it's easier to reach clutch n to prevent leg from rest on clucth to reduce wear n tear of clutch, if auto then a foot brake n a foot rest
TSCarlVlad
post Feb 7 2007, 10:13 PM

822 posts

maybe it is a footrest

anyhow..

here's the link

http://www.subaru.co.jp/impreza/aline/

after press enter, hover your pointer to the right of the picture and click next until you reach the pedals picture...

This post has been edited by CarlVlad: Feb 7 2007, 10:15 PM
alxand
post Feb 7 2007, 10:17 PM

459 posts

if the fourth pedal is on front passanger side, then it's a L car, emergency brake from the driving school teacher, for him to step when he saw a chun gal by road side, peweettttt...
haha
TSCarlVlad
post Feb 7 2007, 10:18 PM

822 posts

LOL... that one usually Kancil only...

but dont know what car they use for learning in Japan..
sleepwalker
post Feb 7 2007, 10:20 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

It is what you call a dead pedal. I have the same pedals, in fact, they are exactly the same since they haven't changed it from ver 7 to 9.

Here's a quick explanation on the dead pedal:
"The Dead Pedal
The dead pedal is located to the left of a vehicle's pedal assembly. In a race car, the dead pedal is often an actual pedal that is "dead" in that it does not control any operation such as braking or accelerating. In many factory vehicles, the dead pedal is simply a raised area on the floor (or side of the floor) sometimes covered with a rubber slip mat.

The dead pedal is used by your left foot and accomplishes a number of things. First, it acts as a foot rest for your left foot when you're not using it. Second, because the area is raised, there is less movement required for your foot to go from dead pedal to clutch. In racing, this gains you valuable seconds and helps prevent the driver from placing their foot incorrectly on the gear assembly. Third, the dead pedal acts as support for your body under heavy braking, e.g. threshold braking during a race or emergency braking on the street. In these cases, your left foot braces against the dead pedal and prevents your body from sliding down in the seat (very helpful in a street car without racing harnesses!) Most importantly, this allows you more control over the brake pedal.

The dead pedal also helps prevent people from bracing their right foot in the wrong place during an emergency. Yes, believe it or not, many people will brace themselves by placing their right foot good and hard on the GAS pedal -- oops! Many times, when impact seems imminent, the brain says to the body "brace for impact dude!!" and freezes up. Sometimes, however, this freeze up happens when your foot is on the gas pedal. While the brain might have had good intentions, it certainly doesn't help accelerating into a crash! What the dead pedal does in these situations is allow the body to brace against something solid thus freeing the right foot to brake or accelerate away from a collision. "

Taken from http://securitydriver.com/aic/stories/article-101.html
TSCarlVlad
post Feb 7 2007, 10:26 PM

822 posts

Thank you for the info mate....
really appreciate it...

btw...other than impreza, what other street cars have dead pedal since it's commonly in race cars ?
sleepwalker
post Feb 7 2007, 10:30 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(CarlVlad @ Feb 7 2007, 10:26 PM)
really appreciate it...
btw...other than impreza, what other street cars have dead pedal since it's commonly in race cars ?
If you are talking about auto cars, almost all have it so that you'd use it to brace yourself with the left leg so that you'd use the right to brake, instead of accidentally pressing the brake with left leg and hitting the accelerator with the right leg in a panic stricken emergency.

For manuals, most Japanese cars have it, then again, most cars that you can find in Japan that is still a manual are race cars. Same applies to imported european cars. Dead pedals existed a long time ago, even in my previous Mitsubishi Lancer GSR halfcut (1993) that I transplanted into my previous Satria. However I could not transplant that over since it was welded to the chassis.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Feb 7 2007, 10:33 PM
TSCarlVlad
post Feb 7 2007, 10:32 PM

822 posts

Thank you.... smile.gif

now i understand...
alxand
post Feb 7 2007, 10:39 PM

459 posts

for a start, lancer had it, so u buying lancer from me since it got foot rest?
haha
sonic_cd
post Feb 7 2007, 10:45 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(CarlVlad @ Feb 7 2007, 10:26 PM)
really appreciate it...
almost evry normal street car has it .
sleepwalker
post Feb 7 2007, 10:46 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(alxand @ Feb 7 2007, 10:39 PM)
for a start, lancer had it, so u buying lancer from me since it got foot rest?
haha
What happened to your Mitsubishi showroom in Taipan Business center? Lasted only about 1 year.
mystvearn
post Feb 7 2007, 10:55 PM

6,639 posts

4th pedal is Hand brake pedal. Seen it on Honda Legend previous version and few mercs. If you mean by actual brake and not foot rest. B It needs time to get used to, but to me its just stupidly placed there so that to make the armrest area cleaner/more space without the hand brake there. Its actually a nuisance in the long run and for some weird reason, the car has a different button to release the handbrake. Like those clutch wire on the side of the dashboard. Thats an even waste of time. Not that responsive in emergency situations where you need to press both brakes.
eng98
post Feb 8 2007, 12:33 AM

Come and suX me...
3,311 posts

hey proton cars also have the dead petal/foot rest smile.gif
porkchop
post Feb 8 2007, 12:46 AM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

all my car got dead pedal, except my dads merc and jaguar, got "hand brake"-but repplaced by stepping with left leg...when the "hand brake" is active, there is little space to step on the "dead pedal" further below, so u know u need to release the "hand brake"...

after release, u do have space to rest your leg on the "dead pedal"
rcracer
post Feb 8 2007, 09:56 AM

?????
3,772 posts

That thing in the picture is just a footrest/ dead pedal, it's found on most cars auto or manual. Just that subaru added bling to it and covered it with a shiny metal plate making it look like another pedal. Other cars it's just black in colour.

0.0155sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:44 AM