Sound card business dead oredi?

skylinegtr34rule4life
post Feb 27 2007, 02:56 PM

13k elite :P
13,340 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Feb 7 2007, 12:32 PM)
hmmmmm .. with 99.9% of the MOBOs in the market offering built in sound cards some with high quality sound cards, what does this say to the independent sound card makers such as Creative. Right now we see only creative. no one is competing with them. And when last the last time creative launched its new sound card?
probably creative is 2 powerful 4 SC competition...at least this monopoly aint that bad compare with tmnutz doh.gif shakehead.gif
unknown warrior
post Feb 27 2007, 05:17 PM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 10 2007, 01:06 AM)
sweat.gif FYI i'm still using recent boards and the SB Live DE 5.1 still kicks those onboard sound. smile.gif
no need DE even Live 5.1 kicks onboard sound anytime.

blindbox
post Feb 27 2007, 08:04 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(ikanayam @ Feb 9 2007, 07:35 AM)
Haha, no way. GPUs are not going to disappear anytime soon, if ever. By the time 16 core CPUs are available (in a couple of years, latest), GPUs will have advanced too. In fact, if you compare GPU and CPU performance increases over the last few years, i think you will see that the latter has improved faster. Thing is, GPUs are purpose built for massively parallel processing, while CPUs are still largely dependent on single thread performance. They are attacking different problems. GPUs also have a lot of specialized hardware for texture filtering and other fixed function operations which would take forever for a CPU to do. I don't think anyone in their right mind would say multi-core CPUs = death of GPUs. That's just daft.

Back to the soundcard issue, just as with GPUs, if you want something good or at least better than average, you always have to go with a discreet solution. And right now if you listen to music and game, x-fi is the only way to go. CPUs alone won't cut it. EAX really does work well on new creative cards.
True, mega/giga/tera/petaflops aren't graphic quality.
deric88
post Feb 27 2007, 09:57 PM

Spam Ranking
1,464 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Feb 27 2007, 08:04 PM)
True, mega/giga/tera/petaflops aren't graphic quality.
you might never know what is going to happen tomorrow.....
unless you're working in AMD/Intel

anyway, i am in a dilemma.... I am using ATP3 and GIGA 965P-DS3
shud i get a sound card below rm100? or the onboard is better?
vey99
post Feb 27 2007, 10:00 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(deric88 @ Feb 27 2007, 09:57 PM)
you might never know what is going to happen tomorrow.....
unless you're working in AMD/Intel

anyway, i am in a dilemma.... I am using ATP3 and GIGA 965P-DS3
shud i get a sound card below rm100? or the onboard is better?
If you're itching to spend a hundred bucks (i am hehe) grab a Chaintech AV710 soundacrd from daijobu's bulk... the sound is pretty good for stereo (not 5.1) as it uses HT24 chip...

This post has been edited by vey99: Feb 27 2007, 10:01 PM
Jcsy
post Feb 28 2007, 10:17 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

lol my friend has a Gigabyte DS-3

and a Creative Sound card, dunno wat model but rather expensive

the Creative destroys the on-board sound card biggrin.gif

built in sound cards normally are never as good as dedicated ones

well, it also depends on your speakers / amp biggrin.gif

im using expensive amp but on board sound card cry.gif

so no0b biggrin.gif
tanghm
post Feb 28 2007, 05:33 PM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

Many normal users who use onboard sound will say why need a soundcard ?

You'll correct yourself again when you plug in a sound card with the same pair of speakers, you'll definitely hear the difference. I've used plain old AC97 before and I just cant stand the crackling sound and hissing noise when there is a cpu spike on soft music, crankling the volume up will hear alot of cracklers and hisses.

With an external soundcard like Creative (SB Live! onwards) you'll definitely hear a clearer sound with better SNR ratio, crispier sound and lower noise signals compare to onboard ones.

If you're an audiophile or music enthusiasts, you'll definitely want a soundcard than onboard solution but if you're a gamer, sound quality doesn't really matter as all you need is multi-speaker output which onboard sound offers up to 7.1 nowadays.

I personally uses Creative X-Fi, the sound quality difference comparing to Audigy 4 is Huge I dare to say, due to its 24-bit Crystalizer. If you ask me to get an Audigy 4 in favour of onboard solutions, save your penny I'll say

My 2 cents.

EDIT:

hmmmmm .. with 99.9% of the MOBOs in the market offering built in sound cards some with high quality sound cards

For your definition,
Onboard = High Quality

For my definition using your definition,
Onboard = High Quality
X-Fi = Very High Quality

tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tanghm: Feb 28 2007, 05:36 PM
Jcsy
post Feb 28 2007, 05:35 PM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

how much is a sound card, which can surpass onboard ones nowadays ?

rm 250 ? rm 300?

not many are so rich 2 do so biggrin.gif
zeustronic
post Feb 28 2007, 06:42 PM

Retire OC Into Audiophiles
2,605 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Feb 28 2007, 06:35 PM)
how much is a sound card, which can surpass onboard ones nowadays ?

rm 250 ? rm 300?

not many are so rich 2 do so biggrin.gif
RM250 price Creative Sound Card is Good Enough, & pair good speakers... while EAX funtions enabled they sound so real in gamings...
jcliew
post Feb 28 2007, 06:44 PM

Retired Enthusiast
889 posts

QUOTE(zeustronic @ Feb 28 2007, 06:42 PM)
RM250 price Creative Sound Card is Good Enough, & pair good speakers...  while EAX funtions enabled they sound so real in gamings...
U mean what model of sound card by Creatif? Audigy?
zeustronic
post Feb 28 2007, 07:15 PM

Retire OC Into Audiophiles
2,605 posts

QUOTE(jcliew @ Feb 28 2007, 07:44 PM)
U mean what model of sound card by Creatif? Audigy?
Audigy 4 i refering to...
dstl1128
post Mar 5 2007, 04:53 PM

4,464 posts

FYI i'm still using recent boards and the SB Live DE 5.1 still kicks those onboard sound.

Same here. My own system compare:
Sempron 2500+ with Live 5.1DE
PIII-800MHz with SB Live!
AMD X2 3800+ with on-board sound from Asus M2N-E.

Conslusion:
Sounds missing, choppy and unclear (lots of noise) from on-board sound VS those with SBLive even with a dual-core.

Verdict:
Use on-board sound if your ears can't detect any improvement.

linkinstreet
post Mar 5 2007, 05:26 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,277 posts

Soundcard = faster gaming. It will free your processor from having to process the sound data, thus giving you more FPS ingame.
So soundcard is a must if ur a gamer.
Also interesting to note that Vista supports multiple soundcard now, and you can assign each soundcard for different programs, IE: onboard for music and external for gaming
lilzany
post Mar 5 2007, 05:46 PM

1,479 posts

QUOTE(wishbone @ Feb 9 2007, 01:31 AM)
It might be sooner than you thought. Intel has already hinted that the excess cores that come with its processors can render graphic cards redundant.
They better be quick. I am getting pissed off with the size and power consumption of the GC these days. But I got one question, does that mean that we can never upgrade our gc in the future?
linkinstreet
post Mar 5 2007, 06:08 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,277 posts

It means we upgrade our processor faster than ever.
goldfries
post Mar 5 2007, 06:18 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Mar 5 2007, 05:26 PM)
Soundcard = faster gaming. It will free your processor from having to process the sound data, thus giving you more FPS ingame.
So soundcard is a must if ur a gamer.
Also interesting to note that Vista supports multiple soundcard now, and you can assign each soundcard for different programs, IE: onboard for music and external for gaming
yes faster gaming but with the processor and GPU being so powerful, you won't even feel it when the resources allocated to onboard sound.

soundcard is NOT a must even if you're a gamer. you can't generalize gamers like that. i'm a gamer myself, and i'm currently using onboard as my SB Live doesn't seem to be working....again.

for me, i get a soundcard regardless whether i'm gaming or not because i find that the output is nicer (richer la) but if you're a gamer who doesn't care about the details of what you hear and already have a powerful system. it doesn't matter.

in fact the argument of "using PCI soundcard would give you extra framerates" has been used for more than a decade. in the past, yes. during that time computers aren't that fact and onboard does use up resource but this isn't so these days when computing power is way way way more powerful than before while audio systems on computer are better than before.

QUOTE(tanghm @ Feb 28 2007, 05:33 PM)
With an external soundcard like Creative (SB Live! onwards) you'll definitely hear a clearer sound with better SNR ratio, crispier sound and lower noise signals compare to onboard ones.

btw SB Live is not EXTERNAL soundcard. it's ADD-ON soundcard or PCI soundcard. EXTERNAL soundcard would be like the EXTIGY.
billytong
post Mar 5 2007, 07:26 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

Discrete sound card are generally better than onboard. But there are not much people would ask for X-Fi sound card, most of them would settle with Audigy or SBLive! These years the sound card market it has been quiet.

Currently the only way I can think of to live up the sound card revolution is voice recognition, things such as off loading sound processing to Sound card processor. but sound recognition is far from practical.
SUSdattebayo
post Mar 5 2007, 11:05 PM

5,366 posts

of course in terms of quality, independant sound card is the best. According to a magazine I read, a separate sound card can play 2 times or more synthesized sound in a game, compare to a onboard solution. So when it comes to games, certainly a dedicated card would do better.

While if you use PC just to surf, downloading and listen to lossy mp3, then better stick with onboard just fine.
Bigblock
post Mar 7 2007, 11:21 AM

|| F(R)έǎжy ||
2,275 posts

Yeah i agree, SB is a really good card.I'm currently using philips aurilium external sc...quite good also..I dun wanna spend too much on a sc...
ToGo
post Mar 7 2007, 12:52 PM

506 posts

so boring. long time no keng keng sound card come out liao.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0190sec    0.83    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:10 AM