5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Sound card business dead oredi?

TSg5sim
post Feb 7 2007, 12:32 PM, updated 19y ago

5,756 posts

hmmmmm .. with 99.9% of the MOBOs in the market offering built in sound cards some with high quality sound cards, what does this say to the independent sound card makers such as Creative. Right now we see only creative. no one is competing with them. And when last the last time creative launched its new sound card?
derek87
post Feb 7 2007, 12:53 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

I think creative is too good with it's sound card. And probably business strategies. Their main aim is to Gamers and Home users in Malaysia. I heard there is a few companies in the US competing with it which is not that popular. tongue.gif I know there are a few sounds cards(not creative) which is specially for musical instruments like keyboards, and guitars sold in Malaysia, just not that popular.

Few years back, do you remember when sonic gear first came out? They produces sound cards also, when 5.1 speakers are hot that time. laugh.gif
ikanayam
post Feb 7 2007, 12:58 PM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

It is quite dead, really. http://xbitlabs.com/news/multimedia/displa...0201141449.html
derek87
post Feb 7 2007, 01:21 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

HOHOHO.. didn't aware of that.. i was refering creative comparing with others. i think it's the gamer's demand in sound quality. For me, i still prefer adding on a sound card. Better quality always... =)
SpikeTwo
post Feb 7 2007, 01:24 PM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

we still have razer ones. LOL...
SUSMatrix
post Feb 7 2007, 05:16 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

yeah...Sound card are dead. The only sound card u ever need is Realtek HD 7.1 Azalia whatever....with VISTA new OpenAL, creative's dominant days are over. Creative has previously tar pau their GPU and CD-ROM business. Looks like next in line will be the sound card business...

There'll still be hardware acceleration under OpenAL, but with all the multicore CPU's coming, who the heck cares for that. The impact is quite insignificant.
Moving sound processing to CPU cores is the new trend, XBOX360 and PS3 already doing this, there's no more dedicated soundchip already coz CPUs more than powerful enuff with so many cores.

Still, people who has a high-end speakers/amp/receivers connected to their PC might want a dedicated sound card. Average joe RM300 speaker will probably won't hear any difference between built-in and SB sound.

And personally...i hate EAX...it's so fakish DSP processing. No flames pleez.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Feb 7 2007, 05:33 PM
Izwan898
post Feb 7 2007, 05:21 PM

MrNastey
937 posts

Oh no!!I'm currently using a creative SC rite now...don't say like that laaa... tongue.gif
SUSMatrix
post Feb 7 2007, 05:34 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Izwan898 @ Feb 7 2007, 05:21 PM)
Oh no!!I'm currently using a creative SC rite now...don't say like that laaa... tongue.gif
Your X-fi will worth nothing much very soon...better sell it off quick!!! laugh.gif
empire23
post Feb 7 2007, 05:50 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

I just an external DAC. Fin! And superior SQ too!
lOvEbItE
post Feb 7 2007, 06:22 PM

563 posts

still got those enthusiast will support them mar...
SUSMatrix
post Feb 7 2007, 07:40 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(lOvEbItE @ Feb 7 2007, 06:22 PM)
still got those enthusiast will support them mar...
ENTHUASIAST=WATERFISH

brows.gif
vey99
post Feb 7 2007, 09:07 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Feb 7 2007, 07:40 PM)
ENTHUASIAST=WATERFISH
brows.gif
Theres always a niche market, just that ppl who enjoy sound have to pay a bit more, I myself used to built-in sound for a couple years, recently i *found* an old SB Live lying in my storeroom, plug it into my new rig and whoa, it really sounds much better...

This post has been edited by vey99: Feb 7 2007, 09:08 PM
wassap
post Feb 7 2007, 09:31 PM

my preciousss~~
1,151 posts

i think soon sound cards will become like what floppy is now.
arjuna_mfna
post Feb 7 2007, 09:48 PM

**Towards Justice World**
1,496 posts

just thinking, did onboard sound is par or better the add on one....

wishbone
post Feb 7 2007, 10:04 PM

:.Business as usual.:
960 posts

Graphic cards would probably end up with the same fate as soundcards someday.
irangan
post Feb 7 2007, 10:41 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(wishbone @ Feb 7 2007, 10:04 PM)
Wont come anytime soon unless Nvidia ended like ATI.
blindbox
post Feb 8 2007, 01:16 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(wishbone @ Feb 7 2007, 10:04 PM)
I don't want a bigger motherboard, please. Plus, graphic cards are expensive (their processing skills are different compared to a processor). You don't want to add an extra 400 just to upgrade your gc right. Plus, 3 fans on your motherboard doesn't look nice.
Kagaya
post Feb 8 2007, 01:22 AM

Bad-Badtz Maru FREAK !!!
2,396 posts

It's all in the eye of the beholder...

For starter, when it comes to sound, and in the context of a PC, we only thought about how much it's gonna relieve the CPU for the sake of a few extra FPS, positioning like from 5.1 to a ridiculous 7.1, EAX 2.0 for the non-Creative and EAX4 HD for the X-Fi clan...

Who cares about the quality? I do...

In fact, I never bother to buy any Creative soundcard since I bought a 'generic' one; a Hercules Gamesurround Fortissimo III 7.1 that uses 2 CRYSTAL Sound Chip... If u ask me how good it is, better than onboard audio AC97, slightly better than a Live! in certain areas. Price? RM250.

Somehow, how good the quality of sound in a PC would go? The level of audiophile quality? It'll never reach that stage and by saying it would, we would only draw flamethrowers by those who've invested a gazillion ringgit on audiophile equipment.

Frankly, I'm no soundcard enthusiast but I'll never took a glance at all on the onboard sound because it's simply crappy. I've tried my ears on Azalia, nothing impressive. If I'm to plug a big can over it, there aren't even enough juice to drive it, but a soundcard might stand a better chance. Personally, I favour ENVY24HT chip by VIA. But then again, I've just read a review on a new HD Audio card with the soundchip came from an unfamous company laugh.gif released by 2 company, one is designed in Korea, another is in USA.

No matter what, I believe I would continue to stick with the purchase of PCI soundcard or PCI-E if they finally wished to release one. And the next target would be ONKYO WAVIO SE-200PCI !!!!
goldfries
post Feb 8 2007, 01:24 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Feb 7 2007, 05:16 PM)
Average joe RM300 speaker will probably won't hear any difference between built-in and SB sound.

actually can feel the difference, at least for my Creative Inspire 4100 speaker that is. about RM 225, that time was like 3 - 4 years ago. and i can feel the difference when i use onboard vs using Live DE 5.1
8tvt
post Feb 8 2007, 09:17 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

isn't it using onboard sound will lag slighly on gaming?
i think my audigy still good compare to onboard sound..
clearer sound and good boosting on subwoofer..

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:37 AM