All-New B8 Volkswagen Passat
DS51
Mar 23 2020, 07:48 AM
QUOTE(h_n_s @ Mar 23 2020, 01:57 AM) Sorry to ask this. Im using passat b8 1.8 tsi 2018 What kind of ron fit best to my car? Ron 95/97? Anyone? Try fill 97. If got improvement over 95, then use 97 liao. If no improvement come back to 95. But make sure u empty tank first b4 use 97 for accurate result. I use 97 almost all the time. Feel smoother. But my car is not passat. Do update here ur result.
DS51
Mar 24 2020, 10:42 PM
QUOTE(SKYjack @ Mar 24 2020, 10:35 AM) If your engine is not tuned for RON97, it's a waste of money using RON97. In the simplest terms, the engine is unable to convertĀ extra energy in RON97 into power! Some claim the engine 'feels' lighter & better response! I cannot dispute this,it's based on personel feeling! Technically, there is nothing to suggest better performance! QUOTE(Xnet @ Mar 24 2020, 01:22 PM) Its called placebo effect and truly waste of money Can check pauline website, they do dyno test for ron 100.. Even car not design for ron 100 benefit from it.. C300 can easily pour 95 and not design for ron 97, but got significant improvement using ron 100.. Ya in term of monetary might not worth it due to expensive price per litre. But feeling of much more responsive and smoother ride might be true. https://pauline.org/2019/08/30/video-ron100...-hp-and-torque/This post has been edited by DS51: Mar 24 2020, 10:44 PM
DS51
Mar 25 2020, 01:51 PM
QUOTE(budang @ Mar 25 2020, 10:50 AM) I personally always doubt that additional few percent is going to make a difference. Example, if your typical teh tarik is sweeter by 5%, or the burger you eat daily is larger by 5% without anyone telling you. Are you seriously going to notice it if no one were to tell you? To me, the placebo / psychological effect is stronger than the actual gains. If your car was tuned to run on 95, there's really not much benefit to pay the premium to run on 97. What more RON100. Even with the low fuel price now. Ya. U might right. 5% or 10%, so small meh to feel. That is why I said, it feel smoother and responsive. I did not say, it will become faster or way faster.