Lowyat.Net's Watercooling Club, Pictures of setups & screenies !

irangan
post Aug 13 2007, 01:40 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

Good to hear that more people is joining the WC wagon. Hehe..

Actually, IMO WC is a must if u are a quad user. Too hot for an air cooling to handle.

@HaHaNoCluE
You can gain better if u use a better block for your cpu and GPU.

Currently I am using a modded Alphacool NexXxoS XP CPU Block for GPU. Its worked MUCH MUCH better than MCW60 on my 8800gts cuz its have bigger surface area. MCW60 is too small to cover whole surface of 8 series GPU.

@DaRkSyThE
May I know ur setup?
irangan
post Aug 13 2007, 09:44 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Aug 13 2007, 09:26 PM)
where is ur pic for noctua on vga..XD
Lol... Will post real fast smile.gif
irangan
post Aug 17 2007, 11:56 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(HaHaNoCluE @ Aug 14 2007, 01:00 AM)
noctua on VGA??? huh... that's really big project...
Forgot to post smile.gif

Some changes I done with my setup.
1. Change all the tubing to Clearflex from Masterkleer(typo sad.gif)
2. Change from HydrX Distilled water to PC Ice UV Blue
3. Change those normal worm clamp to germany imported clamp (no grease. yahoo!)
4. Added a GC block smile.gif

Anyway, here is some of the pic.

My 8800GTS under Alphacool NexXxoS XP CPU Block (Modded to GPU Block) and Noctua U6 for its bridge chip

Mounting for the U6 is custom made by coolice smile.gif

My current setup.

Will post more pic in my work log later.
irangan
post Aug 18 2007, 06:55 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(HaHaNoCluE @ Aug 18 2007, 01:31 AM)
bro, that noctua on the controller chipset of 8800... can tahan ah ur card...
Actually, U6 is quite light weight... Previously I worry that the water block itself will crack the card due to its weight. But luckily 8800gts used 2 slots, so I managed to mount it firmly without any hassle by disperse the weight on those 2 screws.
irangan
post Aug 25 2007, 06:32 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

Putting radiator inside ur case is perfectly ok if your case have good ventilation. It is also reduce the noise level of your rig as the fans for the radiator is inside the case.

@Doom
What fan you are hunting? S Flex? Panaflo?
irangan
post Nov 19 2007, 12:39 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

Ya.. those Dtek GPU block is not really recommended due to its design but no deny those UNI Sink is sexy.. hehe..
irangan
post Dec 31 2007, 12:54 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(rozz_1291 @ Dec 31 2007, 12:15 AM)
May I ask here...... Has any1 tried replacing coolant wit  sumthing else??? hmm.gif  Instead of distilled water ofcourse..... tongue.gif  Like car coolant....... Can use ar???  hmm.gif  unsure.gif

1st timer WC...... icon_rolleyes.gif  notworthy.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif
As long it is liquid, you can use it in your system but of course dont put those stuff that can damage ur setup. Hehe... Some of my friend used battery, car coolant, motor coolant and so on. But in the end, distilled water plus biocide is the best smile.gif
irangan
post Dec 31 2007, 01:50 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(rozz_1291 @ Dec 31 2007, 01:01 AM)
Ok then, i use car coolant lor...... Cheaper also..... Pour sum in my car n WC......hehehe tongue.gif  laugh.gif  But if i m not mistaken, battery water is distilled.... hmm.gif   Plus, wat is biocide??? rclxub.gif  icon_question.gif  Sori, 1st timer here...... Dunno nothing...... notworthy.gif
icon_rolleyes.gif
True also... But alot of battery water is actually tap water.. So make sure u get those branded battery water. Hehe..

Biocide ar... Wait ar.. I go google. Haha.. Dont know how to explain in detail

A biocide is a chemical substance capable of killing different forms of living organisms used in fields such as medicine, agriculture, forestry, and mosquito control.

Conclusion... Its will prevent alga from growing in ur coolant. e.g. those Swiftech Hydrx (MetalZone selling it for Rm20 each bottle). Just mix it with distilled water (5%) and use it as ur coolant.

Nothing to sorry about.... Everyone is newbie before smile.gif

This post has been edited by irangan: Dec 31 2007, 01:51 PM
irangan
post Dec 31 2007, 02:52 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(rozz_1291 @ Dec 31 2007, 02:00 PM)
Aiyaa...... 4got bout checking in google..... doh.gif  wasting ur time only...... laugh.gif  Thanks, appreciate it notworthy.gif . Yup i order already 1 of those 4rom MetalZone..... thumbup.gif
icon_rolleyes.gif
Its ok... hehe...

Remember to use clean/distilled water to mix the hydrx. And remember to clean ur radiator and block nicely before installing it.

Added on January 5, 2008, 12:29 pmNew Dtek Fuzion Mounting

With Back Plate.

Better pressure and prevent ur mobo from bow..

Dont know should get or not as I already using a back plate.

This post has been edited by irangan: Jan 5 2008, 12:30 PM
irangan
post Jan 8 2008, 06:20 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

@lichyetan

Bro, nice setup.. But your case is really crowded.. Probably it is time to upgrade ur case smile.gif

Anyway, why you dont want to go for T Line in order to save space? Besides that, Swiftech HydrX will cloud your tubing real fast compare to other coolant. e.g. PC Ice and Distilled Water + Biocide. Oh ya.. What tubing is that? Masterkleer?
irangan
post Jan 9 2008, 10:17 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Jan 8 2008, 11:37 PM)
i use masterkleer for 1/2 ID tubings and 3/8ID Kuritec tubings. I dont have those T-Line accessories, such as the dangerden fillport, and also it takes quite a long time to bleed if using t-line, and ended up using reservoir which bleed faster and easier. So far i think Hydryx still acceptable la, PC ICE too expensive, initially plan to use distilled water, but end up using hydryx. Hmm, wat case u recommend me for dual loop setup? i think stacker are still serve me well, intro me some nice and big enough case to me bro, might consider upgrade in the future...
True also... But T Line can save you alot space. Hehe...

Can you track how its take for your tubing to cloud? At least we can prove whether the statement of hydrx stain your tubing real fast, true or not.

Talk about casing ar... Of course if you have the cash, you must get a Lian Li 343B for your dual setup. One of my friend is using that case and it is 'the' case for watercooling.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showth...7&highlight=343 <<< Read for more Info.

a very nice dual radiator setup on it.

If you are tight on budget, probably just go for big case like Lian Li V2000 Plus II. I dont want sounds like Lian Li fan boys but before getting my V2000. I did alot of research on those 'big' casing (Silverstone and so on) and in the end I decided to go for V2000 cuz I can fit 2 radiator at least inside the case without any heavy modification.

Nice setup on V2000

You can add another dual radiator below the Triple rad. Stack on it.

V2000 setup from our forummer; hollowbean

same as posted in another wc thread, e2140 @ 3.12ghz @ 1.525vcore @ 29c-32c idle and 52-55c load. Remounted the block few times and the thermal paste spread quite well, checked with swiftech website and those temps are normal according to their temp calculator. mayb i got hotter batch e2140. but 8800gt cooled superbly, idle 40c load 44c while NB kept at around 39-42c...
Your temp is kind of high... I think you can gain better result if you switch the pump between your loops. DB1 for CPU and ur more powerful D4 for the gpu and so on.

This post has been edited by irangan: Jan 9 2008, 10:21 AM
irangan
post Jan 10 2008, 09:41 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Jan 9 2008, 04:01 PM)
i think its quite ok since its 1.525vcore in bios and 1.5 report in ASUS probe and 1.472 by CPU-Z, using swiftech temp calc for 220compact kit the temp compared is 6c higher then my setup with ambient around 30c w/o aircond. The load temp i reported full load under prime95 small FFT's and Intel TAT stress... so i think my proc mayb are hotter batch.

@irangan,
Ya, should have switch loop for the pump, as the fuzion block are super restrictive, but its still acceptable as delta of 4c only between load and idle by gpu and nb temp kept at 41c +- 2c when load. I think its normal for NB amd GPU loop, do u think the CPU temp is normal? i think its normal as swiftech temp calc are higher then my temp, but based on ur experience, possible hotter batch intel proc?

and also my asus probe reporting higher temp and flunctuate between 60-50c when load, probably wrong temp reporting, Intel TAT and Core temp report lower temp.
40+'C for NB is kind of high... Have you try to remount the NB block? I think should be got contact problem.

Ur cpu temp too is kind of at the high side but most likely due to your 'hot' processor. Like I said before, my celeron 420 running at 38'C idle under WC and aircond but only 22'+C for my E8400. Hehe..

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Jan 9 2008, 10:38 PM)
1 question ... which pump can support 2 x (3x12cm swiftech rads) ?
Its depends much on ur setup. If 2 rad + 1 cpu block, should be ok but if u have alot of block in ur loop. It is better for you to seperate up the loops like lichyetan. You will get better temp.
irangan
post Jan 10 2008, 03:50 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Jan 10 2008, 10:51 AM)
if single block? single pump enough for 2x(3x12cm swiftech rad) + d-tek fuzion ?
Ya.. It is enough... But I cant see the point why u need 2 triple radiator for your CPU. A single dual radiator is just nice if u wish to cool ur cpu only.

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Jan 10 2008, 02:32 PM)
juz read through some forums, thinking NB temp is normal unless i remount the whole asus heatpipe as the thermal paste are lousy according to some of them and the fuzion block are just paste onto the heatpipe with expoxy, so guess its poor contact, if want to remount i gotto take off everything again, which i think i will just do in future when i wanna clean my wc loop as too much hassle to rework all those stuffs... For the CPU, i think mostly should be hot proc as u said as another forumer here using IFX-14 reaches 64+c applying 1.5+vcore also...
Ya.. Exactly... Probably you can remount it next time. Too hassle :S

If that is the case, time to upgrade again or you waiting for Q945/Q955?
irangan
post Jan 10 2008, 06:24 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(amd_hardcore @ Jan 10 2008, 03:51 PM)
bro irangan , where can buy those biocide???
I think you get it from local hardware shop. Personally I not too sure cuz i bought it from US.

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Jan 10 2008, 04:53 PM)
ya, waiting for penryn user here, by the mean time, also collecting funds so that i got enough budget for Q9450 or Q9550, i think i'll upgrade at year end...
U plan to use 2140 till end of the year... Can or not.. Haha
irangan
post Jan 14 2008, 09:31 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Jan 14 2008, 08:45 AM)
My ifx-14 idle @ 39 load @ 49... 3.6GHz e6600 b2 @ 1.45v.... y urs WC so high?...
His vcore is higher than you and sometime ambient temp do make alot of difference. Besides that, some proc batch is hotter than normal.
irangan
post Feb 24 2008, 12:40 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Feb 23 2008, 01:08 AM)
Of course la, ur NB contribute a lot of heat....
r u sure bout that? P35 chip aint that hot...
In a WC setup, the stuff that produce alot of heat are GPU and CPU. The rest of it is minimal.
IMO, the reason for the high temp difference is mainly due to its pump. Flow rate is important.

irangan
post May 20 2008, 07:11 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

Been quite some time since I posted here. Nice to see that WC is still going strong. Hehe

QUOTE(clawhammer @ May 12 2008, 01:29 AM)
Algae? How did that came about? If we use distilled water then I believe it wouldn't have all these problems so easily?
Even with distilled water, algae still will form over certain period time though its will lasts longer than those called battery water and normal water. The best way to avoid algae from forming is by dropping few drops of PT-Nuke Biocide (you can purchase it from PetrasTechShop); mixture chemical with silver into the distilled water. Or by putting a small piece of silver into reservoir. Silver is a natural biocide; its will kills algae.

Of course, by using third party coolant like PC Ice will solve the algae problem but its will cloud ur tubing real fast.

Currently, I am using PT-Nuke Biocide with distilled water. Still going strong and algae free since my last maintaince (on Jan 08).

QUOTE(clawhammer @ May 12 2008, 10:37 AM)
Thanks lichyetan smile.gif I guess my loop is still new so no algae problem. If I get a new motherboard then I'll clean it before mounting the new one into the casing biggrin.gif Yes, I'm going to bulk some Tygon R3603 but not the silver/black ones. Feel free to join in if you want as I can also order the black ones for you.
Dont means to bash you. But tygon aint really worth at least for me as it is seriously over priced and more stiff/hard to bend compare to Masterkleer. People are saying that tygon tubing dont cloud that fast but seriously the difference between it and Masterkleer is minimal. Though no deny that black tygon tubing is sexy. Hehe.

QUOTE(lichyetan @ May 13 2008, 07:25 PM)
i still young, but also tends not to go back air cooling after using wc for quite a while... the nice temp + silence is the main fact... secondly wc looks cools...
Yeah... WC is the way to go. Good temp and silent. What can you ask for more?

QUOTE(LExus65 @ May 14 2008, 03:41 PM)
yeap WC excel in load temp capping......  the more water the better it is.

btw speaking of algae, it will grow even u use distilled water, ur system is fill with air before it run distil water. just only the rate of grow reduces. Even with coolant, u will still get some biofouling, but will be minimal in long term
I dont understand what do you means by " the more water the better it is.". Having a longer tubing thus more water dont help your temp at all. Unless you means a higher flow rate.

Ya.. algae still grow in distilled water.

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ May 14 2008, 07:24 PM)
That what i mean,wc can beat air cooler by 10 C and it is more silent brows.gif How is car heater core/oil cooler when compare to Swiftech MCR220 or Themochill PA120.2 sweat.gif
QUOTE(LExus65 @ May 15 2008, 12:58 PM)
car rad mostly made of aluminum which is not prefer by most WC user, but can achieve near to ambient is quite good, i didnt know that....

may be i get some try
I dont think heater core will do any better than present water cooling radiator as heater core tend to have high restriction thus affecting the flow rate of the water as lower water flow rate means heat travel slower to your rad and out. Besides that, heater core is ugly and bulky. It is not really suitable to put it in your case in term of cosmetically and weight.

LExus65 do pointed out a very important point about car rad. Some of it is made from aluminum and most of the block in the market is made from copper as this means a serious mismatch. Never mix metal in your loops as its will cause severe chemical reaction that will kill all copper block.
irangan
post May 20 2008, 07:21 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(amd_hardcore @ May 20 2008, 07:19 PM)
ohh long time no see...

i see that ur selling ur rig...

so retired la? no whats next edy?

hehehe
Only selling my casing and watercooling. Giving my rig to my sis.

I retired long time ago. Hehe..
irangan
post May 22 2008, 11:53 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(sub_noob @ May 20 2008, 09:29 PM)
Y dun sell the rig and put it in investment..  tongue.gif  When u say Pc Ice will make it the tubing clouder faster.. I change my mind.. stick to distilled water better.. lol..
I will just sell off my cooling and casing as used my old parts for my sis rig. PC Ice do cloud ur tubing faster compare to distilled water but no deny its perform better than distilled water. Not to mention its will grease ur pump and prolong its life cycle. I quitted using PC Ice because it is 'oily'.. Hard to clean up during maintaince.

QUOTE(LExus65 @ May 21 2008, 01:32 PM)
irangan sudah balik kah haha..........

btw the more water i meant just merely quantity, water can absorb quite some amount of heat per oC of temperature rise. So in theory if u have plenty of water in reservoir, it is better. Longer tube of course does not help at all...... haha
Just back to sell off some of my stuff.. Hehe... Busy busy..

Actually, the performance you getting from adding water is minimal as water not really good in 'carrying' heat and the main purpose of radiator is to get rid of the heat. So the faster go in and out ur radiator, the better it is.

QUOTE(Ryoga @ May 21 2008, 08:35 PM)
hehe just finish setting up my WC  biggrin.gif

Looks like HydrX.. Someone gonna change tubing in like 3-4months time. Hehe
irangan
post May 24 2008, 10:51 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(Ryoga @ May 23 2008, 08:55 PM)
yeap then which coolant will be better  blink.gif
@IcEMoCHa. its silverstone TJ07
Actually HydrX can perform quite well, just that its will stain ur tubing real fast.

Personally, I used before PC Ice (UV Blue) and its perform real well. Though its will stain ur tubing too but at much slower rate compare to HydrX.

Besides that, I prefer using Distilled Water plus Biocide. The performance slightly below PC Ice but my tubing can last longer. Good for lazy ppl like me. Changing tubing for WC is a nightmare if you got several blocks and huge setup. sad.gif

QUOTE(sub_noob @ May 23 2008, 09:24 PM)
No need use coolant la if wan performance..
But if you didnt prepare ur distilled water coolant nicely, mr algae will take over ur setup. hehe

0.0587sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:47 AM