Samsung Samsung Galaxy Note 7/FE (Official Discussion V10), It's alive! Sort of
tomokomiki
Oct 31 2016, 11:02 PM
Can someone please enlightened me how will you know if your phone has been prohibited from charging to 100%?? I tried google but can't seems to find the answer, perhaps wrong choice of words in search bar?
tomokomiki
Oct 31 2016, 11:50 PM
QUOTE(kianweic @ Oct 31 2016, 11:09 PM) First there will be an update. There will be notification in a form of message which you cannot ignore. Mine is updating now. Once the update has been installed, the phone can only charge to 60%. You can increase it to 80% via Device Setup. Thus the most ideal situation would be manually update and pause it forever?
tomokomiki
Nov 1 2016, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(brandonkl @ Nov 1 2016, 03:46 PM) I only want to keep my N7 until S8 comes out in March 2017. So, no future updates not an issue for me. I had the same thoughts as you, but my phone betrayed me yesterday  I probably approved the update accidentally while having my phone in my pocket at 2.30am..my battery cant charge beyond 60% anymore I just decided to cancel my contract and opt for refund in the meantime downgrade my plan. I will buy a P9lite as my temporarily phone until my next phone with S-Pen launched. Will send the phone soon I guess.
tomokomiki
Nov 1 2016, 06:03 PM
QUOTE(ebackbone @ Nov 1 2016, 05:52 PM) i'm at a lost for words how it was accidentally updated. was it that you did not do the way i mentioned or that the play store app updated and then suddenly it auto OTA update the phone software? TBH, i was OT in office yesterday till late night. I have read your post along with others. I was thinking of following the sifu that pausing the updates. Since it has been 2.30am and i was ready to leave my office and no updates was send to my phone, I thought I was safe. Somehow, when I was busy closing and lock the office, I notice my phone screen were lighted (I did not activate any screen lock) and my hands were full of documents and keys and stuff thus I did not check my phone immediately. By the time I get into my car, the phone was already start installing the software update which is too late to turn it off.
tomokomiki
Nov 1 2016, 07:17 PM
QUOTE(ebackbone @ Nov 1 2016, 06:17 PM) .. .. pausing the update is really not the right way of doing it..  feel adventurous? since it's already updated, you may as well go down the path of rooting the phone and removing the update manually if possible. Haha..I am kinda noob, i can follow the steps 1 by 1 if there is an instruction given. is this correct? Step 1: Free download KingoRoot.apk. ... Step 2: Install KingoRoot.apk on your device. ... Step 3: Launch "Kingo ROOT" app and start rooting. ... Step 4: Waiting for a few seconds till the result screen appear. Step 5: Succeeded or Failed.
tomokomiki
Nov 1 2016, 07:26 PM
QUOTE(ebackbone @ Nov 1 2016, 07:25 PM) not advised that type of root cause till today, they never shared how they root aka you don't know whether there's any backdoor done in that way. i'll PM you when i got the time. Serious, I am going to  if successful!!
tomokomiki
Nov 1 2016, 07:39 PM
QUOTE(Wilson0011 @ Nov 1 2016, 07:33 PM) is the 50% off of note 8 available in malaysia? Are you planning to sell the S7edge once you got the Note8?
tomokomiki
Nov 2 2016, 11:53 AM
Assuming Note 8 launch in March 2017, and a BIGGER assumed we can get an upgrade at 50% cost, here are my options: A. Cancel my contract with Maxis, downgrade my contract from 158 to 98 and purchase a P9lite for 5 months usage. My cost = RM970 (P9lite) - RM60*5(savings per month) = RM670.00 @ approximately RM134.00 per month
B. Take a replacement S7e from Maxis. Continue my contract with Maxis @ RM101 per month. Upgrade to Note 8 when available: My cost: RM101.00*5 = RM505.00, Upgrade to Note 8 (assuming RM3199.00) @ 50% cost = RM1600.00 Additional expenses: RM1,600.00 for the new phone
The calculations based on: You take up S7e exchange and continue your plan with Maxis then pay RM1,600.00 extras for the new phone in March 2017 and "return" your S7edge.
* "Upgrade" usually means you have to return the S7edge~~they won't let you keep the phone and sell as 2nd hand. * Samsung livechat CS Max said there's no such offers and it is just pure rumors.
So I will go for option 1
tomokomiki
Nov 2 2016, 12:51 PM
QUOTE(skylinelover @ Nov 2 2016, 12:34 PM) Haha of course  Will join you in the pre-order club.
tomokomiki
Nov 3 2016, 10:58 AM
QUOTE(coolkwc @ Nov 3 2016, 02:05 AM) I read somewhere samsung setup booth in airport to return the phone? Somehow the Maxis staff told me if I am in overseas, I can return the phone in any airport and get a letter to demand for refund in Malaysia.