Help! how spoilt is my camera?, Canon A60
TSawetan
Feb 6 2007, 08:08 AM, updated 19y ago
Calling all camera expert in lyn: Long story short: my gf charged the bat in japan without using any voltage converter, and then after that she switch on the camera and its screen is like tis: I suspect that it may be because of the reason above.. or is it not? do anyone came across such screen problem? Any idea how to fix it? Thanks in advance for any advices This post has been edited by awetan: Feb 6 2007, 08:09 AM
LanEvoX
Feb 6 2007, 08:42 AM
have u try other battery?
SUSTheVoIP
Feb 6 2007, 10:45 AM
VincC454
Feb 6 2007, 10:49 AM
...i'm a dreamer
well..at least sometimes they do it for free..even if your camera no longer got warranty
xenothrix
Feb 6 2007, 10:51 AM
dont think voltage in japan will cause such a problem. their current is 100v, 50hz , which is much lower than KL. unless kena surge or something or the 60hz in western japan. furthermore, canon is originally from japan.... it seems as though ur ccd is dead... edit: http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2225.htmlThis post has been edited by xenothrix: Feb 6 2007, 10:52 AM
cleverlynn
Feb 6 2007, 01:11 PM
thanks for all replies!! i charged the battery and used it for a few times before this happen (and it has been working well for the past few weeks). i know the voltage is lower but somehow the batteries have bad burnt smell and is very hot after charged. i am using canon s2is and a60 and only a60 has this problem.. was hoping that it's just some setting that i accidentally mis-adjusted. hmm.. ccd is dead? if canon were to charge me, how much would that cost? and normally how long would they require to fix it? thanks again for the advices (except for the changing gf one =p)
Joshua_0718
Feb 6 2007, 02:22 PM
QUOTE(Jeve @ Feb 6 2007, 11:41 AM) looks like CCD problem. Canon acknowledged the problem, probably they will repair it for you without charges. If you're lucky they will replace a newer model for you. Good luck. That is very very rare
kb2005
Feb 6 2007, 08:36 PM
QUOTE(awetan @ Feb 6 2007, 08:08 AM) Calling all camera expert in lyn: Long story short: my gf charged the bat in japan without using any voltage converter, and then after that she switch on the camera and its screen is like tis: I suspect that it may be because of the reason above.. or is it not? do anyone came across such screen problem? Any idea how to fix it? Thanks in advance for any advices  I thought all charges are universal and work for both 240V or 110V
shutterdll
Feb 6 2007, 09:00 PM

can i know where is the canon green HQ?
crayzee
Feb 6 2007, 10:26 PM
Had this problem last time on my S1 IS, it is the popular ccd death. Canon fixed it for free  refer here http://www.imaging-resource.com/badccds.html
cleverlynn
Feb 6 2007, 11:04 PM
thanks for the great link! got more informed now =p
TSawetan
Feb 7 2007, 08:46 AM
wow that was fast!! sorry for the late follow up ~.~"
Thanks a lot guys for the info n helps suggested. Your help has been very helpful. =)
JasonHong
Apr 12 2007, 10:36 PM
QUOTE(awetan @ Feb 6 2007, 08:08 AM) Calling all camera expert in lyn: Long story short: my gf charged the bat in japan without using any voltage converter, and then after that she switch on the camera and its screen is like tis: I suspect that it may be because of the reason above.. or is it not? do anyone came across such screen problem? Any idea how to fix it? Thanks in advance for any advices  i have the same problem with u, but when i send to canon service center, they told me my A85 is a stolen goods. because there is not serial number on the camera. they refuse to fix it for me even i pay them. so now i would like to find anyone who know how to fix camera. thanks regards Jason
g88
Apr 13 2007, 12:50 AM
So is your camera a stolen goods ??
JasonHong
Apr 13 2007, 05:40 PM
QUOTE(g88 @ Apr 13 2007, 12:50 AM) So is your camera a stolen goods ?? i think so. because there is not serial number on the camera. and somemore the shop that i bought there was close down. nothing can do now.. who know to repair this camera? regards Jason
bujanglapok
Apr 17 2007, 04:48 PM
Wah just kena this problem now. Dang thanks guys. Can send to any Canon shop aite?