Schlumberger, anyone work there?

azhanblur
post Oct 30 2008, 12:59 AM

26 posts

Hi..I work for SLB and I have these to say.

1. Working with SLB is not as working in offices. If you dont have prior experience in O n G industry, chances are your pre-conception might be wrong.

2. They pay you good and for a good reason. They'll worked you to the edge, experiences might differ from person to person depending on their tolerance. Diploma graduates would start with grade 7 (trainee) with RM 3+++ salary. This salary is fixed, you can be called to work on sundays or pb holidays with no overtime claim. They send you to school for one month. Location depends on segments, UK, US etc. Complete online modules, take tests, do work then breakout; then you get to grade 8. They pay you RM 4+++.. The cycle continues. My point is, pay is good but work is not easy. Less time outside work.

3. Remember, no matter how good a company reputation is, you will always found some jackass/jerks inside. You are dealing with people. If your excuse to change employer is jackass manager/supervisor, chances that you'll find them in slb too.

4. Don't just go for the money. Believe me, when time goes by you'll start to questions your intention. Especially if you are going to field work post. For engineers wannabe, its might not like engineer you might imagine. Your pay is hefty, so do responsibilities, plus same physical work. Those who welcome challenges would likely like it here.

5. In interviews, be active, pro-active whatever. If you got the job, read the contract, REALLY. When I got the job, they sent me to India just for 1 week orientation. That was a honeymoon before hell. Took me quite a while to adjust but I'm settling down just like at home. You friends will be your greatest assets, not just money. They the ones who keep you going, and alive.

6. Any questions, feel free to email or PM me. azhanblur@yahoo.com

Added on October 30, 2008, 1:22 am
QUOTE(franksnitch @ Oct 28 2008, 10:15 PM)
Do you have to do any presentations during the group interview? I'm very poor in this area sad.gif

What do you do during the field assessment? Case studies? Is role playing in this stage?
Group interview or Dynamic group interview involves team based assignment. Eg. build a platform 1 meter min. in height and will withstand 8 golf balls. You will plan your design and present it. They'll give you A4 paper, amount depends on your design and request. Any addition of building materials during building will cause points deduction. If your project fails, don't worry. When they ask be the first to answer. Give analysis, why it failed..etc. Show confidence and smart thinking. Outshines and out think everyone. Hey, you want the job you'll have to work for it.

Then this field assessment. They'll do this in bases in Kemaman or Labuan or any place they like. Every single cents you spent on tickets etc can be claim. This is a 2 days assessment and will be different according to Segment; Wireline/Well Services/Drilling & Measurement/Testing etc. The toughest one I would say is Well Services..major physical work (for FS or tech.) For FE (engineer) I don't know or care biggrin.gif .. Pass this, you'll be putting one foot inside SLB. Then when got offer..as usual the Medical.. If you are not in KL, there will be a lot of traveling to Rohas Perkasa. For me, I got to take 1 or 2 unpaid leave from my employer at time..and lied the reason why.. biggrin.gif Make sure you don't have these if you are offered offshore/field position'

1. Diabetes type 2 (or 1? the one that need to inject insulin..)
2. Hi blood
3. Heart condition

and read the offer letter..understand the details. read the contract and RTFM.

This post has been edited by azhanblur: Oct 30 2008, 01:22 AM
azhanblur
post Oct 31 2008, 12:14 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(franksnitch @ Oct 31 2008, 01:06 AM)
Thanks Azhanblur for the brilliant insights on the outlook of the interview. At least I've got a gist of it. I'm still considering whether to apply for slb or not. The more I read about how the interview goes, the more I get the jitters. But I've been wanting to work for slb since I was in high school.. It's just that I don't have enough self-confidence and my soft skills suck.

danscsa, I reckon they'd accept a 2nd class upper as well because my cousin got in. It's just a matter of how well you did in the interview process.
Sometimes luck do play its part..but usually to get their attention is to be the 3 pointer grad. It's true, the grades is just the ticket to get interviews but the rest is up to your skills and personality. I'd been to many interviews in the past and the experience help me a lot with slb interviews.But tips from seniors did help too. If you think you don't have the self-confidence, practice..a lot. Get help from lecturer or friends. This is not rocket science you know biggrin.gif .

One best thing here at SLB is that you will not stay at same position long. Meaning that your grade will go up and so do your salary. (thats RM 1000 increase).The challenges are, apart from doing your job which is terribly physical and mind burdening, you also have to take online tests and modules, reviews and go to schools. They will push you. 2 years is normally the limit. Fail and you can kiss your job good bye. So the interviews did not end when you get the job. The struggles will continue, at least when you get to certain grade which you will a the choice to stay. One thing I learned here is that you have to take your job seriously. Do not skip procedures and take short cuts. Disobey that, you can lose your job or worst, your life (or others).

Added on October 31, 2008, 12:27 pm
QUOTE(danscsa @ Oct 30 2008, 09:41 AM)
how do i get in coz i applied like 6 months ago through the website n i am fresh engineering grad. THey only accept first class holders is it?
It's quite difficult to say. Usually the applications went to database and stay there for a year if i am not mistaken. Sometimes it also depends on vacancy and request from managers. Open your eyes and ears for job expo or something similar, SLB just might be there. But from I heard, they say a degree holder with CGPA below 3.00 not need to apply (at those job expo). One more thing, most of the new engineer at my place usually are graduates from either UTM or UTP. These grads got more chances because SLB have recruitment program with their U's.

This post has been edited by azhanblur: Oct 31 2008, 12:27 PM
azhanblur
post Oct 31 2008, 10:56 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(franksnitch @ Oct 31 2008, 12:37 PM)
This is what've been bugging me. My university doesn't have this CGPA system. When I went for a walk-in interviews at careers fair or apply jobs online, they'd asked for my CGPA. Trivial but a bugger.

Yeah I heard slb is a serious work place. They work your arses off but the pay is good. The online tests, classes etc are only during training period, which could last for about 3-4 years yeah?

azhanblur, what is your position in slb? Are you an FET?
Fixed Step Training what they called. actually we need to complete one grade in less than a year especially the trainees. The Training n development (TDS) would advice your manager to let you go if you miss the dateline. Normally if you're doing fine with your manager, or there are severe shortage of workforce then you're save. If not..bye bye. Actually the classes, tests continue untill certain grade. and still depends on needs. Eg, if there is a void in one grade and you're the only one can fill it, then they'll push you.

No..I'm not FET. I'm just a diploma graduate. Anyway, I would not cut out to be an FET. For one, too much responsibilities. And I don't like the stuff they're doing, just not my interest. I'm a maintenance personnel, and I love maintenance....don't have to care much 'bout those coil tubing, pumping, those operation stuff. but I do hope someday there will be a maintenance engineer post tongue.gif
And yes, I spent most time on land biggrin.gif

Added on October 31, 2008, 10:59 pm
QUOTE(danscsa @ Oct 31 2008, 12:49 PM)
meaning those with cgpa below 3.0 have no chances at all getting in slb?
I can't say no chance at all, but all especially the FET are 3 pointer graduates. Even most of FST and technicians are 3 pointers.

franksnitch, your uni don't have cgpa? Are you from french uni or something?

This post has been edited by azhanblur: Nov 1 2008, 03:05 AM
azhanblur
post Nov 26 2008, 07:33 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(franksnitch @ Nov 3 2008, 01:46 PM)
What do you mean FET have too much responsibilities? Care to elaborate? I know it's hard labour and they're dealing with machineries, aren't they?

I'm really grateful for your generosity to share your experience and information on slb with us. I will do the same too if I were offered a job in slb in the future...
I agree with zeusu. FE have a huge responsibility. I wont be able to tell much because I'm not an FE (or FET biggrin.gif ) If you ask about maintenance, the group of people who sweat a lot when equipment fail during job offshore, that I can you smile.gif You see, although with huge responsibility, an FE is part of operation. There are many experienced guys FE can turn to when time needed during job. In other word, you exist as a team, be a team member and a leader you can get through anything..almost anything. But...when a maintenance guy like me went on board, I'm expected to function alone, make decision alone and make them fast. If a job f***ed up and was caused by let say engine failure, we eat the s@+7. So, in the end,everyone here at SLB has the fair share of responsibility I guess. It comes with the paycheck and agreement you signed.Again, it depends on location you're assign. Not all location are great, same as the people. For me jerks will be anywhere, even in SLB biggrin.gif
azhanblur
post Nov 26 2008, 10:42 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(NX9 @ Nov 26 2008, 08:58 PM)
Hi...evryone

I graduated in March 2007 (Advanced diploma in M&E), working in  CAD/CAM industry now, next year would like to apply it through my carrer fair where SLB is there.

My salary here is almost 3k only and very soon will get prometed to senior level and get extra increment abt 22% from the first appraisal...... and my contract will expired in march next year.....yeah!!

Just like to know is advanced diploma is sufficient to join this company? It's too late now? I'm just pass 24.

Which post should i apply? I have no experience in O&G at all....except machining O&G part.

How much is the starting salary.

What will happen if the crude oil run out in 2011?
My CGPA for diploma is 3.56XX, advanced diploma droppinngggg to 2.9....

Just let me know if there is any vacancy...

Would like to hear all of you.
Hi NX9...I have some questions you may want to think the answers thoroughly. Do you love your current job? Does it gives you any satisfaction other than money? What really motivates you to leave? Why you want to work for Schlumberger? Are you prepared to be away from your love ones, not just weeks, not months but maybe years? Are you ready to be worked like a horse? if you do, and if you are successful then every sen you earn is worth it.

Diploma..advance diploma is the same with SLB. Even with degree if you went for a post that start at grade 7, you'll start at grade 7. Only if you have highly related experience then they might consider a slightly higher grade. They may offer a post above trainee position. To answer your question, yes advanced dip is sufficient and age is not a barrier at all. I'm older than you..much more older. Heavy work may effect older guys tho biggrin.gif

Well for stater, visit www.slb.com to find out more. SLB is not just a single entity. There are different segments with different functions and different positions available but basically I can simply put it in different categories;

1. Operation/Field

These are people who are hired to work in locations offshore or onshore. back bone on the company. Field Specialist (FS) is post offered to Diploma grads. Salary is around 4K+.You start as FST (Field Specialist Trainee) salary 3K++. Though work. Need to study hard as well (know your trade). Ever see people work at construction site (contractors)? Here is even tougher than that. difference is the salary and safety are much higher. Not much of a comparison but that served as example well i think.

2. Support Operation

These are the people who provide much needed efforts to sustain safe and profitable operation. Often called Technicians or Maintenance personnel, less popular than FS variant just because of missing Specialist word in their title and less sought out by graduates and often taken as 2nd choice when they flunk the FS interview but the salary is just the same. Now the trainees are even paid offshore allowance. (My 1st choice, I even told my interviewer that I don't want to be an FS). There are Electronic, Mechanical and other types of technicians that I might not know of. You may or may not required to be offshore depending on Segment that employ you. For my segment, maintenance personnel need to be able to stand alone during offshore operation. One maintenance personnel each for mechanical and electronic side is allowed on any operation. (SLB charge hefty amount of money to client for them sampai client tak mau la ramai2).

What happen when crude oil runs out? When that happen, your job is the least problem you want to think about...Hey, don't think too far, we might even end up dead tomorrow or the world end in 2009 who knows. smile.gif

Use your diploma. 3.5 is sufficient for interview. Even 2.9 is good. In other word, just go for it, and if you got rejected upon application then you'll know..Just kidding man biggrin.gif ..thats cgpa is good. but your interview skills, personality are far for important.

Wow...this is a damn long reply.Hmm..and they say working with SLB is "work work" (peon voice from warcraft) tongue.gif

Good luck.
azhanblur
post Jan 25 2009, 09:02 AM

26 posts

You can build anything good but no good if you cannot explain how you've done it. Let me ask you something..
The purpose..can anybody tell me the purpose of this rig building? Yes its look nice, held the golf balls, stood more than a meter from ground..but why? Why they want us to build something like this?

if you can answer this and stood out, i'm pretty sure you'll get through even though you rig is a disaster.
azhanblur
post Jan 25 2009, 10:22 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Jan 25 2009, 04:33 PM)
zbang, try to build yourself with the paper.
Try to think of tripod style of a rig instead of 4 legged. smile.gif

azhanblur, minimize the facilities cost to build a rig without neglecting the safety and purpose of the rig?

Not quite..slb is not a rig builder afterall tongue.gif

Here some insight;

1. Teamwork
2. Leadership
3. Planning
4. Execution
5. Presentation

Summary;

Its about planning for a project as a team then make decision. Cost, materials, time etc are all considered. Once decision is made, you have to make sure it'll work and not changed in the middle of the execution. See, in real world, once contract is agreed upon by client you can't just change/made amendment as you like. Do that, company will bare the loses.

azhanblur
post Jan 28 2009, 07:18 PM

26 posts

February may be my last month in schlumberger, as they are letting go many people this year and I'm certain that I'm next in line. It's gonna hurt like hell, after all those interviews, travelling...exit gonna seem to be easier but not that easy.. Life goes on..no matter how hurt it is..

So with that note, I'll still answer any questions regarding job/life here, I'll do my best to help but not as fast as usual tho..will be busy packing stuff biggrin.gif

Good Luck for SLB wannabes... biggrin.gif
azhanblur
post Jan 30 2009, 06:04 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(RedCap @ Jan 30 2009, 05:00 AM)
I am sorry to hear that you will be leaving Slb azhanblur . What I don't understand is why they keep recruiting new people since they are making lists with people that will go from them.
Let go of people with high salary, then take in people and offer lower salary..genius.. Anyway, not leaving yet..I'm safe..for now..

This post has been edited by azhanblur: Jan 30 2009, 06:04 PM
azhanblur
post Jan 30 2009, 09:52 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(thechetticompany @ Jan 30 2009, 09:19 PM)
Of course.What can Malaysians contribute for the MNCs that they don't have in their own country.
If you're into their R&D with their core secrets then they will maybe think twice.

But in Malaysia MNCs are just here to take advantage of cheap labour.
True,but they already make you sign a confidential contract..meaning if you ever expose their business secrets, you gonna get sue man... so they may never give a thought on that side at all.

Not just MNCs, all business are like that, imho..even kedai mamak are using cheap labor from india. We just have to learn how to survive if we want to continue working for others.

One way to stay way from this scenario..be a share holder...every time a company make some restructuring (or retrenching), most of the time their share price will go up..whose gonna profited from others suffering? Share holders...

azhanblur
post Jan 30 2009, 11:27 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(zeusu @ Jan 30 2009, 11:15 PM)
Well, the truth is there's a discord between OFS (Oilfield Services), guys who make decisions based on the big picture & the respective departments (D&M, wireline, completions, artificial lift, dowell, etc).

Basically OFS are the ones who recruit ppl and will pay their salaries until they prove to be competent to do the job (i.e. break out), so for the respective departments, they are considered free labour. That's why the respective departments are so quick to fire those with not so good performance (maybe now also targetting those who just meet expectations), and yet OFS are still recruiting.

As for the paper tower thing, as long as you remember that triangles are the best form of support, 50 sheets is plenty of paper. I think my group's tower was more than 2m, but not everyone in my group was hired. And they just want to make sure you are the type who can work with others you barely know and can string a word or two explaining your design in understandable English.

Anyway, in the end you have to remember they are looking for management trainees - so you're expected to make presentations, bring out the best in your team, etc.
This post has been edited by azhanblur: Jan 31 2009, 12:48 AM
azhanblur
post Feb 15 2009, 02:26 AM

26 posts

Hi all,

Just to inform you guys..

Schlumberger just started the '2nd wave' of releasing its employees..

As of yesterday I am no longer SLB employee ..

Although I'll be eligible for re-hiring when thing got better, its not going to be that way for at least 2 years..that's how bad things are this year. I also heard rumors that many new trainee are being held, as no place is available for them at this moment.

As for me, I'll try others service companies but chances are slim..If no job for me here, I'll be heading home at the end of this month.

azhanblur
post Feb 15 2009, 04:16 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(strawberrypear @ Feb 15 2009, 02:14 PM)
Hehe, like I said earlier. Even if you manage to get into Schlumberger today you're going to face immense pressure and politics from the seniors in there.

No one will be willing to teach you anything and you're left to survive as long as you can. If you kantau halfway, be prepared to be axed.

Good luck.
What do you mean by no one will be willing to teach you anything?
azhanblur
post Feb 19 2009, 10:10 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(vanguard_13 @ Feb 17 2009, 03:52 PM)
slb HR juz called me dis morning...the soonest intake will be in June08, if they manage to get me slip into the slot...other words, another 4 mths of wating..

btw, he said about slb committed towards the offer they provided to me..the slot is there, but is the matter of time b4 reporting for duty @ OFS-1..

*sigh* recession really a pain in d @$$!
At least you got a slot tongue.gif Hopefully it would get better by then..but I doubt it because the forecast is at least 2 years before they can recover...when you got in..don't stay below the radar, make nice with everyone (i mean trough jobs performance.. biggrin.gif ) and reporting..they have no trouble releasing anyone..we're all numbers afterall. Let go one..ten will come.. biggrin.gif
azhanblur
post Jul 11 2009, 08:27 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Jhnzr @ Jun 1 2009, 12:28 PM)
just admit she just not good for SLB...heh..

Added on June 1, 2009, 12:40 pm

are you Azhan Ezra abdul aziz?..heh...network analyst..really not sure about Field Engineer...don't talk about it..
Hi..

I think you mistaken me for someone else Jhnzr hmm.gif .. I'm not Azhan Ezra abdul aziz, and no, I am not a network analyst..

Imagine me being a network analyst... biggrin.gif to think of it, it would be good to left the office without that diesel+engine oil+hydraulic oil smell on me everyday.

I hope you will find the real Azhan Ezra abd aziz though..Wish you luck. tongue.gif

QUOTE(bogartT @ Jun 1 2009, 01:10 PM)
wah..check his LDAP is it?  rclxms.gif
1. Azhan is my middle name rclxms.gif thats why..
2. You wont find me in LDAP tongue.gif because..
3. I left SLB since February.. laugh.gif

to any slb employee in here, I think you already know..be careful when posting something in here regarding slb.. whistling.gif

azhanblur
post Jul 15 2009, 11:39 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Jhnzr @ Jul 15 2009, 09:36 PM)
next ofs-1 will be on 28th July 2009 at brazil...are u invited? ...hehe...huhu...

Added on July 15, 2009, 9:39 pm
do you really know about RIR?...could you please explain? A to Z....huhu....
Jhnzr, are you slb employee?
azhanblur
post Jul 23 2009, 06:58 PM

26 posts

Ladies and gents,

After been working for almost 8 years, I say that no one call tell what is an "ideal working environment" for you. What most people can tell you is their ideal working environment. Important thing to remember is how prepared are you to cope with the environment and the people around you. When you do, it might not be the best, but certainly you'll survive. Don't focus too much on the negatives and you'll be fine. Because..No matter how good a company is, the people will still be people not angels. People make mistakes, pisses of each other and make life miserable. Just ignore them and do the best.

We also cannot judge people though online forum when we can't see face to face. Some lost most of their respect for others when communicating through keyboard and computer screen, so the best we can do is to ignore them. Adding fuel to fire will only make things worst. biggrin.gif After all, they could even turn out to be our best friend.. tongue.gif

The day we stop helping each other, is the day we kill our selves..

azhanblur
post Jul 23 2009, 07:12 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(yiivei @ Jul 23 2009, 07:04 PM)
schlumberger.. hmm..

any1 here noes the person in charge for account/finance department for schlumberger WTA(KL), dowell schlumberger(KL) and schlumberger dowell (labuan)..?
Give them a call... biggrin.gif
azhanblur
post Aug 5 2009, 10:57 PM

26 posts

I remember before (if I'm not mistaken) slb would accept one application in 6 months period. Now it's 24 months..
azhanblur
post May 6 2010, 07:16 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(canter0087 @ Mar 13 2010, 10:41 AM)
Hi Azhanblur...
I m nik, and soon to be graduating this year.. well I just attended the Schlumberger interview on the last thursday (11th March 2010) and only manage to go until 3rd stage... What a frustation I guess... for 1 whole day I m not so happy and keep on thinking why I fail abd didn't make it as I reaaly want to work in that company since fresh graduates should start their careers here if you want to be a pro later in this O&G field...

Anyway, I received a call (can't mentioned who) and say that he wants to introduce me with a HR manager from Talisman. I m a bit shocked because all of a sudden this opportunity comes out of the blue.

So, I know that now u might be working with SLB for 2 years rite (bcz I just read ur forum dated 2008) and I guess now you might settle quite well there.. Which team r u in?? drilling, wireline, cementing, petrophysicist? or maintenance engineer???

My questions are:

1.   Is Talisman a good company to start with since it is an operator company?

2.   in terms of skills and training, which you think is the best?( hopefully u might know something)
Thank you and hope to hear from you soon,

Cheers!!!
Hi Nik,

Well Nik, sad to hear that, but SLB is not the only good company out there. Don't feel bad about it ok.. Even if you passed the whole interview process, the real "interview" only starts the first day at work.. biggrin.gif

From what I heard Talisman is a good company, but I can't say anything more than that as I don't really know..sorry.

I would have been working for SLB for more than 2 years now but I already left more than a year ago. Still with oil n gas company tho..
I'm just a dirty mechanic biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by azhanblur: May 6 2010, 07:31 PM

0.0231sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:20 AM