TSam_eniey
post Feb 5 2007, 12:30 PM, updated 18y ago

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

http://www.gamedrift.com/articles.php?a=227

February 3rd 2007
---

Geoff Keighley hosts a new episode of the Bonus Round with Ed Zobrist, Sean Spector, Michael Pachter. This weeks topic the raising prices on next gen games. Get ready for another legendary quote from the Pachtmister, when asked if games are to expensive his responce? "No, I think consumers are getting a gift" O RLLY!?!
H@H@
post Feb 5 2007, 12:34 PM

I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!
6,727 posts

This affects consoles only (For the moment that is)

So,

- THREAD MOVED -
fujkenasai
post Feb 5 2007, 12:53 PM

1,137 posts

I belief PC games have become cheaper with respect to inflation. I still remember starcraft used to cost about 120 and now games are about 100 though not much difference but it has became cheaper cos other stuff have became more expensive.
acougan
post Feb 5 2007, 12:57 PM

590 posts

e-distribution ala steam should lower game prices in the future. but i'll miss those ori packaging (cover+manual) and shiny discs tongue.gif

all those free-to-start-playing (buy points to play more) asian MMORPGs are also good value for money & a great business model for game publishers & consumers alike.

i think xbox4 will sell older xbox360 games very cheap via downloads & DLC.
H@H@
post Feb 5 2007, 01:41 PM

I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!
6,727 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Feb 5 2007, 12:53 PM)
I belief PC games have become cheaper with respect to inflation. I still remember starcraft used to cost about 120 and now games are about 100 though not much difference but it has became cheaper cos other stuff have became more expensive.
PC games' prices have been sort of constant for the past decade... Its only our economy that is making the prices go up and down locally.

Anyway, the standard price for games here is still around RM 120.
nightmarej4ck
post Feb 6 2007, 09:07 AM

129 posts

hmm take a example how much is it when WoW Starter Pack Released?Now RM99 only at Game Shop
greyshadow
post Feb 6 2007, 09:54 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

Yalor... the next gen games are getting more expensive
Almost all of the PS3, and Wii games are priced above RM180++, whereas previously a PS2, Xbox, gamecube games are priced around RM120++ only

Now wanted to buy next gen console also having second thought... sweat.gif
paanjang16
post Feb 6 2007, 08:39 PM

335 posts

For consoles, you buy the hardware cheap since the console makers are selling it at a loss. The only way to make up for it is to get back some cash for every game sold.

For the pc, you already spent a bundle on the hardware. Since the hardware makers already got their share by the hardware purchase, the game developers does not require any payment to the hardware makers unlike thier console counterparts. Some games the hardware manufacturers sponsor the game like Nvidia or ATI.
Mgsrulz
post Feb 6 2007, 11:40 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

not sure about other console developers,but sony requires(at least for the psx/ps2,they did) the games developers to buy the media(dvd/cd) from them.(sony)

unlike pc developers who can just ship the games on any cd/dvd they wish
greyshadow
post Feb 7 2007, 09:28 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

Bloody $ony blood sucker! not only their devkit is expensive and yet still force developers to use $ony media? doh.gif

No wonder most of the developers prefer to develop PC games since it's cheaper to produce.

Oh ya... I think console game developers will have to spend more time doing debug to get rid of the bugs... (Pre-PS3/X360/Wii era), because there's no way they can patch the bug once the title is release, unlike PC games it can be full of bugs when it's release and can be fix easily by applying a patch.
Let's hope the next gen console games won't end up like most of the PC games which are full of bugs.
redken
post Feb 10 2007, 11:54 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

I agree. For the price of full fledge HD gaming, i rather get myself a better golf set. It's way better and healthier entertainment than gaming.
acougan
post Feb 11 2007, 12:26 AM

590 posts

http://www.superufo.com/product_html/Ninte...orts_Pack.html#

http://www.superufo.com/item_photo/item/wi...pack-real-4.jpg

icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
redken
post Feb 11 2007, 12:39 AM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Feb 11 2007, 12:26 AM)
LOL, 2 for 1 and 1 for all sizes. But not quite the same la. tongue.gif
ayrix_wylde
post Feb 14 2007, 11:24 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Feb 7 2007, 09:28 AM)
Bloody $ony blood sucker! not only their devkit is expensive and yet still force developers to use $ony media? doh.gif
I believe this arrangement applies to all console games even Xbox and Nintendo smile.gif

I missed the PS2 era because it came out at a time when I'm a young graduate and was working my way up the corporate ladder. It's true somebody posted PS3 games for RM180???? I remember going to Sony Wings in KLCC back then and FFVII or FF8 would have cost 380 or more.

Two things:

1) Games aren't getting more expensive. It the ringgit to dollar conversion that kills us.

2) I wish someone would publish the games locally. If the price is, say, RM59.90 per original game, I wouldn't mind buying! Quality and you get the full package!
Mgsrulz
post Feb 14 2007, 11:55 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(redken @ Feb 10 2007, 11:54 PM)
I agree. For the price of full fledge HD gaming, i rather get myself a better golf set. It's way better and healthier entertainment than gaming.
OT:

my point is,you can find something wrong with anything if you look hard enough wink.gif
yes,full hd gaming is expensive.
but at least you can do more things with it tongue.gif
and get a wii,exercise settled laugh.gif tongue.gif
gnsumas
post Feb 15 2007, 09:11 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

Aiya... I'm sure that won't stop we hardcorer's smile.gif ok! thanks!
alvintan84
post Feb 15 2007, 10:56 PM

Game Enthusiast & Food Hunter
549 posts

From time 2time, of course the price up (No matter console/games/accessory). But like gnsumas said earlier, ppl will still buy for sure (apply for collectors/hardcore too)
gnsumas
post Feb 16 2007, 03:06 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

Yala... Malaysia is full of cetak rompak games but all the special editions are hard to find (pirated) but then the ori games can go online and have the special version so no matter how much the pirates some will still buy ori ok! thanks!
Meis
post Feb 21 2007, 08:40 AM

Thinker & Real Patriot
3,077 posts

errr whatever 3.5 times higher (USD) surely consider expensive
Goliath764
post Feb 22 2007, 04:39 PM

The Lone Wolf
698 posts

QUOTE(ayrix_wylde @ Feb 14 2007, 11:24 PM)
2) I wish someone would publish the games locally. If the price is, say, RM59.90 per original game, I wouldn't mind buying! Quality and you get the full package!
Lots of thing to settle if someone publish the games locally, ppl from other countries will try to import game published in Malaysia as it's cheap so they have to block the import/export and then recieve complain etc etc. doh.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0200sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:48 AM