Housemanship with no SPM?

iSean
post Oct 29 2016, 10:36 AM

iz old liao.
4,504 posts

QUOTE(kys.97 @ Oct 17 2016, 11:00 PM)
Currently a med student (100% made in malaysia) who took IGCSE, A Levels instead of SPM, hence I do not have SPM BM certification for housemanship. Are there any alternatives for me besides of taking on SPM?

We were required to take a Bahasa Kebangsaan A (BKA) in our MPU courses so where does that stand?
You clearly didn't took BM for IGCSE then...
iSean
post Apr 10 2019, 09:18 AM

iz old liao.
4,504 posts

QUOTE(limmi01 @ Apr 10 2019, 06:28 AM)
SYARAT KELAYAKAN BAHASA MELAYU
2. Calon bagi lantikan hendaklah Lulus dalam subjek Bahasa Melayu pada peringkat Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia/Sijil Vokasional Malaysia atau kelulusan yang diiktiraf setaraf dengannya oleh Kerajaan. 

Does the above condition "setaraf" still stands ?

Lately, the deputy ed minister indicated that Credit in SPM BM and Sejarah is a must for O'Level/IGCSE student, even with Bahasa Malaysia in the cert, MBBS graduate to apply for Housemanship in Malaysia . 

That is the case since 2017 MOH announcement.

I am not a MQA AGENT. but based on LPM and government standards SPM still requires new primary candidate still need to take 6 main core papers and to pass BM and Sejarah to get the Certificate, else you will only be rewarded with Statement of Results only aka Result Slip if you failed Sejarah or BM. This ruling haven't been modified until now. And
private Candidates are not allowed to take July Paper IF YOU NEVER SAT THRU OCT/NOV SPM.

IGCSE/O Level Malay and SPM Malay syllabus are totally sky and land from what I know. Unless you are an international med student practising in Malaysia I don't think they will face scrutiny...? Unless you took Singapore or Brunei O Levels. Somehow. As their variant of paper test literature components in BM. ALBEIT it's a different syllabus.

For now IGCSE students taking A Levels qualifications without SPM, who plans to go Med school. Still require to take BM SPM, So better find a day and register and join tuition center to pass the exams for the Sastera component.

This post has been edited by iSean: Apr 10 2019, 09:22 AM
iSean
post Apr 10 2019, 07:47 PM

iz old liao.
4,504 posts

QUOTE(limmi01 @ Apr 10 2019, 04:05 PM)
Are you suggesting taking July paper of SPM BM only ? What is Sastera component ?
From what I heard, Students are only allowed to take "repeat" July paper provided they previously took 6 subjects in last year's SPM.
But no harm try to register as Calon Persendirian for SPM July Papers.

https://eduadvisor.my/articles/quick-guide-retake-spm/
iSean
post Apr 10 2019, 07:50 PM

iz old liao.
4,504 posts

QUOTE(tpleong @ Apr 10 2019, 06:00 PM)
It's not about praciticng .You don't need SPM BM to practice .  It's about being employed by the government hospital for housemanship. Anyone who wants to work for the governmeny need to have SPM BM. As far as I can recalled , there is a special BM paper specifically for houseman .
Unless you tali cable kuat, I don't think one can easily apply to Private Hospital for housemanship...?
Do tell me if you know. haha.

From what I told by my friends doing Med School in IMU, their academic staff just advice them to take SPM BM/Sejarah at their own free will. laugh.gif
iSean
post Apr 10 2019, 09:01 PM

iz old liao.
4,504 posts

QUOTE(tpleong @ Apr 10 2019, 08:52 PM)
ONLY government hospital can take in houseman ! private can't
then I wonder those international student did Med School in Malaysia how? hmm.gif

0.0151sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:16 PM