Housemanship with no SPM?

TSkys.97
post Oct 17 2016, 11:00 PM, updated 7y ago

Currently a med student (100% made in malaysia) who took IGCSE, A Levels instead of SPM, hence I do not have SPM BM certification for housemanship. Are there any alternatives for me besides of taking on SPM?

We were required to take a Bahasa Kebangsaan A (BKA) in our MPU courses so where does that stand?
cckkpr
post Oct 18 2016, 09:36 AM

4,516 posts

I am sure your Uni will be able to guide you on what is required.
CyberSetan
post Oct 18 2016, 11:01 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(kys.97 @ Oct 17 2016, 11:00 PM)
Currently a med student (100% made in malaysia) who took IGCSE, A Levels instead of SPM, hence I do not have SPM BM certification for housemanship. Are there any alternatives for me besides of taking on SPM?

We were required to take a Bahasa Kebangsaan A (BKA) in our MPU courses so where does that stand?
I quote -

SYARAT KELAYAKAN BAHASA MELAYU

2.  Calon bagi lantikan hendaklah Lulus dalam subjek Bahasa Melayu pada peringkat Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia/Sijil Vokasional Malaysia atau kelulusan yang diiktiraf setaraf dengannya oleh Kerajaan.
Source: http://www.spa.gov.my/web/guest/deskripsi-tugas/ijazah/1604

So... go register yourself for SPM Bahasa Melayu paper as a private candidate and get at least a PASS....
Kcdw96
post Oct 18 2016, 02:20 PM

708 posts

go take bm asap, without bm, dont even think of working under govt hospitals for housemanship
Jckc
post Oct 19 2016, 06:12 AM

330 posts

just a question then,

does the BM req apply for all doctor posts in government hospitals or even private as well? hmm.
CyberSetan
post Oct 19 2016, 07:55 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(Jckc @ Oct 19 2016, 06:12 AM)
just a question then,

does the BM req apply for all doctor posts in government hospitals or even private as well? hmm.
If you are a Malaysian that wants to join Government service for any post - including Houseman post... You will need a PASS in SPM Bahasa Melayu subject (or it's equivalent) as mandated by Public Service Commission (Suruhanjaya Perkhidmatan Awam)...

Unless you are foreigner on a Malaysian Government contract post (eg; foreign doctor hired and sent to serve in rural areas), that requirement is exempted.

Private Hospitals/Clinics doesn't necessarily need such requirement....
zeng
post Oct 19 2016, 01:11 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Jckc @ Oct 19 2016, 06:12 AM)
just a question then,

Only permanent appointments as a civil servant in government hospitals as specialists and MO etc.
Housemanships used to be offered to foreigners without Bahasa (conditional upon whose spouse is Malaysians) but has since been discontinued.
Rules and conditions are changing.
Now, for a Malaysian with recognised MBBS but without Bahasa requirements, housemanship could be aye or nay.
I'm inclined to believe it's a nay if housemanship is a permanent appointment, and an aye if housemanship is a temporary and/or contract appointment ......
Hope those from local medical fraternity knowledgeable about latest/impending ruling could throw some light here. blush.gif

limeuu
post Oct 19 2016, 06:21 PM

12,291 posts

housemans will from now, be employed on a temporary basis...that bypass the problem of almost all established posts being filled already....
iSean
post Oct 29 2016, 10:36 AM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(kys.97 @ Oct 17 2016, 11:00 PM)

You clearly didn't took BM for IGCSE then...
TSkys.97
post Apr 10 2019, 01:36 AM

QUOTE(iSean @ Oct 29 2016, 10:36 AM)

Took IB instead.
limmi01
post Apr 10 2019, 06:28 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Oct 29 2016, 10:36 AM)
2. Calon bagi lantikan hendaklah Lulus dalam subjek Bahasa Melayu pada peringkat Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia/Sijil Vokasional Malaysia atau kelulusan yang diiktiraf setaraf dengannya oleh Kerajaan.

Does the above condition "setaraf" still stands ?

Lately, the deputy ed minister indicated that Credit in SPM BM and Sejarah is a must for O'Level/IGCSE student, even with Bahasa Malaysia in the cert, MBBS graduate to apply for Housemanship in Malaysia .

That is the case since 2017 MOH announcement.

This post has been edited by limmi01: Apr 10 2019, 06:41 AM
iSean
post Apr 10 2019, 09:18 AM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(limmi01 @ Apr 10 2019, 06:28 AM)
2. Calon bagi lantikan hendaklah Lulus dalam subjek Bahasa Melayu pada peringkat Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia/Sijil Vokasional Malaysia atau kelulusan yang diiktiraf setaraf dengannya oleh Kerajaan. 

Does the above condition "setaraf" still stands ?

Lately, the deputy ed minister indicated that Credit in SPM BM and Sejarah is a must for O'Level/IGCSE student, even with Bahasa Malaysia in the cert, MBBS graduate to apply for Housemanship in Malaysia . 

That is the case since 2017 MOH announcement.

I am not a MQA AGENT. but based on LPM and government standards SPM still requires new primary candidate still need to take 6 main core papers and to pass BM and Sejarah to get the Certificate, else you will only be rewarded with Statement of Results only aka Result Slip if you failed Sejarah or BM. This ruling haven't been modified until now. And
private Candidates are not allowed to take July Paper IF YOU NEVER SAT THRU OCT/NOV SPM.

IGCSE/O Level Malay and SPM Malay syllabus are totally sky and land from what I know. Unless you are an international med student practising in Malaysia I don't think they will face scrutiny...? Unless you took Singapore or Brunei O Levels. Somehow. As their variant of paper test literature components in BM. ALBEIT it's a different syllabus.

For now IGCSE students taking A Levels qualifications without SPM, who plans to go Med school. Still require to take BM SPM, So better find a day and register and join tuition center to pass the exams for the Sastera component.

This post has been edited by iSean: Apr 10 2019, 09:22 AM
limmi01
post Apr 10 2019, 04:05 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Apr 10 2019, 09:18 AM)

For now IGCSE students taking A Levels qualifications without SPM, who plans to go Med school. Still require to take BM SPM, So better find a day and register and join tuition center to pass the exams for the Sastera component.
Are you suggesting taking July paper of SPM BM only ? What is Sastera component ?
knight_hawk
post Apr 10 2019, 04:43 PM

191 posts

Call Malaysian Med Assoc. Or MMC for clarification. Your license to practice comes from MMC.
tpleong
post Apr 10 2019, 06:00 PM

803 posts

QUOTE(knight_hawk @ Apr 10 2019, 04:43 PM)
Call Malaysian Med Assoc. Or MMC for clarification. Your license to practice comes from MMC.
It's not about praciticng .You don't need SPM BM to practice . It's about being employed by the government hospital for housemanship. Anyone who wants to work for the governmeny need to have SPM BM. As far as I can recalled , there is a special BM paper specifically for houseman .

This post has been edited by tpleong: Apr 10 2019, 06:02 PM
iSean
post Apr 10 2019, 07:47 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(limmi01 @ Apr 10 2019, 04:05 PM)
Are you suggesting taking July paper of SPM BM only ? What is Sastera component ?
From what I heard, Students are only allowed to take "repeat" July paper provided they previously took 6 subjects in last year's SPM.
But no harm try to register as Calon Persendirian for SPM July Papers.

https://eduadvisor.my/articles/quick-guide-retake-spm/
iSean
post Apr 10 2019, 07:50 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(tpleong @ Apr 10 2019, 06:00 PM)
It's not about praciticng .You don't need SPM BM to practice .  It's about being employed by the government hospital for housemanship. Anyone who wants to work for the governmeny need to have SPM BM. As far as I can recalled , there is a special BM paper specifically for houseman .
Unless you tali cable kuat, I don't think one can easily apply to Private Hospital for housemanship...?
Do tell me if you know. haha.

From what I told by my friends doing Med School in IMU, their academic staff just advice them to take SPM BM/Sejarah at their own free will. laugh.gif
tpleong
post Apr 10 2019, 08:52 PM

803 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Apr 10 2019, 07:50 PM)
Unless you tali cable kuat, I don't think one can easily apply to Private Hospital for housemanship...?
Do tell me if you know. haha.

From what I told by my friends doing Med School in IMU, their academic staff just advice them to take SPM BM/Sejarah at their own free will.  laugh.gif
ONLY government hospital can take in houseman ! private can't

iSean
post Apr 10 2019, 09:01 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(tpleong @ Apr 10 2019, 08:52 PM)
ONLY government hospital can take in houseman ! private can't
then I wonder those international student did Med School in Malaysia how? hmm.gif
tpleong
post Apr 11 2019, 08:41 AM

803 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Apr 10 2019, 09:01 PM)
then I wonder those international student did Med School in Malaysia how?  hmm.gif
Internastional student can't do their housemanship in malaysia . They have to go back to their home country .

0.0497sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:35 AM