12 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.26, is this the end of DSLR era?

engseng
post Dec 11 2021, 03:20 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(din_hook @ Dec 11 2021, 11:31 AM)
I actually referring to this kind of light bulb. The fairy light.

From the evf and backscreen, the light is actually flickering rapidly, hence the irregular bokeh effect, i mean not all light bulb produce the bokeh as i expect  sweat.gif

The main photog, using the R6 also experience the same thing, and we suspect might be because we using the electronic shutter instead of mechanical shutter.

Later on I try find other type of light bulb but the flickering does not happen the same way this light bulb does.  confused.gif

I dont think its a major problem. Might be the limitation of electronics component. I could be wrong tho..  blush.gif
Yes, try using the mechanical shutter? Or shooting at a slower shutter speed.
engseng
post Dec 16 2021, 05:14 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(Hexlord @ Dec 15 2021, 11:13 AM)
Took my D780 out for a spin and so far it works pretty well on both live view and OVF mode.

I am wondering if Nikon plans to update the live view portion just like what they did for the Z cameras recently? I have doubts but hopefully I am wrong lar haha.
Any sample photos? How do you find the Eye-AF in the Live View mode?
engseng
post Dec 19 2021, 02:54 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Dec 17 2021, 10:29 AM)
yeah 24-70 non VR lens... but accompany me like maybe over 8 years. time to get something better and lighter ...

or totally ditch it if i choose for ZFC+ pancake lens since i now mostly shoot on trip photo and i think can work around with prime lens kut...still cannot decide as in no trip planned ahead  biggrin.gif

but then it is either go for Z body FF z5 or z6ii (because i want top LCD...get used with top LCD since D70s) + 2470 lens (buy that then no need worry or regret until nikon make another WXY series camera)

or go for ZFC for retro look and regret why top of the camera body got so many dials while i only use A mode most of the time  laugh.gif
You have been using the 24-70mm f/2.8G for 8 years? Sounds like you got a lot of great shots from it
engseng
post Dec 20 2021, 10:37 AM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Dec 19 2021, 06:42 PM)
maybe more than 8 years i forget... bought from yannick last time. i wonder is he still sell camera stuff or not lmao

used to be got D70s + kit lens from PTPTN loan and collect dust for long long time

then after graduation then i pick up again from dustes  then continue shoot, that time got D90 something i remember, still play around with that and got another lens because my father said try 70-300mm lens
but it sucks because D70s auto focus motor is slow haha and ISO also not great as well, sold that afterward when i think i don't even use it at all.

then later on get 35mm f/1.8 DX instead of 50mm f/1.8 ...
sold it again because of lack of zoom.

also that time discovered RAW file can do much much more than JPG haha ( i not pro , just hobbist)

then get 2470 straight and it does improve for low light with big aperture... but eventually change body after that to D800  rclxub.gif  sold rest of the part i didn't use. or i already happy the choice that time until...
"it is heavy af." moment and nikon that time launched Z series and someone told me Z6 is good  puke.gif , neh you know, the one with D.Va avatar here  tongue.gif
also start to notice 6400 iso is kinda looks bad when compare with my current phone in night performance, that's why started from 2020 the thought of changing camera is getting stronger  whistling.gif
I think D800 ISO is good up till 3200. D780, Z6ii ISO should be good even at 12800. D6 should be a bit higher. D850 and Z7ii should be good up till 6400.
engseng
post Dec 20 2021, 01:53 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Dec 20 2021, 11:01 AM)
somewhere there la haha i actually don't remember exact number, since i am not exactly pixel peep so some noises i am allow for facebook quality haha
jsut sometimes trip shot when you walk in night, saw nice view, but iso already bumped out to max. that is where i feel to upgrade for newer tech instead of lens.  sweat.gif (means while i just whip out my google phone and snap with night sight)

yeah i go trip i no bring/buy tripod and flash since i want go lighter a bit (camera+lens alone is heavy)  sweat.gif

and then now dilemma is if i want to swap to mirrorless:

1) i already learned 36mp actually not really needed that much since i don't crop much haha, 24mp also can do i guess
2) if i want to go even ligher, i should get a prime + pancake lens. but do it really happy use a lens without zoom  rclxub.gif  (i got 2 years no touch camera i forget the feel lmao)

last time i remember when i use zoom a lot is snap Joro spider in japan shrine that time lmao

3) crop sensor or FF , both seems okay for me since my main target is want a better ISO  hmm.gif
but then again if i get a camera i want more towards to future proof  rclxub.gif

and then now celciuz and calvin poison me with fuji x100v or xt4 i have totally no idea on fuji lineup there and lens  rclxub.gif
Fujifilm X100V is a compact camera with a non-interchangible lens (23mm ~ 35mm on 35mm format). 26Mp, rangefinder style with a digital teleconverter for zooming. Viewfinder is a hybrid viewfinder, when it is OVF the camera will display a white box in the display to indicate the photo area. You can also switch to the EVF.

Fujifilm X-T4 is the high-end DX camera. SLR design, EVF only, 26Mp, IBIS. The 16-55mm f/2.8 would be the focal equivalent to the Nikkor 24-70mm f/2.8G.

Nikon Zfc would be competing against the X-T30 II.

I don't think these cameras will give you better ISO performance than the D800. If you want better ISO performance from Fujifilm, the GFX series would be the one. But all very expensive. And the lenses are larger and heavier.

I think if you want better ISO performance from Nikon, take a look at the D780, Z6ii or D6. Sounds like you always shoot in low light?

This post has been edited by engseng: Dec 20 2021, 02:02 PM
engseng
post Dec 21 2021, 10:51 AM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(Hexlord @ Dec 20 2021, 04:33 PM)
So DSLR users should stick with what they are using, right?
engseng
post Dec 21 2021, 09:00 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Dec 21 2021, 04:42 PM)
used to be think like that, thought 35mm can go all around until sometimes you see something happen and you cannot walk front anymore, zoom comes handy XD

or spotted some ah moi in japan 1 street away  drool.gif  (zoom is handy) whistling.gif
You spotted many pretty お姉さん when you were in Japan?
engseng
post Dec 23 2021, 09:51 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 22 2021, 10:47 PM)
Your previous body is what body ah... my D800 was horrible in LV... super slow  sweat.gif
D800 takes around 1.5 seconds to snap the photo in Live View.
engseng
post Dec 27 2021, 10:47 AM

1,981 posts

Local prices:

Nikon 24-120mm f/4G VR = RM4389
Nikon 24-120mm f/4S = RM4340
engseng
post Dec 28 2021, 12:47 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(din_hook @ Dec 27 2021, 10:44 PM)
That price point...    blink.gif

Well I got my f-mount 24-120 as a white box at cheaper price. Hopefully Nikon will offer this lens as kit lens and someone didn't take it.  blush.gif
The Nikon 24-120mm f/4G is cheaper to buy as a kit lens with the D780 and D850 then on its own.
engseng
post Dec 30 2021, 04:06 PM

1,981 posts

engseng
post Jan 2 2022, 07:06 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(Hexlord @ Dec 31 2021, 10:35 AM)

He has all three flagship cameras to play with! And also Fujifilm GFX100!
engseng
post Jan 2 2022, 07:14 PM

1,981 posts

engseng
post Jan 2 2022, 07:29 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(Hexlord @ Jan 2 2022, 07:25 PM)
Yeah my friend pretty well off. He last time started on Canon first.
You know him? I thought he is a Singaporean. Seems like he mostly does cosplay photography after watching his videos.

This post has been edited by engseng: Jan 2 2022, 07:31 PM
engseng
post Jan 4 2022, 09:21 AM

1,981 posts

engseng
post Jan 7 2022, 10:32 AM

1,981 posts

Check out Nikon's CES 2022 special website here:

CES 2022 Nikon Special Website

This post has been edited by engseng: Jan 7 2022, 10:32 AM
engseng
post Jan 9 2022, 02:39 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(Hexlord @ Jan 9 2022, 12:28 AM)
Saw one dude running A7 (dunno if II/III/IV) and 85mm 1.4 G lens at a local indoor event today... he seems to be struggling despite having a superior AF?

I just Auto Area AF-S and I got my shots quickly.
Was it very dark there? You managed to get some good shots with your D780? Any photos?
engseng
post Jan 15 2022, 04:31 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Jan 12 2022, 03:37 PM)
i never been in that event lol, i saw the photo in Comic Fiesta discord there  tongue.gif
there is a photography thread there.  laugh.gif  (hexlord is there)
Got any more photos to share here?
engseng
post Jan 17 2022, 06:01 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jan 17 2022, 04:18 PM)
i dun really trust tat small green dot.
it has got me into more trouble than once  laugh.gif

i got this magnifier to help me during the old days.

during the ancient days we had this focusing screen, good stuff!
when the lines align up, focused!

What do you call this thing? Focus magnifier?
engseng
post Jan 17 2022, 06:02 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Jan 17 2022, 10:12 AM)
people's photo i don't dare to copy and pasta since sounds like not respect them  tongue.gif
My bad, I thought you got take some photos

12 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0806sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:17 AM