12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.26, is this the end of DSLR era?

engseng
post Jan 17 2022, 06:24 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Jan 17 2022, 03:54 PM)
so hard to MF in older body , have to look the little dot on bottom inside view finder to make sure it is sharp there ...
Do you all use focus peaking for manual focus?

engseng
post Jan 19 2022, 10:24 AM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(Hexlord @ Jan 18 2022, 09:36 PM)

Which girl you all like the most?

Hmmm, this kind of photography shouldn't the Z6ii and Z7ii be able to do as a fine?
engseng
post Jan 19 2022, 06:34 PM

1,981 posts

The Nikon Z9 catches a bullet

This post has been edited by engseng: Jan 19 2022, 06:34 PM
engseng
post Jan 19 2022, 06:38 PM

1,981 posts

Nikkor 400mm f/2.8S

This post has been edited by engseng: Jan 19 2022, 06:38 PM
engseng
post Jan 19 2022, 06:47 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(Hexlord @ Jan 19 2022, 02:24 PM)
Talking about primes, I might be considering the 105mm f1.4E

Seems like a decent lens for its pricing.  drool.gif

Another alternative is a 70-200 f2.8E or f4G but I felt that it might become a white elephant just like my 70-300 haha.

Macro-wise, will opt for ML version (future) as I rarely if ever do Macro right now.
The Nikkor 105mm f/1.4E is not a decent lens, it is an excellent lens. That price tag puts it together with the 70-200mm f/2.8E and 24-70mm f/2.8E though.

Bokeh like the 200mm f/2, except it is lighter and you can stand nearer to the subject too. If you mount it on your D780, it would become front heavy. The lens itself is heavy and with that 82mm filter size, it will take up a lot of space in your bag. Since you are using the 85mm, you would have to take a step back to get the same framing as the 85mm. Good for head shots and half body shots.

But then again the 70-200mm f/2.8E will take up even more space in your bag! Why don't you use your 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6E?
engseng
post Jan 19 2022, 07:36 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jan 19 2022, 03:15 PM)
take my advice and dun bother with the 70-300 for portrait.

cannot beat the 85, 105mm or 135mm brows.gif
Last time 135mm f/1.8S was on the Z mirrorless roadmap but now it is not there anymore.
engseng
post Jan 20 2022, 09:55 AM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(Hexlord @ Jan 19 2022, 08:13 PM)
When are you picking it up? XD
Price is US$13,996.95 ~ RM58612.23

Compared to the Nikkor 400mm f/2.8E which is RM40159.00

The lens hood alone is US$1070.95 ~ RM 4484.60.
engseng
post Jan 20 2022, 10:05 AM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jan 20 2022, 09:59 AM)
pricing tag like these reminds me of the sigma bazooka

This lens is specially made for the military?
engseng
post Feb 5 2022, 03:16 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 3 2022, 01:27 PM)
I have used the D500 at Sepang back then 🤣 well it’s a good body for sports photog without the super big ass telephotos.
You bought D500 last time? How was it? What lens did you use? This camera's AF system is one of Nikon's best as it uses the AF system from the D5.
engseng
post Feb 5 2022, 03:19 PM

1,981 posts

Nikon is set to raise the prices of its cameras and lenses imminently, with Canon having already hiked up the prices of its EF and RF-mount optics by as much as $1,000.

Increases to Nikon stock prices will be effective from early April, as a result of disruption from ongoing supply chain issues that have insured a continued cost increase to component parts and logistic charges.

Canon and Nikon raising prices on select cameras and lenses by up to $1,000
engseng
post Feb 5 2022, 03:29 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(Hexlord @ Feb 5 2022, 03:27 PM)
Apparently this announcement has somewhat affected the 2nd hand market for F mount lenses? Some ML bros might opt for cheaper and easily available alternatives rather than keeping for native lens availability.
How is the market for the F mount lenses now? Also, people might try to buy more lenses in this month alone based on this announcement.
engseng
post Feb 5 2022, 03:32 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(Hexlord @ Feb 5 2022, 03:31 PM)
Already starting to shift esp with regards to the Holy Trinity. I was sourcing for a 70-200mm and suddenly a bunch of sellers tell me all sold out.

I managed to get one copy from YLCamera @ PJ33. The manager there confirmed the demand for 2nd hand lenses increase suddenly in the recent week.
What 70-200mm lens did you get?
engseng
post Feb 5 2022, 03:42 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(Hexlord @ Feb 5 2022, 03:33 PM)
f2.8 lor. VR2.

This one right? The one where the zoom ring is on the inside (closer to the mount) like on the 24-70mm f/2.8E.

Nikon's 70-200mm lenses are excellent. Hope to see your awesome shots soon!

This post has been edited by engseng: Feb 5 2022, 03:42 PM
engseng
post Feb 5 2022, 04:01 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 5 2022, 03:58 PM)
I’m shooting cars so basically even D800 AF is good enough šŸ˜…. 200-500 f/5.6. No I borrowed that unit from my friend haha.
That lens on D500 becomes 300-750mm f/5.6. You should be able to get great close-up shots of the cars from the paddock area or from the stands.
engseng
post Feb 6 2022, 11:27 AM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 5 2022, 06:31 PM)
Heck I shot a lot on 70-200 with TC20 III for Super GT back in 2012 and 2013. Boleh pakai too haha. The only time I wished I had more zoom was shooting from turn 1 outside at the grid. But since D800 is 36MP can cheat via crop.
Where to see your awesome shots?
engseng
post Feb 13 2022, 11:40 AM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Feb 6 2022, 03:45 PM)
notworthy.gif

No I didn't upload the D500 shots haha, submit pics then went into deep storage liao.

This is when I wished I had some huge ass long lens.
user posted imageGreen light signals race start! by CY Tan, on Flickr

user posted imageMUGEN CR-Z GT following closely with ARTA CR-Z GT by CY Tan, on Flickr

At slower corners, can do slower shutter and go closer to the cars.
user posted imageWedsSport ADVAN SC430 by CY Tan, on Flickr

This one likely pretty far away... should be across the track LOL. Can't recall which section is this.
user posted imageEpson HSV-010 by CY Tan, on Flickr

Super GT 2013 is here, D800 and D700.
https://www.flickr.com/photos/choonyee/albu...157634177309002

Super GT 2012, also D800 and D700.
https://www.flickr.com/photos/choonyee/albu...157630040681553
These are great shots! I am guessing you are standing in the grassy area around the paddock to get the panning shots.

And you also got photos of the ladies too biggrin.gif
engseng
post Mar 7 2022, 06:25 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(Hexlord @ Mar 1 2022, 02:33 PM)
Someone is bound to change the sound into a woman's moan biggrin.gif
engseng
post Mar 10 2022, 09:55 AM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(Hexlord @ Mar 9 2022, 09:23 AM)
Haha the comments are hilarious:

https://nikonrumors.com/2022/03/08/nikon-d5...1-released.aspx

Still waiting for Nikon to fix the iffy eye AF issue on my D780 while I did my studio works recently. Yeah single AF still works the best overall.
It's great that Nikon is still updating the D500! Seems like it is still supported even though it has been discontinued. APS-C version of Z9 coming?

What is the issue with your D780 Eye AF?
engseng
post Mar 12 2022, 05:18 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(Hexlord @ Mar 11 2022, 06:57 PM)
bro I did show you some of the samples liao.... definitely worse than that.

Anyway I got myself another flash with a stronger modeling light. See how it goes...
What did you get?
engseng
post Mar 13 2022, 10:46 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(Hexlord @ Mar 12 2022, 09:15 PM)
Godox V860 iii
That's the new version with the modelling light in the front?

12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0918sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:20 AM