9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.26, is this the end of DSLR era?

DS_Legacy
post Apr 7 2018, 11:53 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(MHR @ Apr 7 2018, 03:59 PM)
Any other place to clean sensor other than Nikon service centre? rm84 every 6 months is quite pricey for my taste.
Do you change your lens very often? Really need to clean the sensor every 6 months ah? hmm.gif
DS_Legacy
post Apr 8 2018, 04:35 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(MHR @ Apr 8 2018, 02:01 PM)
I travel a lot, I change between 2-3 lenses. After 2 trips usually got dust already.. Before nikon, my 7D in 6 years only went once for sensor cleaning. Nothing to do with sensor size right?
Not so sure about the sensor size tho. Maybe try to off your camera and position your camera upside down before changing next time? I change my lens very very often too and I almost shoot every day.

So far 1 year+ still haven't cleaned my sensor. You can try to contact yannick, he gives most of his regular customer free cleaning service. I'm sure he will give a better price than the nikon SC. biggrin.gif
DS_Legacy
post Apr 9 2018, 04:33 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Apr 8 2018, 09:22 PM)
Let me join u tongue.gif

Revived my D7000 after letting it to sleep in my drybox for almost 1 year, the colors (or should i say the white balance) felt really different from my main camera (5d ii). AWB on d7000 tends to be really green/ yellowish while with canon its a little purplish/ cold.

Shooting after rain ke ni? laugh.gif

Keep spamming pls. Should not let the thread dies! bruce.gif

QUOTE(MHR @ Apr 9 2018, 04:26 PM)
I guess I'm not the only one. I feel like the D750 is more prone to dust than other bodies I've owned in the past.

https://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3988793

Thanks for the suggestion tho, I'll contact yannick soon.
I own one D750 too tho. There are some tiny dusts on the sensor but I can still PS them away for now, not too many. laugh.gif

Maybe I will have to clean my sensor soon too.
DS_Legacy
post Apr 19 2018, 03:30 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

My very first garden wedding experience as a professional photographer! But I'm here to cover the photos for the awesome caterer. biggrin.gif

user posted imageUniq Catering by My Story Production, on Flickr

DS_Legacy
post Apr 19 2018, 03:31 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(wkwong91 @ Apr 14 2018, 04:23 PM)
I am using the non-VR. Quite heavy but useful when in low light condition. If you camera body able to boost iso with lesser noise I think 24-120mm is another good option for walkaround lens. Sometimes 70mm not really sufficient enough. To get nice photos, everything is worth. biggrin.gif
24-120mm bokeh is so bad at F4. 24-70 FTW! brows.gif
DS_Legacy
post Apr 21 2018, 02:12 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(engseng @ Apr 21 2018, 11:57 AM)
Want to know why you guys choose Nikon as your camera?
QUOTE(@PF T.J. @ Apr 21 2018, 01:11 PM)
Hmm, this is a pretty subjective question haha hmm.gif
Different people will have different reasons to choose Nikon but for me its mainly because (i) the button layouts worked better for me (the typical rotary dial on Canon models often caused the skin of my thumb to peel off); (ii) the dynamic range being generally better; and (iii) most of my friends were using Nikon- easier to learn from them/borrow lenses laugh.gif

But that's just me.. in the end it all boils down to personal preference and what you are using the system for. For example if you are into super macro photography you can only choose Canon because its the only brand with a dedicated super macro lens i.e. MPE65  cry.gif  According to DS_Legacy the current Nikon lineups are relatively weaker when it comes to professional videography as well hmm.gif
Both nikon and canon offer excellent cameras with wide range of good lenses.

The dynamic range in Nikon is superb. It's great for landscape and for people who likes to shoot backlit kinda photo. You can still bring up a lot of the details in the shadows. Not only in photography but also in the flat mode in video mode. It makes color grading a lot easier and nicer with all the details captured. thumbup.gif

But for professional videography, the AF is a bit turn off since Nikon is not gonna release the dual pixel auto focus system on its DSLR. So i got no choice but to often shoot with manual focus, even on actual weddings! laugh.gif

DS_Legacy
post May 4 2018, 05:08 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ May 3 2018, 05:35 PM)
Time to buy liao sifu, what you waiting for? laugh.gif
Haha you should look at our muscles  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
DS_Legacy has very imbalanced bicep and brachioradialis muscles because he FAPPed too much uses a 4-5 kg setup for his video recording during actual days

totally worth it  cry.gif  cry.gif
Video recording is one serious work out. But I can only hold my setup on right hand on the whole day laugh.gif

Left hand weak. cry.gif cry.gif
DS_Legacy
post May 9 2018, 03:22 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ May 9 2018, 10:23 AM)
ahhhh thats why I can't decide. Going to asian countries with a lil bit of everything e.g. landscape, cityscape, nightscape etc and only plan to bring one lens. Heard good reviews about 17-50mm OR 18-140mm
18-140mm is an awesome kitlens and it is super versatile but sadly it is still a kitlens. It's good for amateur that does not care much about sharpness and the depth of view of the image. biggrin.gif

17-50 on that other hand is a standard lens that I personally think is good enough for travel unless you plan to do some birding on your travel. It performs slightly better at night with the slightly narrower aperture of F2.8. The image is sharper with some shallow depth of view at 50mm F2.8 (equivalent to about 75mm F2.8 in FX) laugh.gif
DS_Legacy
post May 15 2018, 10:45 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ May 15 2018, 07:40 PM)
Thanks everyone for the information! Will give it serious consideration. Any other recommendations? Budget less than RM1,500
Look into a prime lens if you want better photos at night or blurry background shots. Some of my friends shoot with prime lens all day long. And even bring one prime lens to travel. laugh.gif

For a crop sensor camera (DX), 35mm prime is also good for travel. 50mm is a little too long imho. Get a 35mm F1.8. It would be another good alternative to a 17-50mm F2.8. But you have to adjust your angle and position more often lo. Since it is not so versatile as in some packed areas. thumbup.gif
DS_Legacy
post May 19 2018, 07:05 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(engseng @ May 19 2018, 05:55 PM)
I am curious to know if photography equipment will become cheaper after 1 June.
Let's hope for the best laugh.gif
but I suppose most sellers don't really willing to lower the price sweat.gif
DS_Legacy
post May 19 2018, 07:08 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

Helped my gf on her makeup portfolio shoot. And here's some of the photos taken! laugh.gif

user posted imageNKN_0301e by My Story Production, on Flickr

user posted imageNKN_0282e by My Story Production, on Flickr

user posted imageNKN_0332e by My Story Production, on Flickr

user posted imageNKN_0345e by My Story Production, on Flickr

user posted imageNKN_0367e by My Story Production, on Flickr

user posted imageNKN_0547e by My Story Production, on Flickr
DS_Legacy
post May 20 2018, 10:13 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ May 20 2018, 09:20 PM)
Hey guys! Been AGES since I last was here, still sticking to my 7+ years old D3100 here. It's still holding up well with my year old 35mm f1.8g but I'm looking to increase its usability. I was wondering if you guys know the best way to remotely control an entry level like the D3100?

I've seen wireless adapters, android apps, eyefi cards but don't really know what's the best way considering D3100 is pretty old. If possible I'd like the ability to transfer photos to my phone as well without the use of a PC. Will a USB cable connected to an OTG cable on my Android smartphone work?
Just use the APP to do it. Nikon WMU is the app name. You can remotely take photos but the controls are quite limited. But you can view the photos thru your phone and make the transfer anytime laugh.gif
DS_Legacy
post May 21 2018, 11:34 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ May 21 2018, 11:31 AM)
eyefi card sounds ok.
not sure if OTG cable would work, but that would also require carrying extra cables...
and since its just for transfer...why not a OTG card adapter?
but d3100 no wifi...still need to buy the wifi adapter.
Thanks for correcting. I thought D3000 series come with the wifi adapter. sweat.gif

DS_Legacy
post May 23 2018, 06:34 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ May 23 2018, 04:38 PM)
not bad, lucky man. you should be in pic also. she wear bridal dress dy... waiting you only  innocent.gif
My gf was right beside man. And she was the one putting the makeup for her leh. Want liddis meh laugh.gif laugh.gif
DS_Legacy
post May 23 2018, 06:50 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ May 23 2018, 06:37 PM)
shocking.gif ops.. your gf is mua ha.... i tot is the model. hahaha sorry bro.. dun angry
Haha it's because of her I only get to shoot so many amois laugh.gif
DS_Legacy
post Jul 31 2018, 12:52 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(takeshiru @ Jul 31 2018, 11:09 AM)
Hello guys. Hope to get so advice from the sifus here.
I just inherited a 105mm lens with R1C1 flash. Planning to get a body to pair with it. Saw the nikon latest promo on D750, seem good for a full frame. I pretty new in photography, is this body and good? Seen a few other website stating it has shutter issues.
What shutter issue do you mean? Is that the one with black screen on some part of the photo? I'm a proud D750 owner and been shooting with it for over 80k photos (my last check on SC was 83k)

You can only face the shutter issue when you shoot an a extreme backlit shot. Other than that, no issue. This is an awesome body. thumbup.gif
DS_Legacy
post Jul 31 2018, 03:06 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(takeshiru @ Jul 31 2018, 02:40 PM)
great to know bro. now im so ready to get the D750. at least with ease of mind and at a great discounted price!

by the way do i know any good bags? planning for a Body, 1-2 lens with a R1C1 flash kit.
Are you a macro shooter? If you are, D800 is a better choice yo. 36MP brows.gif brows.gif

But the flip screen in D750 always come in handy in a lot of places.

I am a lowepro fanboi. The price is not cheap but their bags do last long. Check out flipside 300 AW or fastpack 150/250. Just dont go 350. It's too big laugh.gif
DS_Legacy
post Aug 3 2018, 01:53 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Aug 3 2018, 01:40 PM)
because we do not think the mirrorless can out perform the DSLR.
and also we do not want to buy new lenses.  tongue.gif
For photography, nikon dslr is really good. Especially on their dynamic range thumbup.gif

But for videography, their auto focus sytem is super lacking. If they have dual pixel auto focus on mirrorless then I would consider to jump brows.gif
DS_Legacy
post Aug 3 2018, 03:02 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Aug 3 2018, 01:59 PM)
well traditionally, mirrorless takes video better than dslr. 
even some point and shoot camera take better video than dslr  sweat.gif
But canon apsc dslr has better auto focus system. For eg, 80D has dual pixel auto focus. It's sad that nikon doesn't have it. Rumor also says that nikon will not bother to make one dslr with that feature.

So I would still make a jump if nikon releases a powerful mirrorless. And I don't have to fork out extra moneh for lenses, unless those rumoured z mount lenses are poisonous laugh.gif
DS_Legacy
post Aug 3 2018, 09:54 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(din_hook @ Aug 3 2018, 07:45 PM)
Need some opinion from sifu here. Do you think with 24-85 3.5-4.5G lens is good enough for doing paid photographic works eg for printing, poster, album etc?

Thanks for the opinion.  notworthy.gif
The sharpness and bokeh may not be nice. But it's all about the skills that matter in the end of the day. Easier said than done tho.

My advice is look opt for a better lens if possible. It will pay off for sure. biggrin.gif

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0969sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:12 AM