9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.26, is this the end of DSLR era?

DS_Legacy
post Aug 3 2018, 10:58 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(din_hook @ Aug 3 2018, 10:38 PM)
thanks for the feedback.  notworthy.gif

most of time i do a bit portraiture and 2nd shooter for a friend. been thinking to grab the prime 35, 50 and 85 1.8. what do you think?
Judging from the lens you use, you should be using a FF body right? For FF sensor, 50mm has to be my favourite focal length. You can do a lot of different style of photoshoot with it. Ranging from portrait, studio, closeup, and even group photo if you stand far enough. laugh.gif

But 85mm is nice to have if you shoot a lot of portraiture but it will not be as versatile if you are a second shooter at a small place (cannot avoid sometimes). I personally don't really like 35mm, I think a 24mm prime would work better in the wider focal length, but 24mm is quite pricey laugh.gif

So, if you were to ask me, go for the 50mm. It's just a nice prime lens to have for different occasions thumbup.gif

DS_Legacy
post Aug 3 2018, 11:55 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(din_hook @ Aug 3 2018, 11:40 PM)
need the feedback first before pulling the trigger.  blush.gif
yep. d750. need a replacement from the kit 24-120 f4 due to my clumsiness. fall down, crack the glass.  cry.gif

group photo and close up portrait are what I mostly do. plus lately im kinda into light and airy so having a wider aperture would be a plus.  blush.gif

if only i can afford the 1.4  moneyflies.gif
thinking of 35 or 28 coz sometime, in malay wedding the families come in large group, worried if 50 not wide enough and the space is limited.  sweat.gif
I have seen a few photographers carry two prime lenses combo for weddings. 24mm/35mm and 50mm/85mm. laugh.gif

But I personally prefer using standard lens more. Maybe get back the 24-120? If don't have the budget then not much choice lo. Unless you willing to go used third party lens like tammy. smile.gif

QUOTE(OOtaii @ Aug 3 2018, 11:43 PM)
in that case just get 24-70f2.8 or cheaper 24-120f4.. no need to carry many lenses. for group shot no need f1.4
Photographers like San Ren, fixer and some other photographers like to shoot small group photos with 1.4. The results are sometimes very nice and rewarding as long as your subject is on a one straight line. laugh.gif

But for myself, I always do F2 at most. Dare not go lower sweat.gif
DS_Legacy
post Aug 4 2018, 12:40 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(din_hook @ Aug 4 2018, 12:36 AM)
thanks for the feedback guys. somehow i think by moving to prime perhaps i could grow my abilities, become a better photographer. really envy when looking a nice, sharp, light and airy, and that beautiful bokeh image.  blush.gif
Bokeh is nice. But bokeh is overrated to certain people. nod.gif

Play around with the wide aperture, but remember to not overlook the other important factors such as lightings, composition and background. A lot of people tend to ignore the ugly background and lightings once they shoot very wide aperture. Those are the keys to get nicer photos too. icon_rolleyes.gif

If you ever get prime lens, do post up some photos here. So we can enjoy your nice photos thumbup.gif
DS_Legacy
post Aug 15 2018, 02:55 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

user posted imageNKN_7980e_FB by My Story Production, on Flickr

user posted imageNKN_7937-2e_FB by My Story Production, on Flickr

user posted imageNKN_7856e_FB by My Story Production, on Flickr

user posted imageNKN_7801e_FB by My Story Production, on Flickr

user posted imageNKN_7725e_FB by My Story Production, on Flickr

Shot the most recent photos with only D750 and 50mm F1.8G. laugh.gif
DS_Legacy
post Aug 15 2018, 10:13 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Aug 15 2018, 04:59 PM)
nice.
very clean and sharp.  thumbup.gif
I post sharpen those photos a lot laugh.gif
DS_Legacy
post Aug 16 2018, 04:01 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Aug 16 2018, 03:45 PM)
FF bodies are affordable, FF lenses however = die la..... cry.gif
QUOTE(Agito666 @ Aug 16 2018, 03:53 PM)
50mm f/1.8  whistling.gif
laugh.gif best budget lens evaaa laugh.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 4 2018, 11:50 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Sep 4 2018, 11:25 AM)
sony dilemma not that bad, their DSLR lineup was not on par with the competition or FF mirroless so last time jump without thinking so much.

Nikon dilemma worse bcs their DSLR with lenses line up are hard to beat.

decisions, decision..... rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  sweat.gif
Use both ma brows.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 4 2018, 11:57 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Sep 4 2018, 11:55 AM)
i thought Z series focus speed still not as good as DSLR? whistling.gif (welp, yeah mirrorless mah)
If you were to compare 24-70 paired with nikon FF, probably hard to beat. But they say the face detection quite accurate. So it speeds up a bit there laugh.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 11 2018, 03:19 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(kimlaw @ Sep 11 2018, 12:31 AM)
I still don’t understand the advantages of FF mirrorless. It’s not really that much smaller or compact than DSLR.

D750 is ~750g
Z7 is ~ 650g

Slap any lens on and it’ll be another 300-500g coming to a total of ~1.2kg. Bag + another lens (it’s interchangeable lens for a reason) will bring the system weight to ~2kg. 100g more or less don’t seems like much difference to me?
If you are an existing nikon shooter that shoots for video you will find the latest IBIS and hybrid AF system on the FF mirrorless are going to change the game. Yes, there isn't any much difference in weight. But there are a lot of features that are lacking in nikon dslr ff bodies.

Take the AF alone as example. I have to rely on manual focus most of the time to get the shots I need. Otherwise the AF will jerk like crazy before getting the subject in focus simply because the 3D tracking in nikon DSLR is still bad, even at a professional grade body.

Having the latest hybrid AF helps nikon photographer cum videographer to shine with the same body. Not to mention lenses that has no VR, is automatically a VR lens when paired with the Z body with IBIS.

DS_Legacy
post Sep 12 2018, 02:49 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Sep 12 2018, 08:40 AM)
if you ask me its all about the trend and currently the trend now is mirrorless.
But the trend is expensive sad.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 16 2018, 09:24 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(jun08 @ Sep 11 2018, 11:14 AM)
Hi Sifus,
Anyone of u encounter overheat issue on D750, i shot using LV yesterday about 5-10 mins and started to feel warm on grip, screen and menu button area, took out the battery and it's warm too.

i google it and said might cause by third party battery but mine one is nikon EN-EL15, did check the recall issue and my battery it's not in the recall list. Been using for a year without any problem till yesterday  cry.gif

Is it normal or am i over reacting  icon_question.gif

thx
Shooting in LV on a camera usually will lead to this issue. I shoot actual wedding day video very often and I leave my LV on all the time, and stay recording until the end of the day. laugh.gif

D750 itself will get warm but not hot. It's normal I suppose. My battery still kicks well after 2 years+, but for my case battery age irl is only 2 but on camera it says 4 sad.gif

Maybe I abuse too much laugh.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 17 2018, 12:07 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ Sep 17 2018, 11:01 AM)
it is means to be abuse bah tu.
rugi kalau x guna, kan?

notworthy.gif
D750 age 2 years SC 120k on my last check. And I got a second body laugh.gif laugh.gif

Yeshhh abuse is our budayaaa rclxm9.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 18 2018, 12:05 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ Sep 18 2018, 11:55 AM)
Man it has been some time since I visited here, anyone looking to jump to Z series?

Still stuck with my 8 year old D3100 I'll prolly only upgrade once I have enough moola for mirrorless huhu
Looking to jump to Z6 here drool.gif brows.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 19 2018, 09:29 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ Sep 19 2018, 07:26 PM)
Huhu from which boday?

Also your username still familiar in my head, when was My Story Production founded?
Yeah I'm actually already pretty glad with what Nikon is offering compared to Sony and Canon's choices, until the a7iv comes out that is.
D750

2015. You are my customer? laugh.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 23 2018, 01:21 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Sep 22 2018, 10:09 PM)
I also wanna share... long time didnt carry this camera. What more to say to ppl ROM..

Was using the D600 + 85 /1.8. Full frame ... everytime I use it. Im impressed. even after so many years
to think I know my friend since he just got his driving licence, now getting married. Sure makes me feel old. The couple in the middle also our friend, he got married the next day. LOL

Awesome photos man. It must be great to have an old friend around, going thru many different stages of life with u.

DS_Legacy
post Sep 27 2018, 07:00 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

user posted imageNicholas & Cheryl ROM by My Story Production, on Flickr

I have some ROM shots to spam too laugh.gif

DS_Legacy
post Sep 28 2018, 10:55 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Sep 28 2018, 08:17 AM)
nice!  thumbup.gif
Thanks thanks. The place also super nice laugh.gif

QUOTE(din_hook @ Sep 28 2018, 09:01 AM)
looking at all the photos from the sifu here, mine its like a peanuts leh. blush.gif
Keep shooting and don't give up. You can do it! biggrin.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 28 2018, 09:55 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(din_hook @ Sep 28 2018, 03:44 PM)
Kinda shy to showcase my shot here, but then I wont improve without criticism.  blush.gif

Was followed a friend's wedding at Pulau Redang few weeks ago. My first proper photoshoot.  blush.gif

I was aiming for light and airy kind of photos but somehow I didnt got the photo right to edit for light and airy. Any tips from sifus here?  notworthy.gif
The photos are not bad biggrin.gif

But may I know what time did you take the photos? hmm.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 28 2018, 10:32 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(din_hook @ Sep 28 2018, 10:12 PM)
around 4 pm. not the best time yet cant linger around much longer coz sea become rough later on need to retreat back to main island.  sad.gif
I see, that explains the ambience lighting.

I am not sure about other sifu but I will usually avoid shooting at 4pm unless no choice like you did. The ambience around 6pm to 7pm will be best for this kinda portraiture. Next time you can shoot more close-up shots as I realised most of your shots are full body shots.

Try include more half body shots or close-up shots. Don't be afraid to try different angles or composition or even crop ratio! My first few albums with close up shots were so bad that I don't wanna open them laugh.gif

But you will get the hand of it in the future. Good luck man! thumbup.gif
DS_Legacy
post Sep 28 2018, 11:26 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(din_hook @ Sep 28 2018, 11:14 PM)
learned a lot from this trip.  nod.gif

thanks sifus.  notworthy.gif
5x4 ratio is awesome for close up shot on my personal preference. You can give it a try and post up the photos here thumbup.gif

Posing is another thing important in close up photo. Try to communicate with your customer, eg joke, high five, reminding them of how they met, what they did last night. This can easily create a lot of beautiful candid moments since they are getting comfortable with you.

I usually start shooting early in the morning or evening around 5.30pm. By the time sun about to set, they are super comfortable in front of the camera. Then you can get the perfect moment shot with the sunset background that you are waiting for.

I always believe that a good photographer does not only equipped with the perfect gear and photography skills, but also communication skills. Without all those moments, your shots will still lack of the happy/emotion element. So, smile more and communicate more frequent with the couples.

Here's my personal experience. Maybe other sifu can give you more insights too. All the best ya Din! thumbsup.gif

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0925sec    1.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:44 AM