Proton Suprima S V3, Slow Turbo.. Baru V3..

ZaiZai1989
post Sep 7 2017, 10:42 PM

275 posts

Dear all, I am actually looking for a used car for working purpose to travel to southern area always. Long distance always. So the suprima comes across my mind as I always prefer a drivers oriented car with fun n great handling. Fuel will not an issue for me, fuel is fully subsidised by my company.

But I have a concern on the och issue, has proton already do a recall to replace the hose to steel hose that they claim it to be a permanent solution? Because och burst seems to be very dangerously, also another issue is the radiator fan connector melting issue? Has this issue been resolved too? These seems to be some common issue that bugs the ss I suppose? Pls correct me if I am wrong, if proton rectified the problems above, then a used ss seems to be a very good choice to me!
ZaiZai1989
post Sep 8 2017, 07:44 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Sep 8 2017, 05:33 AM)
1. There is no permanent fix for the hose. Must change it every 40k km. Can do with normal servicing.
2. Radiator melts? First time hearing of this.
I see, I thought proton already do a recap, maybe that recall still undergoing planning only.

Not fan radiator melt bro, the connect/socket for the radiator fan.

One thing I would like to clarify also, last time I know there's executive, standard n premium spec. But now left only standard n premium, is true? Standard replaced executive spec dy?
ZaiZai1989
post Sep 8 2017, 05:20 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Sep 8 2017, 12:43 PM)
Yes. No more executive.

So far I haven't run into such issues,  but my mileage isn't pass 30k yet.

I'd suggest leaving the car to run for at least 5 minutes with the air con turned down below 20 degrees and the blower running at at least speed 4 if you have been driving for a while.

This will force the fan to run continuously until you turn the AC  off, unless it's cold inside. In this case you just wind your window down.
Thanks for the info bro, anyhow I contacted a sa and got offered a standard spec year end car stock cleanrance at about 14k discount. Kinda worth. Together with the 1k loyalty discount, the ss is at about 55k otr, interesting. Just few k more expensive than used ss but this is whole new. Year 2016 old stock.

ZaiZai1989
post Sep 8 2017, 10:21 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Sep 8 2017, 09:02 PM)
Oil no circulation, otherwise I will turn off
Try to source for a premium unit. Should be cheap.
yea bro will try to check price on premium unit too.

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Sep 8 2017, 09:23 PM)
Aim for the premium model. Worth it.
yea wo.. i forget to ask since he replied me with standard's price only...

QUOTE(laytiong @ Sep 8 2017, 09:39 PM)
@zaizai1989: standard at 55k is a great buy. if budget permits check the discount for premium. its much more worth it just for the safety aspect
yea its really a great buy... but basic safety aspect like BA EBD ABS ESC all also included in the standard dy...
ZaiZai1989
post Sep 8 2017, 10:53 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Sep 8 2017, 10:52 PM)
Go survey at COSE. I saw a premium unit months ago. It was pretty well kept for a 2015 unit. The S.A. mentioned that COSE normally change a lot of sun damaged things before delivery.
2015 isnt too old.. but the SA offered me 2016 standard spec.. guess i need to go to cose n take a look.. haha.. wow its a very good own initiative to replace damaged item b4 delivery
ZaiZai1989
post Sep 9 2017, 05:10 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Sep 9 2017, 02:21 PM)
I think it is easier for you to call few showrooms and just ask. I am sure they are happy to help.
i went to a showroom nearby my house just now, they was like so "surprise" when i told them i found discount above 10k++ from another SA. He say impossible, and keep pushing me to get iriz. Test the iriz just now, indeed very big improvement on the cvt compared to my wife's saga sv.. no more harsh vibration and cvt whining sound during acceleration, kinda fun to drive along town too! Sadly there isnt any suprima to test, suprima will be my first choice as i need to use it frequently or almost every week to travel to jb and melaka.

According to the SA, no more production for suprima? those selling are 2016 stock and discount around 8k only, colors also limited to white which i dont mind la, suprima white looks nice to me too. Actually he got no idea how much can discount on 2016 old stock, so he will update me again on next week.
ZaiZai1989
post Sep 9 2017, 07:22 PM

275 posts

the showroom i went to kinda big also, along genting klang, proton edar also. actually they is one ss in the parking lot, but seems to have alarm issues, and blocked by a customer who double parked, the customer xtau mana pigi liao. so cant test the blue ss premium. but can tell from the new iriz, the cvt gets improved a lot in term of refinement. i see, maybe they the 14k discount its just a trap they set to contact the sa, haha
ZaiZai1989
post Sep 9 2017, 08:30 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(khairilyazit @ Sep 9 2017, 08:25 PM)
The Suprima CVT is different from the one in Iriz... thats VT2.. the Suprima has VT3+

Hardly any whine here..
Suprima cvt also dont have whining noise? coz my saga cvt whining noise is very serious LOL. Till i tested the new iriz just now, no more whining dy
ZaiZai1989
post Sep 9 2017, 09:07 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Sep 9 2017, 08:38 PM)
14k is possible but for prior to 2015 production Suprima. I don't think it's a good choice getting a very old stock unless you have time to head to the service centre to claim parts once in a while.

If you do get one, put RM700 aside for ECU remap (MBO) by EA Auto. Worth every cent. They recently came out with an updated version which has a much more smooth power delivery especially when accelerating and turning at the same time from a low speed.

Since you plan to use it for long distance travelling, I'd suggest spending some money on engine soundproofing as well, which EA Auto can do. Then finally if you have some money left, trade in the Continental CSC 3 tyres for Michelin P3ST. You should be able to get quite a good trade in value if your CSC 3s are in good shape. I could only get RM100 per piece for mine which were mostly having some slight imbalance.
QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Sep 9 2017, 08:40 PM)
CVT3+ is the best CVT you can currently get in a Proton. There is no 100KM/H and above whine like the Preve on the CVT3. They've already switched to CVT3+ for the Preve as well, so if you need a car with a bigger boot, consider the Preve.
Thanks for all the informative feedback! Will go to another showroom to test the suprima if possible!
ZaiZai1989
post Sep 9 2017, 10:16 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Sep 9 2017, 09:13 PM)
Go tomorrow 😁

The original gearbox/engine tuning in the Suprima is quite good in my opinion. Good clutch engagement speed and smoothness etc collared to the other proton models with cvt. Mbo improves it by a fair amount.

Also,  the transmission loss so far seems to be around 6 to 7% only for the CVT3+. Not surprising considering that it's got a clutch rather than a torque converter. After mbo you can expect power and torque figures of around 120 to 130+ whp and 190 to 210+ nm of torque on wheel.
hehe, contacting more SA from mudah and carlist, but bad news is that few of them told me tat the stock already sold out, no more liao.. haiz..

yea bro, i am a bit concerning on the cvt as i have got a nightmare on my saga cvt, but it seems to be better after i did clutch adaptation, but still no where near the new iriz i tested just now, almost no delay n very linear delivery, didnt notice any jerking also. But i cant wait to test the CVT3+ haha, if dont have then test with Preve one lor should be the same right? haha.

Wow 210+nm torque on wheel isnt bad at all!!!

This post has been edited by ZaiZai1989: Sep 9 2017, 10:16 PM

0.0856sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:01 AM