Samsung Samsung Galaxy Note 7 Official Discussion V9!, Discontinued on 11 October 2016 :(

brandon8921
post Oct 13 2016, 05:28 PM

242 posts

Guys, I would like to ask for opinion.
Previously i bought pre-order S7edge at RM2479.20. Used for about 5 months then sold it at RM2200, and pre-order Note 7 at RM2879.10
Now have to refund Note 7 and get back money.
Would you choose to buy back S7edge again? (cheapest i can find right now RM2500+) Or take the refund money and look for other brand?
If other brand, my current choice will be either 7 plus or OP3.

This post has been edited by brandon8921: Oct 13 2016, 05:28 PM
brandon8921
post Oct 13 2016, 05:34 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Oct 13 2016, 05:30 PM)
depends... 7+ got good resale value.

oneplus3... good phone for that price... you get extra cash for makan2, etc...
Would you buy back S7edge if you are in this situation like me?
brandon8921
post Oct 13 2016, 05:49 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(jojo_g2 @ Oct 13 2016, 05:43 PM)
Only if SME offer you huge discount on the s7e replacement.

5 - 6 months ago, you bought it for 2.5k. Now you wanna get it for that same price again? not to say that it's not good but you know as well as everyone else that the price of s7e is about to reach the end of the level or cliff that its on. Very VERY soon that price is gonna go down for sure.
That's what i'm thinking. Getting a S7edge now is not a good deal. rclxub.gif
brandon8921
post Oct 14 2016, 02:28 PM

242 posts

Just got my hands on on the ip7+. Immediately miss my Note 7 screen. Anyway, the speaker from ip7+ is superb. Very loud and crisp. Camera low light is terrible. Hunting to focus and slow.
brandon8921
post Oct 14 2016, 03:16 PM

242 posts

Saw quite a number of Note 7 users queue up to buy ip7 this morning including me. A random guy behind ask me about the refund thing (seems like he doesn't know the details). And then he use very lansi way told me he don't care about the money, he will just keep the phone because it will become limited edition lol doh.gif
brandon8921
post Oct 15 2016, 10:53 AM

242 posts

Until today, i did not receive any call from Samsung telling me about the refund. Great
brandon8921
post Oct 17 2016, 10:37 AM

242 posts

Done backup and factory reset. Now power off and keep back in box. Will go for refund tonight after work.
brandon8921
post Oct 17 2016, 11:37 AM

242 posts

QUOTE(crayzee @ Oct 17 2016, 11:18 AM)
Bye note7 sad.gif
Going to swap to s7 edge later.
Swap to S7edge is not a good deal. SME is trying to mess with us. A month back SME have this promotion - RM300 off with purchase of S7 or S7edge. Now with Note7 exchange to S7edge also refund RM300. Here is the calculation:

1. S7edge RRP : RM3099 - RM300 = RM2799
2. S7edge 1st preorder : RM3099 - 20% = RM2479
3. S7edge 2nd preorder : RM3099 - 10% = RM2789
4. S7edge online : RM2649 (lazada), RM2399 (11 Street), RM2414 (Gemfive "TREATS12" voucher RM2639 - RM225)
5. Note 7 swap S7edge : RM2879(preorder price) - RM300 = RM2579

Also, given that S7 edge is around the market for quite some time, new S8 will launch on March 2017, it is not a good time to get S7edge now at RRP, as most of the S7edge sold in Malaysia are sold in preorder price, promotion discount, online voucher rebate, and most importantly NOT at its own RRP. SME trying to fool Note7 users here

This post has been edited by brandon8921: Oct 17 2016, 11:41 AM
brandon8921
post Oct 17 2016, 11:58 AM

242 posts

QUOTE(jojo_g2 @ Oct 17 2016, 11:51 AM)
Had a big dilemma regarding this issue also. Price isn't really a good deal to us for all the hassle.
But, all the same, the truth is that there isn't really any option out there. S7e is really the ONLY choice that is similar to note 7. S8 is almost 5 - 6 mths to come. Even then, S8 would've been a second choice too as we are all here for the S-pen and had chose the note7. The whole thing is really troublesome.
Well at least it is a bad deal for me. I'm the S7edge 1st batch preorder owner before, sold off S7edge at 2.2k, then buy Note7. It is impossible for me to back to S7edge at the current price SME is offering. It is UNACCEPTABLE.
brandon8921
post Oct 17 2016, 12:04 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Oct 17 2016, 11:55 AM)
Agree. But how can we be sure that S8 is going to be great? What if they are like S4 or S5?  sweat.gif

Really in a dilemma now...been thinking over and over again whether to stick with my old HTC m8 or get other new phones (S7e or OP 3)

damn...
There isn't a decent android phone that can compete with Note 7 for the time being. OP3 is damn hard to get in Malaysia. By the time Malaysia have stock, OP4 is on the way, then you will regret again. My suggestion is, migrate to the fruit world, at least you still retain the resale value even new IP come out next year.
brandon8921
post Oct 17 2016, 12:06 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Oct 17 2016, 12:02 PM)
what phone u using now?
iPhone 7 Plus
brandon8921
post Oct 17 2016, 12:22 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(jojo_g2 @ Oct 17 2016, 12:14 PM)
Agreed on your point about selling your old one for 2.2k and now needing to get it at higher price than 6mths ago. If it was me, yeah. Impossible to go thru with the replacement s7e price.
But I guess this is individual scenario lo, for some of us like me, I came to note7 straight away, from i5s. So, If I were to take the s7e, I guess it's still represent something as it really is the current STAND-IN flagship that they have right now.
As for jumping to fruit world? also depend on how big your wallet it, to get something of a same standard in fruit world, (i7+) would mean an additional rm1000 or more. Sorry to say that a lot of us can do more things with that extra RM1000.
Agree that RM1000 can do a lot of things. I need a phone at least 5.5' above, snappy, i don't game in phone though graphic is not important to me, best in class camera (my work require to take a lot of pictures), huge memory to store all the photos, broad support of Radio bands as i frequently travel for work and i purchase the local sim for mobile data. Previously i got Lenovo A7000 plus as company phone, no support for LTE in Bangkok, while my S7edge has it.
So i have no choice but to switch to iPhone. No trust on other brand though.
brandon8921
post Oct 17 2016, 12:33 PM

242 posts

The whole Note 7 fiasco has create a lot of hassle to me. The time i spent for backup, recall, restore, backup again, refund again.
I will consider longer before buying any Samsung product right now. They make good products, excellent products that stand out in the market, but the quality is not there. Have to purchase extra warranty, just in case you know.
brandon8921
post Oct 17 2016, 12:48 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Oct 17 2016, 12:40 PM)
how is ur i7p comparing to note 7? biggrin.gif
Speed, yes you can feel it. Open apps is much more faster than Note 7. Not to mention that i have 4000+ photos and videos, usually Note 7 will take time to load the thumbnail when you scroll through. However, low light camera is terrible compare to Note 7. Noisy af and hunting for focus. Speaker is damn loud and crisp, can feel the bass and phone will vibrate if too loud. Screen no match compare to Note 7. N7 still the best display. Battery life is excellent. At lease it does not drain so much compare to N7 when idle. Sleep at 1am at 80%, woke up next morning 9am at 79%. Signal strength is way way way better than Note 7, could be due to the antenna expose more than N7.
brandon8921
post Oct 17 2016, 12:59 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(jacky91 @ Oct 17 2016, 12:50 PM)
thx for the review!  thumbsup.gif

you sign telco plan?
Nope. I got stuck with company Celcom plan. So i don't buy phone with telco plan.
brandon8921
post Oct 17 2016, 05:59 PM

242 posts

QUOTE(AhKenth @ Oct 17 2016, 05:56 PM)
Not planning take iPhone liao coz look like new iPhone got issues also
New iPhone got what issue? Mind list it down?

brandon8921
post Oct 17 2016, 11:18 PM

242 posts

Just back from Samsung SC in Gurney Paragon. Had a little chat with 1 of the staff there, he told me ever since the 2nd recall no one walk in to shop to buy new phone. That is very sad for Samsung...

Btw, i return complete set with all the accessories. The guy just take out everything and put in Samsung paper bag and give it back to me. He said they only need to phone and box. The phone will then put in a fireproof box after collect all and send back to Samsung HQ in Korea.
brandon8921
post Oct 18 2016, 09:26 AM

242 posts

Refund at Samsung Gurney Paragon. No receipt given. Fill the refund form and was told to capture a picture of it as a prove. Give back all accessories including the sim ejector tool LOL
brandon8921
post Oct 18 2016, 10:37 AM

242 posts

QUOTE(jojo_g2 @ Oct 18 2016, 10:26 AM)
Mandatory? or you just freely give back to them the accessories?
I return everything inside the box include the phone. The guy take out all the accessories and give back to me and told me that they need the phone only. They will put in a fire proof bag or box (something like that) when they done collect all.
brandon8921
post Oct 18 2016, 10:58 AM

242 posts

QUOTE(jojo_g2 @ Oct 18 2016, 10:54 AM)
S-Pen? On the first recall, i remember someone says they could keep the Spen too.
Might be great to keep the s-pen, put it in a display  case/box, ala japanese katana with a small wordings below :
Here lies A Mighty S-Pen, which has an equally exploding Note to go with.
Unfortunately Spen no. Spen not counted as accessories i think. But weird they give me back the Spen tip LOL doh.gif

0.0225sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:50 PM