10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

> FAILED ENTREPRENEUR! Come In.., Share your failed ideas and experience.

SonnyCooL
post Oct 10 2016, 12:15 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(Splynncryth @ Oct 9 2016, 11:41 PM)
Well it depends Ministry. Security & Defense contractor can have access to up-front to which we normally negotiate up to 80%. Doesn't have to be class A contractor. These normally varies by contract.
which camp you supplying now ?
Elgore
post Oct 10 2016, 12:26 AM

113 posts

parking dulu
TSSplynncryth
post Oct 10 2016, 01:28 AM

515 posts

QUOTE(hcmalaya @ Oct 9 2016, 11:37 PM)
Is it sustainable to run a small photocopying shop in a taman?
Shop Rental around 1K
Rent 2 machines about 300 per month
There is no other competitor yet beside 711
Taman with 1,000 houses
When it comes to investment, there are few things you need to have in mind when asking someone if it's sustainable. Because different investors have different risk appetite. I'm sure you've run your numbers to which its around 1,000-1,500 pages per day to break even monthly. Let alone profit or repayment to initial investment during start-up.

If loosing 2k+ a month is something you're willing to try, then give it a shot. Unless there's some serious college, university or educational/offices facilities around, ... a Taman is very unlikely to provide such high demand.

High risk with high returns is something worth trying. But high-risk with low returns, It's advisable to find a few companies that's doing this in KL and run some interview with them and see if it's sustainable. My advice. No.

There's just too many supplementary issues that may come that could potentially run the business down.

But then again, any advice is as good as words. Things can turn otherwise. What you need is to minimize the risk. Look for partners. Split the risk and losses if it happens. But then again, don't just look at lost of profit due to sharing. Think big. When you run a business for "kais pagi makan pagi" style, you're planning to fail.
awir2core
post Oct 10 2016, 01:30 AM

QUOTE(Splynncryth @ Oct 9 2016, 04:41 AM)
Just like what the title described, we have a lot of discussion in relation to potential business, struggle with income and expenses and the thought of opening and running business to change for the better. Like most that tried, many failed and succumbed to failure to which some have resorted running back to existing 9to5 worklife.

Platform like dropship, food trucks and Ride-sharing businesses have given opportunity to many looking for temporary life support in our expanses while waiting for other opportunity to arise. As much as it is, its no way a long term sustainable platform anymore for those late comers and any new ideas or concepts tend not to last before being obsolete, leaving owners srtruggling to even break-even on the investment. 

Although this may not be the case for all, it is to the majority. We hear Lots of vent in frustration and panic when economy aren't lively as how it used to be and discussion over job security, salary and income tend to be quite critical now.

What this can provide is for us to read, learn and understand from others in areas that have failed. Probably gives better insight to those plannning to start on the do and don't. But this can also be an opportunity for hunters looking to invest in areas that may have failed due to insufficient capital; opportunity to re-start and finding candidates and partners with streetwise capability; where in most cases... not listed on resume.

The more you share, the more we understand and the more others know your potential. Not due to the failure you've gone through, but the potential you have that could be channeled in areas that can be a success.

As for me, I'm an investor. I run several businesses and have been looking for opportunity to invest in niche areas if exist. Also, looking for candidates not from what qualification they have... but what they can contribute from the experience they have.

Do share. Thank you.
Good to have this thread to voice out my problem. My main business is software system and side business is security system.

I start this business in 2014, start when I still working at factory. Partner with my father, I just do the sale and management and he do the installation and troubleshoot. At first we dont have capital to invest just a few hundred to start buy a couple of stuff. As I do sales, we could get a few customer time after time. Payment we get from customer we just rolling back into company.

After a year, my father cannot handle all the customer alone by himself, so I quit my job and focus 100% on business. Now we in third year and seem like our business just static, cannot expand or hire worker, barely just survive only. In account sheet it show that we on track and all transaction are record.

Hope can get advice from you.

TSSplynncryth
post Oct 10 2016, 01:35 AM

515 posts

QUOTE(Le Don @ Oct 9 2016, 11:46 PM)
Ok thanks

U ever have disputes with those that u have invested in till u need to go to the court? (How much will lawyer charge to handle dispute?)

So far the projects i have invested is like 10k project 1, 20k project 2...etc. If the sum is more than 100k, i will involve the lawyers
In most cases no. What we can do is get the lawyer to file them for winding-up in failure to adhere to the contractual agreement. Some of them may find ways to take this through arbitration to buy time, but make sure your lawyer draft the agreement that could favor such move in the first place.

Normally either things will happened
1. They pay within an agreed timeline or through term-basis
2. You let them go and forget about it.

For cases and projects under 50k, it's not worth the time of your lawyer and yourself. Seriously. It can cost you more than half the capital invested just to handle these cases. Thus, it is better handled through preferential agreement to begin with to avoid problems. That way, lawyers are involved when it comes to Account-Receivable to which you're guaranteed to minimize your risk and have your investment returns.

But technically, for serious investment ... these are the big ones. Those under 100k are normally something that you'll have to close one eye when something goes wrong. It's just not worth the trouble. Will this opens up for opportunity to abuse? Yes. That's why investors are getting very picky when it comes to the areas and control they get.

But hey .... What are investment without risk right? smile.gif

TSSplynncryth
post Oct 10 2016, 01:38 AM

515 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Oct 10 2016, 12:15 AM)
which camp you supplying now ?
MINDEF, KDN (multiple agencies), ESSCOMM, MKN/NSC, JPM, Etc...
TSSplynncryth
post Oct 10 2016, 01:44 AM

515 posts

QUOTE(awir2core @ Oct 10 2016, 01:30 AM)
Good to have this thread to voice out my problem. My main business is software system and side business is security system.

I start this business in 2014, start when I still working at factory. Partner with my father, I just do the sale and management and he do the installation and troubleshoot. At first we dont have capital to invest just a few hundred to start buy a couple of stuff. As I do sales, we could get a few customer time after time. Payment we get from customer we just rolling back into company.

After a year, my father cannot handle all the customer alone by himself, so I quit my job and focus 100% on business. Now we in third year and seem like our business just static, cannot expand or hire worker, barely just survive only. In account sheet it show that we on track and all transaction are record.

Hope can get advice from you.
Hi awir2core,

Well, I'm sure there are many others here with experience that we could tap their advice from, but before that ... it would be great if you can provide a little more information on the business.

1. May you share what software system and security system are you doing?
2. Who are your main customers? (Yearly breakdown if possible just to see the business direction)
3. Main income portfolio? Sales & Services? (Ratio will do, just to see if the problems that's hitting on your opex arise from maintenance/after sales support)
4. Location?

awir2core
post Oct 10 2016, 01:57 AM

QUOTE(Splynncryth @ Oct 10 2016, 01:44 AM)
Hi awir2core,

Well, I'm sure there are many others here with experience that we could tap their advice from, but before that  ... it would be great if you can provide a little more information on the business.

1. May you share what software system and security system are you doing?
2. Who are your main customers? (Yearly breakdown if possible just to see the business direction)
3. Main income portfolio? Sales & Services? (Ratio will do, just to see if the problems that's hitting on your opex arise from maintenance/after sales support)
4. Location?

1. software system like library, attendance, co-op, hostel, etc...
security system such as CCTV, alarm, door access, barrier gate, RFID, etc...

2. More to school, institute and premises.

3. Software - 70% sales 30% services and security - 90% sales 10% services.

4. All utara but mainly kedah.

This post has been edited by awir2core: Oct 10 2016, 02:12 AM
SonnyCooL
post Oct 10 2016, 02:18 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(Splynncryth @ Oct 10 2016, 01:38 AM)
MINDEF, KDN (multiple agencies), ESSCOMM, MKN/NSC, JPM, Etc...
doesn't seem like you know the business ...

end my story here.
TSSplynncryth
post Oct 10 2016, 02:34 AM

515 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Oct 10 2016, 01:53 AM)
Anybody have connection on YouTube marketing?? Need some persuasive ppl to sell my product overseas...
With the amount of people gathering here. Imagine if we can harness the ability to work on something big where the profit can be shared across the board?

A collection of business that's wrapped under a consortium, supported by groups of expertise facilitating everybody's need to drive any form of business forward.

Everybody knows somebody. And Imagine if such connections are shared across the board through careful facilitation of a committee set up to drive global entrepreneurship.

1. Ideas / Business Plan
2. Shared Capital
3. The Right Expertise
4. Connections
5. Shared profit.

Some businesses failed to kick off or ideas fell on deft ears due to some form of support failure within 1-4 in most cases.

To give some example

Q1. Someone wants to sell a product imported from China to U.S. or Local market.
- Ideas (Well, .... it's debate-able)
- Shared Capital (No, the starter have this covered, or a platform where people can pitch in and invest. Yes, many exist out there but normally it's through a hands-off investment where participation are not possible in most cases.)
- Right Expertise (Pushing this through a forum where resources are allocated to assist in Online Advertisement or SEO if needed)
- Profit? Shared across those involved.

A1. Many would argue that there's currently existing platform that allows hiring of freelancers to assist on ad-hoc scenario such as this. The answer may be:
- Less capital required to jump-start
- Profit sharing
- Allows business and options to get ahead rather dying prematurely.
- It utilizes expertise a fraction of their time to assist in such facilitation rather dedicated.

P. - How to ensure transparency in profit sharing?
- How to facilitate legal requirements?
- The management of work distribution through such forum will be a mess and hectic.
- Many other problems can arise from this. But like all problems, ... If we can pull a solution. It would be awesome.

If this is to be taken seriously..... (to be continued...)

TSSplynncryth
post Oct 10 2016, 02:35 AM

515 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Oct 10 2016, 02:18 AM)
doesn't seem like you know the business ...

end my story here.
Doesn't seemed like you understand.
TSSplynncryth
post Oct 10 2016, 03:09 AM

515 posts

QUOTE(awir2core @ Oct 10 2016, 01:57 AM)
1. software system like library, attendance, co-op, hostel, etc...
    security system such as CCTV, alarm, door access, barrier gate, RFID, etc...

2. More to school, institute and premises.

3. Software - 70% sales 30% services and security - 90% sales 10% services.

4. All utara but mainly kedah.
How are your sales mechanism? One off ? Or do you lock them down through monthly retention?

Between Software and Security, what are the revenue breakdown like? Which one contributes more?
pinkfoxlulu
post Oct 10 2016, 04:37 AM

159 posts

Dengar cerita elite ni memang bagus
Chisinlouz
post Oct 10 2016, 08:04 AM

849 posts

Hi, thanks for feedback.

Gov/GLC agri projects some failed because of generic issue. Natural cause like pests (preventable), El-nino and flash flood just to name a few. Apart from that, probability to fail is higher from mismanagement. I believe i dont need to elaborate so we skip that.

Taiwan and Japanese is way ahead from us in term of agricultural technology. I did prompt their Agri Dept to get some information but you know, not successful. But yet, most information is easily available online so, no big deal. But i will prepare a study trip there in future.

You mentioned that agri business is better to export for good gain. I agree with this. But not to forget, local supply here is much in shortage too. But i adapt low risk strategy, planting some non-seasonal, stable pricing, labor and cost intensive but yet is profitable stuff. No illegal thing brows.gif

I believe that news about failed project from Felda ect is not publicly accessible, maybe you have better information source or you're not normal people like us. But i am interested to take a look at their failed projects and try to do something from it.

I understand from investor's point of view, they need to juggle between risk, stability, profitability and most importantly both short/long term gain when doing any investments. Invest in agri would give you lower risk among portfolio compared to F&B in my opinion.

Some say man looks hot in sweat. I accessed the risk and possibilities, change my white collar and get sun tan daily, for free. smile.gif

Cheers.

This post has been edited by Chisinlouz: Oct 10 2016, 08:05 AM
awir2core
post Oct 10 2016, 08:58 AM

QUOTE(Splynncryth @ Oct 10 2016, 03:09 AM)
How are your sales mechanism? One off ? Or do you lock them down through monthly retention?

Between Software and Security, what are the revenue  breakdown like? Which one contributes more?
Yeah should say one off only. Just for software only yearly retention.
We do our job very well to satisfy the customer therefore they keep on give project. So it's already few month since last I do sales tongue.gif .
Between those two I should say even.
In term of resource, security use a lot of time cause need to do job on site. sometime 1~2 weeks

This post has been edited by awir2core: Oct 10 2016, 09:07 AM
toffeemoose
post Oct 10 2016, 09:26 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Oct 9 2016, 11:31 PM)
that is class A, direct contract from GOV, what ur friend did is sub contract from those Class A ppl than begging for payment smile.gif
Depends on ministry, software contracts do not have any upfront/mobilisation fees any more...has been that way for some time...that's why the financial background is a critical factor when going for tender/contracts...even for lowly quotations

But I have heard n seen some rare exceptions...
Mr.Weezy
post Oct 10 2016, 10:09 AM

无处安放的魅力
945 posts

Hi there,

I'm currently doing some reselling work that involves very very high risk, that compensates with high reward.

Invested RM400, netted profit of RM8xx in 3 weeks.

However the business is illegal in nature, do you think I should quit selling this and turn into an investor myself?

I have a few people that are willing to work for me
TSSplynncryth
post Oct 10 2016, 12:14 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(Chisinlouz @ Oct 10 2016, 08:04 AM)

Hi, thanks for feedback.

Gov/GLC agri projects some failed because of generic issue. Natural cause like pests (preventable), El-nino and flash flood just to name a few. Apart from that, probability to fail is higher from mismanagement. I believe i dont need to elaborate so we skip that.

Taiwan and Japanese is way ahead from us in term of agricultural technology. I did prompt their Agri Dept to get some information but you know, not successful. But yet, most information is easily available online so, no big deal. But i will prepare a study trip there in future.

You mentioned that agri business is better to export for good gain. I agree with this. But not to forget, local supply here is much in shortage too. But i adapt low risk strategy, planting some non-seasonal, stable pricing, labor and cost intensive but yet is profitable stuff. No illegal thing brows.gif

I believe that news about failed project from Felda ect is not publicly accessible, maybe you have better information source or you're not normal people like us. But i am interested to take a look at their failed projects and try to do something from it.

I understand from investor's point of view, they need to juggle between risk, stability, profitability and most importantly both short/long term gain when doing any investments. Invest in agri would give you lower risk among portfolio compared to F&B in my opinion.

Some say man looks hot in sweat. I accessed the risk and possibilities, change my white collar and get sun tan daily, for free. smile.gif

Cheers.
We need to start having members with list of businesses and projects they're involved on, together with special skill set & hobby. So that when some of us get's projects that we tend to ignore or pass, we can hand it over to them. I've many times turned down CCTV contracts from the Govt. as it was not my portfolio and busy handling other contracts.

Rather that just ranting on the board, it would be good if we start collecting these information and putting it together and see if we can work on something bigger.
TSSplynncryth
post Oct 10 2016, 12:23 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Weezy @ Oct 10 2016, 10:09 AM)
Hi there,

I'm currently doing some reselling work that involves very very high risk, that compensates with high reward.

Invested RM400, netted profit of RM8xx in 3 weeks.

However the business is illegal in nature, do you think I should quit selling this and turn into an investor myself?

I have a few people that are willing to work for me
Well, anything with very-high-risk is best case outsourced. And in any line of work, when there's opportunity to shift from Active to Passive income and becomes an investor yourself, It's a better way to consolidate more time and expand into new areas.

But look at long term. How sustainable is this business? RM800 profit in 3 weeks? That's a little under don't you think? irrespective of whether it's easy or not. (About 270 a week)

Lets look at the easiest most accessible job right now which is Uber/Grab which on a full time could generate more than RM150 a day. On a Lazy week it's still RM500 per week. Less risk. No question about the Illegality. Provide better side income in short term before hopping on another platform.

Anything that's not sustainable long term is something you should get on if possible, and outsourced fast. So you can focus on the next project that could hopefully one day provides secure passive income rather having to work all the way to retirement.

As again, there's never one way to look into business. This is just from one perspective.
NicJolin
post Oct 10 2016, 12:24 PM

Stop monitoring =)
1,053 posts

Started my own small business few months ago as my side income, i still have a full time job myself.

I set up everything myself in my after work/weekend time in about 3 months time.

Links/descriptions in my signature below.

Please help to follow my social media too tongue.gif Thanks in Advance

Manage to sell some

I think it mainly lacks publicity and I'm currently considering a few options,

1) find an influencer, like on instagram etc. But i'm not exactly sure how useful is this, usually influencer would ask for the product as FOC and some will also ask for money for each post.
2) facebook/instagram ads. Could be cheap to expensive. Not sure how useful also because I never clicks on any facebook/insta ads myself. Similar to google ads, you can refine your ads to demographic/time/location etc.
3) go to some of those small roadshows once in a while at shopping malls where small starts up people go & sell some fashion items? could cost few hundreds just to rent a booth there for few days and the level of exposure might be lower than option 1) and 2) itself

Any input guys? laugh.gif

Much appreciate

This post has been edited by NicJolin: Oct 10 2016, 12:27 PM

10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0212sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:58 AM