DSLR recommendation, budget around 3k

TSeatuup
post Oct 6 2016, 09:23 AM, updated 10y ago

189 posts

Hello sifus, i was tasked to find dslr camera for the college. Since i don't know or familiar about camera stuff, i need help if u guys can suggest what is the best and easiest camera for newbie to handle.
If can, can get 2 camera for budget around not more than 3k?
hightechgadgets8
post Oct 6 2016, 09:34 AM

\(^o^)/
6,020 posts

which side are you on? canon or nikon
kelvinling
post Oct 6 2016, 12:00 PM

520 posts

I think the biggest question here lies on what you need the cameras for. Video? Photo? Do you need it for studio shoots? Project shoots? Yes, definitely possible to get 2 new DSLR under 3K. But would it fit your criterias?
DaddyO
post Oct 6 2016, 01:33 PM

1,255 posts

3k is bit low for 2 dslr. Unless u dont mind 2nd hand which still cost slightly more than 3k for not too old model.

Definitely either nikon or canon apsc dslr fit the bill.

This post has been edited by DaddyO: Oct 6 2016, 01:35 PM
Fzeo
post Oct 6 2016, 01:41 PM

455 posts

your first dslr? entry level? rm3k?

Nikon is sharp and warm/vivid. (Lens is expensive compare to canon)

Canon is soft and cool color. (more easy to use/user friendly)

--
My suggestion: just find second hand or used camera.

Nikon d5300/d7100/d7200 + some lenses
OR
Canon 60d/70d/80d + some lenses

--
My kits is Nikon. Sometimes I borrow canon.
kidmad
post Oct 6 2016, 02:09 PM

4,482 posts

You need brand new with receipt right?

I guess 3 options only
Canon 1300D topup 100 for 2 units
Canon 100D topup 300 for 2 units
Nikon D3300 topup 200 for 2 units

Canon 1300D will be the later model. With WiFi and nfc.
TSeatuup
post Oct 10 2016, 12:10 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(hightechgadgets8 @ Oct 6 2016, 09:34 AM)
which side are you on? canon or nikon
im not on any side as im not familiar with camera stuff

QUOTE(kelvinling @ Oct 6 2016, 12:00 PM)
I think the biggest question here lies on what you need the cameras for. Video? Photo? Do you need it for studio shoots? Project shoots? Yes, definitely possible to get 2 new DSLR under 3K. But would it fit your criterias?
ill need one for photography and another one mainly for video recording. I am now considering a compact camera for recording video and trying to lower the budget if i can

QUOTE(DaddyO @ Oct 6 2016, 01:33 PM)
3k is bit low for 2 dslr. Unless u dont mind 2nd hand which still cost slightly more than 3k for not too old model.

Definitely either nikon or canon apsc dslr fit the bill.
well i dont think the college would want a 2nd hand camera

QUOTE(Fzeo @ Oct 6 2016, 01:41 PM)
your first dslr? entry level? rm3k?

Nikon is sharp and warm/vivid. (Lens is expensive compare to canon)

Canon is soft and cool color. (more easy to use/user friendly)

--
My suggestion: just find second hand or used camera.

Nikon d5300/d7100/d7200 + some lenses
OR
Canon 60d/70d/80d + some lenses

--
My kits is Nikon. Sometimes I borrow canon.
well, can recommend me a compact camera that can record video great and also a dslr?

QUOTE(kidmad @ Oct 6 2016, 02:09 PM)
You need brand new with receipt right?

I guess 3 options only
Canon 1300D topup 100 for 2 units
Canon 100D topup 300 for 2 units
Nikon D3300 topup 200 for 2 units

Canon 1300D will be the later model. With WiFi and nfc.
right now considering a compact camera to record video and dslr to capture photo
Loseeker
post Oct 10 2016, 12:57 PM

Apa Macam
899 posts

QUOTE(eatuup @ Oct 10 2016, 12:10 PM)
right now considering a compact camera to record video and dslr to capture photo
For 3K budget to have 2 camera is a bit tight. Since you don't mind a compact camera for video work, given your budget, I'd suggest this:
Full HD video recording with difference frame rate and give you good zoom 30X. So, best within your budget I think.

http://shashinki.com/shop/canon-powershot-...ia-p-23826.html

As for your DSLR for still, this is what I would recommend. Why? Because it's the cheapest DSLR and it does HD video recording also incase you need it.

http://shashinki.com/shop/canon-1200d-digi...rt-p-23251.html

RM1113 + RM 1431 = RM 2544 still under your 3k budget!

Shashinki prices quoted above are for reference only. If you search for them on other website (example: lazada) you might find even better deal. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Loseeker: Oct 10 2016, 12:59 PM
Fzeo
post Oct 10 2016, 06:24 PM

455 posts

well, can recommend me a compact camera that can record video great and also a dslr?

Sony A6000 is good for recording video. Still not 60fps for 1080p. Yet my boss use it along Canon 6D for video recording.

A6300 is new version but expensive.

So, try get a6000. Then go find Samyang 35mm lens plus adapter for Samyang-Sony mount. It will produce awesome video.

a6000 + mount adapter + samyang 35mm T1.5 = around 3k

dslr? how abt 70D. good camera for video.
zzzxtreme
post Oct 10 2016, 06:39 PM

Synth Freak
4,300 posts

get sony A6000. you won't regret it
DaddyO
post Oct 10 2016, 06:56 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Oct 10 2016, 06:39 PM)
It's for his college not personal lah. A6000 is good but you bring this to any event, most people without camera knowledge would think some tourist with compact cam. And don't mention about adding battery pack to make it look pro cause that cost money too.

This post has been edited by DaddyO: Oct 10 2016, 06:56 PM
Loseeker
post Oct 10 2016, 07:02 PM

Apa Macam
899 posts

QUOTE(Fzeo @ Oct 10 2016, 06:24 PM)
Sony A6000 is good for recording video. Still not 60fps for 1080p. Yet my boss use it along Canon 6D for video recording.

A6300 is new version but expensive.

So, try get a6000. Then go find Samyang 35mm lens plus adapter for Samyang-Sony mount. It will produce awesome video.
a6000 + mount adapter + samyang 35mm T1.5 = around 3k
dslr? how abt 70D. good camera for video.
QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Oct 10 2016, 06:39 PM)
A6000 is good camera. I bought one myself. But it will blow his budget (RM 3K) for getting two camera.

This post has been edited by Loseeker: Oct 10 2016, 07:04 PM
DaddyO
post Oct 10 2016, 07:09 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Oct 10 2016, 07:02 PM)
A6000 is good camera. I bought one myself. But it will blow his budget (RM 3K) for 2 cameras.
If TS (or his college) don't mind small mirrorless cam, then 2 x a5100 would have been more than enough with image quality on par with a6000. Got touchscreen some more so newbie is right at home.
zzzxtreme
post Oct 10 2016, 07:16 PM

Synth Freak
4,300 posts

College say MUST get dslr is it? Or any ILC
DaddyO
post Oct 10 2016, 08:00 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Oct 10 2016, 07:16 PM)
College say MUST get dslr is it? Or any ILC
Not really. If college is ok with small compact mirrorless, it's fine.

But what is the likelihood of them understanding when they gave the task to buy 2 dslr to someone not familiar with camera stuff with mere budget of RM3k? laugh.gif Besides, if college's dslr got problem, nikon and canon at least have decent customer service. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by DaddyO: Oct 10 2016, 08:01 PM
kidmad
post Oct 10 2016, 08:10 PM

4,482 posts

You want a compact camera or action camera?

Action cam can consider gopro session but yi 4k will be a much better choice.

Dslr get canon 1300D la easy
ricstc
post Oct 10 2016, 08:16 PM

Saya Pun Nak Cari Makan
2,272 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Oct 10 2016, 12:57 PM)
For 3K budget to have 2 camera is a bit tight. Since you don't mind a compact camera for video work, given your budget, I'd suggest this:
Full HD video recording with difference frame rate and give you good zoom 30X. So, best within your budget I think.

http://shashinki.com/shop/canon-powershot-...ia-p-23826.html

As for your DSLR for still, this is what I would recommend. Why? Because it's the cheapest DSLR and it does HD video recording also incase you need it. 

http://shashinki.com/shop/canon-1200d-digi...rt-p-23251.html

RM1113 + RM 1431 = RM 2544 still under your 3k budget!

Shashinki prices quoted above are for reference only. If you search for them on other website (example: lazada) you might find even better deal.  thumbup.gif
I found your sharing very beneficial to me

thank you for this
Fzeo
post Oct 10 2016, 09:08 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Oct 10 2016, 07:02 PM)
A6000 is good camera. I bought one myself. But it will blow his budget (RM 3K) for getting two camera.
haha. get 1 A6000 (new with kitlens) and 1 d5100 (used)

can get 3k i think.
Loseeker
post Oct 10 2016, 10:28 PM

Apa Macam
899 posts

QUOTE(ricstc @ Oct 10 2016, 08:16 PM)
I found your sharing very beneficial to me

thank you for this
You are most welcome. Glad my suggestion help. nod.gif

QUOTE(Fzeo @ Oct 10 2016, 09:08 PM)
haha. get 1 A6000 (new with kitlens) and 1 d5100 (used)

can get 3k i think.
Seems like TS mentioned the college may not want a 2nd hand camera. So the cheapest DSLR to go with A6000 is a Canon 1200D, which still blow his budget. hmm.gif

well i dont think the college would want a 2nd hand camera

Fzeo
post Oct 10 2016, 10:44 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Oct 10 2016, 10:28 PM)
You are most welcome.  Glad my suggestion help. nod.gif
Seems like TS mentioned the college may not want a 2nd hand camera. So the cheapest DSLR to go with A6000 is a Canon 1200D, which still blow his budget.  hmm.gif
then take two 1200D. easy story. same batery, easy charge, easy swap lens, easy spam money for lens. no need choose with one bttr.

nvr use 1200d. good?

0.0210sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:45 PM