PC in Car, do any of you have it?

wiraone
post Oct 1 2010, 03:34 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

Thanks Sifu .. now .. need to get it going with CF3.1 smile.gif

Added on October 1, 2010, 3:35 pmBTW, where do I set the baud rate? Ain't the plugin should do it automatically?

This post has been edited by wiraone: Oct 1 2010, 03:35 PM
wiraone
post Oct 1 2010, 03:42 PM

3,892 posts

Driving? Haha.. not yet lah .. need to find a good casing for it first .. prolly will stop by at Jln Pasar tomorrow and hunt for an aluminum casing .. and looking for redtail catfish too .. haha.. tested it on bench, couldn't find many FM stations .. or do I need to manually enter the frequencies? I haven't install the antenna too ..
wiraone
post Oct 1 2010, 04:12 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(mxsteven @ Oct 1 2010, 04:03 PM)
The antenna reception is GREAT like hell (Dalam bahasa Melayu panggil Teruk gile babas)

I would like to reconfirm with your setup
Hah..ha.. so, our antenna is no good? Since I'm not going to remove my current HDU, probably I could rewire the FM cable to the antenna and supply the 12V to it.. smile.gif
wiraone
post Oct 4 2010, 12:51 PM

3,892 posts

I just tested the DAB module in the car, haven't install the antenna yet ..but I could receive more FM frequencies than when it was on the bench.. much clearer too..yay!! Now .. need to drill the roof for the antenna ..
wiraone
post Oct 5 2010, 02:21 PM

3,892 posts

Haha, happy jadi Italian lah!! Anyway, my antenna installation wasn't good. Spent few hours yesterday, all the good reception gone. Probably because I wind the long coax cable, I guess need to cut it short because when I straighten the cable, the quality becomes much better on FM. Will continue working on it tomorrow.
wiraone
post Oct 6 2010, 12:20 PM

3,892 posts

Alright, went to finish my uncompleted job on the antenna, instead of the coax cable coiling under the roof/ceiling, it is now coiling at the other end, near the radio and this solved the FM reception problem that I experienced before. DAB reception wasn't a problem at all .. so, next will be to cut the coax and resolder the connector again. Too lazy for it now, will do this later when I need to shorten up my amateur rig too smile.gif

The centrafuse interface is really buggy ..

1) The station/info on the top are doubled on the left and right side.
2) Sometime lost control of the radio
3) My favourite that I saved gone when I restart centrafuse
4) Waking up from sleep, the radio will blast off and I couldn't control it..

In other word .. the DAB module works, but not the software .. they need to do lot of programming hours to solve the problem.

This post has been edited by wiraone: Oct 6 2010, 12:26 PM
wiraone
post Oct 8 2010, 07:35 AM

3,892 posts

I guess the guy who drove the car was asleep while driving, there are lot of sharp bends around KL, especially exit/entering the highways .. the interconnection between PLUS, DUKE, Kerinchi, etc .. if you're not alert, you can hit the divider. And not slowing down at those bends are asking for a trouble for sure.

BTW, littlemin, I've Logitech webcam pro 9000 in my car, but looking at the footage that you posted, the guy have a very nice cam.
wiraone
post Oct 12 2010, 11:54 AM

3,892 posts

Bidding for Visteon HD Radio now .. hehe.. the DAB module is quite good for receiving DAB frequencies but not for FM.. I can get clear DAB reception on most broadcasted DAB frequencies but on FM .. adoi, only few that works.
wiraone
post Oct 13 2010, 06:18 AM

3,892 posts

Mitch doesn't sell radio, he sells the cable only. Mocoso has both, mitch cable and the Directed HD for around US$100 before shipping.
wiraone
post Oct 14 2010, 09:59 PM

3,892 posts

Alright .. got the Visteon HD ZOOM for US$40.10 but the postage is killing, US$41 sad.gif .. now to get the mitch's cable, he doesn't reply my email yet on the cost of shipping the cable to Malaysia. When I tried to order, the shipping cost = 0 .. don't think he is shipping it FOC.

Added on October 14, 2010, 10:39 pmIf anyone got money to burn .. There is one Directed HD listed, shipping the same, US$41 (priority mail flat rate)..

http://cgi.ebay.com.my/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi...em=330484136425

This post has been edited by wiraone: Oct 14 2010, 10:39 PM
wiraone
post Oct 15 2010, 06:57 AM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(shaunk86 @ Oct 15 2010, 12:55 AM)
Hmm.. interesting.. Bout the Mitch serial communication cable.. is it hard to build ourself?
shaunk, the cable is not a straight or any direct cable. I believe it has some interface built in inside the DB-9 housing. I've no idea if this is a TTL level shifter (aka MAX232). I'll see when I get the cable.

steven, received a reply from Mitch, he has never post it to Malaysia and he asked for USD$5 extra to cover the postage. So total cost for me is US$29.25 for the cable and US$81.10 for the HDR radio shipped. BTW, the ebay guy is fast, I've just got a notification that the radio has been shipped with tracking number.

Added on October 15, 2010, 7:00 am
QUOTE(SuggieBliss @ Oct 15 2010, 12:55 AM)
If you pimpmed your rides like on MTV, be prepared to be robbed. People here are nasty... Pity how they steal and break into cars... I had my rims changed last time and the idiots stole my rims tyre caps  (the thing you use to put air into the tyres) cuz mine were the metal ones.
Well, if you look at my car .. you surely don't know if its has all the car pc power in it .. smile.gif It just like a normal car .. and it doesn't have notebook in there either.

This post has been edited by wiraone: Oct 15 2010, 07:00 AM
wiraone
post Oct 23 2010, 04:42 PM

3,892 posts

Arghh.. 1) My newly bought antenna sudah patah when I went to Damansara Specialist parking, damn, so low .. grr..! Now need to get a replacement, probably just get replacement locally..no DAB.. 2) Just got a letter from POS M'sia saying my HD radio is stuck at the Customs. Need to go to LCCT to clear up myself.. 3) My HD is acting up, this is the new Hitachi replacement that I just put in .. now, need to rip off the carpc from the car and change the fan to the original noisy fan.. no idea if carpc is bad idea on 4x4 .. probably need to go for SSD..

This post has been edited by wiraone: Oct 23 2010, 04:43 PM
wiraone
post Oct 25 2010, 11:09 AM

3,892 posts

Ok, got it through .. no tax/duty/type approval needed .. it stuck there because the seller put HD Radio as description .. I guess if it was computer interface HD-R, it will go through no problem .. now waiting for mitch cable to arrive ..

Added on October 25, 2010, 11:11 amBTW, this is the exact same radio as yours Steven, the other one that was listed (Directed) was sold for US$30 .. mine I got it for US$40. Both brands are OEM-ing the HDR from iBiquity.

This post has been edited by wiraone: Oct 25 2010, 11:11 AM
wiraone
post Oct 26 2010, 12:05 PM

3,892 posts

Still waiting for the Mitch's cable .. the carpc is now ripped off once again from the car. This time, to put back the noisy fan in (it spins at 6400rpm) but hopefully this will last for more than a week since I've just pre-ordered an SSD drive (being cheapo, the 64GB KingstonV).

I'm wondering if I can have two storage drives, the SSD for system/boot and the current HD for junks .. movies, musics and to store the webcam captures .. I wonder too if the way I drive my car (I go on bumps like they are not there .. hehe) causes the problem with my HD smile.gif

BTW, where LittleMin gone lah? .. what is the update now on his setup?

This post has been edited by wiraone: Oct 26 2010, 12:07 PM
wiraone
post Oct 27 2010, 02:41 PM

3,892 posts

Steven, check this guy out .. he said his FM reception is as good as the DAB .. he said that he soldered the FM adaptor to the DAB module ..

http://forums.fluxmedia.net/carpc-related-....html#post79446

Haven't test this out .. but hey, got HDR with better support, so, I'll stick with it for now. Need to repair the mast .. no idea how to though.. will weld it back solve my problem? smile.gif
wiraone
post Nov 7 2010, 10:10 AM

3,892 posts

Done with redo all the works on my ham radio + installing the HDR. Just come across an old posting saying that in order to get FM on the Craig's DAB module, we need to connect an FM antenna and not use a DAB antenna. Haha.. what a waste now when I got an HDR already. For now, Crag's DAB module will be in my drawer, collecting dust .. until if he can come up with better plugin support.

Anyway, moving the ham radio to the back of the car doesn't reduce interference, probably need to redo the antenna cabling.. oh well, good exercise and got to redo all my cabling, much better now. Next in the line is the SSD upgrade which will be hopefully done next week.
wiraone
post Nov 10 2010, 08:05 PM

3,892 posts

Checking centrafuse forum, many are having problem with silabs chip, when bench testing the radio, everything seems to be perfect but once they moved the radio to the car, reception is really really bad. Many are suggesting to go for HDR which can be found sometime on ebay for around USD$30-40 before shipping.

Anyway Sifu Steven, need help .. why sometime when coming from hibernate, I couldn't control the radio.. happen quite a few times already for me. I've no idea if this is Win7 or Centrafuse problem .. I've set the config in centrafuse to reset audio on wakeup. Another thing, I do sometime found that when Centrafuse wakes up from hibernate, it goes to mute mode. Annoying sometime ... Does older Centrafuse having the same problem too?

Added on November 10, 2010, 8:08 pmOh BTW, I'm on SSD now .. 64GB Kingston V series .. speedwise during bootup, not much different from running off the Hitachi 7200rpm that I've but I don't need to worry about going on bumps now smile.gif

This post has been edited by wiraone: Nov 10 2010, 08:08 PM
wiraone
post Nov 11 2010, 01:38 PM

3,892 posts

ebay bro .. ebay .. find someone who wants it .. and bulk buy ..
wiraone
post Nov 12 2010, 06:13 PM

3,892 posts

Ok, found this that hopefully will solve my problem:

http://forums.fluxmedia.net/52761-post10.html

The solution is to power the HDR from my carpc power supply, means, I need to split the tft monitor power cable to provide the power needed for the HDR. Will try this during the weekend. It is annoying when the HDR sometime could work and sometime just couldn't .. I thought it has to do with the USB->RS232.
wiraone
post Nov 12 2010, 06:28 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(mxsteven @ Nov 12 2010, 06:19 PM)
i wired my HDR to ACC power directly... mine directly to motherboard comport without USB 232.
Problem is, my zotac doesn't have com port sad.gif btw, the ign wire, do you wire up to ign line or to your acc as well, otherwise the radio will always on. I believe, since my ign wire is currently wired up to ign line, when i switch off the car, this cut off the radio before the pc goes completly hibernate.

Added on November 12, 2010, 6:55 pmhey .. didn't realised that my zotac has COM header .. no wonder I always see COM1 in the device driver .. will wire it up .. so can forget the USB headache after this..

This post has been edited by wiraone: Nov 12 2010, 06:55 PM

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0326sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:13 AM