PC in Car, do any of you have it?
wiraone
Nov 16 2010, 09:18 AM
QUOTE(shaunk86 @ Nov 15 2010, 10:53 PM) Thx for the advice bro MxSteven! but sadly still no luck.. mayb the HDR is the only way to go...  Try your luck with ebay lah.. HDR can be had for around US$30-40 before shipping. Usually they'll charge around US$40 for the shipment (quite heavy). Visteon or Directed, they're both the same unit OEMed from the same company. Mitch's cable is US$25 shipped (have no idea what in the circuitry, probably just TTL level converters).
wiraone
Nov 16 2010, 04:01 PM
mo-co-so has it for around US$80 for the HDR but if you can get free shipping, even cheaper lah then ebay  BTW, mo-co-so has been very helpful to me when I need to get my HD replacement.. is it single person business since most of the time, Chris was the one who dealt with me.
wiraone
Dec 8 2010, 10:51 AM
QUOTE(GuN @ Dec 8 2010, 10:45 AM) [/spoiler] where to get this??? interested to get one for my project. Check lelong.com.my .. its there..
wiraone
Dec 8 2010, 11:27 AM
No idea bro, there is button "ask seller" .. ask the seller if you could do COD/cash in person .. check the feedbacks left by buyers too.. I haven't used lelong for a long time already..
This post has been edited by wiraone: Dec 8 2010, 11:29 AM
wiraone
Dec 14 2010, 11:20 PM
I bought mine from mocoso through their ebay store.
wiraone
Dec 22 2010, 04:43 PM
For my carpc, seems to be working alright now .. but last few days, the pc decided to switch back on after I turn the ignition switch off .. probably the big keyboard that I've near my door which I always hit when I tried to get in and out of the car  Bought the RII minikeyboard, yet to be seen and I've filled a refute with paypal .. grr.. US$50 .. and the keyboard is nowhere to be seen. Added on December 22, 2010, 4:45 pmOh .. latest centrafuse should be available this week .. Added on December 22, 2010, 4:46 pmOuch.. they've delayed it once again .. "As for the final release of 3.2 - we're now targeting mid-January to have a solid stable and polished release for everyone. " This post has been edited by wiraone: Dec 22 2010, 04:46 PM
wiraone
Dec 29 2010, 07:06 PM
Anyone looking for casing, this guy might have very interesting one: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1524297 Probably can check with him the internal dimension ..
wiraone
Jan 7 2011, 03:06 PM
Latest update from me, migrated from Centrafuse to RideRunner today  Much better radio interface compared to Centrafuse.. should've install this from day one instead of buying the Centrafuse. But will keep both, just in case the 3.2 will have much better interface. Only thing with RideRunner, when it was on my bench, it was very responsive, but not after I moved it into the car.. probably because there wasn't any devices connected.. but the radio, webcam, gps etc are there in the car setup.
wiraone
Jan 10 2011, 09:07 AM
QUOTE(mxsteven @ Jan 10 2011, 08:28 AM) Hmmmm Ride runner better? well later i will try to get another spare HDD.... can you guide me how to install the plugins? u have the apps? Hamid.... maybe later before i go to vietnam... i pass my car to u lor... can try to install hehe.... Haha.. I took the carpc out to my bench, can't stand working inside the car with 800x600 screen  Well, I didn't install the plugins one by one.. I just use Reborn skin with installer, it has all the things I need except the ODBII, RR doesn't have a native ODBII plugin  Did some customisation first before moved the carpc back into the car. Now, need to find a way to get the Google earth to activate the GPS, something is not right with the plugin.. no idea if I need to installer older version of the Google earth.. but nice to see your track on the screen. One other thing, this is not RR related .. I couldn't get my broadband dongle to dial out after hibernation.. damn.. Huwaei driver is so limited, it doesn't support hibernation.. probably need to find different dongle or may be get a MIFI
wiraone
Feb 8 2011, 07:30 PM
BTW, R&R is not that difficult to install lah.. just grab the installer, then grab the skin .. and few plugins as per the guide .. I'm running R&R as default now.
wiraone
Feb 8 2011, 09:14 PM
BTW, did you guys read the newspaper two days ago, some stupid JPJ state director said that they'll take action on people who add tv, tv/gps in their cars .. and that'll include us too isn't it?
wiraone
Feb 10 2011, 05:21 PM
Anybody using mifi? Since my daughter has just got her ipod touch, I believe running mifi will be a better option rather than having a headache with huwaei driver not resetting when waking up from hibernation and doing a restart everytime.
wiraone
Feb 11 2011, 03:41 PM
mifi is a 3G router/hotspot .. running on a battery, you can share your broadband with I think 5 wifi devices.
Added on February 11, 2011, 3:42 pmProblem with maxis usb dongle, which is manufactured by Huawei, it won't survive hibernation.. you need to recycle power each time to get XP or Win7 to recognise it.
This post has been edited by wiraone: Feb 11 2011, 03:42 PM
wiraone
Feb 11 2011, 04:03 PM
Problem is not with the USB power Steven, but with the driver.
wiraone
Feb 20 2011, 08:43 AM
Better here, pretty much related to car rather than to PC hardware  We can close the other thread
wiraone
Feb 28 2011, 07:47 PM
Haha.. and I've just got myself a E585 mifi today..
wiraone
Feb 28 2011, 09:24 PM
Haven't got a chance to test it while moving.. I'll test it tomorrow and see..
wiraone
Mar 1 2011, 07:37 PM
I did a test this afternoon, driving from Sg Buloh to Ampang using MRR2, I was getting 3G/HSDPA all the way but at two points my audio streaming got disconnected, one nearing The Store Sg Buloh and the other one, near Kompleks Desa Kepong on MRR2 flyover. The rest were smooth.. I didn't test the streaming when coming back through NKVE tho' but my daughter didn't complain of any connection drop.. so I guess its okay.. didn't use any external antenna.. so, quite good I would say.
Added on March 1, 2011, 7:53 pmBTW, test at 110km/h .. no problem too with the data connection using Celcom..
This post has been edited by wiraone: Mar 1 2011, 07:53 PM
wiraone
Mar 1 2011, 08:35 PM
Latest centrafuse 3.5 out already? Nice.. going to try it out tomorrow...!!
This post has been edited by wiraone: Mar 1 2011, 08:39 PM
wiraone
Mar 1 2011, 08:42 PM
QUOTE(mxsteven @ Mar 1 2011, 08:37 PM) yeah... see the video... kewlllll.. pssssttt any lorong belakang hahahaha There will be, guess you need to wait a bit.. I guess I could upgrade to 3.5 FOC.. Added on March 1, 2011, 8:50 pmbut ... nickmack is no longer active, gmpc support is now left to one plugin, paid that it.. Added on March 2, 2011, 8:22 amDid a quick installation this morning, the graphics on clean skin looks nice, functionality seems to be okay as 3.1 too. I haven't play that much but I believe there still quite a number of bugs, when playing the HDR, when I do a buffered audio (click on the fast fwd icon), the display stays showing "Buffered Audio" and never return to the frequency. I've no idea where to activate the RDS.. Played the video and I got a JIT error which I can ignore. My take, I'll go back to R&R and stay with it first. Added on March 16, 2011, 9:34 pmNice case for carpc here... http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1762952This post has been edited by wiraone: Mar 16 2011, 09:34 PM