APPLE PAY IN MALAYSIA, Official arrives in Malaysia! Aug 2022!

xperiaDROID
post Jul 22 2022, 09:43 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(pauper21 @ Jul 22 2022, 07:59 PM)
some LRT stations have machine that accept Mydebit card, not sure whether work for Apple Pay anot
Those MyDebit terminals in LRT stations are still not ready yet, it has been in testing phase since ages, even if you tap your physical card it will only show you an error.

QUOTE(wjleong15 @ Jul 22 2022, 08:46 PM)
I think now pasarana has it own app called justpay
But i never try
JustPay is basically now a rename of their previous MyRapidTap app, you can't do anything with it at the moment.

They were planning to introduce a new open payment system which accepts their own MyRapidTap QR payment, TnG card and DC/CC as well, but then it was halted after the new Prasarana CEO stepped up.

They could be preparing something new with JustPay, but what they done so far is only changing the name.
xperiaDROID
post Jul 27 2022, 05:50 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(me076310 @ Jul 27 2022, 05:11 PM)
Quick update guys, I can say with reasonable certainty that the Apple Pay will be launched in Malaysia in less than two weeks' time.
Not an iOS user, but still very happy that you guys are finally getting Apple Pay after such a long wait.

Personally still waiting for Google Pay to enter Malaysia, and it seems hopeful that the day will come after Apple Pay enters here.

If we can have the two biggest NFC payments here, it would definitely be so much more convenient to use alongside e wallets so it's easy to switch back and forth depending on the situation when making payments.

Also, I remember when Maybank discontinued Maybank Pay few years back, they promised that there will be something " more exctiting" coming, seems like they were referring to Apple Pay at the time but got delayed for some reason.

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Jul 27 2022, 05:53 PM
xperiaDROID
post Jul 27 2022, 11:11 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(pauper21 @ Jul 27 2022, 09:20 PM)
I think they are referring to Spay.
I don't think so because Samsung Pay was launched in 2017 and Maybank cards were already supported at that time, Maybank Pay was discontinued on July 2020 but they also teased that something more exciting is coming.

If what they referred was something similar, I guess it's likely that they were referring to Apple Pay and Google Pay.

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Jul 27 2022, 11:13 PM
xperiaDROID
post Jul 28 2022, 01:37 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 28 2022, 08:13 AM)
Actually when they discontinued Maybank Pay, it was because of the launch of DuitNow QR (Paynet BNM)
Ah, so that's why it took them few years to finally approve it, it makes sense since Duitnow QR is quite matured now when it comes to acceptance and user base.

QUOTE(shockk @ Jul 28 2022, 11:12 AM)
This will certainly draw more Android users to jump camp to Apple since there is nothing much on Android that is as good as Apple Pay.
Honestly, I wouldn't jump to iOS just because of Apple Pay, someone gave me an iPhone XS Max to try but I gave it back after a week, I see why the ecosystem is appealing to some but it's definitely not for me when it comes to phones at least, I do prefer iPads over Android tablets though.

But one thing for sure is that the launch of Apple Pay in Malaysia will certainly be a game changer as it would help NFC payments to gain more traction and hopefully more to come in the future, the current ones we have like Samsung Pay, Huawei Pay and GoPayz are seriously not enough.

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Jul 28 2022, 01:53 PM
xperiaDROID
post Aug 1 2022, 01:18 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(PoisonSoul @ Aug 1 2022, 01:14 PM)
iPay88 macam dun hv terminals. What he saw is the online payment type only as there’s no offline/terminal one for iPay88. Terminals have to go korek eGHL or watever that orange terminal (99 speedmart is using) company for more info. Other terminals are bank based d.
*suddenly rmb, can korek Fasspay also. They got the numpad like terminal too.
iPay88 does provide terminals, been to many stores (99 speedmart included) that uses the same orange-colored Sunmi device with iPay88 printed on receipt.

https://www.ipay88.com/retail/terminal/

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Aug 1 2022, 01:20 PM
xperiaDROID
post Aug 4 2022, 11:15 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(RonanGow @ Aug 4 2022, 10:12 PM)
Google pay also appear on android shopee app

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Aug 4 2022, 10:21 PM)
Ok just checked on Android Shopee based on RonanGow's post, and it is indeed there, has there been any news about iPay88 working on Google Pay integration? Or any local market integration?

user posted image (Captured on DeX and this is what showed after clicking Buy With GPay)

user posted image Left being Google Pay and right being GPay (Newer version of Google Pay)

Unfortunately can't screenshot the actual payment page with the card/gmail page due to security policy of Android. Maybe Shopee is just trying to integrate both AP/GP despite availability? Not sure..
Nvm googled and it seems like GP has been available from iPay88 since 2019, but only for payment terminal processing and not actual contactless (Wave) payment.. so ehhh?
QUOTE(Noelleshaw @ Aug 4 2022, 10:25 PM)
QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Aug 4 2022, 10:29 PM)
time to move to android.....hahahaha. either apple or google. both equal share.
QUOTE(megustatu @ Aug 4 2022, 10:35 PM)
According to history, iPay88 has actually implemented Google Pay back in 2019, however at that time it was only limited to purchases in Play Store.

But perhaps more importantly, I think we should look into whether the appearance of Google Pay in Malaysia's Shopee app occurred at the same time as Apple Pay. If true, chances could either be:

- Google Pay would arrive in near future following Apple Pay's release
  - they accidentally toggled the Gpay option while updating the app to finally support AP
The Google Pay option in Shopee app has already appeared since the end of 2021, this is because of iPay88 collaboration with Google to enable Google Pay for online merchants. Hence, Shopee is using iPay88 as their payment gateway which is why there's such option.

I think there's not much speculations to be made for Google Pay at the moment until Google Wallet can be downloaded in our region because currently it's unavailable, the app can only be downloaded if Google Pay is in the particular region.

But judging from what Visa Thailand has said about that they're already testing both Apple Pay and Google Pay in their region, I'm still hopeful that it's the same case here and we'll see it happen in the near future.

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Aug 4 2022, 11:16 PM
xperiaDROID
post Aug 4 2022, 11:46 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Aug 4 2022, 11:22 PM)
Thought I might have seen it before but I might have gaslighted myself into thinking it wasn't there before, but with how things are with NFC payment in Malaysia currently, I won't be surprised if Google Pay/Wallet (Or whatever it's officially called) comes to MY market before the year ends. But if it still isn't here, hey we still have SP/AP (Hopefully relatively soon). More options for us consumers to choose from the better, so we don't have to be locked into one ecosystem at least
Fingers crossed, I truly believe we're gonna have all the major NFC payments here sooner or later. biggrin.gif

Btw, I think we're going a little off topic here since this discussion thread is for Apple Pay, maybe someone can open a discussion thread for Google Pay/Google Wallet in LYN Android section so Android users can continue the discussions there instead.

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Aug 4 2022, 11:46 PM
xperiaDROID
post Aug 5 2022, 01:47 AM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Aug 4 2022, 11:57 PM)
Yep was about to say the same, I'm done tho but if anyone here is interested in opening another thread, I'm down to get into GP at that thread as well tongue.gif
Looks like there's already a Google Pay thread in E wallets & Mobile Payment section:

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4804494#

Time for thread revival. thumbup.gif
xperiaDROID
post Aug 5 2022, 01:04 PM

K
3,966 posts

I'm just wondering, is there a possibility that our AP will be soft launched by Visa & Mastercard Malaysia instead of directly by Apple themselves?

Since Apple's own event will be on September right? hmm.gif
xperiaDROID
post Aug 5 2022, 01:10 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Aug 5 2022, 01:00 PM)
People mostly use ewallets for the rewards given anyways, not for the convenience of it. Pulling out your phone + opening app + preparing to scan is way more inconvenient than just pulling out your phone and double tapping the lock button to bring up AP/SP
E wallets are still useful to use in stores that don't accept card payments, especially those roadside stalls.

To each of their own I guess, personally would use both e wallets and NFC payments depending on the situation, while NFC payment would be a tad quicker, the difference would just be a slight few seconds.
xperiaDROID
post Aug 5 2022, 01:36 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(yenchenje @ Aug 5 2022, 01:24 PM)
Don’t get me wrong but I personally do also use both e wallets/NFC payment, but in the situation where NFC and e wallets are both available, I’ll choose to use NFC over e wallets almost all the time, unless for some reason their terminals is having issues with contactless. Really is frustrating how cashless adoption is still done so poorly.
Totally agree, and cashless adoption here needs more work tbh.

This post has been edited by xperiaDROID: Aug 5 2022, 01:37 PM
xperiaDROID
post Aug 5 2022, 02:25 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(megustatu @ Aug 5 2022, 02:20 PM)
It really makes the difference, whether you put the flier in premise or enabling AP service on ecommerce platform. But of course the former one would look more like a serious "leak", because technically (and legally) AP memang haven't released in Malaysia yet, but then someone suddenly put up a sign saying "XX accepted here". Think about it how Apple would see that as an offence.

Those ecommerce like Shopee on the other hand, would have a very valid excuse like "I just toggle teh switch now only mah". Cuz at the end of the day for what Shopee/Adidas do, they don't explicitly put it as "XX has been released in Malaysia" that kind of sense.

TLDR: It's a legal word game.
E commerce platforms are easy to forgive because it's not their fault for Apple Pay to appear, it's the payment gateway they're using that caused it to appear and probably inevitable because they need to get it ready before launch and such.

I bet those e commerce platforms are using the same payment gateway as Shopee which is iPay88.
xperiaDROID
post Aug 7 2022, 03:28 AM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(liberty0480 @ Aug 7 2022, 01:57 AM)
Seeing that Apple Pay is very likely to launch soon, I hope that Rapid KL would seriously consider adopting "Open-Loop Payment (OLP)" so that passengers could pay with Credit/Debit cards that they already own.

Understand that Rapid KL might have had a trial back in 2020 (seems to only involve our local debit network scheme, MyDebit), I sincerely hope that they would at least offer support for Visa and Mastercard (V/MC) if they ever adopt OLP as this would ensure that:
1. Apple Pay and other Mobile Wallets (Samsung / Google Wallet) users would be able to pay with their phones.
Note: Yet to see any indication that Apple Pay would launch with support for MyDebit, tho in other countries such as Australia it is possible to use dual-network cards in Apple Pay (Australia: V/MC + eftpos; in Malaysia's case: V/MC + MyDebit; Google: "Use dual-network debit cards with Apple Pay in Australia"). Don't think Samsung Wallet supports MyDebit yet as well.

2. Foreign visitors have an option to not need to go through the hassle to acquire a TnG card upon arriving.
Note: I cannot stress how smooth sailing my experience was getting onto public transport networks in London and Sydney as both transit systems have adopted OLP and would accept any Visa, Mastercard or even AmEx payment cards. Both transit systems still offer the pre-existing Closed-Loop payment scheme in addition to OLP (London: Oyster Card; Sydney: Opal Card) and passengers have the benefit of added options (my experience in Sydney: 50/50 between OLP and Opal with the younger generation preferring the former). Despite using OLP, I still get similar or exact benefits as I would be getting with Oyster/Opal cards (daily and weekly fare caps).

Based on an article I found online (Google: "Visa Reports 50 Open-Loop Launches and Strong Growth in Transactions for First Half of Fiscal Year"), 50 new OLP launches were recorded in the year ending Q1 2022 and in total >500 travel agencies currently supports Visa as a payment method. This shows that OLP is one of the key trends in public transport going into the future. A quick search seems to indicate that Rapid KL has adopted Vix Technology's fare collection system. Vix has the capability to deploy OLP given that they have deployed several elsewhere.

Some examples of OLP adoption within the transit systems (based on secondary research; just Google: "Open-Loop Transit [city name]"):
1. Singapore
2. Bangkok (potentially still in trial)
3. Hong Kong (thousands of busses; Octopus Card (HK's TnG equivalent) could be added to AP)
4. London
5. Sydney
6. New York
7. Vancouver
8. Portland
9. Brussels
10. Stockholm
11. Multiple French cities
12. Venice (Considering)
13. Barcelona (Considering)

Maybe Xavier Naxa would be interested in launching a petition on this to hopefully convince Rapid KL that there is a demand for OLP and (in relevance to this thread) so that Apple Pay users would be able to maximise this highly likely soon-to-launch feature?
Rapid KL's OLP system is already in the works, it's called JustPay.

Currently on trial for RapidPenang buses until this month, soon to be expanded to other cities and also more payment options ranging from JustPay QR, Visa/Mastercard/Unionpay cards, e wallets and also physical TnG card.

https://www.justpay.net.my/

0.0256sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:58 AM