APPLE PAY IN MALAYSIA, Official arrives in Malaysia! Aug 2022!

dreamthief
post Aug 10 2022, 01:34 AM

Banned
2,669 posts

QUOTE(lionking7791 @ Aug 10 2022, 12:32 AM)
Does anyone know whether Apply Pay can make any transaction more than RM200 ??
https://soyacincau.com/2022/08/09/apple-pay...by-samsung-pay/

According to this… can go above and beyond.

Today tried at guardian, MBB MAsterCard and iPhone.

The cashier was bit puzzled… I was holding phone while asking for paywave. She thought I’m using eWallet. 🤣

Same sentiments as others. If released much earlier would be cool. Now it’s just meh… another payment channel.

Only pro, is online payment being secured since no need to key in credit card information to be store like Shopee.
dreamthief
post Aug 10 2022, 11:43 PM

Banned
2,669 posts

QUOTE(fox_shinoda @ Aug 10 2022, 11:36 PM)
Today paid using my Apple Watch at Sushi King, smooth. Some says when you already unlocked your phone moving it near the credit card terminal will auto open Apple Pay wallet app, is the Apple Watch the same?

Just now I double press the side button to open the wallet app on my watch
It works? I unlocked my iphone, went near the terminal, nothing happens. The lady cashier was confused, what i'm trying to do. I probably look suspicious also. She initially thought i'm using phone to pay via ewallet. (I remember the early days, no one really using ewallet, so you take out phone, everyone is confused)

End up i double press side button, face id authenticate and pay.
dreamthief
post Aug 11 2022, 11:45 PM

Banned
2,669 posts

Surprisingly Apple Pay a lot of exposure. Around KL/PJ.. people are quite aware of Apple Pay.

KFC even updated their kiosk. Power of apple. Samsung pay was quite lukewarm.
dreamthief
post Aug 14 2022, 12:57 AM

Banned
2,669 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Aug 12 2022, 12:24 PM)
When to the garden and wife try 1st time to pay parking with Apple Pay. Tried so many times also no go until ketiak also pain also couldn’t find the place to tap. 😂
QUOTE(Joseph1203 @ Aug 12 2022, 12:35 PM)
parking using Apple pay pening larh
So far, I think Apple Pay is not requiring anything special. Any terminals that can accept paywave should work.

Where to aim the phone at, just see where would you put your credit card/tng card at. iPhone has an apple logo behind right. Just aim the upper part from the logo would work, don't need to be accurate also. But touching the phone to the terminal contact is required, just like how you use credit card to tap.
dreamthief
post Aug 14 2022, 02:17 AM

Banned
2,669 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Aug 14 2022, 01:16 AM)
Finally saw about car park, yes some car park not working well on spay, look like apay also same problem
I tap2, terminal no respond, spay say payment complete
Which car park having issues? Just curious

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Aug 14 2022, 01:19 AM)
Just now use AP on Shopee... works fine.. But I dont think is an advantages use AP on shopee as all of the promotion are not able to use and they more into Shopee pay..
Dont see any benefit using Apple Pay with Shopee. I also think using e-wallets like Grabpay/Tng ewallet has more benefits. The use case to me for Apple pay, instead of using physical credit card, use Apple Pay.

QUOTE(hairwire @ Aug 14 2022, 01:32 AM)
This is weird. I went to Jaya Grocer Eco Majestic on the first day of AP launch, no issue. I guess they made up this bullshit rules after.  shakehead.gif
Yep, definitely BS. They didn't say anything to me when I tried AP first of day of launch at the Eco Majestic branch.
to me, i rather just say pay by paywave instead mentioning AP.

dreamthief
post Aug 14 2022, 01:37 PM

Banned
2,669 posts

QUOTE(hairwire @ Aug 14 2022, 02:42 AM)
Definitely. I never say AP or SP (I have been using for a year - bought an A52 just for SP  biggrin.gif ).

I always say "Paywave/wave boleh?".  smile.gif

Edit: I think the original comment I replied to was mentioning Paywave/wave as well when paying, but the cashier saw the device and immediately said no. So that's what I called BS.
Yup. Unless someone can explain more, why paywave and AP is very much different.

QUOTE(Lemonadex96 @ Aug 14 2022, 12:11 PM)
Tried to use AP on Sunmi terminal by HLB at Burger King. Not working
the physical credit card worked? The other reason I can think of, certain terminals work for certain bank cards.

like PBB/MBB - one terminal. CIMB one terminal. So terminal doesn't work for AP because of your underlying card you are using. ANyone think it's likely?
dreamthief
post Aug 17 2022, 09:30 PM

Banned
2,669 posts

QUOTE(KaiHD @ Aug 15 2022, 08:46 PM)
hmmmm i think something else might be factor here…

the fees that Apple charges for Apple Pay is deducted from the bank’s share of the MDR cost that the merchant already paid - so to merchant’s perspective, the MDR cost will be the same as physical contactless. this is how it works worldwide already (also Maybank already on record stating MDR fees they charge to merchants is same as physical contactless)

what i think might be influencing this is how the terminal is setup. it’s possible that PBB terminal runs the transaction through a different card networks - ie. it will try myDebit first, then only Visa/Mastercard. so physical cards which have support local myDebit network can end up getting lower MDR fees than Apple Pay which must run through the foreign Visa/Mastercard network (which causes higher fees)

also PBB might have different MDR rates for different banks so that might be why the Alliance card have a lower cost than the Maybank ones
Yes.. I would agree. So lesson here is don’t bother mention Apple Pay. Just say paywave and if required mention Master or Visa.

Especially PBB terminals.. tend to have selective acceptance. Places like SENHENG, they use different card terminal depending what card u use. It guess it applies to Apple Pay which underlying card you use.

QUOTE(TongCN @ Aug 17 2022, 04:27 PM)
Yea, my citibank cash back card in Samsung pay exceed RM250.01 after key in Pin result fail, not  sure why
AP advantage is no rm250 limit. It will transact. Samsung pay subjected to the use PIN and guess it’s integration issue.
dreamthief
post Aug 18 2022, 03:43 PM

Banned
2,669 posts

QUOTE(wenjuinchuah @ Aug 17 2022, 10:17 PM)
Senheng shouldn’t have any problem using apple pay cause both senheng and senQ join apple pay

Sorry… my context was… SENHENG as an example.. have many credit card terminals. Now that they support Apple Pay, it’s different situation.

Each credit card terminals meant for different Payment provider like visa or master etc. it’s in those scenario, we make payment. Go by paywave, if needed mention visa or master.

What I observed so far…

1) If the shop/retail outlet supports Apple Pay. No problem. Just say pay Apple Pay

2) If shop/retail doesn’t explicitly mention Apple Pay. Better don’t even mention it. Just say Paywave.

3) if you see so many credit card terminals of different shape and sizes. Better to say Paywave and Visa/Master etc.

4) PARKING - I believe most commented. When exiting, need to tap twice.

I think it’s because first time.. is meant to inform the system what credit card. Apple Pay probably “close the connection”.
Second time, to actually make the payment.
dreamthief
post Aug 20 2022, 04:04 PM

Banned
2,669 posts

QUOTE(GiganticBird @ Aug 18 2022, 05:03 PM)
oh my, i will just say paywave and take out my phone to pay, then its up to the casher if he wants to change terminal  or what
Well… when you use physical card, also the same right? The cashier will direct you to whichever appropriate. I am seeing lesser and lesser use of multiple terminals.

But just a guide I am sharing from usage and experience.
dreamthief
post Sep 30 2022, 01:21 AM

Banned
2,669 posts

Now Amex supports ApplePay. terminal needs to support Amex to be able to paywave? Hmmm….

If I’m merchant, rather not allow Amex since higher charges… lol

This post has been edited by dreamthief: Sep 30 2022, 01:21 AM
dreamthief
post Oct 4 2022, 07:14 PM

Banned
2,669 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Oct 2 2022, 11:47 AM)
Just curious how much is the charge for Visa and Amex?
No idea. You can google search, common theme and even you ask the store, bosses and owners, they will say this. Many years back.

QUOTE(Braxton @ Oct 2 2022, 01:27 PM)
just say paywave, if fails said try again and change card lo
So far.. fail… lol

QUOTE(d@odao @ Oct 2 2022, 02:33 PM)
Nowadays like not really need to say payway as I noticed.
Merchant like know liao is apple pay.
I just did few payment yesterday with amex didn’t even say amex. All passed.
Quite a few, but a lot also keep asking again, cause they see I’m using phone. Thinking it’s qr payment. You lucky, so far Maybank terminal, Public bank, all don’t accept Amex. So if the shop accepts AP or Amex, it would work.

dreamthief
post Oct 5 2022, 02:41 PM

Banned
2,669 posts

QUOTE(BuKeYi @ Oct 5 2022, 10:07 AM)
Shopping mall mostly know about AP, some I didn't even mentioned and take out my phone they direct ask me tap on the terminal.
True, agree. Shopping mall more familiar i think especially they spot you using iPhone or Apple Watch.

I see other customers, very chill. dont take out wallet or phone, like tapping something on watch. The cashier also know what to do.

QUOTE(Mavik @ Oct 5 2022, 10:12 AM)
I had a funny reaction when I wanted to pay with Grab Pay and took out my phone then the sales lady held the paywave merchant terminal closer to me for me to tap my phone  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Exactly happened to me.
dreamthief
post Oct 23 2022, 06:41 PM

Banned
2,669 posts

Well.. Carl’s Jr Midvalley. Rejects Apple Pay.

Apple Pay with Amex (try this first since they accept Amex)

Then Apple Pay SCB card master also fails.
dreamthief
post Oct 24 2022, 06:06 PM

Banned
2,669 posts

QUOTE(rko0504 @ Oct 24 2022, 11:12 AM)
Mean they accept AmEx but not apple pay?
The terminal anyway. If not mistaken, it’s a Maybank terminal.

0.0300sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:29 AM