APPLE PAY IN MALAYSIA, Official arrives in Malaysia! Aug 2022!

deepan84
post Oct 9 2021, 02:39 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

No reason for local banks to take up Apple Pay. Even Samsung Pay didn’t take off as expected.
deepan84
post Oct 19 2021, 12:39 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 19 2021, 12:20 PM)
No reason at all, when they sendiri have their own qr pay. Malaysia going qr pay which is more like china adopt. Summore no need to pay royalty, this sohai apple ask for alot and don wan give incentive to bank lol.

even samsung pay also cannot fly. but samsung pay is ok la no need fly cos now u wan ma u use don wan then don use.
Further more T&G and Maybank really taking up market share. Too late for apple to enter.
deepan84
post Aug 5 2022, 03:57 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(megustatu @ Aug 5 2022, 02:20 PM)
It really makes the difference, whether you put the flier in premise or enabling AP service on ecommerce platform. But of course the former one would look more like a serious "leak", because technically (and legally) AP memang haven't released in Malaysia yet, but then someone suddenly put up a sign saying "XX accepted here". Think about it how Apple would see that as an offence.

Those ecommerce like Shopee on the other hand, would have a very valid excuse like "I just toggle teh switch now only mah". Cuz at the end of the day for what Shopee/Adidas do, they don't explicitly put it as "XX has been released in Malaysia" that kind of sense.

TLDR: It's a legal word game.
This is a perfect example of overthinking.
deepan84
post Aug 8 2022, 08:03 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(wjleong15 @ Aug 8 2022, 08:01 PM)
5 hours to go
I reckon it’s 1am Wednesday malaysia time.
deepan84
post Aug 8 2022, 08:31 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(muhdimranh @ Aug 8 2022, 08:27 PM)
Heard it will be released on 9th of August. Can’t be 1 a.m. Wednesday surely.
Usually US release date on Tuesday is Wednesday ungodly hours here in Malaysia due to time difference. I assume the codes are pushed from HQ. If local launch, the probably noon tmw.
deepan84
post Aug 9 2022, 09:16 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

After using Apple Pay today, I feel abit lacklustre. Using the card is the same. If it came out in 2015, might be different. But now like overtaken by other tech. Waving the card is equally easy.
deepan84
post Aug 10 2022, 04:15 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Aug 10 2022, 04:11 PM)
That is weird as I was just at AEON Big at Jaya One and it worked flawlessly
Mine all ok. Worked at shell R&R, restaurants with paywave terminal, RockBottom bar Melaka.
deepan84
post Aug 15 2022, 07:07 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Aug 15 2022, 06:22 PM)
I have SC and Maybank and AMBANK which already registered with AP. I find no reason to use them since it doesn't give me any cashback benefit. In the end, priority is cashback first.
For me, just the ease of paying without taking out wallet.

0.1318sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:00 AM