APPLE PAY IN MALAYSIA, Official arrives in Malaysia! Aug 2022!

TongCN
post Feb 4 2022, 10:54 AM

Look ma, I have lots stars :D
6,681 posts

QUOTE(PoisonSoul @ Jan 31 2022, 11:55 AM)
Bloody hell so many steps for 1 payment. Yes, I know we can cut down steps 1-4/5 by opening up the app first but it still takes farking long time to just do 1 simple transaction. Let’s not say AP. Normal CC or DC would only go like this:
1) take card out
2) wave or pin
3) if pin, enter ur pin lo
4) wait…
5) paid or error.

See? So much easier. Now see AP and SP.
1) take phone out
2) biometric or pin
3) wave
4) if more, enter pin on terminal
5) wait
6) paid or error.

Extra 1 step only but there’s higher chance the phone is already in ur hands. Better yet, AW is already on ur wrist.

Will ppl chg habit? Points n rewards chasers wont leave certain eWallets cos they offer better rewards. But mostly, general Apple users are more “savvy” and wanna show “ada gaya” so, yes to ur question and I’ll be one of them.
Using cards also mean you have to bring more cards out.
Nowadays i just bring NRIC , Car license and 1 CC (Public bank quantum visa most of the time) basically just in case
Others i'm just load into samsung pay (if got apple pay then yea) together with bonuslink and watson member.

One downside probably is mobile connection in the shop is weak then ranting.gif
TongCN
post Aug 8 2022, 10:31 AM

6,681 posts

i hate some merchant will need to store ur cc info when request for paywave =.=
They said boss bagitau mau key into system.

Then i dun have physical card with me (paying using samsung pay)

TongCN
post Aug 9 2022, 08:47 AM

6,681 posts

QUOTE(cyxnide @ Aug 9 2022, 08:42 AM)
I'm not sure if this has been asked before or not but...

When I wanna use AP do I need to tell the merchant I'm paying with AP or just mention paywave?
Just tell them paywave

Same as i'm using samsung pay, the cashier might give a "weird" face but ignore them biggrin.gif
TongCN
post Aug 9 2022, 09:32 AM

6,681 posts

Lol ... u guys screenshot should hide away the last 4 digits (actual card number)?

I see that Apple Pay doesnt use the virtual 4 digit (Device account number) on main page unlike Samsung Pay.

This post has been edited by TongCN: Aug 9 2022, 09:32 AM
TongCN
post Aug 9 2022, 09:36 AM

6,681 posts

QUOTE(ngbeslhang @ Aug 9 2022, 09:34 AM)
Nope, it's hidden in each card's settings

Though to be fair, without the rest of the numbers, the date and CCV, you can't do anything about it
Ya but what i meant is the main screen of wallet is showing Actual 4 digit instead of the virtual one

Virtual one u can see once u click "show card details"
TongCN
post Aug 10 2022, 08:33 AM

6,681 posts

QUOTE(Kaitodesuuu @ Aug 10 2022, 01:00 AM)
is there anyone here that has previously used Samsung pay and managed to register the same card on AP?
I know Public bank has this restriction of can only registering one card in one digital wallet.

Last time mine registered under my Note 8 and kenak water dmg later.
Then i wanna register on new phone Note 10 lite and it keeps failing.

Called PBB and they said need to de-register the old device then only can register on new device... sweat.gif
Lucky my Note 8 still can boot up (with distortion screen) and half blind remove the card.
TongCN
post Aug 10 2022, 09:17 AM

6,681 posts

QUOTE(wjleong15 @ Aug 10 2022, 08:57 AM)
i believed you are referring to ebanking app
many banks have the same restriction such as ambank scb etc
last time when i transferred to my new phone it deactivated the apps from my old phones
I think it wont affect the set up of Apple Pay if they support it
but I doubt PBB will support it in the next few months (even I hope it will)
my opinion is this is a stone-age mindset bank in technology  hmm.gif
No, i'm referring to adding physical card into digital wallet.
PBB has this restriction of binding one Physical credit card into one digital wallet only.

You can see page 3 > Note 3
https://www.pbebank.com/pdf/Promotions/faq_samsung-pay.aspx
TongCN
post Aug 15 2022, 11:45 AM

6,681 posts

Some store very weird one =.=

When using Apple Pay to pay, the cashier require me to show them physical card to verify ... (i'm the owner?)

TongCN
post Aug 15 2022, 12:00 PM

6,681 posts

QUOTE(sramesh @ Aug 15 2022, 11:53 AM)
LOL their own SOP. Defeats the purpose of having digital payment. I never bring my cards along. I Just bring along my MAE card in case.
Yea, kinda stupid.

I already use phone to Pay, then still need me spend sometime to dig out from my pocket/wallet.
And what if i do not bring the card?

Cancel all the scanned items and you (cashier) self settle all the items then on the table whistling.gif
TongCN
post Aug 15 2022, 03:11 PM

6,681 posts

If we can add the card into Apple Pay, meaning we have already go through the verification of ownership : SMS or call the bank before confirm adding.

So why still need doubt (from the cashier or store manager)

This post has been edited by TongCN: Aug 15 2022, 03:12 PM
TongCN
post Aug 17 2022, 04:27 PM

6,681 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Aug 17 2022, 08:36 AM)
A thing that spay don have, still same limit 250 need PIN, as i see on spay thread, some card will reject, trans will fail
Yea, my citibank cash back card in Samsung pay exceed RM250.01 after key in Pin result fail, not sure why
TongCN
post Aug 22 2022, 02:48 PM

6,681 posts

Went my local senheng and wanna pay with Apple Pay (they have banner which indicate Apple Pay is available now and small card banner at counter)

When i told them "bayar dengan apple pay" while pointing toward the card banner. The staff like "black man question mark" then ask her colleague.

Then colleague also dunno then cincai tell me "belum ada sini"
Fliptable =.=

Nvm, lazy argue, use samsung pay then.
TongCN
post Aug 22 2022, 03:31 PM

6,681 posts

QUOTE(wenjuinchuah @ Aug 22 2022, 03:06 PM)
Just say wave
QUOTE(loonsave @ Aug 22 2022, 03:07 PM)
You can't expect Senheng staff know what is going on. They have some old terminal that don't support contactless payment at all. I tried to make payment with SC Master, they dig out an old terminal and power on it, but that terminal don't support contactless. End up I have to pay with my MBB Visa and wave it from my AW.

If not ready then they shouldn't put out the banner - " We accept Apple Pay Here " in the first place.
Such a big banner placing there and still not educate after 1 week + ?
TongCN
post Aug 22 2022, 03:54 PM

6,681 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Aug 22 2022, 03:38 PM)
why dai dai have to mention apple pay leh...just tell them wave then they will understand.

to me i always tell them that i want to use "wave" instead of apple pay, cuz i dont expect  everyone would know what it's called apple pay.
I did tell them it is same as wave saja but they don't wanna proceed also
Add on: Possible they dunno wat to key in the system as payment method, too *

QUOTE(loonsave @ Aug 22 2022, 03:45 PM)
Because there is no benefit to educate their sales agent. I think Senheng don't really care because it doesn't matter to them. Their online and retail different system, always no stock in warehouse, items more expensive then other electronic store. I go there simply want to finish my s-coin.
It's one of the cashier job to be educated.
Last time they even dunno apa itu "duitnow" when it's start surfacing doh.gif Only give excuses.

This post has been edited by TongCN: Aug 22 2022, 03:56 PM
TongCN
post Aug 22 2022, 04:11 PM

6,681 posts

Also in accounting record side in their system, treatment of Apple Pay should be differ with Paywave also since the charges % is differ.

So instead of saying Paywave, Apple Pay should be the correct term.

This is if u care ur own business accounting only
(Sorry, i'm auditor / account ppl)
TongCN
post Aug 22 2022, 04:20 PM

6,681 posts

QUOTE(plurbuddyskuppy @ Aug 22 2022, 04:16 PM)
Any idea how much different between Paywave vs apple pay?
would like to implement for my business.

my terminal guys slow reponse.
I'm not sure about other bank like Alliance and SCB but Harimau bank now is same rate : https://www.maybank2u.com.my/iwov-resources...erchant-faq.pdf

Future might have changes i guess?
TongCN
post Aug 26 2022, 11:17 AM

6,681 posts

Lol .. yesterday i was playing Nintendo Switch and the right joycon = NFC if u aware of it.

I picked up my phone and placed the Switch in front of me on the table.
After done reply msg, i then placed the phone cross over the switch (meaning pass by the right joycon NFC)
The apple wallet suddenly shows up and request FaceID, lol ...

TongCN
post May 31 2023, 04:00 PM

6,681 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ May 31 2023, 11:15 AM)
Is like that loh. Don’t be sad.
Need to ask can support blah blah cards then tap tap.
I also kena tap then failed then only know not support by merchant. 😅
Got few times the cashier doesnt ask so i tap AMEX (in apple pay) onto their machine and pass

Then when cashier check the receipt and saw AMEX, Sh**
ask me to revert the transaction and use VISA or MASTERCARd, lolz ..

Else kenak boss slap later

This post has been edited by TongCN: May 31 2023, 04:01 PM
TongCN
post Dec 7 2023, 01:06 PM

6,681 posts

QUOTE(The1stHumanBeing @ Dec 6 2023, 12:39 AM)
Yeah agreed, just annoyed because imagine if you only brought your phone that day and no wallet. I guess don’t need to pay lmao. But in all seriousness, I noticed that another restaurant that the staff are always friendly to me and gives me a free drink, uses the same bank terminal as this merchant as well. Are there banks in Malaysia that are anti Mobile Wallet (Apple, Samsung and Google Pay)?
Bank wants u to use more cause they can get % of commission biggrin.gif

Only those KiamSiap merchant or old fashion tauke dun wan :\

TongCN
post Mar 18 2024, 10:35 AM

6,681 posts

Apple Pay is convenient but no benefit unlike Samsung Pay (even though the benefit also shaved down a lot compare to launch period)

for now i only use Hong Leong bank Wise & PBB Quantum Visa in Samsung Pay since Apple Pay no support.

MBB & SCB & Wise (green) into Apple Pay.

0.6201sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:45 AM