APPLE PAY IN MALAYSIA, Official arrives in Malaysia! Aug 2022!

yenchenje
post Aug 15 2022, 07:20 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(Kaitodesuuu @ Aug 15 2022, 06:18 PM)
Has anyone noticed that AP doesn't like working with those white color POS machines? I kena at both 7E in my area and one other place with an identical white color POS machine
The white one at 7E is castles's, and so far with my MBB Visa Debit Platinum there hasn't been any issue, but do note the cards I have are only Visa and not MC
yenchenje
post Aug 17 2022, 01:08 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Aug 17 2022, 09:14 AM)
yenchenje tagging to get the attention
Checked and can't pin point when exactly is the changes made, reverted it
yenchenje
post Aug 17 2022, 01:15 PM

932 posts

And it looks like when trying to delete and re-add the card to Wallet to get the name right, it broke AP on my watch but not on my iPhone XS and iPad Pro 10.5 tongue.gif , gonna update to beta 6 to see if it fixes this issue
yenchenje
post Aug 29 2022, 09:25 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(darren_yuri @ Aug 29 2022, 03:18 PM)
CU Mid Valley
Black HLB terminal transaction declined while using Apple Pay.

Tried twice also failed.
Maybank Visa Debit.
Personally have used this terminal a few time, from CU to MCD(Pretty sure it’s the same/similar model) and worked every time, had more transactions before but I deleted/re-paired my card for the name to be right(Was previously named Maybank Card)

There was one time where it was rejecting both my card(SP + Physical) but that’s because CU staff there hasn’t ran the daily settlement report, once they ran the settlement I was able to wave just fine, and this was also before AP arrived in MY(I was using SPay)

This post has been edited by yenchenje: Aug 29 2022, 09:27 PM
yenchenje
post Aug 30 2022, 12:26 AM

932 posts

QUOTE(Phirence93 @ Aug 29 2022, 10:04 PM)

The Apple Pay Add Debit/Credit Card Button Gone from my wallet. My phone has updated to the latest ios 15.6.1. Anyone can help to solve? Phone setting reset also same.
Please check this, as if your region is properly set it will say Add card to Apple Wallet blah blah blah on the first page of Wallet

QUOTE(calviny2 @ Aug 29 2022, 11:58 PM)
Have u checked ur region settings being properly set to Malaysia?
yenchenje
post Sep 1 2022, 10:01 PM

932 posts

Not sure if this'll contribute anything but so far I haven't had an issue with my transactions showing up, all the terminals are mixed brands. Maybank Platinum Visa Debit

Wallet Transactions

AW Transactions

This post has been edited by yenchenje: Sep 1 2022, 10:04 PM
yenchenje
post Sep 2 2022, 05:20 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(GiganticBird @ Sep 1 2022, 10:16 PM)
visa card has the least problem or should i say close to none, most unsuccessful case one was mastercard, for me so far only speedmart cannot, other places all ok

theres one guy posted a comment saying same mastercard same terminal but different devices (AP & SP), sp can but ap cannot, judging from this then should be apple problem d.
Interesting, also looks like a lot of issues here has it being Visa/MC CC as well, not much DC hmm.gif
yenchenje
post Sep 4 2022, 11:33 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(megustatu @ Sep 4 2022, 11:10 PM)
I think it doesn’t really matter cuz if Apple Pay is really specific like what you said, then I’d like to provide 2 arguments:

1. Why would Maybank continue to put MyDebit logo on the virtual card if Apple Pay really doesn’t support MyDebit at all?
2. Petron counter’s POS only accepts MyDebit AFAIK. And so how @yenchenje managed to tap his card on a “solely” MyDebit terminal?

Most importantly is that, I think, MyDebit is just a subnetwork which exists under Visa/Mastercard (correct me if I’m wrong), right? I mean the logic is, if the superset works then the subset should as well.
Just a clarification, I paid for gas at the counter, the same terminal they were using to scan Petron Miles card, they initially took out a black (I assume Castles terminal?) and then the other cashier to the cashier that was serving me to use the same machine they used for scanning Petron Miles card. Iirc it's a silver terminal with a big touch screen (Didn't really see the brand of it hmm.gif)

Also another update, currently my Shopee Pay transactions doesn't show up in my wallet app as well, it might just be an Apple side issue after all this time, contactless is still fine though pretty sure. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by yenchenje: Sep 4 2022, 11:37 PM
yenchenje
post Sep 5 2022, 03:50 PM

932 posts

Update: Wallet suddenly spit out all my previous transactions at once, including Shopee which was previously broken
yenchenje
post Sep 15 2022, 07:27 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Sep 15 2022, 08:08 AM)
Anyone tried their Malaysian cards in oversea before with Apple Pay? Does it work?

I am in Japan now and I tried my Maybank card in many places and only one place (convenience store called Lawson) worked. I put my Apple Watch infront of POS system for like 4-5 seconds and there was no response for my Maybank Card. I tried in 2 Lawsons and only 1 worked with my Maybank card

But when I use my Japanese card and there is no issue and transaction went through within second.
Just throwing my two cents here real quick, for me, I've tried to use AP in Singapore at Shaw Theatres but it failed outright, it wasn't like yours not giving response at all, rather it would appear on my AP history saying that it's rejected, usually if it's fine it should be accepted on tap. I'm fairly certain it's because some issues with my card that I don't know about that's making it reject overseas payment(I've activated almost everything in my M2U app and web, yet it's the same, and also it has rejected my physical card). For Japan with how their system works, it probably is because of either a configuration issue or just the terminal plain outdated. Or maybe it's not designed to work with foreign cards, that's what I think might have happened if your AP is just not responding vs outright rejected. icon_rolleyes.gif

Edit: My card is Maybank Visa Platinum Debit.

This post has been edited by yenchenje: Sep 15 2022, 07:28 PM
yenchenje
post Sep 15 2022, 07:35 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(sean0411 @ Sep 15 2022, 07:29 PM)
May I know how do you use the Perron Miles Card to scan at machine? Because at my place the can’t scan it at all
What do you mean by that? I paid for my gas at the counter and they scanned my petron miles card with the same machine I used AP at if that's what you're asking
yenchenje
post Sep 16 2022, 12:24 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Sep 16 2022, 08:07 AM)
I 99% believe that the reason you couldn't use ApplePay in SG is the issue with your Maybank card and not the ApplePay itself because it even rejected your physical card. So it has nothing to do with Apple Pay.

Need to confirm with your bank first or maybe need to change to new card or something
Just got my card replaced like a few months ago, so I doubt it's that, it's probably something to do with MBB not allowing overseas physical transactions or something, I'll have to look into it sweat.gif
yenchenje
post Jan 5 2023, 01:04 AM

932 posts

QUOTE(hurricane21 @ Jan 4 2023, 10:46 PM)
Anyone tried to add 1 same card to 2 different iPhones with different Apple ID?

Thinking to add my card for my sister for backup usage but I need to keep the physical card myself and the card is already added into mine Apple Pay.
Added my MAE to 3 devices seperately with different apple ID(Mom's, Sister's and my own), all worked just fine. I think there's a physical limit on MBB side to 5 devices per card, so you should be fine as long as it's below 5 devices at once.
yenchenje
post Jan 17 2023, 09:38 PM

932 posts

Apparently Touch N Go prepaid is finally launching, hoping that they’ll allow it to be added to AP but considering their track record.. :/
yenchenje
post Jan 22 2023, 06:04 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(splinter @ Jan 22 2023, 02:10 PM)
So far is it safe to use Apple Pay? In term on security strength. Nowadays too many fraud/cons cases, bit scare on too convenient payment method.
I mean considering PayWave is unsecure as shit(Anyone can just get a PayWave capable terminal, swipe on your banks, wallet etc etc and RM250 without limit till the daily limit of PayWave hits) an added layer to use authentication on AP to access the function seems like a no brainer no? Also if a merchant supports AP (Not Wave but direct integration), all the payment information sent to the merchant is your device's account number, exp date and CVV. Let's say the merchant database got breached(Considering even Microsoft/Google gets breaches from time to time, not saying Apple won't do the same but considering their track record.. flex.gif ), the leaked database will only contain your device's account number and not your actual card info (PayWave directly reports your card number, exp date and CVV to the merchant terminal/site without masking it with device's account number, anyone can just get your card info, do some social engineering and bing, minus whatever in your account sweat.gif . This also applies to SP/GP with the minus of the benefit wheres there's no artificial RM250 limit.

Also about DC support in certain banks in Malaysia.. sweat.gif sweat.gif
IF other countries like SIngapore supports both Debit/Credit, there's no reason that any of those banks in SG can't do the same in MY, there's 100% politics/kedekut-cy at play here where they don't even want to accept that low of a rate. In SG, all the banks literally supports both CC/DC, meanwhile only Maybank is the one supporting locally. Won't be surprised if other banks never supports DC or maybe Maybank even pulling DC support. Hopefully they don't but :/
yenchenje
post Mar 22 2023, 12:50 AM

932 posts

QUOTE(liberty0480 @ Mar 21 2023, 01:35 PM)
Apple Pay has launched in South Korea today with 1 financial institutions.

Unfortunately users could only use AP at a limited number of merchants as most merchants’ terminals supports only Magnetic Stripe & Chip only.

Hopefully more FIs in Korea would offer AP which creates more users. When the number of AP users increases, I reckon merchants would gain some confidence in investing in a NFC-Capable Terminal!
Considering how advanced Korea is technology wise, I'm kinda surprised and not I guess. Considering LG Pay and Samsung Pay has been holding onto the Contactless Payment market in Korea as the only sole competitor in Korea. Wondering how much Apple and 현대카드 is taking in terms of fee for them to finally start rolling out AP there.
yenchenje
post Mar 31 2023, 09:08 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Mar 31 2023, 05:02 PM)
hsbc - credit card only
wise card
SG issued card or Malaysian tongue.gif
yenchenje
post Apr 23 2023, 04:08 PM

932 posts

For anyone with a Singapore card here (DBS/POSB specifically), have you had any issues with using it locally in MY? Currently I have a DBS/POSB debit card, enabled overseas transaction usage, but the only one working is still only physical card, card added into Apple Pay still isn't working, re-added it after enabling overseas transaction, still wouldn't work. Anyone has any idea what the issue might be? From what I remember for the error messages on the terminal, it's all timeout, no response etc etc.
yenchenje
post Oct 16 2023, 12:35 PM

932 posts

QUOTE(BetterCallSaul @ Oct 16 2023, 12:26 PM)
Last time this forumer below managed to enrol their MAE card into 3 devices, so it should work for credit cards as well (assuming you are using Maybank). In regards to different country, as long as in the Wallet app you can add a card, you should be able to enrol the card.
My findings from back in January (not sure if it has been revised, need to check with your respective bank), there are limits to how many devices you can enrol your card into.
Currently I have Maybank Debit Master, MAE, Wise UK, Wise MY, DBS SG, Revolut Normal SG, Revolut Metal SG all in 4 of my Apple Devices (15 Pro, XS, iPad 10.5, AWS6) and on 1 of my Android device. Havent tried anything beyond that, it shouldnt be limited to Apple ID but just bank side smile.gif

9 Pages « < 7 8 9Top

0.1298sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:01 PM