5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Amateur RoadRunner Journal, Run, Run, Run

TSdeadalus
post Jan 30 2007, 08:39 PM, updated 17y ago

Live Life Cool
796 posts

Being a regular short distance runner for the past 7 years, i am awared that performance have been declining gradually since 3 years ago eversince i start working. As part of the effort to reallign my training on the right track, i feel that by keeping a record on training might helps to regain the fitness that i lost throughout the years. flex.gif

Some technique that i employ during the jog:

Calf-Drive[CD]>>> Using calf muscle to generate the movement
Thight-Drive[TD] >>> Using thight muscle to generate the movement
8 beat breathing [8B1] >>> "1 2 3 4 [Inhale], 5 6 7 8 [Exhale]" (Beginning stage)
8 beat breathing [8B2] >>> " 1 2 Inhale], 3 4 [Inhale], 5 6 7 8 [Exhale]" (Employ after 30% of the distance)
6 beat breathing [6B]>>> "1 2 [Inhale] 3 4 [Inhale], 5 6 [Exhale]" (During final stage sprinting)
Pull n Push gameplan >>> Run slow initially to reserve stamina, Push all out during the last 30% distance.
Power Push gameplan >> Running at top constant speed throughtout the entire session.
Belly Breath >> Inhaling air through the abdomen muscle. (Contract the stomach muscle during inhale)

Factor that might affect performance:

1) Temperature - Too hot (>35'C), there will be excessive dehydration and stamina drain. Too cold (<24'C), you might not able to push your body to the optimum level.

2) Food intake - Banana helps to provide more energy.

3) No eating n drinking 2hrs before running, otherwise may result in muscle cramp on lower abs.

4) Companionship - If there is someone to challenge you at higher speed, there will be adrenaline rush that push you beyond your limit.

5) Presence of attractive opposite sex - When there are pretty girl/boy around, you tend to run faster subconciously.

6) Mentallity - When you are in a bad mood after a tough day, you tend to exert all the negative energy in your run.

7) Glukose - Take glukose before workout will provide the extra miles especislly during the closing stage

Added on January 30, 2007, 8:58 pmTraining Summary:

Monday - 29/1/2007

Weather - Windy (26'c ~ 30'c approx)

Lap 1 - 3m21s (CD, 8B)
Lap 2 - 3m19s (CD, 8B)
Lap 3 - 3m29s (CD, 8B)
Lap 4 - 3m26s (CD, 8B)
Lap 5 - 3m27s (CD, 8B)
Lap 6 - 3m23s (CD, 7B)
Lap 7 - 3m29s (CD, 7B)
Lap 8 - 3m26s (CD, 7B)
Lap 9 - 3m11s (TD, 6B)
Lap 10 - 2m50s (TD, 6B)

Total - 33m35s

Remarks: Weather is superb. Not many people around and can focus without much interferance. Opt to take a slow start as last Saturday did not finish the whole course. Consequently, unable to clock below 33m. Overall, feel great and at ease after 10 laps. Stamina is not fully drain due to conservative gameplan.

Look forward for the next attempt in weekend and might go for 32m if condition allow.

2007 Running Event Calender

This post has been edited by deadalus: Jun 6 2009, 09:14 AM
pizzaboy
post Jan 30 2007, 09:03 PM

9,495 posts

good luck boi!!
i hate runnin, so u have fun running.
Polaris
post Jan 30 2007, 09:23 PM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

This is cool, gambate!
zeist
post Jan 30 2007, 09:59 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

QUOTE(deadalus @ Jan 30 2007, 08:39 PM)
Being a regular short distance runner for the past 7 years, i am awared that performance have been declining gradually since 3 years ago eversince i start working. As part of the effort to reallign my training on the right track, i feel that by keeping a record on training might helps to regain the fitness that i lost throughout the years. flex.gif

Some technique that i employ during the jog:

Calf-Drive[CD]>>> Using calf muscle to generate the movement
Thight-Drive[TD]  >>> Using thight muscle to generate the movement
8 beat breathing [8B] >>> "1 2 [Inhale], 3 4 [Inhale], 5 6 7 8 [Exhale]" (Beginning stage)
7 beat breathing [7B] >>> " 1 2 [Inhale], 3 4 [Inhale], 5 6 7 [Exhale]" (Employ after 50% of the distance)
6 beat breathing [6B]>>> "1 2 3 [Inhale], 4 5 6 [Exhale]" (During final stage sprinting)
Pull n Push gameplan >>> Run slow initially to reserve stamina, Push all out during the last 30% distance.
Power Push gameplan >> Running at top constant speed throughtout the entire session.
Factor that might affect performance:

1) Temperature - Too hot (>35'C), there will be excessive dehydration and stamina drain. Too cold (<24'C), you might not able to push your body to the optimum level.

2) Food intake - Banana helps to provide more energy.

3) No eating n drinking 2hrs before running, otherwise may result in muscle cramp on lower abs.

4) Companionship - If there is someone to challenge you at higher speed, there will be adrenaline rush that push you beyond your limit.

5) Presence of attractive opposite sex - When there are pretty girl/boy around, you tend to run faster subconciously.

6) Mentallity - When you are in a bad mood after a tough day, you tend to exert all the negative energy in your run.

7) Glukose - Take glukose before workout will provide the extra miles especislly during the closing stage

Added on January 30, 2007, 8:58 pmTraining Summary:

Monday - 29/1/2007

Weather - Windy (26'c ~ 30'c approx)

Lap 1 - 3m21s (CD, 8B)
Lap 2 - 3m19s (CD, 8B)
Lap 3 - 3m29s (CD, 8B)
Lap 4 - 3m26s (CD, 8B)
Lap 5 - 3m27s (CD, 8B)
Lap 6 - 3m23s (CD, 7B)
Lap 7 - 3m29s (CD, 7B)
Lap 8 - 3m26s (CD, 7B)
Lap 9 - 3m11s (TD, 6B)
Lap 10 - 2m50s (TD, 6B)

Total - 33m35s

Remarks: Weather is superb. Not many people around and can focus without much interferance. Opt to take a slow start as last Saturday did not finish the whole course. Consequently, unable to clock below 33m. Overall, feel great and at ease after 10 laps. Stamina is not fully drain due to conservative gameplan.

Look forward for the next attempt in weekend and might go for 32m if condition allow.
No.4 and No.5 damn true man. Sometimes I try to go faster abit, getting nearer and nearer, to see some pretty girl with her puppy. laugh.gif

I think I wanna get a bunch of bananas weekly. Thanks. nod.gif

This post has been edited by zeist: Jan 30 2007, 09:59 PM
TSdeadalus
post Feb 6 2007, 11:09 PM

Live Life Cool
796 posts

Training Summary:

Monday - 5/2/2007

Weather - Light Raining (22'c ~ 26'c approx)

Lap 1 - 3m35s (CD, 8B)
Lap 2 - 3m21s (CD, 8B)
Lap 3 - 3m29s (CD, 8B)
Lap 4 - 3m26s (CD, 8B)
Lap 5 - 3m28s (CD, 8B)
Lap 6 - 3m30s (CD, 7B)
Lap 7 - 3m25s (CD, 7B)
Lap 8 - 3m25s (CD, 7B)
Lap 9 - 3m21s (TD, 6B)
Lap 10 - 3m16s (TD, 6B)

Total - 34m16s

Remarks: Raining during evening, but decide to proceed as i have skip the previous scheduled training due to outstation trip. Virtually no people in the recreation park, track is a bit slippery. Strongly feel that both physically and mentally are only at 80% fitness, maybe due to excessive alcohol intake on saturday night hmm.gif ? Struggling to complete the session, and obviously no pace at all during the final 2 laps. Initially was predicting the rain will cease after a while, but indeed it continue to rain for more than 30minute.

After finish jogging, take bath and straight attend another seminal at damansara. Z.Z zZz. Time is always lacking these days...

This post has been edited by deadalus: Feb 14 2007, 10:13 PM
TSdeadalus
post Feb 14 2007, 10:14 PM

Live Life Cool
796 posts

Training on 8/2/07 - Negligible, only manage 9 laps and give-up at last lap. Being interrupted by phone call in early stage which contribute to the failure later on.

Training Summary:

Monday - 12/2/2007

Weather - Warm (30'c ~ 33'c approx)

Lap 1 - 3m16s (CD, 8B)
Lap 2 - 3m20s (CD, 8B)
Lap 3 - 3m20s (CD, 8B)
Lap 4 - 3m16s (CD, 8B)
Lap 5 - 3m17s (CD, 8B)
Lap 6 - 3m16s (CD, 7B)
Lap 7 - 3m21s (CD, 7B)
Lap 8 - 3m14s (CD, 7B)
Lap 9 - 3m09s (TD, 6B)
Lap 10 - 3m00s (TD, 6B)

Total - 32m35s

Remarks: Finally get into 32m' for the 1st time within the past 3months. Feeling great as the whole day is awesome. Good things do happen. Did take up some bread 3hrs before jogging and it do helps to provide the extra kicks. Taking a new approach to tackle the track and outcome is positive.

More running events will take place after CNY, hopefully the results will keep on improving.

Personal Best to beat: 31m08s (archieve in 2006)
bambambam
post Feb 15 2007, 02:22 AM

308 posts

Last time I used to jog at KLCC every Sunday......unfortunately there isn't any pretty girls to stimulate the 5th factor.
darklight79
post Feb 15 2007, 04:29 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

Very interesting journal bro. You know your stuff. Good luck.
FollowN
post Feb 15 2007, 06:27 AM

410 posts

1 lap as in 400meters? hmm was wondering if you're familiar with stuffs like stride efficiency, arm drive and weight training regime.
darun
post Feb 15 2007, 08:49 AM

978 posts

hmmm do you incorporate weight training into your program? Looks its all just on track training.

btw, banana FTW!! smile.gif
TSdeadalus
post Feb 15 2007, 09:40 PM

Live Life Cool
796 posts

QUOTE(FollowN @ Feb 15 2007, 06:27 AM)
1 lap as in 400meters? hmm was wondering if you're familiar with stuffs like stride efficiency, arm drive and weight training regime.
i dont know the exact measurement for the track, anyway the track is more challenging than normal stadium track with lots of inclination slope. (as much as 40% inclination same goes to declination). Not to mention a lot of obstacles too. (Pedestrian)

stride efficiency? i'm not sure what that actually refering to. but 1 thing i do notice is that you may make use of different muscle group i.e thigh, calf, buttock and they will ultimately alter your performance. I used to do some weight training on calf muscle using leg press station, but later quit it due to unbearable pain on my knee. Muscle endurance is definately related to sport performance, but just make sure the method that you use wont hurts.

incorporation of arm movement into your overall stride will also helps. i do notice that people involve in Walkathon n Marathon tends to have different arm movement and it varies from individual to individual. Know very little on this area and will explore more in future training.
FollowN
post Feb 16 2007, 07:55 AM

410 posts

Endurance isn't a problem, since I don't feel the lactic acid build-up anymore. Stride efficiency as in the length/measurement of your successive steps. I had difficulties in the past when I was still an inexperienced runner i.e I didn't know how big a step I should take etc. Problem was compounded by the fact that apparently I don't possess the ideal physique for track stuffs. I stand at 186cm. All I did was run the distance just to feel the "comfortable" stride spot. Length is about my height now, the distance of 180cm between two steps. Any idea if I'm doing the right thing?

About arm drive, I couldn't feel my upper body whenever I accelerate, at the weight of 85kg (a little fleshy), months ago. I literally felt the stability of a kancil when accelerating at top speed, not that of a porsche lol. Pumped irons and lost weight since, at 78kg now and able to feel upper body etc. But the problem is, I can't seem to figure out the "pull and push" gameplan. I usually tense up my upper body by flexing my arm muscles to initiate and maintain the burst of power. And a runner friend says I should be relaxing when I accelerate. I can't feel the short burst of power in my body if I relax. Do you or do you not relax when you sprint?

And eh, how do you differentiate bettwen a CD and a TD? TD in the first phase of feet landing, and CD at the second phase just right before you lift your legs for the next step? Isn't it all connected? I noticed some stuffs too, a lot of long distance sprinters i.e Michael Johnson, run like tanks. They don't seem to have the "hopping" motion. I have a bit of that motion. :s

This post has been edited by FollowN: Feb 16 2007, 07:56 AM
TSdeadalus
post Mar 10 2007, 06:33 PM

Live Life Cool
796 posts

Follow by a consecutive 3 failed attempt, at last today gain some ground. The longest losing streak in my experience.

Training Summary:

Monday - 9/3/2007

Weather - Warm (32'c ~ 34'c approx)

Lap 1 - 3m25s (CD, 8B)
Lap 2 - 3m26s (CD, 8B)
Lap 3 - 3m28s (CD, 8B)
Lap 4 - 3m24s (CD, 8B)
Lap 5 - 3m21s (CD, 8B)
Lap 6 - 3m24s (CD, 7B)
Lap 7 - 3m24s (CD, 7B)
Lap 8 - 3m27s (CD, 7B)
Lap 9 - 3m22s (TD, 6B)
Lap 10 - 3m32s (TD, 6B)

Total - 34m20s

Remarks: Update later, going out for another jog soon.

TSdeadalus
post Mar 10 2007, 08:50 PM

Live Life Cool
796 posts

Training Summary:

Saturday - 10/3/2007

Weather - Warm (34'c ~ 35'c approx)

Lap 1 - 3m30s (CD, 8B)
Lap 2 - 3m31s (CD, 8B)
Lap 3 - 3m31s (CD, 8B)
Lap 4 - 3m27s (CD, 8B)
Lap 5 - 3m27s (CD, 8B)
Lap 6 - 3m32s (CD, 7B)
Lap 7 - 3m33s (CD, 7B)
Lap 8 - 3m29s (CD, 7B)
Lap 9 - 3m27s (TD, 6B)
Lap 10 - 3m12s (TD, 6B)

Total - 34m43s

Remarks: Today is all about dodging padestrian. At a rough estimation, there is approximate 70~80 ppls (wtf) on this narrow track which make it difficult to concentrate on the jog. Even i start at 7pm, it is still very hot with virtually no wind at all. Not to mention that there are lots of kiddo that barricade the trail and this jeopardize my jog significantly. Children are on loose and almost collide with a small boy that run towards me.

Notice that there is a mild muscle fatigue accumulate from yesterday training and no acceleration for the entire course. It may take months to adjust the current form to a more competive stage.

Well, avoid jogging on Saturday at all cost.

jones007
post Mar 11 2007, 03:03 AM

Internets Super Heroes LOLWUT
8,878 posts

looks to me like some what of a professional runner. lots of time records there. how's the progress?
Joey-kun
post Mar 11 2007, 05:40 AM

no avatar plagarism plz, foxboy sez nuz
4,662 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Mar 11 2007, 03:03 AM)
looks to me like some what of a professional runner. lots of time records there. how's the progress?
he's a professional athelete I guess.

hoping to see improvements in your next post!
TSdeadalus
post Mar 11 2007, 01:45 PM

Live Life Cool
796 posts

the title amateur runner explain everything. i am just another so and so that jog twice a week and aim to finish a 10km running event within 1hr before i am forced to stop running.

guess that i am not a gifted runner, other peoples seems capable to archive 10km@1hr easily. while in my case, no matter how hard i try somehow i just do not have what it takes.

i have no problem getting the desire result during training but somehow fail to deliver when it come to the actual 10km event.

afterall i might as well resort to enjoying this strenuous exercise which takes myself over a threshold that activates endorphin production.

an occasional endorphin rush could be the only thing that keep me in sound sanity in this insanity world.
leewai
post Mar 11 2007, 02:25 PM

96 posts

Nice log here! Great effort rclxms.gif

Deadalus, do you join the KLIM 2007 in this coming sunday?

This post has been edited by leewai: Mar 11 2007, 02:26 PM
TSdeadalus
post Mar 11 2007, 05:00 PM

Live Life Cool
796 posts

nope, i am not capable to complete a marathon.
leewai
post Mar 11 2007, 11:42 PM

96 posts

I see. Me neither. But they do have short runs. Like 10k and half marathon. I am in the half Marathon category.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:22 AM