1 lap as in 400meters? hmm was wondering if you're familiar with stuffs like stride efficiency, arm drive and weight training regime.
Amateur RoadRunner Journal, Run, Run, Run
Feb 15 2007, 06:27 AM
410 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
1 lap as in 400meters? hmm was wondering if you're familiar with stuffs like stride efficiency, arm drive and weight training regime.
Feb 16 2007, 07:55 AM
410 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
Endurance isn't a problem, since I don't feel the lactic acid build-up anymore. Stride efficiency as in the length/measurement of your successive steps. I had difficulties in the past when I was still an inexperienced runner i.e I didn't know how big a step I should take etc. Problem was compounded by the fact that apparently I don't possess the ideal physique for track stuffs. I stand at 186cm. All I did was run the distance just to feel the "comfortable" stride spot. Length is about my height now, the distance of 180cm between two steps. Any idea if I'm doing the right thing?
About arm drive, I couldn't feel my upper body whenever I accelerate, at the weight of 85kg (a little fleshy), months ago. I literally felt the stability of a kancil when accelerating at top speed, not that of a porsche lol. Pumped irons and lost weight since, at 78kg now and able to feel upper body etc. But the problem is, I can't seem to figure out the "pull and push" gameplan. I usually tense up my upper body by flexing my arm muscles to initiate and maintain the burst of power. And a runner friend says I should be relaxing when I accelerate. I can't feel the short burst of power in my body if I relax. Do you or do you not relax when you sprint? And eh, how do you differentiate bettwen a CD and a TD? TD in the first phase of feet landing, and CD at the second phase just right before you lift your legs for the next step? Isn't it all connected? I noticed some stuffs too, a lot of long distance sprinters i.e Michael Johnson, run like tanks. They don't seem to have the "hopping" motion. I have a bit of that motion. :s This post has been edited by FollowN: Feb 16 2007, 07:56 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0191sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:49 PM |