Travel Bangkok V5, Of tuktuks and tomyams

zstan
post Feb 6 2017, 12:35 PM

15,856 posts

hello people. i need some spoonfeeding tongue.gif

i have 8 full days in Bangkok. Probably going to Pattaya for 2-3 days. Are there any other recommended place to visit outside of Bangkok? Initially I thought about Chiang Mai but seems like it would be pretty rushed and stressful to include in the trip.
zstan
post Feb 10 2017, 09:04 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Go_up @ Feb 9 2017, 06:30 PM)
hi,
8 full days in Bkk is too long already, u do not need so many in this city alone.
if u with friends/ couple travel in backpack style,  I would suggest MY>CNX>BKK>MY, 8 days is enuf to do this itenary:

4 Full day CNX Visit &
4 Full day BKK Visit

if Pattaya and Bkk for 8 days ok also, but not really adventure lor
hi thanks for the reply. reason why i want to opt out of chiangmai is because i am flying to bangkok from Labuan. scared it will be quite tiring if i kept flying again. and i am travelling with a girl whom i don't know her travelling style so i also not sure how adventurous or enduring she can be sweat.gif and she wants to go to pattaya so definitely have to include that in lol.

was thinking of visiting places outside of Bangkok. The forummer above mention Ayutthaya. Will have a look on that too. Are the water theme parks in Pattaya good compared to our Sunway Lagoon? seems quite interesting to for one day hmm.gif
zstan
post Feb 14 2017, 02:00 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Feb 14 2017, 10:19 AM)
depends where u wanna visit
i went BKK for a week, i can't finish all the place i wanna visit
malls there are so huge, ground floor alone already took hours of my time
i didn't even visit 2nd to the top floor
i start my day from 7AM, reach home 10PM...i can't finish the whole BKK..some of the place i simply skip because not enough time
hmm.gif hmm.gif some say few days already more than enough. u are the first person who said 1 week not enough. ada tips? laugh.gif
zstan
post Feb 14 2017, 11:08 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Feb 14 2017, 02:11 PM)
like i say...depends where u wanna visit
slow pace or fast pace
i was tired AF for 1 week in BKK...because so early go out...so late come back
thn have to do laundry every 2 days...extend until 1AM only sleep
wahhh u travelled fast pace for 1 week also not enough worrr... did u visit other places apart from the touristy places as well?

yeah doing laundry is quite tiring haha. plan to only do it once.
zstan
post Feb 16 2017, 08:15 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Feb 15 2017, 07:49 AM)
more like medium pace
whole day keep walking walking and walking
i dnt have a fixed itinerary
so i basically visit all the attraction within the same area but some will have to be skipped
i made it to all the area i wanna visit but not all the places i listed on my list
those place are bigger than expected, their malls or their temples are all bigger than expected and require time to walk around
hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
seems like i won't be bored after a few days then
zstan
post Mar 25 2017, 05:22 PM

15,856 posts

http://www.ais.co.th/travellersim/

For this sim card, can i get it from the airport?
zstan
post Mar 26 2017, 11:13 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(ljf123 @ Mar 25 2017, 05:37 PM)
yup, can

Bila pergi? laugh.gif
ok tq

end of april biggrin.gif
zstan
post Mar 29 2017, 03:00 PM

15,856 posts

BTS rates for all stations are the same? i.e 15 baht for every stop,regardless the distance?
zstan
post Apr 10 2017, 07:25 PM

15,856 posts

Songkran this year will be less happening though due to the passing away of their King. Many restrictions this time round, i.e no overly sexy clothes, whatever that means.
zstan
post Apr 17 2017, 08:53 AM

15,856 posts

Hello people. This is the itinerary that I've come up with. Would appreciate some feedback to see if i arranged the tourist sites close together, and of course any extra food suggestions are highly appreciated too, especially if it's gooding Japanese ramen or ice-cream (apart from coconut ice cream) tongue.gif

Detailed link here: https://travefy.com/trips/793747/-619688514

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
zstan
post Apr 18 2017, 08:14 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(champlaos11 @ Apr 17 2017, 10:50 AM)
Bro! How is Labuan treating you?!

Can't believe we both are going to BKK around the same time haha!! I will be going from 20th - 26th April!

Maybe you can add:

Ratchada Train Night Market
Erawan Shrine
Talad Neon Night Market at Pratunam Area

And perhaps dropping by Chinatown again but during night time for those awesome street food!
lol Labuan is good.

Ooo thanks for recommendation. Chinatown also got street food huh hmm.gif

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Apr 17 2017, 04:14 PM)
isnt the chao phraya river express day pass THB150?
i saw the price from a forummer many many years ago laugh.gif increased already?
zstan
post Apr 20 2017, 09:25 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Apr 18 2017, 08:28 AM)
yes, increased
the moment i went last year, its already increased
its not even the same rate as advertised on chao phraya river express website
im not even sure the THB150 is the updated rate
but nevertheless, dnt take the daily pass...its not worthed
at least based on the price i paid last year, its not worthed
even if u take tourist boat(the most expensive one) the whole trip and alight at all the stop that u need to, its still below the day pass price

my advice it, pay each trip...dnt buy the day pass

chinatown street food only came alive at night, 6PM onward
u can actually squeeze chinatown before asiatique....asiatique opens until very late and so is their free boat
QUOTE(champlaos11 @ Apr 18 2017, 09:03 AM)
Yes bro. Chinatown has one of the best food in BKK.

I also recommend you do not buy the Chao Phraya tourist daily pass.

Just get on the Orange Boat which is a fixed rate boat. Each way costs you 18 Baht (does not matter how far). You would have to take 10 trips to make the daily pass worth it. If you plan your itinerary wisely, I do not think you will even take more than 5 trips.

But this Orange Boat is not as spacious and comfortable as the tourist boat. And there is no announcement.

But it should not be too hard to know which pier you are getting off and also you get to ride with the locals.

If money is not a problem then by all means buy the daily pass. Up to your preference.

Noted for the advise. Thanks all. But not sure how bad is the clamping of the street food now sad.gif hopefully i still got chance to try before they all kena ban 100% off the streets

This post has been edited by zstan: Apr 20 2017, 09:25 AM
zstan
post Apr 20 2017, 09:37 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Apr 20 2017, 09:29 AM)
a few of the famous one already closed down
they sapu since end of last year
the one under the bridge near big C pratunam already gone
certain street food stall at different area already closed down as well
saddd. all these people retire ke? or just relocated to new area.
zstan
post Apr 21 2017, 05:15 PM

15,856 posts

Reporting from Bangkok. Saw many people queuing up for AIS.. So i picked DTAC instead
zstan
post Apr 28 2017, 02:22 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(alison90 @ Apr 27 2017, 10:41 AM)
I'll be transiting bkk on 6/5/2017 for 15 hrs.. any suggestions where to go/eat?
Go to the pier 21 food court at terminal 21. Everything is there and very cheap and nice

QUOTE(famusanus @ Apr 27 2017, 04:21 PM)
Heard a lot about the queuing up and registering so i ordered mine(AIS) online ohmy.gif
Just 5-10 minutes queue not that bad
zstan
post Apr 30 2017, 12:24 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Apr 28 2017, 04:08 PM)
T21 food court is the cheapest food court i've ever seen
everything inside is so cheap...i'm shocked
Yes. I went back there 3 times just for the food lol
zstan
post May 11 2017, 10:01 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(famusanus @ May 11 2017, 09:04 AM)
Ok i juz came back from Bangkok, terminal 21 food court indeed has the cheapest food, but taste wise was okok, myb i ordered the wrong food lol
What did you order?
zstan
post May 11 2017, 10:41 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(famusanus @ May 11 2017, 10:20 AM)
1 chap fan and 1 i think is noodle with thickened soup lol

Too many can't decide which to order
lol why u go eat their chap fan. it's not a popular street food also.

i ate their pork leg rice 3 times. and mango sticky rice like 4 times. delicious.
zstan
post May 11 2017, 10:41 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(five5five @ May 11 2017, 08:16 PM)
Where is this place that you eat those pork leg rice and mango sticky rice?
Pier 21 at Terminal 21
zstan
post May 12 2017, 12:54 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(famusanus @ May 12 2017, 08:55 AM)
For mango sticky rice you could stick to Mae Varee, though you can compare to others too, it's located near to Thonglor station.

It's more expensive than others, mine 3 colours sticky rice(pandan, original and black glutinous rice) cost about 200baht. The normal one cost about 130baht i think. Also this place has no seating, you can only take away lol.

[attachmentid=8809551]
Pier 21 only 70 baht laugh.gif

0.0226sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:30 AM