Travel Travel To Japan V9.5, Konnichiwaaa

yellowpika
post Jan 19 2017, 03:01 PM

夢を追いかけている
1,631 posts

Went to Japan for 6 days(13th Jan-18th Jan, just came back this morning), so damn cold especially in Kyoto(it was snowing when I was there), now I'm down with a cold sad.gif

My itinerary(quite rushed lah, since my dad decided to go to Kyoto at the last minute sweat.gif ):
1st day: Arrived at Tokyo at 3.40pm, took Narita Express to Shinagawa and caught a Shinkansen to Kyoto.
2nd day: Explore Kyoto(Arashiyama bamboo grove, Kinkaku-ji temple, Fushimi Inari shrine and Kiyomizu temple) for one whole day, before returning to Tokyo via shinkansen at 6pm. Checked in at hotel and did some sightseeing in Shibuya crossing
3rd day: Visited Lake Kawaguchiko, but too bad the peak of Mt. Fuji was covered by the clouds. sad.gif
4th day: Brief visit to Tsukiji Fish Market, went to see the life-sized Gundam@Odaiba DiverCity Tokyo Plaza, visited Sensoji Temple in Asakusa and sightseeing of Tokyo Skytree from Asakusa.
5th day: My dad and I went separate ways, I visited University of Tokyo's campus, Tokyo Dome and Jiyugaoka, while my dad went to Yokohama Chinatown and Kamakura. Gathered at the hotel at around 7pm and went to have dinner in an all-you-can-eat Yakiniku joint. biggrin.gif
6th day: Visit to Tokyo Imperial Palace and Tokyo station, shopping at Shinjuku and Akihabara(bought a tax-free G-shock watch) and went to see the Hachiko statue in Shibuya(I missed it on the 2nd day). After that, we lugged our luggages from Sugamo station to Hamamatsucho station and took the Tokyo monorail to Haneda to catch our flight back.

Gotta say I'm impressed with how courteous the Japanese are.. When they give you the change, they will count the change individually in front of you. thumbup.gif
yellowpika
post Jan 19 2017, 04:40 PM

夢を追いかけている
1,631 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jan 19 2017, 04:06 PM)
gotta say im more impressed with you
6days can cover kyoto, kawaguchiko and tokyo

thumbup.gif
Thanks, but it is very tiring lah... coz my dad only planned to go to Kyoto after booking the flight tickets(and hotel) to Tokyo. Ended up having to cancel one night of hotel stay in Tokyo and rebook a night in Kyoto. sweat.gif
(Of course, we bought the JR pass for this trip since we are taking the Shinkansen)

And I did not have time to do shopping at all... only bought some Japanese CDs, an Irobot Roomba battery and a G-shock watch. sweat.gif

yellowpika
post Jan 19 2017, 04:54 PM

夢を追いかけている
1,631 posts

QUOTE(_ChAoS_ @ Jan 19 2017, 04:42 PM)
Where do you go for the all you can eat yakiniku? How much was it?
It's at this place called 肉屋の台所 宮益坂ミート(near Shibuya crossing). It's not cheap though, at around 11960 yen for two pax(4980 yen for wagyu beef course + 1000 yen for free flow of alcohol). But you get free flow of marbled wagyu beef... drool.gif

This post has been edited by yellowpika: Jan 19 2017, 04:55 PM
yellowpika
post Jan 19 2017, 09:55 PM

夢を追いかけている
1,631 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jan 19 2017, 05:40 PM)
got photo?
http://imgur.com/6fiuFSw
http://imgur.com/RyKQrBs
http://imgur.com/Cyf9Qoj
http://imgur.com/3hje0h

This post has been edited by yellowpika: Jan 19 2017, 09:56 PM
yellowpika
post Jan 20 2017, 02:35 PM

夢を追いかけている
1,631 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Jan 19 2017, 11:00 PM)
Got Kobe beef ?
Nope.

QUOTE(_ChAoS_ @ Jan 20 2017, 01:00 PM)
WOW! that's like rm400++... i wonder if it's marked up because it's a tourist area or if it's the same everywhere... rclxub.gif
Not sure, but I think it's worth trying at least once(unless you can find other similar restaurants at a cheaper price, then go ahead).. laugh.gif
Since I've been eating at those "vending machine restaurants" and McD in Japan during this whole trip, might as well splurge at least once.. innocent.gif

This post has been edited by yellowpika: Jan 20 2017, 02:50 PM
yellowpika
post Jan 20 2017, 02:54 PM

夢を追いかけている
1,631 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Jan 20 2017, 02:51 PM)
Plan to try Kobe beef again since last time I tried at one of the onsen resort

So good , can't forget the taste
Actually, how much does a plate of Kobe beef cost? hmm.gif

Maybe I should try it if I ever visit Japan again.. hmm.gif

0.1049sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:52 AM