Travel Travel To Japan V9.5, Konnichiwaaa

turtles_tszx
post Nov 14 2016, 06:09 PM

Hi Guys,

I will be going to Osaka March 2017 and would like some advice, i have never been to osaka but i've been to tokyo 2x.

I will be there for 8 days, and planning to go to Nara, Kyoto, Kinosaki Onsen, Kobe and Osaka area. My trip will be free and easy as i will be travelling alone and i dont want to rush myself with a tight schedule.

http://www.osaka-info.jp/en/plan/practical.../travel_passes/

1.JR West Rail Pass or JR West Rail Pass WIDE for places like nara, onsen etc
2. Kansai Thru Pass 2-day/3-day ticket

Do i need to buy ICOCA as well? I am not worried about the location to go but more on the passes.

turtles_tszx
post Nov 15 2016, 08:42 AM

QUOTE(evanyi @ Nov 14 2016, 09:15 PM)
hi.. I'm currently in Tokyo and didn't bring my printed shopping area which I did some research before this trip.

May I know where to get cheap cosmetics(美妆).. I realised all the Pharmacy are selling diff price. And I can't seems to find the list in page 1(which I did my homework before this version 9.5)

On the other hand the autumn leafs are still slll beautiful in Kawaguchiko!!!
Matsumoto kiyoshi? However the prices may vary according to the location. The one in ameyoko are quite cheap compared to shibuya branch and you can buy cheap japanese candy, kit kat and crackers around that area as well!

turtles_tszx
post Nov 18 2016, 03:15 PM

Hi, I will be arriving Narita on Friday, 3:50pm and transit to Haneda for my next flight on 8:30pm. There's an easy option NRT-HND using the limousine bus but the price is quite pricey at 3,100 yen.

I notice that there's a Access Express Train from NRT-HND at 1,800 yen but im still unsure and i dont want to make any mistake of taking the wrong train. I have used hyperdia to check the train line and it seems that i need to transfer at Aoto Station despite although they mentioned it's a direct train from NRT-HND.

Have anyone tried using the Access Express Train? Any review or comment?

turtles_tszx
post Nov 25 2016, 03:33 PM

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Nov 24 2016, 10:33 PM)
Hello from Tokyo. Just a note. If you're Malaysian traveling alone, you'll be pulled over at Custom for full inspection. I asked why, he said single traveler. Fine. I asked why again, he said only Malaysian. I diam. And walked away. Gosh. Me face problem, or any others also kena like that?
Are you using a new passport? My friend kena tahan and had to open her bag for checking. I went earlier than her and had no problem and she had to check her bag. I assume her passport is brand new.
turtles_tszx
post Nov 25 2016, 03:35 PM

I’m planning of buying the Surutto Kansai 2 Day Ticket and Kansai Wide Area for my trip later.

Here are my latest plan
D1-Arrive KIX *Night
D2-Osaka
D3-KYOTO (Kansai Thru Pass 2 day tix)
D4-Nara (Kansai Thru Pass 2 day tix)
D5-Kobe (Kansai Wide Area Pass)
D6-Arashiyama (Kansai Wide Area Pass)
D7-Kinosaki Onsen (Kansai Wide Area Pass)
D8-?? Undecided between Mt. Koya or Wakayama (Kansai Wide Area Pass)
D9-Last day, Night Flight

Is it feasible or worth for me to buy passes? Kindly recommend which are more suitable. Do recommend any places that i should go to as well, im still undecided on what to do on Day 8.

Thank you in advance!
turtles_tszx
post Dec 6 2016, 03:44 PM

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Dec 6 2016, 12:25 AM)
Maybe I try to help since I notice no one reply to you ... check the cost of the train tickets (basic fare + limited express)
http://www.hyperdia.com/en/

https://www.westjr.co.jp/global/en/

Also, I suggest you stay at Osaka for the last night (or the last few days), so you can do final shopping and pack the bags, rather than carry the stuff you buy at Osaka on arrival, all over Kansai area.

e.g.
D1/2 - ICOCA & Haruka package one way to Kyoto (2000 + 1600) = 3600 yen. Buy at JR Kansai office, now got Hello Kitty edition.
D3-4 Check train cost to Nara. Else get Kansai Thru Pass 2 days.
D5-9 - use the Kansai Wide Area Pass

The Wide Pass is 8500 yen book online, which you can buy in KL for RM340 in Nov'16. Bring receipt and claim the ticket at JR Kansai office. You need to plan well, as JR will print the ticket with the dates for the 5 days.

Also, the Wide Pass is inclusive of Shinkansen, manage to ride the Nozomi 700.

Since the pass is expensive, why not choose further distance to explore ? e.g. Himeji took 27 minutes using Shinkansen, while rapid train will take ~60+ minutes.
Next trip, then only stay in Osaka/Kyoto for shopping and don't wander out.

Kinosaki Onsen is the furthest, there is single train going direct without the need to change train or carry luggage around (e.g. Fukuchiyama). Check the timetable Kyoto-Kinosaki (3 trains per day) or Osaka-Kinosaki.

I would recommend going in a loop such as KIX - Kyoto (Nara) - Kinosaki direct - Himeji - Kobe - Osaka (day trip to Wakayama. Or you can even stay in Osaka and take day train to Himeji, Kobe & Wakayama for half-day, then come back to Osaka for shopping and meals in evening/night.

ICOCA you can imagine like HK Octopus or SG EZLink, can use in a lot of places, trains, convenience store, departmental store food stalls, restaurant, etc. So you don't get pocket full of 1/5/10 yen coins.
icon_rolleyes.gif
Hi thank you so much for the detailed answer, appreciate it a lot thumbup.gif I will be staying in Osaka the entire trip and planning to go for daily trip for the above places for the exception of kinosaki since it's quite far from Osaka. I already have Suica, should i just buy icoca? i read tht suice is usable in kansai area.
turtles_tszx
post Jan 8 2017, 04:01 PM

If i were to spend 8 days in osaka, wht type of pass should i buy? I thought of using icoca but some suggest to buy kansai thru pass.

0.0979sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:04 PM