Travel Travel To Japan V9.5, Konnichiwaaa

evee_luca
post Feb 28 2017, 01:54 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(ps3roxor @ Feb 22 2017, 03:19 PM)
What's the most convenient way to get around Kyoto? The train lines so confusing. I did my research and the subway day pass can only use on 2 lines. If want to go to Arashiyama, to take the Keifuku line need to buy a separate rail pass?

I plan to go:
Day 1: Kiyomizu-Dera + Fushimi Inari
Day 2: Arashiyama + Kinkakuji
Day 3/4: Undecided

Ayam planning to go during April
Hey, tot of just sharing since i just got back from Kyoto / Osaka early this month. I did the whole total costs calculation (estimation thru hyperdia.com) and true enough, ICOCA is cheaper by 5,000 yen.

On the first day arrived in KIX, we took this Yokoso pass where it gave us free subway rides throughout kyoto/osaka for one day, so we save quite a lot for that day. Also took into consideration where would you be staying and whether you would be more on JR or subway as both lines have diff passes if you wish to go for passes.

Since our 3 airbnbs (we moved places) mostly are nearer to subways, ICOCA seems a better fit for us

P.S: If you're a coffee lover, look for % Arabica Coffee at Arashiyama. It's not cheap but the single origin blend is good !
evee_luca
post Feb 28 2017, 02:33 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(Chaud @ Feb 28 2017, 02:11 PM)
can recommend which airbnb rooms you take? biggrin.gif
I will PM you later smile.gif
evee_luca
post Feb 28 2017, 05:51 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(ps3roxor @ Feb 28 2017, 04:24 PM)
The Yokoso pass only valid for the 1st day that you arrived? I'm arriving in KIX about 430pm

PS: Please let me know your airbnb recommendations too smile.gif
For Yokoso, you will get:

1. One way express train ticket from KIX to Namba (with reserved seat)
2. One day (12am to 12am) subway unlimited rides on either the day you bought the ticket or the next day.

When you buy the ticket better reconfirm again as sometimes the offer might change.

*P/S: The umlimited subway rides from 12am to 12am validity. Not 24hours from the time you first swipe your subway card

I will share the airbnb place. The place is just ok- not really recommended unless you don't mind a 5-7mins walk from the nearest subway. I travel backpack sikit.

evee_luca
post Mar 1 2017, 01:36 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(JIEZZ @ Mar 1 2017, 08:31 AM)
Hi Guys, can commend on my itinerary? issit too pack, or impossible? or i missed some place? im flying this saturday, will stay at shinjuku airbnb.

day 1 : Arrive at shinjuku

day 2 : Odaiba AM (Hope to see gundam for last)
    Nippori Textile Town (PM)

day 3 : Mitsui Outlet Park (AM)
    Shinjuku (PM)

day 4 : Ueno (Ueno ZOo, Tokyo National Museum, National Museum of Nature)(AM)
    Shibuya (PM)

day 5 : Disneysea (buy ticket at entrance)

day 6 : Asakusa (Sensoji Temple, Tokyo Skytree, Sumida Aquarium ) (AM)
    Akihabara (PM)

day 7 : Harajuka (Takeshita Street)(AM)
    Ginza (PM)

day 8 : Tsukiji Market (AM)
    Free time (will find place later)

day 9 : shinjuku (AM)
    Airport (PM)
Harajuku + Omotesando street alang alang you're there. very near. that stretch of Harajuku got one halal kebab food at one of those buildings. While traveling you can opt for Family Mart's tuna or salmon onigiri as it has no alcohol in it. you can also check Halal Japan FB for some snacks and chocs that is halal certified.

Oh for a bowl of halal ramen (at asakusa, can't remember the name but you can google there is only one halal shop), costs around 800-1000 yen. Worth to tapau the fried chicken for some snacks

This post has been edited by evee_luca: Mar 1 2017, 01:39 PM
evee_luca
post Mar 2 2017, 01:17 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(Guardian @ Mar 2 2017, 01:00 PM)
I am going to hokkaido end of June, but read that the gov is going against airbnb now, is it true? Is anyone here still using airbnb service in Japan or it's safer for me to go for proper hotel instead? Thanks
Sorry are you referring to airbnbs being ban in japan ? I booked airbnb for my japan trip earlier last month. Not a problem at all.

This post has been edited by evee_luca: Mar 2 2017, 01:18 PM
evee_luca
post Mar 7 2017, 09:29 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(Azuma-kun @ Mar 7 2017, 01:39 PM)
Guys, question. Is there anywhere in Kyoto/Osaka that is similar to Nakamise Street in Asakusa? Where you can get cheap souvenir.
There's nishiki market (food market for food souvenirs) and teramachi street in kyoto where you could get some souvenirs. But I wouldn't say cheap la.
Also along kiyomizu-dera temple: sannen zaka and ninen zaka

I did visited "tenjimbashisuji shopping street" supposedly japan's longest shopping street but couldn't find any nice souvenirs.
evee_luca
post Mar 8 2017, 02:11 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Mar 8 2017, 12:58 PM)
Well probably we have different perspective in terms of culture. I like to use minimum budget to gain the maximum experience that I can have. Yes there are times people telling me is impossible but I'm not there to prove them wrong. I'm merely just sharing my views.

Like I said, perspective is different my friend. smile.gif
Keep us updated ! I am interested to know your journey 😄. I often traveled solo hence would be good to know your strategy
evee_luca
post Mar 21 2017, 09:07 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(Grimtooth @ Mar 20 2017, 07:40 PM)
My itinerary below.. hopefully didn't reveal anything I'm not supposed to.

https://travefy.com/trips/371892/-1474746855

Got some free time in Tokyo and Kyoto. Any suggestions?
At kyoto: Mount Rokko for sunset and maybe visit the Kiyomizu Dera temple area? Ninenzaka and Sannenzaka walk area for a little stroll..

0.1118sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:54 AM