Travel Travel To Japan V9.5, Konnichiwaaa

IazHes
post Oct 5 2016, 10:52 AM

371 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 4 2016, 11:39 AM)
Sounkyou very touristy in that generally the ryokans/hotels are built to cater for large tour groups de. Anyway I stayed in Choyo Resort, ¥30k/night. Was OK ba, nothing particularly special or anything. More pics on blog if you interested: http://look-see-eat.blogspot.sg/2015/11/ho...nkyo-onsen.html

As for your timing ... a bit neither here nor there leh. You're already way past autumn leaves season so no koyo, yet not quite in winter sports season. See snow definitely can, just go up to daisetsuzan mountains; but those dates possibly the ski resorts haven't started operating yet (depending on your luck whether this year how early the major snow starts falling)
Hope 17~19 Oct still able to see Red leaves there.
Will it be very cold there ? i see average temp is 9 degree C.

Looking forward there soon.

Wondering where can i rent Yukata in Sapporo/Biei/Jozankei/Otaru ?
IazHes
post Oct 26 2016, 01:27 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(estcin @ Oct 26 2016, 11:21 AM)
Wow, Hokkaido is snowing already
QUOTE(DreamChaser @ Oct 26 2016, 11:22 AM)
yup...19 days earlier according to NHK news
i just back from there, met First Snow there on 20th Oct. Quite lovely seasons, Autumn Yellow/Red leaves on top on white snow. rclxm9.gif
IazHes
post Oct 26 2016, 03:13 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(Cloud2322 @ Oct 26 2016, 02:51 PM)
Sounds great.. but I'm goin on the 7th till 20th.. hopefully the weather doesn't change too much and it's not too cold.. i still wanna see the autumn leaves 😓
Nov ?
When i went to Sounkyo[18~19 Oct](near Asahikawa/Kamikawa that side) on top of Daisetsusun already cover with snow.

22th Oct, Hokkaido University(Sapporo) there already has yellow/red leaves.

Weather in Sapporo also almost 3~13 celcius during 19~23 Oct.
IazHes
post Oct 26 2016, 07:55 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Oct 26 2016, 06:36 PM)
so did u hike to the top?
syiok??

btw how u managed to go in hokkaido university?
last time i drove the car in... the security reject my entrance  cry.gif
i can only see from far
i reached station 5 at from cable car at Sounkyo, the cable car from Station 5 to Station 7 closed. I saw some ppl hike from Station 5 to Peak/Station 7, i guess you may need to register entrance at Station 5 before hike. The worker there not advise to hike when the trail is covered with snow.
I did tried to hike from Station 5 to Station 7, but halfway give up, bcos it seems need to take 1.5 hours to reach Station 7.

How i enter? I park my car outside the university (GPS: 43.075640, 141.347510) , then walk inside there.
Along this road (GPS: 43.075512, 141.345070) the scenery very nice.
Security will not allow tourist to drive in, so better park your car outside.
IazHes
post Nov 2 2016, 08:57 PM

371 posts

My last visit(Autmun Oct 2016) during my time at Biei, Hokkaido.

user posted image青い池 by CSSparkling Moments, on Flickr

user posted imageCloudy day at the down stream Shirahige Waterfalls by CSSparkling Moments, on Flickr

IazHes
post Nov 2 2016, 09:03 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Nov 2 2016, 09:00 PM)
blue pond 👍👍👍

u go on which date...
17th Oct .
IazHes
post Nov 4 2016, 10:20 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(jackyuen @ Nov 4 2016, 06:12 PM)
I see. Thanks for the update.
For AAX flight back to KL, if you reach before 7am, you should able to drop your luggage in 10 mins. Because most ppl start ariving around 6.50am~7.30am. The custom gate open around 7.45am.

i took their normal cab from susukino area to airport, it took me ~12000 yen. cry.gif
IazHes
post Nov 6 2016, 11:07 AM

371 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Nov 5 2016, 12:25 PM)
I not sure how big was your 4 luggage. but I can tell you about Japan taxi 90% are Toyota Crown.
I try the trunk capacity. Maximum can fit in 24'' luggage x 3 due to most taxi have NGV gas cylinder at back of trunk.

If you can found diesel type Toyota crown then can fit 4 x 24'' luggage. no problem at all.
3 check-in size, 1 cabin size. Din really notice Gas cylinder at the back. But 1 thing for sure, the taxi service really good. rclxms.gif

0.0222sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:38 PM