thai amulets, somdej khunpaen pidta

AbsoluteAuctions
post Mar 4 2008, 09:20 AM

67 posts

Interesting thread and read, guys. smile.gif
Seems like there are quite a handful of veterans and seasoned collectors in here.

I'm not really in touch with the Malaysian Thai amulet collecting scene but just out of curiousity, how much can a genuine 1. Somdej Wat Rakang 100th Anniversary (recycled original material) and 2. Somdej Bangkhumprom (original by Somdej Buddhajharn Toh) fetch in Malaysia?
AbsoluteAuctions
post Mar 4 2008, 09:30 AM

67 posts

accessdenied,

A comprehensive and nice collection you have there. smile.gif
AbsoluteAuctions
post Mar 24 2010, 10:44 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(khchong81 @ Feb 27 2010, 02:27 AM)
[attachmentid=1459598]Any expect can advice me this amulet is from which temple and which provision? I want to know the amulet and the master name too. Been wearing for 5 years.
Bro khchong81,

Had a hard time trying to go through your posted photos due to the low resolution. wink.gif

If your amulet has a red faux 'ruby-like' stone at the back portion - I have a fairly good idea of what amulet this is. Does it?

AbsoluteAuctions
post Mar 29 2010, 11:34 PM

67 posts

Sharing one of my private collection.
This is a Somdej BKP from fallen chedi. Condition's near immaculate.

It's one of my most treasured. smile.gif

Cheers.

AbsoluteAuctions
post Apr 4 2010, 11:42 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(Selipo @ Mar 31 2010, 05:59 AM)
Great, nice one..Thanx for sharing..Should be from chedi mai BKP based on the condition, but can be AC Toh's hand..Is it pim Sangkati?
One tips to share with all bro and sis, AC Toh's Somdej looks dry to the naked eye, but upon inspection with magnifying glass, it actually looks wet/moist!

Hope to share mine later on..Somdej is my fav, wear a BKP myself..I guess that makes us same gang..
Thanks, Selipo. smile.gif

This is Archan Toh's handmade and the condition is immaculate. I consider myself very blessed because this piece came to my collection under the most unexpected circumstances.

Other than BKP, I'm also a keen collector of WRK. Yeah, so I guess that makes us sama kepala. Lol.

Where are you based, Malaysia or Thailand?

Cheers
AbsoluteAuctions
post Apr 4 2010, 11:50 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(khchong81 @ Feb 27 2010, 02:27 AM)
[attachmentid=1459598]Any expect can advice me this amulet is from which temple and which provision? I want to know the amulet and the master name too. Been wearing for 5 years.
khchong81, this is a handmade piece from LP To from Southern Thailand, I cannot recall which exact Wat it was from.

LP To has now passed on. It's a real treasure and was produced in very limited quantity. Keep it well.

Cheers.
AbsoluteAuctions
post Apr 18 2010, 02:13 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(Selipo @ Apr 17 2010, 08:38 PM)
Other than BKP, I'm also a keen collector of WRK. Yeah, so I guess that makes us sama kepala. Lol.

Where are you based, Malaysia or Thailand?

Hi, I am based in Kajang, Malaysia..Spend 1 week in Thailand every month. I ilke Somdej very much too..But Wat Ketchaiyo's ones are hard to come by, dun u agree? Besides, Khun Paen also one of my Fav..

Here's sharing my Somdej BKP pim Theng, but paiseh, not as old and good as yours thumbup.gif
That's a gorgeous one you have there, bro! Very nice! thumbup.gif
Thanks for taking the efforts to share with us all.

Don't say of such, I'm just a novice collector. To me, I don't agree if an amulet's "better" than another. It's all in the mindfulness and in the good faith of the wearer. What's most important is that it brings us protection and to ride out the rough times.

I agree, Keschaiyoh Somdej are among the rarest to find in Malaysia..some say even rarer to find than WRK. I do have a very old (and worn-out) KCY in my collection. I hadn't have the time to take close-up pictures of it yet but I'll do so soon. smile.gif
AbsoluteAuctions
post May 5 2010, 10:50 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(Selipo @ May 4 2010, 11:18 PM)

Sharing, the Somdej Wat Ketchaiyo as promised..
Amazing beauty! nod.gif Is this yours too?

Archan Toh's Somdej never failed to bedazzle me. What I am still really looking for to complete my collection is an old Wat Rakhang Pim Yai (even the preceeding very rare and seldom known Wat Prub by Archan Toh's amulet master Somdej Buddhacharn Sukkhaithuen I have in my collection already) - that would made me a very happy man. I am patiently waiting. Hehe.

If you've got Facebook, feel free to add me. I've got all my collection shared there in the photo album. Cheers.
AbsoluteAuctions
post May 6 2010, 01:42 AM

67 posts

Since you're also a Khun Paen collector, bro Selipo - let me share my close up photo of antique Khun Paen Ren Keow plaa guman from Wat Rakhang. Enjoy. smile.gif

AbsoluteAuctions
post May 8 2010, 11:43 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(junshern222 @ May 8 2010, 11:32 AM)
Hi bro,can anyone help me to identify this Thai Amulet.This is not something antique but I just want to know what Im having now.
[attachmentid=1565778]

[attachmentid=1565779]

Thanks in advance for the help. smile.gif
This looks like it's a Khun Paen image but I could be wrong. smile.gif

At the back of your amulet it says:

LP Yong
Wat Si Pracha, Rayong province.

Rayong is nearby Pattaya in the North Eastern region.

AbsoluteAuctions
post May 12 2010, 04:30 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(Selipo @ May 12 2010, 01:12 PM)

Hi, thanx for sharing..It's interesting to know that Wat Rakhang issued KP also, somemore with Plai Guman powder..All I know is that LP Tim of Wat Lahanrai is the one that's famed for his KP with Plai Guman..That Somdej Wat Kechaiyo is not mine, it belongs to my friend..This is my KP, LP Tim Wat Lahanrai, BE2517 for sharing...

Bro selipo, WRK has a number of other very well treasured but little known amulets among the Thai community. It is of course, overshadowed by the immense popularity of Somdej.
AbsoluteAuctions
post May 12 2010, 08:28 PM

67 posts

Bro accessdenied, if you're still active in the thread smile.gif - would you mind PM me or reply to the thread of the origin of the Nang Kwak you posted as your avatar? I'm very intrigued.

Many thanks. smile.gif
AbsoluteAuctions
post May 14 2010, 01:14 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(synz @ May 13 2010, 10:19 PM)
^^ lp thuad (not sure), phra phrom and somdej

forgive my shallow knowledge biggrin.gif
Bro synz, the first pic is Roop Lor of Somdej Buddhacharn Toh, it's not LP Thuad. smile.gif

AbsoluteAuctions
post May 23 2010, 10:59 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(xenxenxen @ May 18 2010, 01:10 AM)
Hi !

I need some help here..

Can any sifu help me identify this for me pretty please??
[attachmentid=1581445][attachmentid=1581446]

Added on May 21, 2010, 9:55 amAnyone can help identify this ???
The first picture is in Chinese (I don't understand Chinese smile.gif ) and 2500 is the Buddhist Era year, which is 1957 in Gregorian calendar.

The second picture is partially blocked by your camera flash, but to my understanding it should say;

Phra Kod Manoch
Chaitada
AbsoluteAuctions
post May 23 2010, 11:05 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(junshern222 @ May 23 2010, 09:43 PM)
hi Bro,i want to Ask,I have an amulet made of powder substances and I would like to make a cover for it and bring it everyday.So my question is which kind of casing you guys will recommend?transparent plastic?How much they usually cost?thanks.
If it's of powder substance and if you don't need to take your amulet out for showcase (often for veteran collectors for pricey amulets only) - it's better if you seal it in water-resistant plastic.

Depending on the side garnishing and pattern, it's in the range of RM 8 - 20. You can find these services plentiful in Pudu Plaza and almost any Thai amulet shops.
AbsoluteAuctions
post May 26 2010, 04:14 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(nagalaksa @ May 26 2010, 03:34 PM)
..only realise that hv Thai amulets thread here today.. hear friends said, if wear amulets, cnt walk under the handing clothes.. go toilet must put amulet or amulets into mouth.. sweat.gif ...cnt put amulets in sleeping room...really hv these "pantang"..??
Different school of thoughts have different thoughts on this.

For myself I only consciously not walk under clothing lines. Sometimes as all humans do, we tend to forget. smile.gif

If you look behind the underlying principles behind all of the above said taboos - it only boils down to one thing, respect your amulet as it is a holy object.
AbsoluteAuctions
post May 28 2010, 03:00 PM

67 posts

Wesak Day greetings all brethens and sisters!

Sadhu sadhu sadhu! smile.gif

AbsoluteAuctions
post May 29 2010, 12:22 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(Selipo @ May 29 2010, 03:41 AM)
Juz chipping in my opinion and what I know. For regular amulets (not those with spirits or barang), the power of the amulet is cemented forever if the monk who consecrated it pass on (died) while still upholding the Buddha's Teaching.
The basic principle that gives rise to so many Thai Buddhist amulets comes from a vow made by the Deva King. As the legend goes, the Deva King held high respect to the Lord Buddha for his virtue and teaching to all sentient beings. The Deva King thus vowed that whoever follows the teaching of the Master with diligence and faith will have their wishes granted and protected by the devas.
So, true monks (not just any guy in a yellow robe will do but those that diligently follow the Buddha’s teaching), having compassion for sentient beings, thus utilises this vow made by the Deva King and issue amulets, making wishes in the consecration ceremony that whoever wears the particular amulet will be free from harm, acquire wealth, loving kindness, authority, etc. So the power of regular amulets comes from the wishes made by the monks. If the monk pass on while still diligently practising the Buddha’s teaching, then the vow made by the Deva King will be unbroken forever and the power of the amulet is cemented forever.
That’s why, amulets made by acclaimed masters who have pass on such as AC Toh, LP Suk, LP Pan, LP Choong, LP Sud, LP Kong, and many more are so prized by devotees, coz the power of their amulets last forever as they have all passed on while still diligently practising the Lord Buddha’s teaching.
So logically/rationally speaking, will the power of amulets be lost if we go to toilet wearing it, walk under hanging cloths, go to the maternity ward, and all the taboos that we have been boggled with? Will the wish of the master making it and the vow of the Deva King be broken by such act? It is just out of our respect for this sacred object that we try our best to avoid such unclean act, nothing will harm the power of the amulet if u have understood where the power comes from..
For example, amulets by AC Toh are at least 138 years old, those by LP Suk, LP Pan, are over 80 years old, Phra Rod amulets from Wat Mahawan are over 1000 years old, Nangpaya amulets are 500 years old and many others old amulets, so many things unimaginable would have happened to these amulets in the course of their long history but why are devotees still willing to pay such a hefty amount to rent them? Think about it..it’s in understanding the source of the power, the vow is unbroken..
On the other hand, amulets made by living monks, who have broken their Buddhist practise in the course of their life will be lost without having u going to the toilet, walk under clothing, going to funeral, maternity ward and whatsoever cause the vow has been broken and the devas are in no obligation to grant the wishes of these disgraced monks/ex-monks..
There are another class of sacred objects/barang/spirits/amulets that derive their power from magical art and not from the vow of the Deva King. For these amulets, the power comes from magical incantation/practise and the power may be broken under certain circumstances as all magic can be broken. For example, spirits may leave the amulets, magical spell broken due to certain reason, etc.
So, in summary, for regular Buddhist amulets, it doesn’t matter what form/image it comes in, the power lies in what are the wishes made by the monks making them and if the monk truly practise the Buddha’s teaching till the end..
Hope that helps to clarify some part of the puzzle..
Very very informative, bro! Excellent source of information. Thumbs up! rclxms.gif
AbsoluteAuctions
post Nov 19 2011, 10:53 PM

67 posts

Tohsan, very exquisite and perfect-condition collection. smile.gif

Are you an amulet trader?

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Oct 10 2011, 10:14 AM)
LP Waen BE 2517,Wat Doi Mae Pang
Won 1st and 2nd Placing in Thai Amulet Competition

This is an affordable and very good amulet for overall protection, wealth fetching and meeta purpose amulet.
Anyone interested to rent this pristine condition amulet can pm me.

The History
LP Waen Wat Doi Mae Pang

Luang Poo Waen Sujitnoh was a very good monk. He was very skillful in Sammahti and Dhamma. The most unique nature of Luang Poo Waen, was that he did not like crowded places and loved to live alone in the forests: just like his teacher, Ah Jahn Man; away from people and city. Some people said that Luang Poo Waen had achieved Arahang level. Tahn Jow Koon Noh ever mentioned that "There is a Phra Arahang, but he lives far away, in the forest hill."

Luang Poo Waen's hometown was in Leoi Province, North East of Thailand, also known as Issan. Luang Poo Waen was born in BE2431. At the age of 13, he became a Naen (novice monk) in Wat Poh Chai, Leoi province.

When he was a novice monk, he studied the Dhamma. He was very good in Pali and Dhamma, even at that young age. He went Tudong (forest monk) with his teacher, Ah Jahn Wuan, travelling from Leoi Province to Ubon Province.. After he reached Ubon Province, he learned Dhamma from another teacher, Ah Jahn Sing.

During his Tudong, he met many disciples of Ah Jahn Man in the forests. They told Luang Poo Waen that Ah Jahn Man is very good in Sammahti and Dhamma. Luang Poo Waen wished to meet Ah Jahn Man and become his disciple.

Once, Luang Poo Waen chanced upon another disciple of Ah Jahn Man called Ah Jahn Dteu. Ah Jahn Dteu said that he knew where Ah Jahn Man was, and was willing to bring Luang Poo Waen to meet Ah Jahn Man. Finally, Luang Poo Waen met Ah Jahn Man in BE2462 (at the age of 31) in the Bahn Kor forest, Udon Thahni province.

After meeting Ah Jahn Man, Luang Poo Waen, went Tudong again with Ah Jahn Dteu. Luang Poo Waen, endured all difficulties during his Tudong, encountered ghosts, wild animals and other dangers in his Tudong. Luang Poo Waen was not afraid of danger, even the villagers told him that this place or that place are dangerous and eerie, and full of evil spirits, Luang Poo Waen just went ahead because he wanted to learn from all these experiences.

Luang Poo Waen spent most of his monkhood as a forest monk, travelling from one province to another on foot, climbing hills, crossing rivers and deep forests. He had also went as far as Laos, Cambodia, Burma and even Vietnam on Dutong.

At BE2470, age 39, Luang Poo Waen arrived in Lampang. He met another disciple of Ah Jahn Man called Ah Jahn Keow. He was told that Ah Jahn Man was in Chiangmai. Luang Poo Waen quickly Tudong to Chiangmai to look for Ah Jahn Man. Finally he met Ah Jahn Man and Ah Jahn Dteu at Wat Jedi Luang. Ah Jahn Man officially accepted Luang Poo Waen as his disciple. He studied Dhamma with Ah Jahn Man at Wat Jedi Luang. After Ah Jahn Man left Wat Jedi Luang for Dutong, Luang Poo Waen also went Dutong in Chiangmai. He stayed Wat Huainumrin Chiangmai Province for 10 years. During his long stay in Wat Huainumrin, he stayed most of his time in forests and only went to the temple during the rainy seasons (Khow Pansah).

At BE2505, Ah Jahn Noo, the abbot of Wat Doi Mae Pang asked Luang Poo Waen to stayed at Wat Doi Mae Pang because Ah Jahn Noo treated Luang Poo Waen as a teacher. After Ah Jahn Noo passed away, the villagers persuaded Luang Poo Waen to become the abbot of Wat Doi Mae Pang. Luang Poo Waen stayed in Doi Mae Pang until he passed away, living the life as a forest monk all the time in a small hut away from the temple.

Luang Poo Waen passed away peacefully on 2nd July BE2528, at Maharaht Hospital (this hospital was built by Luang Poo Waen). Luang Poo Waen was a monk for 78 years, and lived to a ripe age of 98.
AbsoluteAuctions
post Dec 9 2011, 07:57 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(Tohsan @ Dec 9 2011, 07:40 AM)
Hello Bro AA

Actually, I am more to an amulet collector, this is one of my collection but nowadays I stop collecting amulets and already switching to other hobbies.  smile.gif
I see. smile.gif

You got the certification through direct Panthip competition or from the previous owner?

0.0175sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:29 PM